DETAILED ACTION
This non-final Office action is in response to the claims filed on November 7, 2023.
Status of claims: claims 1-20 are hereby examined below.
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I pertaining to FIGS. 1-6 in the reply filed on February 9, 2026 is acknowledged.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 5, 6, 9 and 11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 8-11 of U.S. Patent No. 11846132. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because U.S. Patent No. 11846132 claims a lid actuation system comprising: an actuation subsystem having a motor, a first linkage fixedly coupled with an output from the motor, and a second linkage coupled with the first linkage by a pin joint; wherein the actuation subsystem is configured to couple with a base; a lid subsystem having a lid bracket coupled with the second linkage by a second pin joint; wherein the lid bracket is configured to couple with a lid, and the lid is hingedly coupled with the base; wherein the lid comprises a surface that is sized and dimensioned to cover an opening in the base; wherein the lid bracket couples with an interior surface of the lid; and wherein an axis of rotation of the output from the motor is parallel to an axis of rotation of the lid, as recited in claim 1 and similarly recited in claim 11.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because: “first linkage” and “second linkage” recited in the claims are not identified in Species I pertaining to FIGS. 1-6.
Claim 1 – “wherein an axis of rotation of the output from the motor is parallel to an axis of rotation of the lid” is not illustrated in the figures. Perhaps illustrate an open position of the lid.
Claim Objections
Claims 11, 14 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 11, line 3 – since “a second pin joint” is recited, shouldn’t “a pin joint” in line 3 be amended to “a first pin joint”
Claim 14, line 2 – shouldn’t “a bolt” be amended to “the bolt”
Claim 19, line 2 – shouldn’t “a bolt” be amended to “the bolt”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Claim 15 lacks a period; thus the metes and bounds of the claim are indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5301390 to Cleal in view of US 10597228 to Yao.
Cleal discloses a lid actuation system comprising:
an actuation subsystem having a first linkage 8 fixedly coupled with an element 2, and a second linkage 6 coupled with the first linkage by a pin joint 10; (see FIG. 1b below)
wherein the actuation subsystem is configured to couple with a base 13;
a lid subsystem having a lid bracket coupled with the second linkage by a second pin joint 7; (see FIG. 1b below)
wherein the lid bracket is configured to couple with a lid, and the lid is hingedly coupled with the base;
wherein the lid comprises a surface that is sized and dimensioned to cover an opening in the base; (see FIG. 2)
wherein the lid bracket couples with an interior surface of the lid; (see FIG. 1b below) (note: the examiner has interpreted the lid to be positively recited) and
wherein an axis of rotation 9 at the element 2 is parallel to an axis of rotation 4 of the lid.
[AltContent: textbox (1st curved portion)][AltContent: textbox (2nd curved portion)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Lid bracket)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Cleal fails to disclose a motor and the first linkage coupled with an output of the motor.
Yao teaches of a motor 114, and a first linkage coupled with an output 118 of the motor. (see annotated FIG. 8 of Yao below)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Cleal lid actuation system with the motor taught in Yao with a reasonable expectation of success in order to facilitate movement of the lid as well as since it has been held that broadly providing a mechanical or automatic means to replace manual activity which has accomplished the same result involves only routine skill in the art. In re Venner, 120 USPQ 192. (claim 1)
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (First linkage)]
Cleal, as applied above, further discloses wherein the lid bracket comprises a portion on an exterior side of the lid, and a coupling component of the lid bracket passes through the lid to couple with the portion on the exterior side. (see FIG. 1b above) (claim 2)
Cleal, as applied above, further discloses wherein the first linkage and the second linkage are configured to enable the lid to open more than 180 degrees from its closed position. (see FIG. 1 c and col. 2, lines 50-55) (claim 4)
Cleal, as applied above, further discloses a torsion spring 11 coupled with the second linkage. (see FIG. 1b above) (claim 5)
Cleal, as applied above, further discloses wherein the lid bracket comprises an interior portion and an exterior portion, wherein the interior portion couples with an interior side of the lid and the exterior portion couples with an exterior side of the lid. (see FIG. 1b above) (claim 10)
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cleal in view of Yao, as applied to claim 1 above.
Cleal, as applied above, fails to disclose a sensor package coupled with an exterior surface of the lid.
Yao teaches of a sensor package coupled with an exterior surface of the lid. (see col. 1, lines 40-50 of Yao)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the external surface of the lid disclosed in Cleal with the sensor taught in Yao with a reasonable expectation of success in order to allow for operation of the lid without having to touch the lid. (claim 3)
Claims 6-8, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cleal in view of Yao, as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of US 5031270 to Lee.
Cleal, as applied above, fails to disclose a first linkage comprises a tension hinge.
Lee teaches wherein a first linkage 2 comprises a tension hinge 3,4,6. (see FIG. 1 and col. 2)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a tension hinge with the Cleal first linkage, as taught by Sellman with a reasonable expectation of success in order to assist with closing of the lid while providing arrest when closing of the lid to prevent slamming . (claim 6)
Cleal, as applied above, further discloses wherein the tension hinge comprises a tension hinge bolt 3 (see FIG. 1) (claim 7) and wherein the tension hinge bolt comprises a plurality of friction plates 64,65 placed over a bolt, wherein the friction plates are covered by a friction plate housing 61. (see FIG. 1) (claim 8)
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cleal in view of Yao, as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of US 4663495 to Berman et al. (hereinafter “Berman”).
Cleal, as applied above, fails to disclose a solar panel coupled with an exterior side of the lid. Berman teaches of a solar panel 10 coupled with an exterior side of a boat lid. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lid disclosed in Cleal with the solar panel taught in Berman with a reasonable expectation of success in order to allow the lid to convert light into electricity, which could be used to power devices near the lid. (claim 9)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11,12 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cleal.
Cleal discloses a lid actuation system comprising:
an actuation subsystem having a first linkage 8 and a second linkage 6, wherein the second linkage is coupled with the first linkage by a pin joint 10; (see Fig. 1b above)
wherein the actuation subsystem is configured to couple with a base 13; a lid subsystem having a lid bracket coupled with the second linkage by a second pin joint 7; (see FIG. 1b above)
wherein the lid bracket is configured to couple with a lid 3, and the lid is hingedly coupled with the base;
wherein the lid comprises a surface that is sized and dimensioned to cover an opening in the base; and
wherein the lid bracket couples with an interior surface of the lid. (see FIG. 1b above) (note: the examiner has interpreted the lid to be positively recited) (claim 11)
Cleal further discloses wherein the first linkage comprises a first curved portion and the second linkage comprises a second curved portion, wherein the first curved portion and the second curved portion enable the lid to open more than 180 degrees from its closed position. (see Fig. 1c and col. 2 lines 50-55 and FIG. 1b above) (claim 12)
Cleal further discloses wherein the first linkage comprises a first curved portion and the second linkage comprises a second curved portion such that the first curved portion of the first linkage and the second curved portion of the second linkage enable the lid to open more than 180 degrees from its closed position. (see Fig. 1c and col. 2 lines 50-55 and FIG. 1b above) (claim 15)
Cleal discloses a lid actuation system comprising:
a first linkage 8 and a second linkage 6, wherein the second linkage is coupled with the first linkage by a pin joint 10;
wherein the first linkage couples with a base 13;
wherein the second linkage couples to a lid bracket; (see FIG. 1b above)
wherein the lid bracket is configured to couple with a lid 3 that is hingedly coupled with the base;
wherein the lid is sized and dimensioned to cover an opening in the base;
wherein the lid creates an interior space when fit over the opening that is formed at least in part by the base; (see FIG. 4; note a space is formed at least between elements 19, 4 and base 13)
wherein the first linkage couples to the base in the interior space; and
wherein the lid bracket couples with an interior surface of the lid. (note: the examiner has interpreted the lid and base to be positively recited) (claim 16)
Cleal further discloses wherein the first linkage comprises a first curved portion and the second linkage comprises a second curved portion, wherein the first curved portion and the second curved portion enable the lid to open more than 180 degrees from its closed position. (see FIG. 1b above) (claim 17)
Claims 13, 14, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cleal, as applied to claims 11 and 16 above, in further view of Lee.
Cleal, as applied above, fails to disclose a first linkage comprises a tension hinge.
Lee teaches wherein a first linkage 2 comprises a tension hinge 3,4,6 having a tension hinge bolt 3. (see FIG. 1 and col. 2)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a tension hinge with the Cleal first linkage, as taught by Sellman with a reasonable expectation of success in order to assist with closing of the lid while providing arrest when closing of the lid to prevent slamming . (claims 13 and 18)
Cleal, as applied above, further discloses wherein the tension hinge bolt comprises a plurality of friction plates 64,65 placed over a bolt, wherein the friction plates are covered by a friction plate housing 61. (see FIG. 1 of Lee) (claims 14 and 19)
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cleal, as applied to claim 16 above, in further view of Yao.
Cleal, as applied above, fails to disclose a sensor package coupled with an exterior surface of the lid.
Yao teaches of a sensor package coupled with an exterior surface of the lid. (see col. 1, lines 40-50 of Yao)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the external surface of the lid disclosed in Cleal with the sensor taught in Yao with a reasonable expectation of success in order to allow for operation of the lid without having to touch the lid. (claim 20)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Marcus Menezes/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3634