DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, and Species B, corresponding to claims 1-6 and 8-18 in the reply filed on March 30th, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 7, 19 & 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 and 8-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a cleaning agent” in line 5 to line 6. However, Applicant has already recited “a cleaning agent” in line 3. Thus, it is unclear if the cleaning agent recited in line 5 to line 6 is the same cleaning agent as recited in line 3, or a different cleaning agent. As such, said claim is unclear. Appropriate action is required.
Claims 2-6 and 8-17 are rejected merely due to their dependency from claim 1.
Claim 4 also recites the limitation "periumbilical region of the subject" in line 2 to line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation “the subject” in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the capsule" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Because claim 9 is the first reference of a capsule, then claim 14 will be examined as though it depends from claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 & 8-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Haber et al. (U.S. Patent No. 5,558,874).
Regarding claims 1, 4, 5, 8 & 16-18, Haber discloses a navel cleaning device, comprising:
A cylindrical, semicylindrical, or planar deformable plastic housing (2) as set forth in column 4, lines 1-15;
An adhesive layer (82) comprising a pressure sensitive adhesive formulation, and configured to adhere and secure the navel cleaning device housing to a periumbilical region of a subject/patient (column 8, lines 8-30);
A soap cleaning agent (column 4, lines 30-55);
An applicator (24) configured to deliver the cleaning agent to a patient’s navel (column 4, line 66 to column 5, line 10); and
A dispensing mechanism (4/6/8/26) configured to be actuated to release the cleaning agent from the housing (column 5, line 35 to column 6, line 46);
Wherein the housing (2) comprises a deformable material, and wherein application of a compressive force can thereby release the cleaning agent to the applicator (24) as set forth in column 5, line 35 to column 6 line 46.
Concerning claim 2, Haber continues to disclose that the housing further comprises:
An aperture (21) configured to provide an exit for the cleaning agent from the housing (column 5, lines 1-10); and
A base (2/26) circumscribing the aperture (21) as shown in Figures 1, 2, 7 & 9.
With respect to claims 3 and 11-13, Haber further discloses that the applicator (24) comprises an absorbent, porous sponge that is flexible and configured to extend at least partially into a navel area of a patient during use (column 5, lines 1-5; Figures 2, 7 & 9).
Regarding claim 6, the reference also discloses a release liner (26) coupled to the adhesive layer (column 8, lines 8-30).
Concerning claims 9, 14 & 15, Haber further discloses that the dispensing mechanism (4/6/8/26) comprises a button (4/6/8) configured to rupture a frangible, plastic capsule upon application of a compressive force to the button (column 3, lines 60-67; column 5, line 35 to column 6, line 46).
With respect to claim 10, Haber also discloses that the button (4/6/8) includes an inner surface comprising one or more protuberances configured to receive the compressive force applied to the button (4/6/8) and convey said compressive force to the capsule (Figure 7).
Conclusion
/KEVIN JOYNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799