DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the application filed on 07 November 2023.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
There were no information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted to be considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore:
Regarding Claim 18:
the "wherein the front supporting structure includes two or more supporting pillars configured to be attached to the fore side of the personal watercraft" must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s) 18.
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner note: the following 112(f) invocations have been identified by the Office:
A. "front supporting structure," first introduced in claim 9:
the front supporting structure attaches the shade top to the personal watercraft and comprises two fasteners that may be in the form of loops, or an equivalent thereof (see [0039]; FIG. 2).
B. "two sub-assemblies," first introduced in claim 10:
the two sub-assemblies perform the function of adjusting the height of the shade top, and may comprise two pole sub-assemblies with different diameters so that an upper pole 213 can be slotted into a lower pole 215; or an equivalent thereof (see [0036]; FIG. 2).
C. "means for connecting," first introduced in claim 16:
the means for connecting performs the function of connecting the shade top to an aft side of the personal watercraft and may comprise two or more supporting pillars assemblies configured to be attached to an aft side of the personal watercraft (see [0036], FIG. 2), or an equivalent thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14, 15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding Claims 14 and 18:
The claim language, "wherein the front supporting structure includes two or more supporting pillars configured to be attached to the fore side of the personal watercraft," renders the claim indefinite. After careful review of the specification, it is not clear how the two or more supporting pillars are supposed to be configured to be attached to the fore side of the personal watercraft, or which structures mention in the specification and drawings are supposed to represent the two or more supporting pillars. As best understood, for purposes of examination, the claim language is interpreted to instead be, "wherein the front supporting structure includes two or more loop fasteners [[supporting pillars]] configured to be attached to the fore side of the personal watercraft." See paragraph [0039] of the Instant Application. It is noted however, that for prior art purposes of examination, the claim language is interpreted to be as-is.
Regarding Claim 15:
The claim language, "a pair of metal base plates and screws to attach the metal base plates to a rear deck extender," renders the claim indefinite. It is not clear how the metal base plates can be connected to the rear deck extender since according to [0040] of the Instant Application, the metal base plates are a part of the rear deck extenders (i.e. they are the same part / structure with different portions named) and the rear deck extenders are mounted on the watercraft with screws.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-14 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Musacchio (US 20140026803), hereafter referred to as Musacchio.
Regarding Claim 1, Musacchio discloses the following:
A shade assembly for a personal watercraft (20) comprising:
a shade top (18; FIG. 7);
a front supporting structure (16 in combination with 19; FIG. 7) comprising two or more fasteners (16; FIG. 7) configured to attach the shade top (18; FIG. 7) to a steering control handle of the personal watercraft (20) (it is noted, the looped straps are capable of being attached to a steering control handle); and
a rear supporting structure (15 in combination with 13; FIG. 7) comprising two or more supporting pillars (13; FIG. 6-7; see [0037]) assemblies configured to be attached to an aft side of the personal watercraft (20);
wherein the shade top (18; FIG. 7) is configured to be attached to the rear supporting structure (15 in combination with 13; FIG. 7) and the steering control handle to form a shade that extends over a user of the personal watercraft (20) (as seen in FIG. 6).
Regarding Claim 2, Musacchio discloses the following:
The shade assembly according to claim 1,
wherein the rear supporting structure (15 in combination with 13; FIG. 7) include two sub-assemblies (13a, 13b; see [0036]; FIG. 6-7), wherein a first sub-assembly has a larger diameter respective to a second sub-assembly, wherein the first and second sub-assemblies are adjustable to adjust total length of the rear supporting structure (15 in combination with 13; FIG. 7) (see [0037]).
Regarding Claim 3, Musacchio discloses the following:
The shade assembly according to claim 1,
further comprising at least one pole assembly (11; FIG. 7) that support the shade top (18; FIG. 7) upwardly to extend space under the shade top (18; FIG. 7)(see [0030]).
Regarding Claim 4, Musacchio discloses the following:
The shade assembly according to claim 3,
wherein the at least one pole assembly (11; FIG. 7) includes two pole assemblies (11; FIG. 7) and wherein a crossing point of the two pole assemblies (11; FIG. 7) is not equidistant along a length (as seen in FIG. 7 the crossing is closer to the fore of the shade) of the shade top (18; FIG. 7).
Regarding Claim 5, Musacchio discloses the following:
The shade assembly according to claim 4,
wherein the crossing point is closer to a front edge (as seen in FIG. 7) of the shade top (18; FIG. 7).
Regarding Claim 6, Musacchio discloses the following:
The shade assembly according to claim 4,
wherein a crossing point of the two pole assemblies (11; FIG. 7) is equidistant along a width (as seen in FIG. 7) of the shade top (18; FIG. 7).
Regarding Claim 7, Musacchio discloses the following:
The shade assembly according to claim 1,
wherein the rear supporting structure (15 in combination with 13; FIG. 7) and the front supporting structure (16 in combination with 19; FIG. 7) are configured to be detachably attached to the personal watercraft (20) (see for example [0002]).
Regarding Claim 8, Musacchio discloses the following:
The shade assembly according to claim 1,
wherein a top of the rear supporting structure (15 in combination with 13; FIG. 7) is attached with a pillar cap (as seen in FIG. 7-8, holes are provided in the shade to accommodate the narrower ends of the poles) that has a through hole accommodating one end of the pole assembly and a recess accommodating a metal (see [0032]) pin configured to engage and hold the shade top (18; FIG. 7).
Regarding Claim 9, Musacchio discloses the following:
A personal watercraft (20) comprising:
a shade top (18; FIG. 7);
a front supporting structure (16 in combination with 19; FIG. 7) configured to attach the shade top (18; FIG. 7) to a fore side of the personal watercraft (20); and
a rear supporting structure (15 in combination with 13; FIG. 7) comprising two or more supporting pillars (13; FIG. 6-7; see [0037]) configured to be attached to an aft side of the personal watercraft (20);
wherein the shade top (18; FIG. 7) is configured to be attached to the front supporting structure (16 in combination with 19; FIG. 7) and the rear supporting structure (15 in combination with 13; FIG. 7).
Regarding Claim 10, Musacchio discloses the following:
The personal watercraft (20) according to claim 9,
wherein individual supporting pillars (13; FIG. 6-7; see [0037]) of the rear supporting structure (15 in combination with 13; FIG. 7) include two sub-assemblies (13a, 13b; see [0036]; FIG. 6-7).
Regarding Claim 11, Musacchio discloses the following:
The personal watercraft (20) according to claim 10,
wherein a first sub-assembly has a larger diameter respective to a second sub-assembly, wherein the first and second sub- assemblies are adjustable to adjust total length of the rear supporting pillar.
Regarding Claim 12, Musacchio discloses the following:
The personal watercraft (20) according to claim 8,
further comprising at least one pole assembly (11; FIG. 7) that support the shade top (18; FIG. 7) upwardly to extend space under the shade top (18; FIG. 7).
Regarding Claim 13, Musacchio discloses the following:
The personal watercraft (20) according to claim 9,
wherein the front supporting structure (16 in combination with 19; FIG. 7) includes two or more fasteners (16; FIG. 7) configured to attach (it is noted, the looped straps are capable of being attached to a steering control handle) the shade top (18; FIG. 7) to a steering control handle of the personal watercraft (20)
Regarding Claim 14, Musacchio discloses the following:
The personal watercraft (20) according to claim 9,
wherein the front supporting structure (16 in combination with 19; FIG. 7) includes two or more supporting pillars (19; FIG. 6-7; see [0037]) configured to be attached to the fore side of the personal watercraft (20).
Regarding Claim 16, Musacchio discloses the following:
A kit for creating a shade assembly for a personal watercraft (20) comprising:
a shade top (18; FIG. 7);
a front supporting structure (16 in combination with 19; FIG. 7) comprising means for connecting the shade top (18; FIG. 7) to a fore side of the personal watercraft (20); and
a rear supporting structure (15 in combination with 13; FIG. 7) comprising means for connecting the shade top (18; FIG. 7) to an aft side of the personal watercraft (20);
wherein the shade top (18; FIG. 7) is configured to be attached to the rear supporting structure (15 in combination with 13; FIG. 7) and the front supporting structure (16 in combination with 19; FIG. 7) to form a shade.
Regarding Claim 17 Musacchio discloses the following:
The kit for creating a shade assembly for a personal watercraft (20) according to claim 16,
wherein the front supporting structure (16 in combination with 19; FIG. 7) includes two or more fasteners (16; FIG. 7) configured to attach (it is noted, the looped straps are capable of being attached to a steering control handle) the shade top (18; FIG. 7) to a steering control handle of the personal watercraft (20).
Regarding Claim 18, Musacchio discloses the following:
The kit for creating a shade assembly for a personal watercraft (20) according to claim 16,
wherein the front supporting structure (16 in combination with 19; FIG. 7) includes two or more supporting pillars (19; FIG. 6-7; see [0037]) configured to be attached to the fore side of the personal watercraft (20).
Regarding Claim 19, Musacchio discloses the following:
The kit for creating a shade assembly for a personal watercraft (20) according to claim 16,
wherein the rear supporting structure (15 in combination with 13; FIG. 7) includes two or more supporting pillars (13; FIG. 6-7; see [0037]) configured to be attached to the aft side of the personal watercraft (20).
Regarding Claim 20, Musacchio discloses the following:
The kit for creating a shade assembly for a personal watercraft (20) according to claim 16,
further comprising at least one pole assembly (11; FIG. 7) that supports the shade top (18; FIG. 7) upwardly to extend space under the shade top (18; FIG. 7)(see [0030]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
In combination with the other structures required by the independent claims, the inclusion of:
a rear deck extender accessory, a pair of metal base plates and screws to attach the metal base plates to a rear deck extender, and each of the base plates has a cylindrically reinforced base hole to accommodate the rear supporting structure;
was not found or fairly taught by prior art and differentiated the claims from the closest prior art to Musacchio (US 20140026803).
The Examiner notes Musacchio is considered the closest prior art and does not teach the limitation(s) described above. Further, it appears there would be no reason to modify the prior art without the benefit of Applicant's disclosure and impermissible hindsight.
Conclusion
See form No. 892 for other references pertinent to the application that may not have been cited within the Office Action.
For references which show similar shade assemblies see Pages 1-4.
/BRIAN CHRISTOPHER DELRUE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745