DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “hot wind supplying device” in claims 1, 4, 5, and 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 10, 11, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR 20060120761 A to Ahn et al. (Ahn).
In reference to independent claim 1, Ahn discloses:
A dryer apparatus (10) comprising:
a drum (15) configured to accommodate subjects to be dried;
a dryness sensor (30) configured to sense a humidity (30 is a humidity sensor) of the subjects to be dried;
a hot wind supplying device (17, 18, 19) configured to provide hot wind to the drum (when the heater 18 is operated while the drying fan 19 is driven, hot dry air is introduced into the drying drum 15 via drying duct 17); and
at least one processor (“controller” and “microcomputer”, not shown, and control panel 14) configured to:
based on a user input (at step ST111, the user inputs the steam drying course through the input unit on the control panel 14) for a predetermined drying cycle being acquired, acquire a humidity value of the subjects to be dried through the dryness sensor (at step ST114),
based on the humidity value of the subjects to be dried being less than a threshold value cycle (the detected humidity value is compared with the humidity value set in the microcomputer at step ST115), perform a washing pre-processing (if the humidity value detected by the humidity sensor 30 is less than the set humidity steam injection continues), and
based on the humidity value of the subjects to be dried being greater than or equal to the threshold value (see step ST116), control the hot wind supplying device to perform the predetermined drying cycle (at step ST117, when the detected humidity value is greater than the set humidity, heater 18 is operated, and at the same time, drying fan 19 flows heated air into the drying drum 15),
wherein the washing pre-processing cycle comprises a cycle of providing liquid to the drum (Steam injection is performed if the humidity value detected by the humidity sensor 30 is less than the set humidity. Since the injected steam would be at a higher temperature than the drum and the clothes therein, the steam would necessarily condense, thus providing a liquid to the drum and its contents).
Independent claim 11 recites a method that includes the same technical features addressed in claim 1 and is, thus, anticipated by Ahn.
In reference to dependent claims 3 and 13, Ahn further discloses: a liquid spray nozzle (120; see Fig. 4), wherein the at least one processor is configured to: based on the humidity value of the subjects to be dried being less than the threshold value (at step ST115), control the liquid spray nozzle to provide liquid to the drum (if the humidity value detected by the humidity sensor 30 is less than the set humidity steam injection continues).
In reference to dependent claim 10, Ahn further discloses: the predetermined drying cycle is a cycle for performing a function related to a pet (the dryer of Ahn is a laundry dryer, i.e. it can be used to dry laundry from a pet).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4-9, 12, 14, and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
In reference to claims 2 and 12, Ahn further discloses a driving motor configured (20) to rotate the drum (15) (by spinning belt 16). However, the prior art of record does not disclose or teach the at least one processor being configured to: based on the humidity value of the subjects to be dried being less than the threshold value, control a driving cycle of the driving motor to perform the cycle of rotating the drum and a cycle of stopping the rotation of the drum.
In reference to claims 4 and 14, a temperature sensor for sending a temperature value inside the drum is well-known in the prior art. However, the prior art of record does not disclose or teach the at least one processor being configured to: based on the humidity value of the subjects to be dried being less than the threshold value, control the hot wind supplying device to provide hot wind to the drum based on the temperature value acquired through the temperature sensor and the threshold temperature information.
In reference to claim 6, Ahn further discloses the hot wind supplying device comprises: a first heater and a second heater (18; see Fig. 1). However, the prior art of record does not disclose or teach the first and second heaters having different heat capacities, and the at least one processor is configured to: perform the washing pre-processing cycle by using the first heater, and perform the predetermined drying cycle by using the second heater.
In reference to claim 7, the prior art of record does not disclose or teach the predetermined drying cycle comprises: a first drying cycle performed based on first temperature information, a second drying cycle performed based on second temperature information, and a third drying cycle performed based on third temperature information, a temperature value of the second temperature information is less than a temperature value of the first temperature information, and a temperature value of the third temperature information is less than the temperature value of the first temperature information and is more than the temperature value of the second temperature information.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 13, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the interpretation of the limitation “hot wind supplying device” under 35 USC 112(f), Applicant argued (see page 9 of the filed Response) that the Specification defines the “hot wind supplying device” as a heater and that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize this device as any device that heats air, and that the Specification does not use “hot wind supplying device” as a nonce term.
As set forth above and previously in the Non-Final Rejection mailed April 13, 2026, claim limitations that meet the three-prong test defined in MPEP § 2181 are to be interpreted under 35 USC 112(f). Claim limitation “hot wind supplying device” includes a generic placeholder “device” that is a substitute for “means”. See MPEP § 2181(I)(A). Moreover, the term “device” is modified by functional language “hot wind supplying”, i.e. the device for supplying hot wind. And finally, the term “device” is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the function of supplying hot wind. Therefore, the limitation “hot wind supplying device” meets all the standards required by the three prongs and is thus properly interpreted under 35 UCS 112(f).
Additionally, the broadest reasonable interpretation of “hot wind supplying device” is the structure disclosed in the specification as a heater and equivalents. As such, claim limitation “hot wind supplying device” is definite. The disclosure of the structure of the “hot wind supplying device” as a heater, however, does not preclude the interpretation of the claim limitation under 35 USC 112(f).
Regarding the rejections of claims 1 and 11 under 35 USC 102(a)(1), Applicant argued that the prior art Ahn discloses “a cycle of providing moisture to a drum” in the form of steam injection and thus does not disclose providing liquid to the drum (see page 10 of the filed Response). As discussed in the rejection(s) above, the injected steam of Ahn, when added to the drum, would clearly condense into liquid form as the drum as well as the clothes contained therein would be at a lower temperature than the hot steam. Hence, Ahn indeed discloses providing liquid into the drum and thus anticipates claims 1 and 11.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NGOC T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799