DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Specifically, the phrase “enlarged thickness” is unclear as a relative term, in other words, it is unclear what the base thickness for determining enlarged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Grunfelder (US2989273) in view of Cruz (US20120073900).
Grunfelder discloses an aircraft maintenance fall protection system comprising:
an anchor couplable (Fig. 1) to a rotor shaft of an aircraft, the anchor including: a flyable fitting (see the eyelet at 3, note from Fig. 3 of Grunfelder that the eyelet provides an attachment point for a crane) configured to be coupled to the rotor shaft during flight, the flyable fitting including a base structured to interface with the rotor shaft (inherent to Grunfelder, note that the base of the flyable fitting, specifically, the portion of the fitting below the eyelet, is necessarily interfaced to the rotor shaft of the helicopter).
Grunfelder fails to disclose an extension fitting assembly removably couplable to the flyable fitting, the extension fitting assembly to support a tether for a maintenance operator. Cruz teaches, in the context of crane attachment points (Cruz [0028]: “A crane handle 103 is fixed onto plate 102 via welding or other secure attachment methods”), an extension fitting assembly (109, Fig. 1) removably couplable to the flyable fitting (103), the extension fitting assembly to support a tether (at 111) for a maintenance operator. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have included an extension fitting assembly removably couplable to the flyable fitting, the extension fitting assembly to support a tether for a maintenance operator in the system of Grunfelder according to the teachings of Cruz in order to implement fall protection to a helicopter crane handle, see Fig. 3 of Grunfelder and Fig. 1 of Cruz.
2. Grunfelder in view of Cruz discloses the aircraft maintenance fall protection system of claim 1, wherein the flyable fitting includes a spigot (holes of 102, Fig. 1 of Cruz) releasably couplable with the extension fitting assembly (via carabiner 110 in Fig. 1 of Cruz), and a flange (106, Fig. 1 of Cruz) structured to support and stabilize the base in the rotor shaft, the flange between the base (the portion of 101 below the flange 106 in Fig. 1 of Cruz) and the spigot (102, Fig. 1 of Cruz).
3. Grunfelder in view of Cruz discloses the aircraft maintenance fall protection system of claim 2, further including a cover (solid portion with no holes of 102, Fig. 1 of Cruz) to be positioned over the base, the spigot (holes of 102, Fig. 1 of Cruz) to extend through the cover.
4. Grunfelder in view of Cruz discloses the aircraft maintenance fall protection system of claim 2, wherein the base (101, Fig. 1 of Cruz) is threadably couplable with an opening of the rotor shaft ([0025]: “Base plate 106 includes two or more openings there-through that are adapted by female threading to accept male-threaded stabilizer bolts 107. Each stabilizer bolt 107 may include a locknut to prevent drift in the bolt once it is installed and secured. Stabilizer bolts may be manufactured of high tempered steel for durable strength”).
5. Grunfelder in view of Cruz discloses the aircraft maintenance fall protection system of claim 1, wherein the flyable fitting (3, Fig. 1 of Grunfelder) is concentric with a main rotor retaining nut of the rotor shaft (see Fig. 3 of Grunfelder, note that the flyable fitting extends vertically from the center of the rotor shaft and is therefore concentric with the main rotor retainer nut).
15. Grunfelder in view of Cruz discloses an aircraft comprising: the maintenance fall protection system of claim 1; a rotor hub (3, Fig. 1 of Grunfelder) having the rotor shaft (3, Fig. 1 of Grunfelder); and a plurality of blades (7, Fig. 1 of Grunfelder) coupled to the rotor hub and rotatable about the rotor shaft (3).
20. Grunfelder in view of Cruz discloses the aircraft of claim 15, wherein the aircraft is flyable with the flyable fitting (see Figs. 1-3 of Grunfelder).
Claims 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Grunfelder (US2989273) in view of Cruz (US20120073900) and further in view of Hung (US20180345049).
6. Grunfelder in view of Cruz discloses the aircraft maintenance fall protection system of claim 1, wherein the extension fitting assembly includes an anchorage fitting (110, Fig. 1 of Cruz). Grunfelder in view of Cruz fails to disclose the aircraft maintenance fall protection system of claim 1, wherein the extension fitting assembly includes an extension pipe. Hung teaches, in the context of extension fitting assemblies for fall protection, an extension pipe (2, Fig. 2). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have included wherein the extension fitting assembly includes an extension pipe in the system of Grunfelder in view of Cruz according to the teachings of Hung in order add an additional buffer to further mitigate risk associated with a fall from height by a maintenance worker using the system.
8. Grunfelder in view of Cruz and further in view of Hung discloses the aircraft maintenance fall protection system of claim 6, wherein the flyable fitting includes a spigot (102, Fig. 1 of Cruz) structured to couple with the extension fitting assembly, the extension pipe releasably couplable to the spigot with a self-locking pin (111, in Fig. 1 of Cruz).
Claims 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Grunfelder (US2989273) in view of Cruz (US20120073900) in view of Hung (US20180345049) in view of Gomez (US20120280054) and further in view of Newing (US20200276463).
9. Grunfelder in view of Cruz in view of Hung discloses the aircraft maintenance fall protection system of claim 6, wherein the anchor is a first anchor, the rotor shaft is a first rotor shaft, the flyable fitting is a first flyable fitting, the base is a first base, and the extension fitting assembly is a first extension fitting assembly. Grunfelder in view of Cruz in view of Hung fails to disclose the aircraft maintenance fall protection system including: a second anchor couplable to a second rotor shaft of the aircraft, the second anchor including: a second flyable fitting including a second base structured to interface with the second rotor shaft; and a second extension fitting assembly removably couplable to the second flyable fitting; and a static line that is securable to the anchorage fitting. Gomez teaches a helicopter with a second rotor shaft. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have included : a second anchor couplable to a second rotor shaft of the aircraft, the second anchor including: a second flyable fitting including a second base structured to interface with the second rotor shaft; and a second extension fitting assembly removably couplable to the second flyable fitting in the system of Grunfelder in view of Cruz in view of Hung according to the teachings of Gomez in order to service both ends of the helicopter simultaneously.
Grunfelder in view of Cruz in view of Hung in view of Gomez fails to disclose a static line that is securable to the anchorage fitting. Newing teaches in the context of anchors wherein a static line is securable between anchorage fittings (Newing, [0119]: “A taught fall safety line extending between neighbouring support post assemblies 2 may apply a different static line load to the support post 6 compared to a rigid fall safety rail”). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have included disclose a static line that is securable to the anchorage fittings of Grunfelder in view of Cruz in view of Hung in view of Gome according to the teachings of Newing in order to improve the work range of maintenance personnel between the rotors of the twin rotor helicopter.
10. Grunfelder in view of Cruz in view of Hung in view of Gomez and further in view of Newing disclose the aircraft maintenance fall protection system of claim 9, further including a pulley movable along the static line (Newing [0105]: “A person or worker is preferably attached to the fall safety line via a traveller which is able to slide along the fall safety line and pass over or around the safety line mounts 8 as the person moves around the work area”).
11. Grunfelder in view of Cruz in view of Hung in view of Gomez and further in view of Newing disclose the aircraft maintenance fall protection system of claim 10, wherein the pulley is structured to be coupled to a harness to support a maintenance operator (Newing [0105]: “A person or worker is preferably attached to the fall safety line via a traveller which is able to slide along the fall safety line and pass over or around the safety line mounts 8 as the person moves around the work area”).
12. Grunfelder in view of Cruz in view of Hung in view of Gomez and further in view of Newing discloses the aircraft maintenance fall protection system apparatus of claim 11, wherein the pulley is a first pulley, the harness is a first harness, and the maintenance operator is a first maintenance operator. Grunfelder in view of Cruz in view of Hung in view of Gomez and further in view of Newing fails to disclose the system further including a second pulley movable along the static line simultaneously as the first pulley, the second pulley structured to be coupled to a second harness to support a second maintenance operator at the same time as the first pulley is to support the first maintenance operator, the system configured to absorb energy from both the first maintenance operator and the second maintenance operator falling at the same time. However, per MPEP 2144.05.VI.B the mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have included the system further including a second pulley movable along the static line simultaneously as the first pulley, the second pulley structured to be coupled to a second harness to support a second maintenance operator at the same time as the first pulley is to support the first maintenance operator, the system configured to absorb energy from both the first maintenance operator and the second maintenance operator falling at the same time in order to allow multiple maintenance workers to service the helicopter simultaneously.
13. Grunfelder in view of Cruz in view of Hung in view of Gomez and further in view of Newing disclose the aircraft maintenance fall protection system apparatus of claim 11, wherein the first extension fitting assembly includes a first extension pipe and a first anchorage fitting rotatable about the first extension pipe. Grunfelder in view of Cruz in view of Hung in view of Gomez and further in view of Newing fails to disclose wherein the second extension fitting assembly includes a second extension pipe and a second anchorage fitting rotatable about the second extension pipe, the static line to extend between the first anchorage fitting and the second anchorage fitting. However, per MPEP 2144.05.VI.B the mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have included wherein the second extension fitting assembly includes a second extension pipe and a second anchorage fitting rotatable about the second extension pipe, the static line to extend between the first anchorage fitting and the second anchorage fitting in the system of Grunfelder in view of Cruz in view of Hung in view of Gomez and further in view of Newing in order to provide both workers with the same enhanced protection.
14. Grunfelder in view of Cruz in view of Hung in view of Gomez and further in view of Newing discloses the aircraft maintenance fall protection system apparatus of claim 11, further including a first self-locking pin (111, in Fig. 1 of Cruz) to couple the first extension fitting with the first flyable fitting. Grunfelder in view of Cruz in view of Hung in view of Gomez and further in view of Newing a second self-locking pin (111, in Fig. 1 of Cruz) to couple the second extension fitting with the second flyable fitting.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Grunfelder (US2989273) in view of Cruz (US20120073900) and further in view of Jensen (US2774553).
16. Grunfelder in view of Cruz fails to disclose the aircraft of claim 15, further including: a main rotor retaining nut; and an oil reservoir, the flyable fitting concentric with the main rotor retaining nut and the oil reservoir. Jensen teaches, in the context helicopters, a main rotor retaining nut; and an oil reservoir (col. 3, lines 4-12: “A hall thrust hearing 64 is also provided in the arm of the somewhat heavier lower plate 44, the whole bearing assembly being positioned by upper and lower nuts 66 and 68 which are screw threaded onto the upper and lower ends of the drag hinge. Suitable closure caps 69 and 69a are provided above and below the drag hinge to enclose the bearings and to confine the usual lubricant provided for the bearings”), the flyable fitting (see above the lead line from 16 in Fig. 3 of Velasquez) concentric with the main rotor retaining nut and the oil reservoir. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have included a main rotor retaining nut; and an oil reservoir, the flyable fitting concentric with the main rotor retaining nut and the oil reservoir in the system of Grunfelder in view of Cruz according to the teachings of Jensen in order to maintain balance in the rotating assembly.
Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Grunfelder (US2989273) in view of Cruz (US20120073900) and further in view of Gomez (US20120280054).
17. Grunfelder in view of Cruz discloses the aircraft of claim 15, wherein the rotor hub is a first rotor hub, the rotor shaft is a first rotor shaft, the plurality of blades are a first plurality of blades, the flyable fitting is a first flyable fitting, the extension fitting assembly is a first extension fitting assembly. Grunfelder in view of Cruz fails to disclose the aircraft further including: a second rotor hub having a second rotor shaft; a second plurality of blades coupled to the second rotor hub and rotatable about the second rotor shaft; and a second flyable fitting interfacing with the second rotor shaft, the second flyable fitting releasably couplable with a second extension fitting assembly to support a maintenance fall protection system.
Gomez teaches a helicopter with a second rotor shaft. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have included : a second anchor couplable to a second rotor shaft of the aircraft, the second anchor including: a second flyable fitting including a second base structured to interface with the second rotor shaft; and a second extension fitting assembly removably couplable to the second flyable fitting in the system of Grunfelder in view of Cruz according to the teachings of Gomez in order to service both ends of the helicopter simultaneously.
18. Grunfelder in view of Cruz discloses the aircraft of claim 15, wherein the flyable fitting is a first flyable fitting, the extension fitting assembly is a first extension fitting assembly. Grunfelder in view of Cruz fails to disclose the aircraft further including: a tail boom; and a second flyable fitting interfacing with the tail boom, the second flyable fitting releasably couplable with a second extension fitting assembly to support a maintenance fall protection system. Gomez teaches an aircraft further including: a tail boom. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have included a second flyable fitting interfacing with the tail boom, the second flyable fitting releasably couplable with a second extension fitting assembly to support a maintenance fall protection system in the system of Grunfelder in view of Cruz according to the teachings of Gomez in order to service both ends of the helicopter simultaneously.
19. Grunfelder in view of Cruz and further in view of Gomez discloses the aircraft of claim 15, wherein the plurality of blades are rotatable while the extension fitting assembly and the maintenance fall protection system are coupled to the flyable fitting (see Fig. 1 of Grunfelder, note that the plurality of blades are not prevented from rotation, specifically, pitch changing axial rotation, even with the flyable fitting in place on the hub/rotor assembly.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/BAP/Examiner, Art Unit 3634
/DANIEL P CAHN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3634