DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 3-4, 9-13, 16-17 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupta; Vivek G. et al. US PGPUB 20230319678 A1, in view of SALAH ABDELLATIF et al. WO 2024035616 A1, further in view of Ogilvie; John W. US PGPUB 20070093284 A1.
Regarding claim 1. Gupta teaches A method, comprising:
identifying, by a network element, gaming traffic associated with a user equipment (UE); ([0192] The procedure 1000 may include identifying a traffic descriptor from the UE in 1010. For example, the network device may identify a traffic descriptor corresponding to a service type or a QoS attribute within a message received from the UE. [0193] The service type may include an enterprise service type, a gaming service type, or a video streaming service type…. In instances where the service type is the gaming service type, the traffic descriptor may be determined to be a real time gaming traffic descriptor, an interactive gaming traffic descriptor, or an augmented reality traffic descriptor.)
detecting, by the network element, a traffic pattern associated with the gaming traffic; ([0172] The core network 708 may detect the communication received from the UE 702 and identify the traffic descriptor from the communication. The core network 708 may determine a routing for associated traffic based on the traffic descriptor.)
determining, by the network element, that the UE is associated with a prioritized service, ([0195] The procedure 1000 may include determining routing of the traffic of the UE in 1012. For example, the network device may determine a routing of traffic of the UE from the network device based on the traffic descriptor.) wherein the prioritized service is associated with network slicing; and ([0195] The determined routing may be to particular resources within the core network, to a particular network slice, or some combination thereof.)
performing, by the network element, a network scheduling for the UE that prioritizes the gaming traffic associated with the UE over non-gaming traffic associated with another UE, (Fig. 3, traffic descriptor table, Gaming traffic 350, interactive gaming priority 70, packet delay 50 ms. Being a higher priority than 324 Enterprise traffic. )
wherein the network scheduling is based on the traffic pattern and the UE being associated with the prioritized service. ([0157] Traffic categories can also be defined directly based on traffic characteristics and the specific QoS attributes could have a relative priority level. As an example, for a certain class of traffic, there could be relative priority among the QoS attributes latency and bandwidth (e.g., low latency and high bandwidth with latency as higher priority). Priority can be given to single or multiple QoS attributes (e.g., prioritize latency and packet error rate over bandwidth for voice traffic, prioritize latency and bandwidth over packet error rate for gaming or video streaming traffic, etc.).)
continuing to evaluate, by the network element, the traffic pattern while a gaming session is active; ([0148] As an example, a gaming application may have multiple flows active at any given time but only a few of them may be carrying low latency traffic. A slice that is configured for handling “low latency” traffic for any gaming application could be much more useful in improving user experience as compared to when all active flows are mapped on to a “gaming” slice.)
Gupta does not teach wherein the network scheduling prioritizes the gaming traffic only during a transmission window for each video frame of the gaming traffic;
when the network element determines that the traffic pattern is inactive, repeating, by the network element, a traffic-pattern detection operation to re-detect the traffic pattern associated with the gaming traffic.
However, Salah teaches
wherein the network scheduling prioritizes the gaming traffic only during a transmission window for each video frame of the gaming traffic; ([0053] the RAN 112 may update configurations in: a) a periodicity of SPS or configured grant, or a C-DRX cycle length, based on the PDU set or video frame/slice periodicity, b) an offset based on the start time of the first PDU set or video frame/slice, c) prioritizing a PDU in a PDU set or a video frame/slice based on the identity of the PDU set or the video frame/slice, d) dropping or prioritizing a PDU based on the relationship information amongst PDUs, e) separation between PDU sets based on the indication of a last PDU in a set, f) prioritizing a PDU from a PDU set or video frame/slice based on the delay budget,
This teaching is related to the disclosure of “A network scheduling prioritization may start when a first packet of a video frame is in a buffer, and the network scheduling prioritization may stop when a last packet of the video frame is transmitted to a UE associated with the gaming user.” In the specification)
In order to increase device energy efficiency by dynamically updating traffic configuration based on data characteristics. ([0039])
Gupta and Salah are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of game related communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Gupta with the technique of video frame prioritization in order to increase device energy efficiency.
Gupta and Salah do not teach when the network element determines that the traffic pattern is inactive, repeating, by the network element, a traffic-pattern detection operation to re-detect the traffic pattern associated with the gaming traffic.
However, Ogilvie teaches
when the network element determines that the traffic pattern is inactive, repeating, by the network element, a traffic-pattern detection operation to re-detect the traffic pattern associated with the gaming traffic. ([0081] The beginning of a play session may be detected 104 automatically through activity after an inactive period of at least a specified duration, e.g., two minutes, or five minutes; by initiation of an online session, e.g., change in IP address, login, etc.; by entry of a player ID card, comps card, or the like; by I/O with the player, e.g., asking "New Player?"; or otherwise. The end of a play session can likewise be detected 104 automatically by the beginning of a subsequent new session, e.g., passage of inactive time, logout or internet session termination, removal of player ID card, I/O exiting the game, etc)
in order to improve user experience ([0057])
Gupta and Ogilvie are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of game related communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Gupta with the technique of inactivity detection in Ogilvie in order to improve user experience.
Regarding claim 3. Gupta, Salah and Ogilvie teach The method of claim 1, and Gupta teaches wherein identifying the gaming traffic comprises: identifying the gaming traffic based on a slice identifier mapping to a quality of service (QoS) flow. ([0176] The traffic descriptor may indicate a user plane to which the traffic associated with the traffic descriptor is to be routed. For example, the traffic descriptor may explicitly indicate to which user plane the traffic is to be routed in some embodiments. )
Regarding claim 4. Gupta, Salah and Ogilvie teach The method of claim 1, and Gupta teaches wherein identifying the gaming traffic is based on a service profile. (Fig. 3, traffic descriptor component type identifier is a service profile, with priority, packet delay and error rate requirement)
Regarding claim 9. Gupta, Salah and Ogilvie teach The method of claim 1, and Gupta teaches the prioritized service is not associated with network non-slicing. ([0148] As an example, a gaming application may have multiple flows active at any given time but only a few of them may be carrying low latency traffic. A slice that is configured for handling “low latency” traffic for any gaming application could be much more useful in improving user experience as compared to when all active flows are mapped on to a “gaming” slice.
See also [0042] Specific QoS attributes could have a range of values. Priority in a slice can be given to a single or multiple QS attributes (e.g. prioritize latency and packet error rate over bandwidth for something like voice traffic, gaming response traffic, etc.).)
Regarding claim 10. Gupta, Salah and Ogilvie teach The method of claim 1, wherein the network scheduling prioritizes the gaming traffic during a transmission window for a video frame. (Fig. 3, 350 Interactive Gaming Priority: 70 vs. 368, Video Streaming / Live Streaming priority of 56. )
Regarding claim 11. Gupta teaches A network element, comprising: one or more processors (Fig. 13, Processors 1304) configured:
receive an indication of a traffic pattern associated with gaming traffic, wherein the gaming traffic is associated with a user equipment (UE); (([0192] The procedure 1000 may include identifying a traffic descriptor from the UE in 1010. For example, the network device may identify a traffic descriptor corresponding to a service type or a QoS attribute within a message received from the UE. [0193] The service type may include an enterprise service type, a gaming service type, or a video streaming service type…. In instances where the service type is the gaming service type, the traffic descriptor may be determined to be a real time gaming traffic descriptor, an interactive gaming traffic descriptor, or an augmented reality traffic descriptor.)
determine that the UE is associated with a prioritized service, ([0195] The procedure 1000 may include determining routing of the traffic of the UE in 1012. For example, the network device may determine a routing of traffic of the UE from the network device based on the traffic descriptor.) wherein the prioritized service is associated with network slicing; ([0195] The determined routing may be to particular resources within the core network, to a particular network slice, or some combination thereof.)
and perform network scheduling for the UE that prioritizes the gaming traffic associated with the UE over non-gaming traffic associated with another UE, (Fig. 3, traffic descriptor table, Gaming traffic 350, interactive gaming priority 70, packet delay 50 ms. Being a higher priority than 324 Enterprise traffic. )
wherein the network scheduling is based on the traffic pattern and the UE being associated with the prioritized service. ([0157] Traffic categories can also be defined directly based on traffic characteristics and the specific QoS attributes could have a relative priority level. As an example, for a certain class of traffic, there could be relative priority among the QoS attributes latency and bandwidth (e.g., low latency and high bandwidth with latency as higher priority). Priority can be given to single or multiple QoS attributes (e.g., prioritize latency and packet error rate over bandwidth for voice traffic, prioritize latency and bandwidth over packet error rate for gaming or video streaming traffic, etc.).)
continuing to evaluate, by the network element, the traffic pattern while a gaming session is active; ([0148] As an example, a gaming application may have multiple flows active at any given time but only a few of them may be carrying low latency traffic. A slice that is configured for handling “low latency” traffic for any gaming application could be much more useful in improving user experience as compared to when all active flows are mapped on to a “gaming” slice.)
Gupta does not teach wherein the network scheduling prioritizes the gaming traffic only during a transmission window for each video frame of the gaming traffic;
when the network element determines that the traffic pattern is inactive, repeating, by the network element, a traffic-pattern detection operation to re-detect the traffic pattern associated with the gaming traffic.
However, Salah teaches
wherein the network scheduling prioritizes the gaming traffic only during a transmission window for each video frame of the gaming traffic; ([0053] the RAN 112 may update configurations in: a) a periodicity of SPS or configured grant, or a C-DRX cycle length, based on the PDU set or video frame/slice periodicity, b) an offset based on the start time of the first PDU set or video frame/slice, c) prioritizing a PDU in a PDU set or a video frame/slice based on the identity of the PDU set or the video frame/slice, d) dropping or prioritizing a PDU based on the relationship information amongst PDUs, e) separation between PDU sets based on the indication of a last PDU in a set, f) prioritizing a PDU from a PDU set or video frame/slice based on the delay budget,
This teaching is related to the disclosure of “A network scheduling prioritization may start when a first packet of a video frame is in a buffer, and the network scheduling prioritization may stop when a last packet of the video frame is transmitted to a UE associated with the gaming user.” In the specification)
In order to increase device energy efficiency by dynamically updating traffic configuration based on data characteristics. ([0039])
Gupta and Salah are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of game related communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Gupta with the technique of video frame prioritization in order to increase device energy efficiency.
Gupta and Salah do not teach when the network element determines that the traffic pattern is inactive, repeating, by the network element, a traffic-pattern detection operation to re-detect the traffic pattern associated with the gaming traffic.
However, Ogilvie teaches
when the network element determines that the traffic pattern is inactive, repeating, by the network element, a traffic-pattern detection operation to re-detect the traffic pattern associated with the gaming traffic. ([0081] The beginning of a play session may be detected 104 automatically through activity after an inactive period of at least a specified duration, e.g., two minutes, or five minutes; by initiation of an online session, e.g., change in IP address, login, etc.; by entry of a player ID card, comps card, or the like; by I/O with the player, e.g., asking "New Player?"; or otherwise. The end of a play session can likewise be detected 104 automatically by the beginning of a subsequent new session, e.g., passage of inactive time, logout or internet session termination, removal of player ID card, I/O exiting the game, etc)
in order to improve user experience ([0057])
Gupta and Ogilvie are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of game related communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Gupta with the technique of inactivity detection in Ogilvie in order to improve user experience.
Regarding claim 12. Guupta , Salah and Ogilvie teach The network element of claim 11, and Gupta teaches wherein the one or more processors, to receive the indication of the traffic pattern, are configured to: receive, from the UE or a gaming server, the indication of the traffic pattern. (([0192] The procedure 1000 may include identifying a traffic descriptor from the UE in 1010. . [0193] The service type may include an enterprise service type, a gaming service type, or a video streaming service type)
Regarding claim 13. Guupta , Salah and Ogilvie teach The network element of claim 11, and Gupta teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: identify the gaming traffic based on one or more of: a real-time transport protocol (RTP) packet header, a slice identifier mapping to a quality of service (QoS) flow, (([0176] The traffic descriptor may indicate a user plane to which the traffic associated with the traffic descriptor is to be routed. For example, the traffic descriptor may explicitly indicate to which user plane the traffic is to be routed in some embodiments. )) or a service profile. (Fig. 3, traffic descriptor component type identifier is a service profile, with priority, packet delay and error rate requirement)
Regarding claim 16. Gupta, Salah and Ogilvie teach A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions, the set of instructions (Gupta [0162] The memory 704 may store one or more instructions that, when executed by the processors 706, can cause the UE 702 to perform one or more operations.) comprising: one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a network element, cause the network element to: perform the method in claim 1. It is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 17. Gupta, Salah and Ogilvie teach The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16, and Gupta teaches wherein the one or more instructions, that cause the network element to identify the gaming traffic, cause the network element to: identify the gaming traffic based on a real-time transport protocol (RTP) packet header; or identify the gaming traffic based on a slice identifier mapping to a quality of service (QoS) flow. ([0176] The traffic descriptor may indicate a user plane to which the traffic associated with the traffic descriptor is to be routed. For example, the traffic descriptor may explicitly indicate to which user plane the traffic is to be routed in some embodiments. )
Regarding claim 21. Gupta, Salah and Ogilvie teach The method of claim 1, and Gupta teaches wherein detecting the traffic pattern comprises incorporating known endpoint Internet Protocol (IP) addresses of mobile edge computing (MEC) servers or gaming servers. ([0049] The structure may include internet protocol (IP) descriptors element 118 as illustrated in the table 100. In some embodiments, a URSP rule may not contain the combination of the traffic descriptor components IP descriptors and Non-IP descriptors. The IP descriptors element 118 may include destination IP 3 tuple(s) (which may include IP address or IPv6 network prefix, port number, and/or protocol identifier (ID) of the protocol above IP),)
Claims 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupta, Salah and Ogilvie as applied to claim 1, further in view of Hong; Danny et al. US PGPUB 20240009556 A1.
Regarding claim 2. Gupta , Salah and Ogilvie teach The method of claim 1, but it does not teach wherein identifying the gaming traffic comprises: identifying the gaming traffic based on a real-time transport protocol (RTP) packet header.
However, Hong teaches
wherein identifying the gaming traffic comprises: identifying the gaming traffic based on a real-time transport protocol (RTP) packet header. ([0034] To packetize a gaming stream 108, a server 102 is configured to create a data structure (e.g., packet) for each encoded frame of the gaming stream 108 that includes, for example, a header (e.g., Real-time Transport Protocol (RTP) header, Real-time Streaming Protocol (RTSP) header, Session Initiation Protocol (SIP) header), a payload, and a trailer. A header of a packet, for example, includes data indicating the corresponding client system 112 supporting the client gaming session associated with the game stream 108, the number of packets in a packetized game stream 108, a next packet in a packetized game stream 108, or any combination thereof.)
in order to reduce the bandwidth needed for game stream ([0026])
Gupta and Hong are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of packet communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Gupta with the technique of RTP header identification of gaming traffic in Hong in order to reduce the bandwidth needed for game stream.
Claims 5 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupta, Salah and Ogilvie as applied to claim 1, further in view of Li; Zhi et al. US PGPUB 20230283499 A1.
Regarding claim 5. Gupta , Salah and Ogilvie teach The method of claim 1, but it does not teach wherein detecting the traffic pattern is based on a network artificial intelligence or machine learning (AI/ML) function.
However, Li teaches detecting the traffic pattern is based on a network artificial intelligence or machine learning (AI/ML) function. ([0028] The home gateway 118 can execute, via one or more processors (best shown in FIG. 5), a home machine learning module 130 to determine a home data profile 132 from the home data 120…. For example, one or more of the policies 134 can prioritize gaming traffic over other types of traffic. In this example, the policies 134 can be used to reduce latency and jitter by prioritizing gaming traffic over other traffic, such as background traffic, that can be smoothed in accordance with the policies 134.)
In order to reduce latency and jitter of gaming traffic (Id.)
Gupta and Li are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of packet communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Gupta with the technique of machine learning module in Li in order to reduce latency and jitter of gaming traffic.
Regarding claim 18. Gupta , Salah and Ogilvie teach The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16, but it does not teach wherein the one or more instructions, that cause the network element to detect the traffic pattern, cause the network element to: detect the traffic pattern using a network artificial intelligence or machine learning (AI/ML) function; or detect the traffic pattern based on one or more of a duty cycle, a transmission window, or a periodicity associated with a video frame.
However, Li teaches detect the traffic pattern is based on a network artificial intelligence or machine learning (AI/ML) function. ([0028] The home gateway 118 can execute, via one or more processors (best shown in FIG. 5), a home machine learning module 130 to determine a home data profile 132 from the home data 120…. For example, one or more of the policies 134 can prioritize gaming traffic over other types of traffic. In this example, the policies 134 can be used to reduce latency and jitter by prioritizing gaming traffic over other traffic, such as background traffic, that can be smoothed in accordance with the policies 134.) ; or detect the traffic pattern based on one or more of a duty cycle, a transmission window, or a periodicity associated with a video frame.
In order to reduce latency and jitter of gaming traffic (Id.)
Gupta and Li are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of packet communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Gupta with the technique of machine learning module in Li in order to reduce latency and jitter of gaming traffic.
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupta, Salah and Ogilvie as applied to claim 1, further in view of Hande; Prashanth Haridas et al. US PGPUB 20230224723 A1.
Regarding claim 6. Gupta, Salah and Ogilvie teach The method of claim 1, but it does not teach wherein detecting the traffic pattern is based on one or more of a duty cycle; the transmission window for each video frame of the gaming traffic, or a periodicity associated with each video frame of the gaming traffic.
However, Hande teaches
wherein detecting the traffic pattern is based on one or more of a duty cycle; the transmission window for each video frame of the gaming traffic, or a periodicity associated with each video frame of the gaming traffic. ([0071] The uplink data traffic, the downlink data traffic, or both for such applications may include encoded video data (e.g., cloud gaming traffic). The video traffic may be periodic or quasi-periodic based on a frame rate of the data. For example, the UE 115-a may receive periodic or quasi-periodic bursts of data traffic every frame (e.g., at one frame-per-second (1/fps), or two possibly staggered per frame at 1/(2*fps)). For example, the data traffic may occur every X seconds, where X may be 1/90 seconds, 1/60 seconds, or some other duration depending on a quantity of configured frames per second.)
in order to improve communication reliability by detecting peak data ([0005])
Gupta and Hande are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of packet communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Gupta with the technique of gaming traffic detection in Hande in order to improve communication reliability by detecting peak data.
Regarding claim 14. Gupta, Salah and Ogilvie teach The network element of claim 11, but it does not teach wherein detecting the traffic pattern is based on one or more of a duty cycle; the transmission window for each video frame of the gaming traffic, or a periodicity associated with each video frame of the gaming traffic.
However, Hande teaches
wherein detecting the traffic pattern is based on one or more of a duty cycle; the transmission window for each video frame of the gaming traffic, or a periodicity associated with each video frame of the gaming traffic. ([0071] The uplink data traffic, the downlink data traffic, or both for such applications may include encoded video data (e.g., cloud gaming traffic). The video traffic may be periodic or quasi-periodic based on a frame rate of the data. For example, the UE 115-a may receive periodic or quasi-periodic bursts of data traffic every frame (e.g., at one frame-per-second (1/fps), or two possibly staggered per frame at 1/(2*fps)). For example, the data traffic may occur every X seconds, where X may be 1/90 seconds, 1/60 seconds, or some other duration depending on a quantity of configured frames per second.)
in order to improve communication reliability by detecting peak data ([0005])
Gupta and Hande are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of packet communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Gupta with the technique of gaming traffic detection in Hande in order to improve communication reliability by detecting peak data.
Claims 7, 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupta, Salah and Ogilvie as applied to claim 1, further in view of Black; James D. et al. US PGPUB 7852853 B1.
Regarding claim 7. Gupta, Salah and Ogilvie teach The method of claim 1, but it does not teach further comprising: determining a periodicity and a duration of a scheduling prioritization based on the traffic pattern,
wherein the scheduling prioritization starts when a first packet of a video frame of the video frame of the gaming traffic is in a buffer and stops when a last packet of the video frame of the gaming traffic is transmitted to the UE, the scheduling prioritization is resumed when a first packet of the video frame of the gaming traffic is in the buffer for a next video frame, and a location of the buffer is at a core network element or at a scheduler of a network node.
However, Black teaches
determining a periodicity and a duration of a scheduling prioritization based on the traffic pattern, (col 2, lines 30, Because of the importance of I-frames, the standards require I-frames to be periodically inserted into a video stream, regardless of whether any changes occur, in order to limit the duration of any interruption.)
wherein the scheduling prioritization starts when a first packet of a video frame of the video frame of the gaming traffic is in a buffer and stops when a last packet of the video frame of the gaming traffic is transmitted to the UE, (Fig. 4, see col 3, line 60, “When the video frame is a first type of video information, e.g., an I-frame, ("Yes" path out of decision step 415), then a first priority level is assigned to the video frame (step 420). When the video frame is not the first type of video information, e.g., a P-frame or B-frame, ("No" path out of decision step 415), then a second priority level is assigned to the video frame (step 425).”)
the scheduling prioritization is resumed when a first packet of the video frame of the gaming traffic is in the buffer for a next video frame, and a location of the buffer is at a core network element or at a scheduler of a network node. (col 3, line 20 “(13) Returning now to FIG. 1, after forming the network transport packets with the appropriate quality of service, data transport device 120 stores the packets in a buffer 125 for transmission to network 130.)
in order to reduce bandwidth consumption of video stream (col 4, line 20)
Gupta and Black are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Gupta with the technique of prioritize video frames in Black in order to reduce bandwidth consumption of video stream.
Regarding claim 15. Gupta, Salah and Ogilvie teach The network element of claim 11, but it does not teach further comprising: determining a periodicity and a duration of a scheduling prioritization based on the traffic pattern,
wherein the scheduling prioritization starts when a first packet of a video frame of the video frame of the gaming traffic is in a buffer and stops when a last packet of the video frame of the gaming traffic is transmitted to the UE, the scheduling prioritization is resumed when a first packet of the video frame of the gaming traffic is in the buffer for a next video frame, and a location of the buffer is at a core network element or at a scheduler of a network node.
However, Black teaches
determining a periodicity and a duration of a scheduling prioritization based on the traffic pattern, (col 2, lines 30, Because of the importance of I-frames, the standards require I-frames to be periodically inserted into a video stream, regardless of whether any changes occur, in order to limit the duration of any interruption.)
wherein the scheduling prioritization starts when a first packet of a video frame of the video frame of the gaming traffic is in a buffer and stops when a last packet of the video frame of the gaming traffic is transmitted to the UE, (Fig. 4, see col 3, line 60, “When the video frame is a first type of video information, e.g., an I-frame, ("Yes" path out of decision step 415), then a first priority level is assigned to the video frame (step 420). When the video frame is not the first type of video information, e.g., a P-frame or B-frame, ("No" path out of decision step 415), then a second priority level is assigned to the video frame (step 425).”)
the scheduling prioritization is resumed when a first packet of the video frame of the gaming traffic is in the buffer for a next video frame, and a location of the buffer is at a core network element or at a scheduler of a network node. (col 3, line 20 “(13) Returning now to FIG. 1, after forming the network transport packets with the appropriate quality of service, data transport device 120 stores the packets in a buffer 125 for transmission to network 130.)
in order to reduce bandwidth consumption of video stream (col 4, line 20)
Gupta and Black are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Gupta with the technique of prioritize video frames in Black in order to reduce bandwidth consumption of video stream.
Regarding claim 19. Gupta, Salah and Ogilvie teach The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16, but it does not teach but it does not teach further comprising: determining a periodicity and a duration of a scheduling prioritization based on the traffic pattern,
wherein the scheduling prioritization starts when a first packet of a video frame of the video frame of the gaming traffic is in a buffer and stops when a last packet of the video frame of the gaming traffic is transmitted to the UE, the scheduling prioritization is resumed when a first packet of the video frame of the gaming traffic is in the buffer for a next video frame, and a location of the buffer is at a core network element or at a scheduler of a network node.
However, Black teaches
determining a periodicity and a duration of a scheduling prioritization based on the traffic pattern, (col 2, lines 30, Because of the importance of I-frames, the standards require I-frames to be periodically inserted into a video stream, regardless of whether any changes occur, in order to limit the duration of any interruption.)
wherein the scheduling prioritization starts when a first packet of a video frame of the video frame of the gaming traffic is in a buffer and stops when a last packet of the video frame of the gaming traffic is transmitted to the UE, (Fig. 4, see col 3, line 60, “When the video frame is a first type of video information, e.g., an I-frame, ("Yes" path out of decision step 415), then a first priority level is assigned to the video frame (step 420). When the video frame is not the first type of video information, e.g., a P-frame or B-frame, ("No" path out of decision step 415), then a second priority level is assigned to the video frame (step 425).”)
the scheduling prioritization is resumed when a first packet of the video frame of the gaming traffic is in the buffer for a next video frame, and a location of the buffer is at a core network element or at a scheduler of a network node. (col 3, line 20 “(13) Returning now to FIG. 1, after forming the network transport packets with the appropriate quality of service, data transport device 120 stores the packets in a buffer 125 for transmission to network 130.)
in order to reduce bandwidth consumption of video stream (col 4, line 20)
Gupta and Black are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Gupta with the technique of prioritize video frames in Black in order to reduce bandwidth consumption of video stream.
Claims 8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupta, Salah and Ogilvie as applied to claim 1, further in view of Chang, Nelson Liang An et al. US PGPUB 20050278642 A1.
Regarding claim 8. Gupta, Salah and Ogilvie teach The method of claim 1, but it does not teach wherein the network scheduling for the gaming traffic is associated with prioritized resources, and wherein non-prioritized resources are useable for non-gaming access in between the gaming traffic or while game data is being loaded or rendered.
However, Chang teaches
wherein the network scheduling for the gaming traffic is associated with prioritized resources, and wherein non-prioritized resources are useable for non-gaming access in between the gaming traffic or while game data is being loaded or rendered. ([0032] In the case of a combat game, the collaborative server might apply a high priority to interactions such as weapon and view interactions, and apply a relatively lower priority to speech interactions between players and rendering the background environment.)
in order to balances the different capabilities of the devices. ([0021])
Gupta and Chang are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of packet communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Gupta with the technique of prioritization of interactions in games in order to balances the different capabilities of the devices.
Regarding claim 20. Gupta , Salah and Ogilvie teach The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16, but it does not teach wherein the network scheduling for the gaming traffic is associated with prioritized resources, and wherein non-prioritized resources are useable for non-gaming access in between the gaming traffic or while game data is being loaded or rendered.
However, Chang teaches
wherein the network scheduling for the gaming traffic is associated with prioritized resources, and wherein non-prioritized resources are useable for non-gaming access in between the gaming traffic or while game data is being loaded or rendered. ([0032] In the case of a combat game, the collaborative server might apply a high priority to interactions such as weapon and view interactions, and apply a relatively lower priority to speech interactions between players and rendering the background environment.)
in order to balances the different capabilities of the devices. ([0021])
Gupta and Chang are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of packet communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Gupta with the technique of prioritization of interactions in games in order to balances the different capabilities of the devices.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZHAOHUI YANG/ Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468