DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is responsive to the communication received on 05/08/2026.. The claims 1-20 are pending, of which the claim(s) 1, 9, & 18 is/are in independent form. The filing date of this application is 11/07/2023.
Specification
The received amendment to the specification is acceptable, and the outstanding objection thereto is therefore withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) s 1, 9, & 18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Specifically, Office action relies on newly discovered US 11968088 B1 to Yan for the matters that are challenged in the applicant’s arguments (see Remarks, pages 11-12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1- 2, 6, 9- 10, 14, & 17- 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ho (US 20250112768 A1, claims priority to US 63540938 filed on 2023-09-28) in view of Kattel (US 20250097022 A1, Foreign Priority Date: 2022-05-24), and in further view of SayyarRodsari et al. (US 20200103878 A1), and Yan (US 11968088 B1). Ho, Kattel, and SayyarRodsari are references of the record. The combination of Ho, Kattel, SayyarRodsari, and Yan is referred to as HKSY hereinafter.
Regarding claim 1, Ho teaches a method, comprising:
receiving, via a processing system [computers used by the Ho], a request [“prompt” inputted by the user 118 to the “Role-Based Access Control (RBAC) enforcement component 116”. The user 118 can include any user including user managing/controlling an industrial automation system. When the user provides “prompt” while observing an industrial automation, such request/prompt can be called a request associated with an industrial automation system] for information item 118]; identifying, via the processing system, a prompt [“prompt” provided from RBAC 116 to the Retriever 112. The claim covers every possible types of the prompts] associated with the request (Fig. 1A, [040-041]);
identifying, via the processing system, one or more datasets [“encrypted and labeled data” as part of the contexts provided to the LLM 114] associated (Please note that the claim covers every possible type of association. “sending the encrypted and labeled data from the data stores 106 to the LLM 114 for context in prompts for inference”) with the request based on the prompt and the information; receiving [providing data from the primate data and index 110 to the retriever 112], via the processing system, the one or more datasets from one or more data sources [“data store 106 and private data 108”] (Fig. 1A, [035 - 038]);
formatting (the claim covers every possible formatting), via the processing system, the request and the one or more datasets
sending [“The LLM 114 may generate responses based on the provided prompts and context”], via the processing system, the request and the one or more datasets 1“a generative AI model, such as the LLM 114”] (Fig. 1A, [035, 038, 047]); and
receiving, via the processing system, a response [response returned from LLM 114 to the RBAC 116, “generate responses based on the provided prompts and context”] from the generative AI system, wherein the response is configured to be presented via a display of a human machine interface (HMI) system [computer used by the RBAC enforcement 116] (Fig. 1A, [038, 040, 047, 061]).
Ho relates to performing data security while using a generative AI (LLM 114) and teaches of sending user’s request along with context data to the generative AI to receive responses in some format (Fig. 1A).
Ho teaches:
[0036] In some cases, the system 100 may include a retriever 112 that accesses the index 110 to obtain context information. The retriever 112 may be a software or hardware component that retrieves data from the data stores 106 based on the index 110. The retriever 112 may interact with the LLM 114, exchanging prompts, context, and responses. The LLM 114 may generate responses based on the provided prompts and context, which may include the encrypted and labeled data.
However, Ho fails to teach the sent format for the “prompt” and the “context” (of retriever 112) is in the form of a package format, the request information by the user is associated with an industrial automation system, and storing the previously generated responses for the given contexts and prompts in a vector database as claimed. Put differently, Ho fails to teach following:
(1) its requested information from a user is “associated with an industrial automation system”
(2) its formatting of the request and the one or more datasets are into a package;
(3) storing, via the processing system, relationship data in a vector database, wherein the relationship data represents connections between the prompt, the one or more datasets, and operations performed by a generative artificial intelligence (AI) system.
Kattel is in the field of data security that includes secure sending of communications comprising an encrypted data along with one or more prompt as a package across insecure communication channels (Abstract). Specifically, Kattel teaches a method comprising:
formatting, via the processing system, the request and the one or more datasets into a package [“the package comprises ciphertext 109 comprising the encrypted message 107 and plaintext 111 comprising the prompt text 102.”]; sending [“a package is transmitted across the insecure communication channel 110.”], via the processing system, the package to another computing device via an insecure communication channel ([015, 032]). Kattel cures the 2nd missing limitation of Ho.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have (1) combined Kattel and Ho because they both related to sending encrypted dataset and user prompt(s) from a sending computer device to a data receiving computing device and (2) modify the steps of Ho to have its formatted the prompt and context sending to the LLM 114 in a package format as in Kattel. Doing so would allow sending of the prompt and context to the LLM 114 from retriever 112 (of Ho) even across an insecure communications channel so that the computer implementing the retriever 112 and the LLM 114 do not have to be located in the same location and also improves the data security (Kattel [001] & Ho, Fig. 1A).
Ho in view of Kattel may not teach the deficiency (1) and (3) of Ho. That is, Ho in view of Kattel may not teach:
the received a request for information from a user is request for information associated with an industrial automation and storing the responses for the given contexts and prompts but they are cured by SayyarRodsari and Yan respectively.
More specifically, SayyarRodsari relates to utilizing generative Artificial intelligence (AI) by an operator of a processing system for monitoring and diagnostics one or more equipment of an industrial facility (Abstract, [002, 0135]). Specifically, SayyarRodsari teaches method, comprising:
receiving, via a processing system, a request for information [“receive a request for information regarding one or more particular industrial automation devices 20”] associated with an industrial automation system from a user ([091, 096]); and
receiving, via the processing system, a response from a generative AI system,
wherein the response is configured to be presented via a display of a human machine
interface (HMI) system ([099]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have (1) combined SayyarRodsari and Ho in view of Kattel because they both related to a processing system of LLM to provide an answer/response from the AI module for a request/query made by an operator/user and (2) modified the method of Ho in view of Kattel to provide request for information associated with an industrial automation system from a user as in SayyarRodsari. SayyarRodsari teaches missing details for Ho in view of Kattel about types of the environment where the responses from its LLM can be practically used to solve user 118’s real problems and the reasons (“root causes for detected issues (e.g., alarms)”) why the user 118 needs to send query to the generative AI (Ho, Fig. 1A & SayyarRodsari, [087, 0164]).
Ho, Kattel, SayyarRodsari still fails to teach the 3rd deficiency. That is, Ho, Kattel, SayyarRodsari fails to teach:
storing, via the processing system, relationship data in a vector database, wherein the relationship data represents connections between the prompt, the one or more datasets, and operations performed by a generative artificial intelligence (AI) system but is cured by Yan.
Yan teaches a method for using a processing system [“stem 120 may be, for example, a cloud network including computing resources”] with a generative artificial intelligence (AI) system (LLM 150) by sending prompts and outputting responses to a user 105 comprising: (Fig. 1 & associated texts, col 15-50);
storing, via the processing system, relationship data [“chat application that stores previous prompts, answers, and context within a session”] in a vector database [storage used to store previous prompts, answers and contexts], wherein the relationship data represents connections between the prompt, the one or more datasets, and operations performed by a generative artificial intelligence (AI) system (Col 5 lines 10-29).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have (1) combined Yan and Ho, Kattel, and SayyarRodsari because they both related to inputting prompts along with context to an AI based LLM to receive responses and (2) modified the processing system of Ho, Kattel, and SayyarRodsari to perform storing a relationship data that represents connections between the prompt, the one or more datasets, and operations in a vector database as in Yan. Doing so would allow to supplement the future request/prompts requested by the user to the LLM 114 of Ho to provide/generate more accurate (by minimizing possibilities of errors like hallucinations) responses thereby enhancing user’s satisfaction (Ho, Fig. 1A & Yan Col 5 lines 20- 29, col 3 lines 14-20).
Regarding claim 2, HKSY further teaches/suggests method of claim 1, wherein the response comprises a visualization generated by the generated AI system based on the package [providing of the package with context and the request causes the response to be generated and returned] (Ho, [062] & SayyarRodsari [0100] & Yan Col 5 lines 24-28).
Regarding claim 6, HKSY teaches the method of claim 1, comprising:
generating one or more commands [“receive a command from the AI module 102”] based on the response; and sending [“send a command to the local control system 42 for the depositor 22 to adjust the operations”] the one or more commands to one or more industrial automation components of the industrial automation system, wherein the one or more commands are configured to cause the one or more industrial automation components to adjust one or more operations (SayyarRodsari 099-0101, 0109]).
Regarding claim 9, HKSY teaches invention of this non-transitory computer-readable medium claim for the similar reasons set forth above in method claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, HKSY further teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 9, wherein the generative AI system [LLM 114 which is “trained on the encrypted and labeled data”] comprises a generative pre-trained model (Ho [036-037]).
Regarding claim 14, HKSY further teaches the invention of this claim for the similar reasons set forth above in claim 6.
Regarding claim 17, HKSY further teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 9, wherein the one or more datasets comprises real-time data (Ho [029] & SayyarRodsari [0125]).
Regarding claim 18, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Thus, HKSY teaches all limitations of the claimed system for the similar reasons as in claim 1. Please note that SayyarRodsari in the above combination teaches a system [system shown in figs. 1- 2] comprising: ([054- 055, 087-088]);
one or more industrial automation components [“automation equipment 56”] of an industrial system [system 10] configured to perform a batch operation [“manufacturing, processing, batch processing”] ([055, 064]).
Regarding claim 19, HKSY further teaches the system of claim 18, wherein the request for information comprises a root cause [“determine a root cause”] analysis inquiry (SayyarRodsari [042, 0147, 0164]).
Regarding claim 20, HKSY further teaches the system of claim 18, wherein the operations comprise: generating one or more commands based on the response; and sending the one or more commands to the one or more industrial automation components of the industrial system, wherein the one or more commands are configured to cause the one or more industrial automation components to adjust [“control signals or commands to adjust one or more operations of the industrial automation equipment 56”] one or more operations (SayyarRodsari [099-0101, 0109]).
Claim(s) 3 & 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HKSY (as in claims 1 & 9) in view of Gupta et al. (US 20140358940 A1, reference of record).
Regarding claim 3, HKSY teaches a method comprising receiving a request for information and identifying a prompt to be used to query the generative artificial
intelligence (Al) system as discussed above (Ho, Fig. 1A).
HKSY is silent about the request (for information) is updated based on the prompt as claimed.
Gupta is directed to identifying a prompt (“query template”, analogous to “prompt” provided to LLM 114 in Ho) to be used against a database [“content database 130”] to return search results to information requesting user(s) so that the results are presented via a display of a human machine interface (HMI) system [computing device 105 having a browser 110] (Abstract, fig. 1, [011]). Specifically, Gupta teaches a method comprising:
receiving, via a processing system [computing device 105], a request [“a partial query entered by a user”] for information from a user; identifying, via the processing system, a prompt [“match a submitted query to a query 2template and utilize the query template to determine one or more query suggestion”] associated with the request ([035, 041]),
wherein the request is updated [“enable the user to choose one of the query suggestions as a basis for utilization in a search” from the partial query. Here, the suggestions to be chosen by the users (after they enter partial query) are provided based on the query template] based on the prompt ([023, 041-042]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have (1) combined Gupta and HKSY because they both related to providing a response to the user’s request using prompt templates and (2) modified the method/system of HKSY to update the user request for information based on the prompt as in Gupta. Doing so would allow the system of HKSY to receive complete form of requests for information even when users enter only partial request so that appropriate responses can be returned from the LLM 114 of Ho (Gupta [039]).
Regarding claim 11, HKSY in view of Gupta teaches invention of this claim for the similar reasons set forth above in claim 3.
Claim(s) 4- 5 & 12- 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HKSY (as in claims 1 & 9) in view of Chakhvadze et al. (US 20250045023 A1, filing Date: 2023-07-31, reference of record).
Regarding claim 4, HKSY teaches a system/method comprising: identifying, via the processing system, a prompt associated with the request and sending the prompt to a generative artificial intelligence (Al) system to receive a response and outputting the response via a display of a human machine interface (HMI) system as discussed above.
However, HKSY fails to teach the prompt comprises metadata associated with an expected response format as claimed.
Chakhvadze relates to sending one or more user requests to a generative AI system and the AI system to returning results for the requests. Specifically, Chakhvadze teaches a method/system comprising:
receiving, via a processing system, a request [“input data”] for information from a user and identifying, via the processing system, a prompt [“generating a prompt that includes a schema and the input data”] associated with the request ([017, 060]);
wherein the prompt comprises metadata [“prompt prefix can refer to a piece of text with one or more instructions that guide the large language models to generate responses in a desired data format”] associated with an expected response format ([022-023, 061-063]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to (1) combine Chakhvadze and HKSY because they both related to providing prompts into the generating AI system to receive model responses and (2) modify the method/system of HKSY to have the provided prompts to the LLM 114 to include metadata associated with an expected response format as in Chakhvadze. Doing so would allow the LLM of the HKSY to return its responses in the user desired/defined output format to make interpreting the responses easier for the user (Chakhvadze [0023, 029]).
Regarding claims 5, HKSY in view of Chakhvadze teaches/suggests the method of claim 4, wherein the generative AI system is configured to generate the response [“Outputs of the models can be error-corrected, aggregated, and converted into data objects in a (e.g., user-defined) object-oriented programming language format”] based on the expected response format (Chakhvadze [015, 029]).
Regarding claims 12- 13, HKSY in view of Chakhvadze teaches/suggests inventions of these claims for the similar reasons as set forth above in claims 4-5.
Claim(s) 7-8 & 15- 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HKSY (as in claims 1 & 9) in view of Nguyen et al. (US 20250110948 A1, reference of record).
Regarding claim 7, HKSY teaches formatting input provided to the generative AI into a package as discussed above.
However, HKSY fails to teach such formatting is performed by a language framework system.
Nguyen relates to use of generative artificial intelligence [AI model 226] to generate one or more response. Nguyen teaches a method comprising:
formatting, via a processing system, a request for information and one or more datasets into a package, wherein the package is formatted [“the ensemble tool model 208 and the NLP model 212 may be parser tools to parse natural language inputs and may be implemented as a component in the LangChain framework. The LangChain framework allows outputs to be in a suitable format, such as query instructions in an SQL format. The other database query tools 214-218 may be implemented as tools accessible in the LangChain framework in order to generate outputs in a suitable format for either generating query instructions or generating context to be provided to the generative AI model 226.”] by a language framework system [AI model 226, analogous to Ho’s LLM] (Fig. 2, [044-045, 054-055]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have (1) combined Nguyen and HKSY because they both related to sending of request and context into a generative AI to generate responses and (2) modified the method/system of HKS to use a language framework system such as that of LangChain system as in Nguyen. Doing so would allow the sent request and the context would be in the suitable format to be properly used at the LLM of the HKSY (Nguyen, [044]). Furthermore, LangChain is an example well-known tool to be used to generate inputs to the LLM for improving LLM training, tuning, or prompting to realize better LLM outputs (Duggal, US 20240354567 A, para. [012]).
Regarding claim 8, HKSY in view of Nguyen teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the language framework system comprises a LangChain system (Nguyen [044]).
Regarding claims 15- 16, HKSY in view of Nguyen teaches inventions of these claims for the similar reasons set forth above in claims 7- 8 respectively.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
1) Callas (US 20090210251 A1) teaches a method comprising: identifying, via a processing system, a prompt associated with a user request and receiving, via the processing system, a response from an AI system; storing [“responses to the displayed prompts are recorded and stored in a historical database maintained in the database for future reference”], via the processing system, relationship data in a vector database, wherein the relationship data represents connections between the prompt,
Contacts
/SANTOSH R POUDEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2115
1 Just like in applicant’s system, in order not to expose “proprietary datasets and processes” to the generative AI system (like ChatGPT), the LLM 114 of Ho are also provided only the encrypted datasets.
2 Examiner notes that applicant’s specification in para. 049 states that the prompt can include “template structure” in para. 049 as in Gupta.