DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lehr (5,561,685). Lehr discloses a sidewall (22) for a metallurgical furnace (10), the sidewall includes an upper wall (30); an outer wall coupled to the upper wall and extending downward from the upper wall; an inner wall coupled to the upper wall, the inner wall extending downward from the upper wall, the inner wall having an inner surface facing and circumscribed by the outer wall; a bottom wall (35) coupled to the inner wall, the bottom wall having a bottom extension wall (9) extending away from the inner wall; and a liner wall (10) attached to the bottom extension wall and extending upward in a spaced apart relationship to the inner wall (SEE Annotated Figure 1 for clarification); and a spray cooling assembly disposed between the inner wall and the outer wall, the spray cooling assembly (600, 620) configured to spray coolant on the inner surface of the inner wall (SEE Figure 4).
In re claim 2, Lehr further discloses a cover wall (SEE Annotated Figure 1) attached to an upper portion of the liner wall, the cover wall extending away from the liner wall. In re claim 3, Lehr further discloses that the bottom extension wall (9) is attached to the bottom wall or the inner wall (SEE Annotated Figure 1). In re claim 4, as per Annotated Figure 1, Lehr discloses that the inner wall is substantially straight between the upper wall (30) and the bottom wall (35) (Figure 4). In re claim 12, Lehr discloses a metallurgical furnace (arc furnace 10) including a hearth; a plurality of refractory bricks (SEE bricks in Figure 4 with liner wall 10) lining a portion of the hearth; and a sidewall (22) disposed on the hearth, the sidewall includes an upper wall (30); an outer wall coupled to the upper wall and extending downward from the upper wall (SEE Annotated Figure 1); an inner wall coupled to the upper wall, the inner wall extending downward from the upper wall, the inner wall having an inner surface facing and circumscribed by the outer wall; a bottom wall (35) coupled to the inner wall, the bottom wall having a bottom extension wall (9) extending away from the inner wall; and a liner wall (10) attached to the bottom extension wall and extending upward in a spaced apart relationship to the inner wall (SEE Annotated Figure 1), the liner wall disposed along a portion the plurality of refractory bricks; and a spray cooling assembly (600, 620) disposed between the inner wall and the outer wall, the spray cooling assembly configured to spray coolant on the inner surface of the inner wall (SEE Figure 4). In re claim 13, Lehr further discloses a cover wall (SEE Annotated Figure 1) attached to an upper portion of the liner wall, the cover wall at partially disposed on a top surface of the plurality of refractory bricks. In re claim 14, Lehr discloses that the bottom extension wall (9) is attached to the bottom wall or the inner wall (SEE Annotated Figure 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-20 are allowed.
Claims 5-11, 15 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
/GREGORY A WILSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762 January 21, 2026