Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Examiner has fully considered Applicant’s amendments to the Claims in the arguments filed on 05/04/2026. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 05/05/2026, with respect to the rejections of independent claims 1, 10, and 15 and their corresponding dependent claims under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection are made in view of the previously applied combination of Cisco, Mears, and Baldwin, in addition to a newly applied reference from Yamazaki (JP 2002222296 A), hereinafter Yamazaki. Examiner respectfully submits that Yamazaki, in combination with the previously applied references, is sufficient to teach the newly added limitations “setting a first content identifier for the first type of content and a second content identifier for the second type of content to false”; “setting the first content identifier to true”; “and responsive to receiving the approval of the email for the second type of content, setting the second content identifier to true”; and “responsive to setting the first content identifier to true and setting the second content identifier to true, delivering the email to the recipient”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-11, 14-16, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cisco Systems, Inc. (2023, August 22), User Guide for AsyncOS 14.2.3 Refresh for Cisco Secure Email Gateway – MD (Maintenance Deployment). Access from: https://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/td/docs/security/esa/esa14-2-3/User_Guide/b_ESA_Admin_Guide_14-2-3.pdf), hereinafter Cisco, in view of Mears (US 8407789 B1), hereinafter Mears, Baldwin et al. (US 20140279569 A1), hereinafter Baldwin, and Yamazaki (JP 2002222296 A), hereinafter Yamazaki.
Regarding Claim 1:
Cisco teaches a computer-implemented method comprising: receiving an email for processing (Cisco – P. 269: A content filter scans either incoming or outgoing messages); prior to delivering the email to a recipient, providing the email to a set of scanners, wherein one or more of the scanners: are associated with a respective type of content; and are configured to detect whether the email includes the respective type of content (Cisco – P. 269: Content filters scan messages on a per-user (sender or recipient) basis … A condition is a “trigger” that determines whether the email gateway uses the filter on a message that matches the associated mail policy … In the content filter conditions, when you add filter rules that search for certain patterns in the message body or attachments, you can specify the minimum threshold for the number of times the pattern must be found … You can specify this threshold for text, smart identifiers, or content dictionary terms; and P. 270: Table 32: Content Filter Conditions); receiving, from the set of scanners, an identification of a plurality of types of content in the email (Cisco – P. 192-194: Message Filter Action Variables, with attention to “Matched Content”; and P. 939-940: When you configure a quarantine action for messages that match Attachment Content conditions, Message Body or Attachment conditions, Message body conditions, or the Attachment content conditions, you can view the matched content in the quarantined message. When you display the message body, the matched content is highlighted in yellow, except for DLP policy violation matches. You can also use the $MatchedContent action variable to include the matched content from message or content filter matches in the message subject. If the attachment contains the matched content, the attachment’s contents are displayed, as well as the reason it was quarantined, whether it was due to a DLP policy violation, content filter condition, message filter condition, or Image Analysis verdict; and Figure 71: Matched Content Viewed in the Policy Quarantine); the first type of content … the second type of content (Cisco – P. 192-194: Message Filter Action Variables, with attention to “Matched Content”; and P. 939-940: When you configure a quarantine action for messages that match Attachment Content conditions, Message Body or Attachment conditions, Message body conditions, or the Attachment content conditions, you can view the matched content in the quarantined message. When you display the message body, the matched content is highlighted in yellow, except for DLP policy violation matches. You can also use the $MatchedContent action variable to include the matched content from message or content filter matches in the message subject. If the attachment contains the matched content, the attachment’s contents are displayed, as well as the reason it was quarantined, whether it was due to a DLP policy violation, content filter condition, message filter condition, or Image Analysis verdict; and Figure 71: Matched Content Viewed in the Policy Quarantine); [based on the order:] providing the email to the first user of the first role, wherein users of the first role are authorized to review the first type of content (Cisco – P. 925: When an email gateway detects possible malware or content that is not allowed by your organization in incoming or outgoing messages, it can send those messages to a quarantine instead of deleting them immediately; and P. 926: Table of Quarantine Types; and P. 930: Step 7 Specify the users who can access this quarantine, including a table describing customizable user roles; and P. 934: You can distribute message review and processing tasks to other administrative users. For example: • The Human Resources team can review and manage the Policy Quarantine. • The Legal team can manage the Confidential Material Quarantine. You assign access privileges to these users when you specify settings for a quarantine. In order to add users to quarantines, the users must already exist. Each user may have access to all, some, or none of the quarantines; and P. 938: If a message is present in one or more other quarantines, the “In other quarantines” column in the quarantine message list will show “Yes,” regardless of whether you have permissions to access those other quarantines. A message in multiple quarantines: • Is not delivered unless it has been released from all of the quarantines in which it resides. If it is deleted from any quarantine, it will never be delivered. • Is not deleted from any quarantine until it has been deleted or released from all quarantines in which it resides. Because a user wanting to release a message may not have access to all of the quarantines in which it resides, the following rules apply: • A message is not released from any quarantine until it has been released from all of the quarantines in which it resides. • If a message is marked as Deleted in any quarantine, it cannot be delivered from any other quarantine in which it resides. (It can still be released.)); and receiving, from the first user, approval of the email for the first type of content (Cisco – P. 937: Manually processing messages means to manually select a Message Action for the message from the Message Actions page. You can perform the following actions on messages: Delete, Release, Delay Scheduled Exit from quarantine, Send a Copy of messages to email addresses that you specify, Move a message from one quarantine to another; and P. 938: Releasing a message affects only the queues to which the user has access); [responsive to receiving the approval of the email for the first type of content:] providing the email to the second user of the second role, wherein users of the second role are authorized to review the second type of content (Cisco – P. 925: When an email gateway detects possible malware or content that is not allowed by your organization in incoming or outgoing messages, it can send those messages to a quarantine instead of deleting them immediately; and P. 926: Table of Quarantine Types; and P. 930: Step 7 Specify the users who can access this quarantine, including a table describing customizable user roles; and P. 934: You can distribute message review and processing tasks to other administrative users. For example: • The Human Resources team can review and manage the Policy Quarantine. • The Legal team can manage the Confidential Material Quarantine. You assign access privileges to these users when you specify settings for a quarantine. In order to add users to quarantines, the users must already exist. Each user may have access to all, some, or none of the quarantines; and P. 938: If a message is present in one or more other quarantines, the “In other quarantines” column in the quarantine message list will show “Yes,” regardless of whether you have permissions to access those other quarantines. A message in multiple quarantines: • Is not delivered unless it has been released from all of the quarantines in which it resides. If it is deleted from any quarantine, it will never be delivered. • Is not deleted from any quarantine until it has been deleted or released from all quarantines in which it resides. Because a user wanting to release a message may not have access to all of the quarantines in which it resides, the following rules apply: • A message is not released from any quarantine until it has been released from all of the quarantines in which it resides. • If a message is marked as Deleted in any quarantine, it cannot be delivered from any other quarantine in which it resides. (It can still be released.)) receiving, from the second user, approval of the email for the second type of content (Cisco – P. 925: When an email gateway detects possible malware or content that is not allowed by your organization in incoming or outgoing messages, it can send those messages to a quarantine instead of deleting them immediately; and P. 926: Table of Quarantine Types; and P. 930: Step 7 Specify the users who can access this quarantine, including a table describing customizable user roles; and P. 934: You can distribute message review and processing tasks to other administrative users. For example: • The Human Resources team can review and manage the Policy Quarantine. • The Legal team can manage the Confidential Material Quarantine. You assign access privileges to these users when you specify settings for a quarantine. In order to add users to quarantines, the users must already exist. Each user may have access to all, some, or none of the quarantines; and P. 937: Manually processing messages means to manually select a Message Action for the message from the Message Actions page. You can perform the following actions on messages: Delete, Release, Delay Scheduled Exit from quarantine, Send a Copy of messages to email addresses that you specify, Move a message from one quarantine to another; and P. 938: Releasing a message affects only the queues to which the user has access); and responsive to [setting the first content identifier to true and setting the second content identifier to true], delivering the email to a recipient (Cisco – P. 926: Table of Quarantine Types; and P. 930: Step 7 Specify the users who can access this quarantine, including a table describing customizable user roles; and P. 934: You can distribute message review and processing tasks to other administrative users. For example: • The Human Resources team can review and manage the Policy Quarantine. • The Legal team can manage the Confidential Material Quarantine. You assign access privileges to these users when you specify settings for a quarantine. In order to add users to quarantines, the users must already exist. Each user may have access to all, some, or none of the quarantines; and P. 937: Manually processing messages means to manually select a Message Action for the message from the Message Actions page. You can perform the following actions on messages: Delete, Release, Delay Scheduled Exit from quarantine, Send a Copy of messages to email addresses that you specify, Move a message from one quarantine to another; and P. 938: A message in multiple quarantines: • Is not delivered unless it has been released from all of the quarantines in which it resides. If it is deleted from any quarantine, it will never be delivered. • Is not deleted from any quarantine until it has been deleted or released from all quarantines in which it resides. Because a user wanting to release a message may not have access to all of the quarantines in which it resides, the following rules apply: • A message is not released from any quarantine until it has been released from all of the quarantines in which it resides; and P. 929: Release—The message is released for delivery).
Cisco does not expressly teach determining an order to provide emails for review to a first user of a first role prior to a second user of a second role based on a determination that a first risk associated with a first type of content is higher than a second risk associated with a second type of content; based on the order … providing the email to the first user … providing the email to the second user.
However, Mears teaches determining an order to provide emails for review to a first user of a first role prior to a second user of a second role based on a determination that a first risk associated with a first type of content is higher than a second risk associated with a second type of content (Mears – Col. 1, Line 39-45: In order to combat the seemingly ever increasing volume of undesirable content, numerous security systems are currently available that include two or more filters, or "stages", with each filter/stage being implemented to block, or filter out, a specific type of undesirable content. Typically, using these multiple filter/stage security systems, a given e-mail, IM, or file is subjected to each filter/stage in a defined sequence; and Col. 2, Line 26-30: the nature and priority of the filtering desired/necessary can be different, and change at different rates, based on the individual user of the multiple filter/stage security system and the type of undesirable content that specific user must deal with; and Col. 2, Line 31-56: As a simple example, a given user may initially purchase and implement a multiple filter/stage security system for the purpose of virus detection/blocking … the initial set up of a multiple filter/stage security system for the user may include a sequence whereby a given e-mail, IM, or file is first subjected to a virus detection/blocking filter/stage and then a spam detection/blocking filter/stage … given the user's emphasis on virus protection desired at the time of implementation of the multiple filter/stage security system, the initial sequence may be desirable. However, over time, and in some cases a relatively short period of time, it is quite possible that spam will become a far bigger issue for the user than viruses and/or it may be that many viruses are now being transmitted via spam. As a result of this change in circumstances, and the nature of the treat to this user, it might be highly advantageous to change the sequence of the multiple filter/stage security system so that the relatively low cost spam detection/blocking filter/stage is implemented before the relatively high cost virus detection/blocking filter/stage; and Col. 4, Line 24-29: In one embodiment, the given multiple filter/stage security system is initially implemented such that the two or more filters/stages are used in a defined initial sequence based on … a perceived threat and/or based on user priorities); based on the order … providing the email to the first user … providing the email to the second user (Mears – Col. 1, Line 39-45: In order to combat the seemingly ever increasing volume of undesirable content, numerous security systems are currently available that include two or more filters, or "stages", with each filter/stage being implemented to block, or filter out, a specific type of undesirable content. Typically, using these multiple filter/stage security systems, a given e-mail, IM, or file is subjected to each filter/stage in a defined sequence; and Col. 2, Line 26-30: the nature and priority of the filtering desired/necessary can be different, and change at different rates, based on the individual user of the multiple filter/stage security system and the type of undesirable content that specific user must deal with; and Col. 4, Line 24-29: In one embodiment, the given multiple filter/stage security system is initially implemented such that the two or more filters/stages are used in a defined initial sequence based on … a perceived threat and/or based on user priorities).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Cisco, further incorporating Mears to arrive at the conclusion of the claimed invention. One would be motivated to incorporate Mears’s teaching of a user-priority-based sequence of e-mail security review stages into Cisco’s hierarchical email quarantine for ensuring email security. Mears’s prioritized sequence of security checks would allow users to customize the review hierarchy to maximize security and efficiency based on per-system preferences, including perceived threat/risk.
The combination of Cisco and Mears does not expressly teach providing the email to the first user … responsive to receiving the approval … providing the email to the second user.
However, Baldwin teaches providing [the email] to the first user … responsive to receiving the approval … providing [the email] to the second user (Baldwin – Paragraph [0003]: Content approval may refer to the process through which approval of a particular content item (and/or revisions thereto) may be managed … In certain instances, it may be appropriate to obtain tiered approval for a content item (e.g., approval from a series of individuals, with the content item being submitted to the next approver(s) in the series based upon receiving approval from the preceding approver(s) in the series).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Cisco and Mears, further incorporating Baldwin to arrive at the conclusion of the claimed invention. One would be motivated to incorporate Baldwin’s teaching of a previous-approval-gated progression through a series of approvers into Cisco and Mears’s hierarchical email quarantine for ensuring email security. Baldwin is directed to approvals of content items such as documents, webpages, software code segments, etc.. However, Baldwin teaches an approval pipeline requiring the approval of a previous reviewer to advance the processing. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to apply this structure and workflow into Cisco and Mears’s analogous series of reviewers wherein each individual approval is required for ultimate acceptance. This combination would provide the obvious benefit of structural organization in the email review process, in addition to concrete step-by-step security assurance.
The combination of Cisco, Mears, and Baldwin does not expressly teach setting a first content identifier for the first type of content and a second content identifier for the second type of content to false; responsive to receiving the approval … setting the first content identifier to true; and responsive to receiving the approval of the email for the second type of content, setting the second content identifier to true; and responsive to setting the first content identifier to true and setting the second content identifier to true, delivering the email to the recipient.
However, Yamazaki teaches setting a first content identifier … and a second content identifier … to false (Yamazaki – P. 7: the responder inputs the response data content for the received mail from the terminal 7 (step 302). Thereafter, the reply mail registration processing means 41 checks the contents of the reply, and if there is no defect (step 303). YES), the reply mail registration processing means 41 attaches an issuance management number to the reply mail, and issues an issuance control number of the reply mail, an issue date and time (in this case, a reply mail creation date and time), a reception control number of the corresponding received mail, The destination e-mail address and the approval flag (see FIG. 7) are registered in the issue management table 54 (step 304). The approval flag is set to “0” when not approved, and is set to “1” when approved. Therefore, the approval flag of this reply mail is set to “0” and registered); responsive to receiving the approval … setting the first content identifier to true (Yamazaki – P. 8: When the approval person approves the reply mail, the approval person registers the approval from the terminal 7 (step 311 and step 312 YES), and the approval processing means 42 sets the approval flag of the issue management table 54 to the approval flag. Update. That is, the approval flag is changed from "0" to "1" (step 314)); and responsive to receiving the approval of the email … setting the second content identifier to true (Yamazaki – P. 8: When the approval person approves the reply mail, the approval person registers the approval from the terminal 7 (step 311 and step 312 YES), and the approval processing means 42 sets the approval flag of the issue management table 54 to the approval flag. Update. That is, the approval flag is changed from "0" to "1" (step 314)); and responsive to setting the first content identifier to true [and] setting the second content identifier to true, delivering the email to the recipient (Yamazaki – P. 8: the issuance processing means 43 Retrieves the issuance management number from the issuance management table 54 and checks the approval flag. If the approval flag is “1”, The issuance management number is searched in the issuance management table 54 to read the e mail address of the other party. At the same time, the issuance management number is searched from the issuance content data table 55 and the answer data is read. An answer mail is transmitted to the address (step 315)).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Cisco, Mears, and Baldwin, further incorporating Yamazaki to arrive at the conclusion of the claimed invention. Yamazaki teaches a single approval flag set in response to receiving approval from an outgoing email approver in response to a received email. Yamazaki’s approval flag is analogous to the claimed first and/or second content identifier. The function of the claimed content identifiers is recited in at least paragraph [0108] of the instant specification: “the method 600 may further include responsive to receiving the email, setting a content identifier for each type of content to false and responsive to the email being reviewed for each type of content and the email being approved for each type of content, setting respective content identifiers to true”. In view of this passage, Examiner respectfully submits that the claimed identifiers may be reasonably interpreted as content approval status indicators, as they are initialized to “false” prior to approval, and set to “true” in response to approval. Therefore, Yamazaki’s approval flag is interpreted to represent the content identifier(s). As highlighted above, Cisco teaches identifying various content types of incoming emails, and sending the emails to various quarantine queues which correspond to the identified content types. Emails are determined to be blocked or released to their intended destination based on reviews performed by authorized reviewers of each particular quarantine. An email is not released to its destination until it is examined and approved from within every quarantine applied to the email. Yamazaki’s approval flag naturally combines with at least the teachings of Cisco. The addition of Yamazaki’s approval flag to the multi-level email examination/approval process taught by Cisco provides the obvious benefit of a triggering condition for delivering the email to its destination upon receiving each approval for each type of content. Thus, the teachings of Yamazaki would have been obvious to combine with those of Cisco, Mears, and Baldwin.
Regarding Claim 2:
The combination of Cisco, Mears, Baldwin, and Yamazaki teaches the method of claim 1.
Cisco further teaches wherein the method further comprises: prior to providing the email to the second user, determining that a policy has been updated for the second type of content; and in response to the determining, providing the email to a scanner from the set of scanners configured to detect the second type of content prior to providing the email to the user of the second role (Cisco – P. 424: The Outbreak Filters feature uses three tactics to protect your users from outbreaks: • Delay. Outbreak Filters quarantines messages that may be part of a virus outbreak or non-viral attack. While quarantined, the email gateways receives updated outbreak information and rescans the message to confirm whether it’s part of an attack; and P. 426: Outbreak Filters are powered by Cisco’s unique Context Adaptive Scanning Engine (CASE). CASE leverages over 100,000 adaptive message attributes tuned automatically and on a regular basis, based on real-time analysis of messaging threats … Based on the message’s threat level, CASE recommends a period of time to quarantine the message to prevent an outbreak. CASE also determines the rescan intervals so it can reevaluate the message based on updated Outbreak Rules from SIO. The higher the threat level, the more often it rescans the message while it is quarantined. CASE also rescans messages when they’re released from the quarantine. A message can be quarantined again if CASE determines that it is spam or contains a virus upon rescan).
The motivation to combine the arts is the same as that of Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 5:
The combination of Cisco, Mears, Baldwin, and Yamazaki teaches the method of claim 1.
Cisco further teaches review the first type of content … review the second type of content (Cisco – P. 925: When an email gateway detects possible malware or content that is not allowed by your organization in incoming or outgoing messages, it can send those messages to a quarantine instead of deleting them immediately; and P. 926: Table of Quarantine Types; and P. 930: Step 7 Specify the users who can access this quarantine, including a table describing customizable user roles; and P. 934: You can distribute message review and processing tasks to other administrative users. For example: • The Human Resources team can review and manage the Policy Quarantine. • The Legal team can manage the Confidential Material Quarantine. You assign access privileges to these users when you specify settings for a quarantine. In order to add users to quarantines, the users must already exist. Each user may have access to all, some, or none of the quarantines; and P. 938: If a message is present in one or more other quarantines, the “In other quarantines” column in the quarantine message list will show “Yes,” regardless of whether you have permissions to access those other quarantines. A message in multiple quarantines: • Is not delivered unless it has been released from all of the quarantines in which it resides. If it is deleted from any quarantine, it will never be delivered. • Is not deleted from any quarantine until it has been deleted or released from all quarantines in which it resides. Because a user wanting to release a message may not have access to all of the quarantines in which it resides, the following rules apply: • A message is not released from any quarantine until it has been released from all of the quarantines in which it resides. • If a message is marked as Deleted in any quarantine, it cannot be delivered from any other quarantine in which it resides. (It can still be released.)).
Baldwin further teaches wherein determining the order to provide emails for review to the first user of the first role prior to the second user of the second role is further based on a determination that a first amount of time it takes for users of the first role to review [the first type of content] is less than a second amount of time it takes for users of the second role to review [the second type of content] (Baldwin – Paragraph [0064]: AM process 20 may notify 214 the multiple approvers associated with a particular stage, may receive 216 an indication of respective target receipt dates for various of the approvers, and may select as a primary/designated approver an approver who has indicated (e.g., through the indication of a target receipt date) that she will likely be able to complete approval the fastest. It will be understood that other configurations may additionally/alternatively be possible. For example, AM process 20 may notify 214 only a subset of possible approvers for a particular stage of approval (e.g., based upon organizational hierarchy, project team membership, and/or various system settings), may notify 214 various approvers and select a primary/designated approver based on various factors including, for example, a combination of the timing of any response from the notified 214 approvers and analysis of the various received 216 target receipt dates, and so on. For example, AM process 20 may select as a primary/designated approver the approver who has the shortest projected review time of the approvers who have responded to the notification 214 within a particular timeframe).
The motivation to combine the arts is the same as that of Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 6:
The combination of Cisco, Mears, Baldwin, and Yamazaki teaches the method of claim 1.
Cisco further teaches wherein multiple users are assigned to a particular type of content and the email stays in quarantine until it is approved by each of the multiple users (Cisco – P. 926: Table of Quarantine Types; and P. 930: Step 7 Specify the users who can access this quarantine, including a table describing customizable user roles; and P. 934: You can distribute message review and processing tasks to other administrative users. For example: • The Human Resources team can review and manage the Policy Quarantine. • The Legal team can manage the Confidential Material Quarantine. You assign access privileges to these users when you specify settings for a quarantine. In order to add users to quarantines, the users must already exist. Each user may have access to all, some, or none of the quarantines; and P. 938: A message in multiple quarantines: • Is not delivered unless it has been released from all of the quarantines in which it resides. If it is deleted from any quarantine, it will never be delivered. • Is not deleted from any quarantine until it has been deleted or released from all quarantines in which it resides. Because a user wanting to release a message may not have access to all of the quarantines in which it resides, the following rules apply: • A message is not released from any quarantine until it has been released from all of the quarantines in which it resides).
The motivation to combine the arts is the same as that of Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 7:
The combination of Cisco, Mears, Baldwin, and Yamazaki teaches the method of claim 1.
Cisco further teaches further comprising … providing the email to a third user of a third role, wherein users of the third role are authorized to review the email for innocuous spam and bulk emails, and responsive to the email not being reviewed for a predetermined amount of time by the third user of the third role, delivering the email to the recipient (Cisco – P. 926: Quarantine types table, including Spam and various other types of content for review; and P. 927-928: Messages are automatically removed from the quarantine under the following circumstances: • Normal Expiration—the configured retention time is met for a message in the quarantine. You specify a retention time for messages in each quarantine. Each message has its own specific expiration time, displayed in the quarantine listing. Messages are stored for the amount of time specified unless another circumstance described in this topic occurs; and P. 928-929: The default action is performed on messages in a policy, virus, or outbreak quarantine when any situation described in Retention Time for Messages in Quarantines , on page 927, occurs. There are two primary default actions: • Delete—The message is deleted. • Release—The message is released for delivery).
Baldwin further teaches responsive to the email being approved for the second type of content, providing the email to a third user (Baldwin – Paragraph [0003]: Content approval may refer to the process through which approval of a particular content item (and/or revisions thereto) may be managed … In certain instances, it may be appropriate to obtain tiered approval for a content item (e.g., approval from a series of individuals, with the content item being submitted to the next approver(s) in the series based upon receiving approval from the preceding approver(s) in the series).
The motivation to combine the arts is the same as that of Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 8:
The combination of Cisco, Mears, Baldwin, and Yamazaki teaches the method of claim 1.
Cisco further teaches further comprising: determining that a threshold amount of time has passed since providing the email to be reviewed for a particular type of content; and providing the email to a scanner of the set of scanners configured to rescan the email for the particular type of content (Cisco – P. 927-928: Messages are automatically removed from the quarantine under the following circumstances: • Normal Expiration—the configured retention time is met for a message in the quarantine. You specify a retention time for messages in each quarantine. Each message has its own specific expiration time, displayed in the quarantine listing. Messages are stored for the amount of time specified unless another circumstance described in this topic occurs; and P. 928-929: The default action is performed on messages in a policy, virus, or outbreak quarantine when any situation described in Retention Time for Messages in Quarantines , on page 927, occurs. There are two primary default actions: • Delete—The message is deleted. • Release—The message is released for delivery; and P. 940-941: When a message is released from all queues in which is has been quarantined, the following rescanning occurs, depending on the features enabled for the email gateway and for the mail policy that originally quarantined the message: • Messages released from Policy and Virus quarantines are rescanned by the anti-virus, advanced malware protection, and graymail engines. • Messages released from the Outbreak quarantine are rescanned by the anti-spam, AMP, and anti-virus engines. (For information about rescanning of messages while in the Outbreak quarantine, see ) • Messages released from the File Analysis quarantine are rescanned for threats. • Messages with attachments are rescanned by the file reputation service upon release from Policy, Virus, and Outbreak quarantines. Upon rescanning, if the verdict produced matches the verdict produced the previous time the message was processed, the message is not re-quarantined. Conversely, if the verdict is different, the message could be sent to another quarantine).
The motivation to combine the arts is the same as that of Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 9:
The combination of Cisco, Mears, Baldwin, and Yamazaki teaches the method of claim 1.
Cisco further teaches further comprising receiving a denial of approval for a particular email for at least one type of content, and in response to receiving the denial, discarding the email (Cisco – P. 937: Manually processing messages means to manually select a Message Action for the message from the Message Actions page. You can perform the following actions on messages: • Delete; and P. 938: A message in multiple quarantines: • Is not delivered unless it has been released from all of the quarantines in which it resides. If it is deleted from any quarantine, it will never be delivered. • Is not deleted from any quarantine until it has been deleted or released from all quarantines in which it resides).
The motivation to combine the arts is the same as that of Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 10:
Claim 10 is a computing device claim with limitations corresponding to those of method Claim 1. Therefore, Claim 10 is rejected with the same combination and rationale as that of Claim 1.
Baldwin further teaches A computing device comprising: one or more processors; and one or more non-transitory computer-readable media coupled to the one or more processors, having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations (Baldwin – Paragraph [0026]: It will be understood that each block of the flowchart illustrations and/or block diagrams, and combinations of blocks in the flowchart illustrations and/or block diagrams, can be implemented by computer program instructions. These computer program instructions may be provided to a processor of a general purpose computer, special purpose computer, or other programmable data processing apparatus to produce a machine, such that the instructions, which execute via the processor of the computer or other programmable data processing apparatus, create means for implementing the functions/acts specified in the flowchart and/or block diagram block or blocks; and Paragraph [0027]: These computer program instructions may also be stored in a computer-readable memory that can direct a computer or other programmable data processing apparatus to function in a particular manner).
Regarding Claim 11:
Claim 11 is a computing device claim with limitations corresponding to those of method Claim 2. Therefore, Claim 11 is rejected with the same combination and rationale as that of Claim 2.
Regarding Claim 14:
Claim 14 is a computing device claim with limitations corresponding to those of method Claim 5. Therefore, Claim 14 is rejected with the same combination and rationale as that of Claim 5.
Regarding Claim 15:
Claim 15 is a non-transitory computer-readable medium claim with limitations corresponding to those of method Claim 1 and computing device claim 10. Therefore, Claim 15 is rejected with the same combination and rationale as that of Claims 1 and 10.
Baldwin further teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium with instructions stored thereon that, responsive to execution by a processing device, causes the processing device to perform operations (Baldwin – Paragraph [0026]: It will be understood that each block of the flowchart illustrations and/or block diagrams, and combinations of blocks in the flowchart illustrations and/or block diagrams, can be implemented by computer program instructions. These computer program instructions may be provided to a processor of a general purpose computer, special purpose computer, or other programmable data processing apparatus to produce a machine, such that the instructions, which execute via the processor of the computer or other programmable data processing apparatus, create means for implementing the functions/acts specified in the flowchart and/or block diagram block or blocks; and Paragraph [0027]: These computer program instructions may also be stored in a computer-readable memory that can direct a computer or other programmable data processing apparatus to function in a particular manner).
Regarding Claim 16:
Claim 16 is a non-transitory computer-readable medium claim with limitations corresponding to those of method Claim 2 and computing device claim 11. Therefore, Claim 16 is rejected with the same combination and rationale as that of Claims 2 and 16.
Regarding Claim 19:
Claim 19 is a non-transitory computer-readable medium claim with limitations corresponding to those of method Claim 5 and computing device claim 14. Therefore, Claim 19 is rejected with the same combination and rationale as that of Claims 5 and 14.
Regarding Claim 20:
Claim 20 is a non-transitory computer-readable medium claim with limitations corresponding to those of method Claim 6. Therefore, Claim 20 is rejected with the same combination and rationale as that of Claim 6.
Claim(s) 3, 12, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cisco in view of Mears, Baldwin, Yamazaki, and Neystadt et al. (US 20250133111 A1), hereinafter Neystadt.
Regarding Claim 3:
The combination of Cisco, Mears, Baldwin, and Yamazaki teaches the method of claim 1.
The combination of Cisco, Mears, Baldwin, and Yamazaki does not expressly teach further comprising: generating a confidence score for the email that the set of scanners correctly categorized the email: and responsive to the confidence score failing to meet a confidence threshold value, quarantining the email without delivering the email to the recipient.
However, Neystadt teaches further comprising: generating a confidence score for the email that the set of scanners correctly categorized the email: and responsive to the confidence score failing to meet a confidence threshold value, quarantining the email without delivering the email to the recipient (Neystadt – Paragraph [0014]: An email security agent or scans or analyzes incoming emails and/or other messages that are conveyed or sent to end-users or recipients at the Protected Entity (e.g., SMS messages, IM messages, collaborative/team/workspace messaging item, website content, online posts that are accessed); performs tokenization of each such incoming (or conveyed) content or message; and converts the incoming (or conveyed) message or its tokens into indexed embeddings; and Paragraph [0018]: The email security agent may calculate the confidence score or the certainty score with regard to the legitimacy of a particular scanned email (or content), based on the features that were extracted and evaluated; and a particular email message (or content) that is determined or estimated or evaluated to be phishing-related or attack-related or malicious or fraudulent, may be handled by one or more particular fraud-mitigation/attack-prevention mechanisms; for example, the message may be deleted or discarded, or quarantined, or moved to a “Junk/Spam” folder, or flagged for particular review of a system administrator or a fraud department or of the intended recipient. In some embodiments, different confidence score values may trigger different types of remedial/preventive actions).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Cisco, Mears, Baldwin, and Yamazaki, further incorporating Neystadt to arrive at the conclusion of the claimed invention. One would be motivated to incorporate Neystadt’s email categorization confidence scoring and subsequent action based thereon into Cisco, Mears, Baldwin, and Yamazaki’s hierarchical email quarantine for ensuring email security. This addition would enhance the system by providing insight into system decisions in addition to automating responses to unusual circumstances.
Regarding Claim 12:
Claim 12 is a computing device claim with limitations corresponding to those of method Claim 3. Therefore, Claim 12 is rejected with the same combination and rationale as that of Claim 3.
Regarding Claim 17:
Claim 17 is a non-transitory computer-readable medium claim with limitations corresponding to those of method Claim 3 and computing device claim 12. Therefore, Claim 17 is rejected with the same combination and rationale as that of Claims 3 and 12.
Claim(s) 4, 13, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cisco in view of Mears, Baldwin, Yamazaki, and Tiwari et al. (US 20220044179 A1), hereinafter Tiwari.
Regarding Claim 4:
The combination of Cisco, Mears, Baldwin, and Yamazaki teaches the method of claim 1.
Cisco further teaches further comprising: identifying that the first user of the first role is authorized to review multiple types of content; wherein a number of types of content that the first user is authorized to review is greater than a number of types of content that other users are authorized to review (Cisco – P. 926: Table of Quarantine Types; and P. 930: Step 7 Specify the users who can access this quarantine, including a table describing customizable user roles, including that Administrators have full access to all quarantines).
The combination of Cisco, Mears, Baldwin, and Yamazaki does not expressly teach and wherein providing the email to the first user of the first role comprises providing the email to the first user of the first role prior to providing the email to users of other user roles.
However, Tiwari teaches and wherein providing the email to the user of the particular role comprises providing the email to the user of the first user role prior to providing the email to users of other user roles (Tiwari – Paragraph [0035]: In some embodiments, the preferred service characteristics include at least a cost, experience, and skill set of a candidate support worker. In some embodiments, the preferred service characteristics further include a time and qualification of a candidate support worker. Support workers may be the specific workers that perform the analysis and work on resolving the IT tickets. A candidate support worker may be a support worker that is being considered as a candidate to work on a ticket; and Paragraph [0040]: For example, the preferred characteristics may be a resolution time of 2 hours, an experience level of 15 years, a skillset level of 2, a qualification level of 3, and a cost of approximately $70 salary (per day, for example). The skillset level of 2 may indicate that the support worker has a moderate range of skills that they are versed in. The qualification level of 3 may indicate that the support worker is very qualified for the specific type of IT ticket issue, even if they do not have a large range of overall skills (as indicated by the skillset level). For example, a support worker may be very well versed in debugging and may have a high qualification level for debugging related IT tickets. In this example, the support worker may not have skills in areas other than debugging, however, and therefore may have a low skillset level. In another example, there may be minimal trends to the received IT tickets (in other words, there may not be multiple tickets in a same skillset), therefore a skillset of 3 may be preferred. These characteristics may be transmitted to a user interface and may be used to select one or more support workers that meet the preferred characteristics).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Cisco, Mears, Baldwin, and Yamazaki, further incorporating Tiwari to arrive at the conclusion of the claimed invention. One would be motivated to incorporate Tiwari’s teaching to prioritize certain manual reviewers for handling certain issues based on an exhibited capability and qualification of the user to resolve a variety of types of problems into Cisco, Mears, Baldwin, and Yamazaki’s hierarchical email quarantine for ensuring email security. This functionality would enable the system to route suspicious emails to users with wide-ranging skill sets first to further optimize system resources for resolving/approving the emails queued in the hierarchical quarantine taught by Cisco, Mears, and Baldwin.
Regarding Claim 13:
Claim 13 is a computing device claim with limitations corresponding to those of method Claim 4. Therefore, Claim 13 is rejected with the same combination and rationale as that of Claim 4.
Regarding Claim 18:
Claim 18 is a non-transitory computer-readable medium claim with limitations corresponding to those of method Claim 4 and computing device Claim 13. Therefore, Claim 18 is rejected with the same combination and rationale as that of Claims 4 and 13.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Donovan et al. (US 8032528 B2) teaches a system and method for assigning a review request to a plurality of reviewers with different qualifications for performing reviews. When approved by all reviewers, the document receives an approval mark
Sprosts et al. (US 7854007 B2) teaches a system for analyzing incoming emails against a plurality of rules which correspond to email element types in order to calculate a virus risk score associated with the email
Sabat (US 12238055 B2) teaches an email review system in which multiple reviewers provide approval indicators and features automatic delivery of an email upon approval
/NICHOLAS JOSEPH DILUZIO/Examiner, Art Unit 2498
/YIN CHEN SHAW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2498