DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communications filed on 30 July 2026.
Claims 14 and 18 are canceled by the Applicant.
Claims 1-13, 15-17, and 19-20 are currently pending.
Response to Remarks
The arguments in response to the claim(s) rejection under 35 U.S.C § 112(b) have been fully considered and in combination with the amendments are found persuasive. The Examiner withdraws the original 112(b) rejection(s).
The arguments in response to the drawing objection(s) and claim objection(s) have been fully considered and in combination with the amendments are found persuasive.
The arguments in response to the 112(f) invocation are found persuasive.
The arguments in response to the claim(s) rejection under 35 U.S.C § 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) and/or 35 U.S.C § 103 have been fully considered and in combination with the amendments are found persuasive.
A new rejection is included in this office action, necessitated by amendment.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner note: the following 112(f) invocations have been identified by the Office:
A. "means for connecting," first introduced in claim 16:
the means for connecting performs the function of connecting the shade top to an aft side of the personal watercraft and may comprise two or more supporting pillars assemblies configured to be attached to an aft side of the personal watercraft (see [0036], FIG. 2), or an equivalent thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-13, 16-17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Musacchio (US 20140026803), hereafter referred to as Musacchio, in view of Fraser et al (US 20200339227), hereafter referred to as Fraser.
Regarding Claim 1, Musacchio discloses the following:
A shade assembly for a watercraft (20) comprising:
a shade top (18; FIG. 7);
a front supporting structure (16 in combination with 19; FIG. 7) comprising two or more fasteners (16; FIG. 7) configured to attach the shade top (18; FIG. 7) to a steering control handle of the personal watercraft (20) (it is noted, the looped straps are capable of being attached to a steering control handle); and
a rear supporting structure (15 in combination with 13; FIG. 7) comprising two or more supporting pillars (13; FIG. 6-7; see [0037]) assemblies configured to be attached to an aft side of the personal watercraft (20);
at least one pole assembly (11; FIG. 7) coupled to the rear supporting structure (15 in combination with 13; FIG. 7) and extending at least partially from the aft side of the watercraft (20) toward a fore side of the watercraft (20), the at least one pole assembly (11; FIG. 7) comprising a first cross member (11; FIG. 8) and a second cross member (11; FIG. 8);
wherein the shade top (18; FIG. 7) is configured to be attached to the rear supporting structure (15 in combination with 13; FIG. 7) and the steering control handle to form a shade that extends over a user of the personal watercraft (20) (as seen in FIG. 6).
the first cross member (11; FIG. 8) extends at least partially from a port side of the watercraft (20) to a starboard side of the watercraft (20); and
the second cross member (11; FIG. 8) extends at least partially from the starboard side of the watercraft (20) to the port side of the watercraft (20).
Musacchio does not disclose the following:
wherein the watercraft having a shade is a personal watercraft;
However Fraser teaches the following:
wherein the watercraft having a shade (10) is a personal watercraft (FIG. 1);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the sunshade, as disclosed by Fraser, with the sunshade as taught by Musacchio, with the reasonable expectation of successfully covering the occupants of the watercraft, as taught by Musacchio (see for example [0024, 37]). The Examiner notes, the simple substitution of the shade arrangement of Fraser with the shade arrangement of Musacchio yields the predictable result of providing shade (i.e. substituting one known means to provide shade for a watercraft for another known means to provide shade for a watercraft). This rationale further supports a conclusion of obviousness to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (see MPEP 2143, I, B).
Regarding Claim 2, Musacchio as modified by Fraser discloses the following::
The shade assembly according to claim 1,
Musacchio continues to teach the following:
wherein the rear supporting structure (15 in combination with 13; FIG. 7) include two sub-assemblies (13a, 13b; see [0036]; FIG. 6-7), wherein a first sub-assembly has a larger diameter respective to a second sub-assembly, wherein the first and second sub-assemblies are adjustable to adjust total length of the rear supporting structure (15 in combination with 13; FIG. 7) (see [0037]).
Regarding Claim 3, Musacchio as modified by Fraser discloses the following::
The shade assembly according to claim 1,
Musacchio continues to teach the following:
wherein at least one pole assembly (11; FIG. 7) that support the shade top (18; FIG. 7) upwardly to extend space under the shade top (18; FIG. 7)(see [0030]).
Regarding Claim 4, Musacchio as modified by Fraser discloses the following:
The shade assembly according to claim 3,
Musacchio continues to teach the following:
wherein a crossing point of the first cross member (11; FIG. 7) and second cross member (11; FIG. 7) is not centered along a length (as seen in FIG. 7 the crossing is closer to the fore of the shade) of the shade top (18; FIG. 7) between a fore end and an aft end of the shade top.
Regarding Claim 5, Musacchio as modified by Fraser discloses the following::
The shade assembly according to claim 4,
Musacchio continues to teach the following:
wherein the crossing point is closer to a front edge (as seen in FIG. 7) of the shade top (18; FIG. 7).
Regarding Claim 6, Musacchio as modified by Fraser discloses the following::
The shade assembly according to claim 4,
Musacchio continues to teach the following:
wherein a crossing point of the first cross member (11; FIG. 7) and second cross member (11; FIG. 7) is centered along a width (as seen in FIG. 7) of the shade top (18; FIG. 7).
Regarding Claim 7, Musacchio as modified by Fraser discloses the following::
The shade assembly according to claim 1,
Musacchio continues to teach the following:
wherein the rear supporting structure (15 in combination with 13; FIG. 7) and the front supporting structure (16 in combination with 19; FIG. 7) are configured to be detachably attached to the personal watercraft (20) (see for example [0002]).
Regarding Claim 8, Musacchio as modified by Fraser discloses the following::
The shade assembly according to claim 1,
Musacchio continues to teach the following:
wherein a top of the rear supporting structure (15 in combination with 13; FIG. 7) is attached with a pillar cap (as seen in FIG. 7-8, holes are provided in the shade to accommodate the narrower ends of the poles) that has a through hole accommodating one end of the pole assembly and a recess accommodating a metal (see [0032]) pin configured to engage and hold the shade top (18; FIG. 7).
Regarding Claim 9, Musacchio as modified by Fraser discloses the following::
A watercraft (20) comprising:
a shade top (18; FIG. 7);
a front supporting structure (16 in combination with 19; FIG. 7) configured to attach the shade top (18; FIG. 7) to a fore side of the personal watercraft (20); and
a rear supporting structure (15 in combination with 13; FIG. 7) comprising two or more supporting pillars (13; FIG. 6-7; see [0037]) configured to be attached to an aft side of the personal watercraft (20);
at least one pole assembly (11; FIG. 7) coupled to the rear supporting structure (15 in combination with 13; FIG. 7) and extending at least partially from the aft side of the watercraft (20) toward the fore side of the watercraft (20), the at least one pole assembly (11; FIG. 7) comprising a first cross member (11; FIG. 8) and a second cross member (11; FIG. 8);
wherein the shade top (18; FIG. 7) is configured to be attached to the front supporting structure (16 in combination with 19; FIG. 7) and the rear supporting structure (15 in combination with 13; FIG. 7).
the first cross member (11; FIG. 8) extends at least partially from a port side of the watercraft (20) to a starboard side of the watercraft (20); and
the second cross member (11; FIG. 8) extends at least partially from the starboard side of the watercraft (20) to the port side of the watercraft (20).
Musacchio does not disclose the following:
wherein the watercraft having a shade is a personal watercraft;
However Fraser teaches the following:
wherein the watercraft having a shade (10) is a personal watercraft (FIG. 1);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the sunshade, as disclosed by Fraser, with the sunshade as taught by Musacchio, with the reasonable expectation of successfully covering the occupants of the watercraft, as taught by Musacchio (see for example [0024, 37]). The Examiner notes, the simple substitution of the shade arrangement of Fraser with the shade arrangement of Musacchio yields the predictable result of providing shade (i.e. substituting one known means to provide shade for a watercraft for another known means to provide shade for a watercraft). This rationale further supports a conclusion of obviousness to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (see MPEP 2143, I, B).
Regarding Claim 10, Musacchio as modified by Fraser discloses the following::
The personal watercraft according to claim 9,
Musacchio continues to teach the following:
wherein individual supporting pillars (13; FIG. 6-7; see [0037]) of the rear supporting structure (15 in combination with 13; FIG. 7) include two sub-assemblies (13a, 13b; see [0036]; FIG. 6-7).
Regarding Claim 11, Musacchio as modified by Fraser discloses the following::
The personal watercraft according to claim 10,
Musacchio continues to teach the following:
wherein a first sub-assembly has a larger diameter respective to a second sub-assembly (13a, 13b; see [0036]; FIG. 6-7), wherein the first and second sub- assemblies are adjustable to adjust total length of the rear supporting pillar (see [0036-37]; FIG. 6-7).
Regarding Claim 12, Musacchio as modified by Fraser discloses the following::
The personal watercraft according to claim 8,
Musacchio continues to teach the following:
wherein the at least one pole assembly (11; FIG. 7) that support the shade top (18; FIG. 7) upwardly to extend space under the shade top (18; FIG. 7).
Regarding Claim 13, Musacchio as modified by Fraser discloses the following::
The personal watercraft according to claim 9,
Musacchio continues to teach the following:
wherein the front supporting structure (16 in combination with 19; FIG. 7) includes two or more fasteners (16; FIG. 7) configured to attach (it is noted, the looped straps are capable of being attached to a steering control handle) the shade top (18; FIG. 7) to a steering control handle of the personal watercraft (20).
Regarding Claim 16, Musacchio as modified by Fraser discloses the following::
A kit (see MPEP 2112.01) for creating a shade assembly for a watercraft (20) comprising:
a shade top (18; FIG. 7);
a front supporting structure (16 in combination with 19; FIG. 7) comprising means for connecting the shade top (18; FIG. 7) to a fore side of the personal watercraft (20); and
a rear supporting structure (15 in combination with 13; FIG. 7) comprising means for connecting the shade top (18; FIG. 7) to an aft side of the personal watercraft (20);
at least one pole assembly (11; FIG. 7) coupled to the rear supporting structure (15 in combination with 13; FIG. 7) and extending at least partially from the aft side of the watercraft (20) toward the fore side of the watercraft (20), the at least one pole assembly (11; FIG. 7) comprising a first cross member (11; FIG. 8) and a second cross member (11; FIG. 8);
wherein the shade top (18; FIG. 7) is configured to be attached to the rear supporting structure (15 in combination with 13; FIG. 7) and the front supporting structure (16 in combination with 19; FIG. 7) to form a shade.
the first cross member (11; FIG. 8) extends at least partially from a port side of the watercraft (20) to a starboard side of the watercraft (20); and
the second cross member (11; FIG. 8) extends at least partially from the starboard side of the watercraft (20) to the port side of the watercraft (20).
Musacchio does not disclose the following:
wherein the watercraft having a shade is a personal watercraft;
However Fraser teaches the following:
wherein the watercraft having a shade (10) is a personal watercraft (FIG. 1);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the sunshade, as disclosed by Fraser, with the sunshade as taught by Musacchio, with the reasonable expectation of successfully covering the occupants of the watercraft, as taught by Musacchio (see for example [0024, 37]). The Examiner notes, the simple substitution of the shade arrangement of Fraser with the shade arrangement of Musacchio yields the predictable result of providing shade (i.e. substituting one known means to provide shade for a watercraft for another known means to provide shade for a watercraft). This rationale further supports a conclusion of obviousness to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (see MPEP 2143, I, B).
Regarding Claim 17 Musacchio as modified by Fraser discloses the following::
The kit for creating a shade assembly for a personal watercraft according to claim 16,
Musacchio continues to teach the following:
wherein the front supporting structure (16 in combination with 19; FIG. 7) includes two or more fasteners (16; FIG. 7) configured to attach (it is noted, the looped straps are capable of being attached to a steering control handle) the shade top (18; FIG. 7) to a steering control handle of the personal watercraft (20).
Regarding Claim 19, Musacchio as modified by Fraser discloses the following::
The kit for creating a shade assembly for a personal watercraft according to claim 16,
Musacchio continues to teach the following:
wherein the rear supporting structure (15 in combination with 13; FIG. 7) includes two or more supporting pillars (13; FIG. 6-7; see [0037]) configured to be attached to the aft side of the personal watercraft (20).
Regarding Claim 20, Musacchio as modified by Fraser discloses the following::
The kit for creating a shade assembly for a personal watercraft according to claim 16,
Musacchio continues to teach the following:
wherein the at least one pole assembly (11; FIG. 7) supports the shade top (18; FIG. 7) upwardly to extend space under the shade top (18; FIG. 7)(see [0030]).
Claims 9 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fraser in view of Musacchio and Watkins et al (US 20210371056), hereafter referred to as Watkins.
Regarding Claim 9, Fraser teaches the following:
A personal watercraft (FIG. 1) comprising:
a shade top (10);
a front supporting structure (20 in front of craft; FIG. 2B) configured to attach the shade top (10) to a fore side of the personal watercraft; and
a rear supporting structure (20 in the rear in combination with 65's and 80, 90; FIG. 2B) comprising two or more supporting pillars (80, 90) configured to be attached to an aft side of the personal watercraft (via 110 in combination with 120);
wherein the shade top (10) is configured to be attached to the front supporting structure (20 in front of craft; FIG. 2B) and the rear supporting structure (20 in the rear in combination with 65's and 80, 90; FIG. 2B).
Fraser does not teach the following:
at least one pole assembly coupled to the rear supporting structure and extending at least partially from the aft side of the personal watercraft toward the fore side of the personal watercraft, the at least one pole assembly comprising a first cross member and a second cross member;
the first cross member extends at least partially from a port side of the personal watercraft to a starboard side of the personal watercraft; and
the second cross member extends at least partially from the starboard side of the personal watercraft to the port side of the personal watercraft.
However Musacchio teaches the following:
at least one pole assembly (11; FIG. 7) coupled to the rear supporting structure (15 in combination with 13; FIG. 7) and extending at least partially from the aft side of the watercraft (20) toward the fore side of the watercraft (20), the at least one pole assembly (11; FIG. 7) comprising a first cross member (11; FIG. 8) and a second cross member (11; FIG. 8);
the first cross member (11; FIG. 8) extends at least partially from a port side of the watercraft (20) to a starboard side of the watercraft (20); and
the second cross member (11; FIG. 8) extends at least partially from the starboard side of the watercraft (20) to the port side of the watercraft (20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shade as disclosed by Fraser, wherein the shade comprises first and second cross members, as taught by Musacchio, with the reasonable expectation of successfully keeping the shade taut (see Musacchio, [0030]).
Regarding Claims 15, Fraser as modified by Musacchio discloses the following::
The personal watercraft (FIG. 1) according to claim 9,
Fraser as modified by Musacchio does not explicitly disclose the following:
further comprising a rear deck extender accessory,
However Watkins teaches the following:
further comprising a rear deck extender accessory (100, FIG. 17),
Fraser as modified by Musacchio and Watkins teaches the following:
a pair of metal base plates (120; FIG. 2B, 7) and screws (130; FIG. 8) to attach the metal base plates (120; FIG. 2B, 7) to a rear deck extender (as modified by Watkins), wherein each of the metal base plates (120; FIG. 2B, 7) comprises a cylindrically reinforced base hole (holes that accept 110) to accommodate the rear supporting structure (portions 80, 90 via 110 portion; FIG. 2B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the personal watercraft, as taught by Fraser, by adding a rear deck extender accessory, as taught by Watkins, with the reasonable expectation of providing the watercraft with an extended deck as well as a boarding ladder (see Watkins Abstract, FIG. 17).
It is noted, it would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shade assembly as disclosed by Fraser, wherein the metal base plates for the rear supports are installed on the rear deck extender accessory and the length of the shade is extended, with the reasonable expectation of successfully providing additional shade to the rear deck extender accessory. Where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device; in this instance locating the rear support structure(s) of Fraser relative to the modified rear deck extender accessory of Watkins and modifying the relative size of the Fraser shade to extend in size to accommodate the rear deck extender accessory results in a device that would not perform differently than the prior art device (see MPEP 2144.04, IV, A).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN CHRISTOPHER DELRUE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745