DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A, claims 1-12, 19-20, in the reply filed on 11/10/25 is acknowledged.
Claims 13-18 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/10/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 6, 10-12, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gliner (US 2010/0292754).
Regarding claims 1, 6, 20, Gliner discloses the same invention as claimed (Figure 3 shown above for example), including a system for delivering neurostimulation from a stimulation device (Figure 1), the system comprising: a programming control circuit configured to generate information for programming the stimulation device to deliver the neurostimulation according to a pattern of neurostimulation pulses (Figure 1: 160); and a stimulation programming circuit configured to: receive one or more goal options selected from a plurality of goal options (Figure 3: 204; Paragraph 35: one symptom or subset of symptoms) each including at least one goal for deep brain stimulation (Paragraph 25: deep brain stimulation); select one or more programmability options associated with the received one or more goal options from a plurality of programmability options each allowing one or more aspects of at least one of the pattern of neurostimulation pulses or the delivery of the neurostimulation according to the pattern of neurostimulation pulses to be programmable (Figure 3: 206; see also Figures 4-5); receive programming information required by the selected one or more programmability options (Figure 3: 206; Figures 4-5); and determine the pattern of neurostimulation pulses for the selected one or more goal options using the received programming information (Figure 3: 208, 218, 220).
Regarding claims 2, 10, Gliner discloses a presentation and user input device as recited (Figure 1: 160; see also Figures 3-5; some form of user presentation and user input is implied).
Regarding claims 5, 12, 19, Gliner discloses at least a goal option of multi-symptom control (Figure 3: 204; Paragraph 35: subset of symptoms) and at least a programmability option of various stimulation frequency combinations (Paragraph 45).
Regarding claim 11, Gliner discloses determining stimulation parameters using the presentation and user input as recited (Figures 3-5; some form of user presentation and user input is implied).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 4, 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gliner (US 2010/0292754) in view of Wechter (US 2017/0050033).
Regarding claims 3, 7-8, Gliner discloses composition of a stimulation program as recited (Figures 3-5). Gliner does not disclose composition of program building blocks as recited. However, Wechter teaches utilizing waveform building blocks defining a segment of a pattern of neurostimulation pulses, in order to more easily compose a complex stimulation program (abstract; Figure 7; Paragraph 44). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gliner as taught by Wechter to include program building blocks as recited, in order to more easily compose a complex stimulation program.
Regarding claim 4, Gliner discloses the stimulation programming circuit is configured to determine stimulation parameters using the presentation and user input as recited (Figures 3-5; some form of user presentation and user input is implied).
Regarding claim 9, Gliner discloses scheduling stimulation as recited (Paragraphs 42, 51, 52).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Steinke (US 2016/0375258) shows programming neurostimulation using clinical goals and programmable options.
/Eugene T Wu/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796