Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I claims 1-9 & 14-20 in the reply filed on 7/6/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4 & 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brunner et al. (US 2015/0072260)
With respect to claim 1, Brunner et al. discloses a fuel supply system, comprising:
a fuel supply 1a configured to hold a fuel in a liquid phase;
an energy producing assembly 30 configured to generate one or more of mechanical energy or electric energy by consuming the fuel from the fuel supply 1a;
one or more operating fluid circuits 15 coupled with the energy producing assembly 30, the one or more operating fluid circuits 15 configured to manage an operating temperature of the energy producing assembly by directing operating fluid into and out of the energy producing assembly 30 [0014-0025]; and
one or more heat exchangers 5a/5b/9 configured to control an operating fluid temperature of the operating fluid in the one or more operating fluid circuits 15 using a reduced temperature of the fuel from the fuel supply 1a prior to directing the fuel into the energy producing assembly 30. [0014-0035; Figure 1]
With respect to claim 3, Brunner et al. discloses further comprising: an intermediate tank 1 configured to be disposed between the fuel supply 1a and the energy producing assembly 30, the intermediate tank 1 configured to control or maintain a pressure at which the fuel is delivered to the energy producing assembly. [0014-0035; Figure 1]
With respect to claim 4, Brunner et al. discloses wherein the one or more heat exchangers 5a/5b/9 include a first heat exchanger 5a and at least a second heat exchanger 5b, the first heat exchanger 5a configured to receive the fuel from the fuel supply 1a in a gas or vapor phase and to direct the fuel toward the energy producing assembly 30, the at least the second heat exchanger 5b configured to receive the operating fluid from the one or more operating fluid circuits 15 and direct the operating fluid back into the one or more operating fluid circuits 15. [0014-0035; Figure 1]
With respect to claim 6, Brunner et al. discloses wherein the energy producing assembly includes one or more fuel cells. [Abstract]
With respect to claim 7, Brunner et al. discloses wherein the fuel supply configured to hold a fuel in a liquid phase, the energy producing assembly, the one or more operating fluid circuits, and the one or more heat exchangers are configured to be disposed onboard a vehicle system. [Abstract]
With respect to claim 8, Brunner et al. discloses wherein the vehicle system is a single vehicle. [Abstract]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brunner et al. (US 2015/0072260) as applied to claim 1 above in further view of Grossgasteiger et al. (US 2022/0057083)
With respect to claim 2, Brunner et al. does not disclose
a blower configured to change the fuel from the liquid phase to a gas or vapor phase in the fuel supply by directing ambient air through one or more conduits extending into the fuel supply.
Grossgasteiger et al. discloses a blower configured to change the fuel from the liquid phase to a gas or vapor phase in the fuel supply by directing ambient air through one or more conduits extending into the fuel supply. [Abstract; 0030-0045; 0110-0146; 0184-0190]
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the fuel cell system of Brunner et al. to include a blower and evaporator as disclosed in Grossgasteiger in order to allow for an inexpensive reliable and safe system.
Note: the instant claim is directed toward an apparatus. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function (see MPEP 2114).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brunner et al. (US 2015/0072260) as applied to claim 4 above in further view of Seo (US 2021/0036342)
With respect to claim 5, Brunner et al. does not disclose wherein one or more blowers configured to move air across the first heat exchanger and the at least the second heat exchanger to transfer thermal energy from the operating fluid in the at least the second heat exchanger to the fuel in the first heat exchanger.
Seo discloses wherein one blower F configured to move air across the first heat exchanger 141 and the at least the second heat exchanger 142 to transfer thermal energy from the operating fluid in the at least the second heat exchanger to the fuel in the first heat exchanger. [Figure 1; 0018; 0032-0053]
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the fuel cell system of Brunner et al. to include a blower as disclosed in Seo in order to allow for high cooling capacity.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brunner et al. (US 2015/0072260) as applied to claim 7 above in further view of Mothier (WO2021/170213) and Mai US 2011/0072509
With respect to claim 9, Brunner et al. does not disclose wherein the fuel supply is a first fuel supply, and the vehicle system includes a first vehicle and a second vehicle with the fuel supply, the energy producing assembly, the one or more operating fluid circuits, and the one or more heat exchangers configured to be disposed onboard the first vehicle, and further comprising: a second fuel supply configured to hold an additional amount of the fuel, the second fuel supply configured to be disposed onboard the second vehicle.
Mothier discloses the use of three circuits is advantageous as it allows each individual circuit L1, L2, L3 to maintain their associated components at an optimal operating temperature for first and second vehicle components. [0040-0079]
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the fuel cell system of Brunner et al. to include multiple cooling circuits as disclosed in Mothier in order to allow each individual circuit L1, L2, L3 to maintain their associated components at an optimal operating temperature.
Mai discloses a fuel cell system for a vehicle comprising multiple fuel supply means 70/30, first and second fuel cell stacks 14/16 [0027]
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the fuel cell system of Brunner et al. to include multiple fuel supply means and fuel cell stacks as disclosed in Mai in order to allow for a simple construction and a high efficiency.
Claim(s) 14-16 & 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brunner et al. (US 2015/0072260) in view of Grossgasteiger et al. (US 2022/0057083)
With respect to claim 14, Brunner et al. discloses a fuel supply system, comprising:
a fuel supply 1a configured to hold a fuel in a liquid phase;
an energy producing assembly 30 configured to generate one or more of mechanical energy or electric energy by consuming the fuel from the fuel supply 1a;
one or more operating fluid circuits 15 coupled with the energy producing assembly 30, the one or more operating fluid circuits 15 configured to manage an operating temperature of the energy producing assembly by directing operating fluid into and out of the energy producing assembly 30 [0014-0025]; and
one or more heat exchangers 5a/5b/9 configured to control an operating fluid temperature of the operating fluid in the one or more operating fluid circuits 15 using a reduced temperature of the fuel from the fuel supply 1a prior to directing the fuel into the energy producing assembly 30. [0014-0035; Figure 1]
Brunner et al. does not disclose
a blower configured to change the fuel from the liquid phase to a gas or vapor phase in the fuel supply by directing ambient air through one or more conduits extending into the fuel supply.
Grossgasteiger et al. discloses a blower configured to change the fuel from the liquid phase to a gas or vapor phase in the fuel supply by directing ambient air through one or more conduits extending into the fuel supply. [Abstract; 0030-0045; 0110-0146; 0184-0190]
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the fuel cell system of Brunner et al. to include a blower and evaporator as disclosed in Grossgasteiger in order to allow for an inexpensive reliable and safe system.
Note: the instant claim is directed toward an apparatus. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function (see MPEP 2114).
With respect to claim 15, Brunner et al. discloses further comprising: an intermediate tank 1 configured to be disposed between the fuel supply 1a and the energy producing assembly 30, the intermediate tank 1 configured to control or maintain a pressure at which the fuel is delivered to the energy producing assembly. [0014-0035; Figure 1]
With respect to claim 16, Brunner et al. discloses wherein the one or more heat exchangers 5a/5b/9 include a first heat exchanger 5a and at least a second heat exchanger 5b, the first heat exchanger 5a configured to receive the fuel from the fuel supply 1a in a gas or vapor phase and to direct the fuel toward the energy producing assembly 30, the at least the second heat exchanger 5b configured to receive the operating fluid from the one or more operating fluid circuits 15 and direct the operating fluid back into the one or more operating fluid circuits 15. [0014-0035; Figure 1]
With respect to claim 18, Brunner et al. discloses wherein the energy producing assembly includes one or more fuel cells. [Abstract]
With respect to claim 19, Brunner et al. discloses wherein the fuel supply configured to hold a fuel in a liquid phase, the energy producing assembly, the one or more operating fluid circuits, and the one or more heat exchangers are configured to be disposed onboard a vehicle system. [Abstract]
With respect to claim 20, Brunner et al. discloses wherein the vehicle system is a single vehicle. [Abstract]
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brunner et al. (US 2015/0072260) in view of Grossgasteiger et al. (US 2022/0057083) as applied to claim 16 above in further view of Seo (US 2021/0036342)
With respect to claim 17, Brunner et al. does not disclose wherein one or more blowers configured to move air across the first heat exchanger and the at least the second heat exchanger to transfer thermal energy from the operating fluid in the at least the second heat exchanger to the fuel in the first heat exchanger.
Seo discloses wherein one blower F configured to move air across the first heat exchanger 141 and the at least the second heat exchanger 142 to transfer thermal energy from the operating fluid in the at least the second heat exchanger to the fuel in the first heat exchanger. [Figure 1; 0018; 0032-0053]
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the fuel cell system of Brunner et al. to include a blower as disclosed in Seo in order to allow for high cooling capacity.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Akashi US 2018/0261856.
/KIRAN QURAISHI AKHTAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1751