DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species 4 (Figure 7, claims 1-3, 5, 7-11, 16, 17, 19 and 20) in the reply filed on 09/01/26 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1 Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Hirai et al.(US 20190244743).
Regarding claim 1, Hirai et al. (figures 1-2, 4-5 and 0058-0094/0131-0145) discloses an element body (see figure 2) which includes a magnetic layer (10) and includes a first principal surface and a second principal surface opposite to each other (see figures 2/4-5); a coil (21) which is in the element body (see figures 2/4-5); and an insulation layer (15) which covers a part of an outer surface of the coil (see figures 2/4-5); the coil including a first inductor wire wound along a plane orthogonal to a first direction which is orthogonal to the first principal surface and is from the second principal surface toward the first principal surface (see figures 2/4-5); and at least a part of an inner peripheral surface of an innermost periphery of the first inductor wire being in contact with the magnetic layer (see figures 2/4-5).
Regarding claim 5, Hirai et al. (figures 1-2 and figures 4-5) discloses wherein the first inductor wire includes a top surface facing a side of the first direction, at least a 110part of the top surface of the first inductor wire is in contact with the magnetic layer (see figures 2/4-5)., and a portion of the top surface of the first inductor wire, the portion being in contact with the magnetic layer, is continuous with the inner peripheral surface of the innermost periphery of the first inductor wire(see figures 2/4-5).
2. Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Lee et al.(US 20090322458).
Regarding claim 1, Lee et al. (figure 3a, 4-5 and 0039-0041) discloses an element body (see figure 3a) which includes a magnetic layer (106) and includes a first principal surface and a second principal surface opposite to each other (see figure 3a); a coil (102) which is in the element body (see figure 3a); and an insulation layer (112) which covers a part of an outer surface of the coil (see figure 3a); the coil including a first inductor wire wound along a plane orthogonal to a first direction which is orthogonal to the first principal surface and is from the second principal surface toward the first principal surface (see figure 3a); and at least a part of an inner peripheral surface of an innermost periphery of the first inductor wire being in contact with the magnetic layer (see figure 3a).
3. Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Hamada et al.(US 20200027646).
Regarding claim 1, Hamada et al. (figures 1a-2b and 0059-0100) discloses an element body (see figure 1b) which includes a magnetic layer (12) and includes a first principal surface and a second principal surface opposite to each other (see figure 1b); a coil (21) which is in the element body (see figure 1b); and an insulation layer (12a) which covers a part of an outer surface of the coil (see figure 2b); the coil including a first inductor wire wound along a plane orthogonal to a first direction which is orthogonal to the first principal surface and is from the second principal surface toward the first principal surface (see figure 1b); and at least a part of an inner peripheral surface of an innermost periphery of the first inductor wire being in contact with the magnetic layer (see figure 1b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2 Claims 1-3, 5, 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshioka et al.(US 20190074125) in view of Hirai et al.(US 20190244743).
Regarding claim 1, Yoshioka et al.(figures 1-2, 7a-7b and 0064-0110/0149-0160) discloses an element body (see figure 2/7b) which includes a magnetic layer (10) and includes a first principal surface and a second principal surface opposite to each other (see figure 2/7b); a coil (21) which is in the element body(see figure 2/7b); and an insulation layer (15) which covers a part of an outer surface of the coil(see figure 2/7b), the coil including a first inductor wire wound along a plane orthogonal to a first direction which is orthogonal to the first principal surface and is from the second principal surface toward the first principal surface(see figure 2/7b).
Yoshioka et al (para 0106) discloses a teaching wherein may not cover the coil wire but does not expressly disclose at least a part of an inner peripheral surface of an innermost periphery of the first inductor wire being in contact with the magnetic layer.
Hirai et al. (figures 1-2 and figures 4-5) discloses a teaching wherein at least a part of an inner peripheral surface of an innermost periphery of the first inductor wire being in contact with the magnetic layer.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design wherein at least a part of an inner peripheral surface of an innermost periphery of the first inductor wire being in contact with the magnetic layer as taught by Hirai et al. to the inductive device of Yoshioka et al so as to reduce the magnetic reluctance thereby maximizing the inductance of the coil.
Regarding claim 2, Yoshioka et al.(figures 7a-7b and para 0149-0160) discloses wherein the coil further comprises a second inductor wire (22) wound along a plane orthogonal to the first direction, the second inductor wire is on a side of a second direction opposite to the first direction with respect to the first inductor wire and is electrically connected to the first inductor wire (see figure 7b), and the insulation layer is at least between the first inductor wire and the second inductor wire and covers an inner peripheral surface of an innermost periphery of the second inductor wire(see figure 7b).
Regarding claim 3, Yoshioka et al.(figures 7a-7b and para 0152) an extended wire (31) which is connected to an end portion of the first inductor wire in an extension direction of the first inductor wire, wherein the extended wire extends in the first direction, and is exposed from an outer surface of the element body(see figure 7b).
Regarding claim 5, Hirai et al. (figures 1-2 and figures 4-5) discloses wherein the first inductor wire includes a top surface facing a side of the first direction, at least a part of the top surface of the first inductor wire is in contact with the magnetic layer (see figures 2/4-5)., and a portion of the top surface of the first inductor wire, the portion being in contact with the magnetic layer, is continuous with the inner peripheral surface of the innermost periphery of the first inductor wire(see figures 2/4-5).
Regarding claim 10, Hirai et al. (figures 1-2 and figures 4-5) discloses wherein the first inductor wire includes a top surface facing a side of the first direction, at least a part of the top surface of the first inductor wire is in contact with the magnetic layer (see figures 2/4-5)., and a portion of the top surface of the first inductor wire, the portion being in contact with the magnetic layer, is continuous with the inner peripheral surface of the innermost periphery of the first inductor wire(see figures 2/4-5).
Regarding claim 11, Hirai et al. (figures 1-2 and figures 4-5) discloses wherein the first inductor wire includes a top surface facing a side of the first direction, at least a part of the top surface of the first inductor wire is in contact with the magnetic layer (see figures 2/4-5)., and a portion of the top surface of the first inductor wire, the portion being in contact with the magnetic layer, is continuous with the inner peripheral surface of the innermost periphery of the first inductor wire(see figures 2/4-5).
3 Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamada et al.(US 20200027646) in view of Ohkubo et al.(US 20140009254).
Regarding claim 7, Hamada et al. (figures 1a-2b and 0059-0100) discloses
wherein the first inductor wire includes a seed layer (211) and a plating layer (212) which is partially in contact with the seed layer (see figures 1b-2b) which is in contact with the magnetic layer, of the inner peripheral surface of the innermost periphery of the first inductor wire.
Hamada et al. does not expressly disclose the seed layer, which is in a portion of the first inductor wire including the innermost periphery, is shifted to a side opposite to a side of the inner peripheral surface of the innermost periphery of the first inductor wire with respect to a center of the first inductor wire in a direction orthogonal to the first direction, in a cross section which is orthogonal to an extension direction of the first inductor wire and intersects a portion.
Ohkubo et al.(figure 10 and para 0078-0086) discloses a teaching wherein the seed layer, which is in a portion of the first inductor wire including the innermost periphery, is shifted to a side opposite to a side of the inner peripheral surface of the innermost periphery of the first inductor wire with respect to a center of the first inductor wire in a direction orthogonal to the first direction, in a cross section which is orthogonal to an extension direction of the first inductor wire and intersects a portion.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design wherein at least a part of an inner peripheral surface of an innermost periphery of the first inductor wire being in contact with the magnetic layer as taught by Ohkubo et al. to the inductive device of Hamada et al. so as to lower the alternating current resistance and minimizes eddy current losses; thereby preventing localized overheating.
Regarding claim 8, Hamada et al. (figures 1a-2b and 0059-0100) discloses
wherein the first inductor wire includes a bottom surface facing a side of a second direction opposite to the first direction, and the seed layer which is in a portion of the first inductor wire including the innermost periphery is at a corner portion between an outer peripheral surface opposite to the inner peripheral surface of the innermost periphery of the first inductor wire and the bottom surface of the first inductor wire.
Regarding claim 9, Ohkubo et al.(figure 10 and para 0078-0086) discloses
wherein the first inductor wire includes a top surface facing a side of the first direction, and a portion of the first inductor wire including the innermost periphery has a curved surface at a corner portion between the inner peripheral surface of the innermost periphery of the first inductor wire and the top surface of the first inductor wire.
4 Claims 2-3 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamada et al.(US 20200027646) in view of Ohkubo et al.(US 20140009254) in further view of Yoshioka et al.(US 20190074125).
Regarding claim 2, Hamada et al. (figures 1a-2b and 0059-0100) discloses all the limitations as noted above but does expressly disclose wherein the coil further comprises a second inductor wire wound along a plane orthogonal to the first direction, the second inductor wire is on a side of a second direction opposite to the first direction with respect to the first inductor wire and is electrically connected to the first inductor wire, and the insulation layer is at least between the first inductor wire and the second inductor wire and covers an inner peripheral surface of an innermost periphery of the second inductor wire.
Yoshioka et al.(figures 1-2, 7a-7b and 0064-0110/0149-0160) discloses wherein the coil further comprises a second inductor wire (22) wound along a plane orthogonal to the first direction, the second inductor wire is on a side of a second direction opposite to the first direction with respect to the first inductor wire and is electrically connected to the first inductor wire (see figure 7b), and the insulation layer is at least between the first inductor wire and the second inductor wire and covers an inner peripheral surface of an innermost periphery of the second inductor wire(see figure 7b).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design wherein the coil further comprises a second inductor wire wound along a plane orthogonal to the first direction, the second inductor wire is on a side of a second direction opposite to the first direction with respect to the first inductor wire and is electrically connected to the first inductor wire, and the insulation layer is at least between the first inductor wire and the second inductor wire and covers an inner peripheral surface of an innermost periphery of the second inductor wire as taught by Yoshioka et al. to the inductive device of Hamada et al. so as to allow for a higher inductance to be obtained while also improving filtering and reduce ripple current in DC circuits, which enhances overall circuit stability.
Regarding claim 3, Yoshioka et al.(figures 7a-7b and para 0152) an extended wire (31) which is connected to an end portion of the first inductor wire in an extension direction of the first inductor wire, wherein the extended wire extends in the first direction, and is exposed from an outer surface of the element body(see figure 7b).
Regarding claim 16, Hamada et al. (figures 1a-2b and 0059-0100) discloses
wherein the first inductor wire includes a seed layer (211) and a plating layer (212) which is partially in contact with the seed layer (see figures 1b-2b) which is in contact with the magnetic layer, of the inner peripheral surface of the innermost periphery of the first inductor wire.
Hamada et al. does not expressly disclose the seed layer, which is in a portion of the first inductor wire including the innermost periphery, is shifted to a side opposite to a side of the inner peripheral surface of the innermost periphery of the first inductor wire with respect to a center of the first inductor wire in a direction orthogonal to the first direction, in a cross section which is orthogonal to an extension direction of the first inductor wire and intersects a portion.
Ohkubo et al.(figure 10 and para 0078-0086) discloses a teaching wherein the seed layer, which is in a portion of the first inductor wire including the innermost periphery, is shifted to a side opposite to a side of the inner peripheral surface of the innermost periphery of the first inductor wire with respect to a center of the first inductor wire in a direction orthogonal to the first direction, in a cross section which is orthogonal to an extension direction of the first inductor wire and intersects a portion.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design wherein at least a part of an inner peripheral surface of an innermost periphery of the first inductor wire being in contact with the magnetic layer as taught by Ohkubo et al. to the inductive device of Hamada et al. so as to lower the alternating current resistance and minimizes eddy current losses; thereby preventing localized overheating.
Regarding claim 17, Hamada et al. (figures 1a-2b and 0059-0100) discloses
wherein the first inductor wire includes a seed layer (211) and a plating layer (212) which is partially in contact with the seed layer (see figures 1b-2b) which is in contact with the magnetic layer, of the inner peripheral surface of the innermost periphery of the first inductor wire.
Hamada et al. does not expressly disclose the seed layer, which is in a portion of the first inductor wire including the innermost periphery, is shifted to a side opposite to a side of the inner peripheral surface of the innermost periphery of the first inductor wire with respect to a center of the first inductor wire in a direction orthogonal to the first direction, in a cross section which is orthogonal to an extension direction of the first inductor wire and intersects a portion.
Ohkubo et al.(figure 10 and para 0078-0086) discloses a teaching wherein the seed layer, which is in a portion of the first inductor wire including the innermost periphery, is shifted to a side opposite to a side of the inner peripheral surface of the innermost periphery of the first inductor wire with respect to a center of the first inductor wire in a direction orthogonal to the first direction, in a cross section which is orthogonal to an extension direction of the first inductor wire and intersects a portion.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design wherein at least a part of an inner peripheral surface of an innermost periphery of the first inductor wire being in contact with the magnetic layer as taught by Ohkubo et al. to the inductive device of Hamada et al. so as to lower the alternating current resistance and minimizes eddy current losses; thereby preventing localized overheating.
Regarding claim 19, Hamada et al. (figures 1a-2b and 0059-0100) discloses
wherein the first inductor wire includes a bottom surface facing a side of a second direction opposite to the first direction, and the seed layer which is in a portion of the first inductor wire including the innermost periphery is at a corner portion between an outer peripheral surface opposite to the inner peripheral surface of the innermost periphery of the first inductor wire and the bottom surface of the first inductor wire.
Regarding claim 20, Ohkubo et al.(figure 10 and para 0078-0086) discloses
wherein the first inductor wire includes a top surface facing a side of the first direction, and a portion of the first inductor wire including the innermost periphery has a curved surface at a corner portion between the inner peripheral surface of the innermost periphery of the first inductor wire and the top surface of the first inductor wire.
Conclusion
/RONALD HINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837