DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 12, filed 07/19/2026, with respect to claims 2-9, 11-16 and 18 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of claims 2-9, 11-16 and 18 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 12-13, filed 07/19/2026, with respect to claims 1-18 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claims 1-18 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 07/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1 and 10, applicant argues that “As detailed in Pars. [0162] and [0205], Shin describes comb size allocatable for SL-PRS may be (pre-)configured, and UE may adjust comb offset value, instead of including comb offset values in congestion control. In sharp contrast, Applicant's pending claimed invention recites the sidelink resource pool configuration restricting one or more usable, available, or candidate comb offsets for a comb-N structure/design in one (SL-PRS) occasion. Further, pending claim 2 clearly shows that other comb offsets (i.e., comb offsets other than the configured one or more usable, available, or candidate comb offsets) will be precluded or excluded from performing sidelink reference signal transmission. Thus, the claimed UE only selects a sidelink reference signal resource under restriction of the configured one or more usable, available, or candidate comb offsets. Furthermore, Par. [0166] of Shin discloses selection of a Tx resource pool, while Applicant's claimed invention uniquely addresses selection of the sidelink reference signal resource within a resource pool. This is also an important distinction between the claimed invention and the disclosure of the Shin reference. Moreover, the Vivo and Samsung references also fail to teach, alone or in combination, all of the elements of the claimed invention” in page 16.
In response to applicant’s argument, examiner respectfully disagrees with the argument above.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., including comb offset values in congestion control … the sidelink resource pool configuration restricting one or more usable, available, or candidate comb offsets for a comb-N structure/design in one (SL-PRS) occasion … the claimed UE only selects a sidelink reference signal resource under restriction of the configured one or more usable, available, or candidate comb offsets) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Shin discloses receiving a sidelink resource pool configuration of a sidelink resource pool, wherein the sidelink reference signal pool is utilized for performing one or multiple sidelink reference signal transmission [Shin expressly discloses resource pools as time/frequency sets, (pre-)configuration mechanisms (cell common via SIB, UE specific via RRC, PC5 RRC or MAC CE), and dedicated PRS pools: see FIG. 3 and accompanying description of resource pools and slot/sub channel configuration; see discussion re (pre-)configured resource pools and PRS configuration (passages describing resource pool configuration and (pre-)configuration mechanisms) (Shin: FIG. 3; paragraphs discussing resource pools and (pre-)configuration; e.g., ¶¶ [0070]–[0077], ¶¶ [0126]–[0133] and ¶¶ [0147]–[0149]). Shin also describes a dedicated resource pool region allocated for SL positioning (FIG. 11 and related text) (¶[0169])], and wherein the sidelink resource pool configuration comprises or provides one or more comb offsets, among N comb offsets associated with a comb-N structure or design, for determining one or more usable, available, or candidate sidelink reference signal resources [Shin discloses comb offset as a configurable PRS parameter and explicitly includes Comb size and Comb offset as part of PRS transmission parameter sets. Shin describes that Comb offset indicates the start position of the comb on the frequency axis and that these comb parameters can be (pre )configured or signaled and used in resource selection (see FIG. 13/resource pool configuration 1310 and text explicitly naming “Combsize, Comb Offset” and stating parameters “may be (pre )configured through resource pool configuration 1310” and that UE may adjust offsets to avoid collisions) (¶¶ [0199]–[0207], ¶¶ [0204]–[0206]). Shin also ties PRS parameter configuration to the pool/selection process (¶¶ [0152]–[0168])] in one occasion in the sidelink resource pool, wherein N is a numeric value of a comb size [Shin explicitly teaches PRS comb structures (comb N) for SL PRS, reusing DL PRS/UL SRS comb patterns, and provides examples of comb values (e.g., comb 2, comb 4, comb 6, comb 12) and associated symbol counts (FIGs. 8–9; ¶¶ [0121]–[0124]; ¶¶ [0161]–[0163]). Shin shows per slot/occasion comb application and symbol mapping in those Figures and descriptive text]; selecting or determining a first sidelink reference signal resource, among the one or more usable, available, or candidate sidelink reference signal resources, in the one occasion in the sidelink resource pool [Shin discloses resource selection/allocation procedures for SL transmissions including Mode 1 (network scheduled) and Mode 2 (UE sensing and autonomous selection); Shin describes determining candidate resources in a resource selection window and selecting/reselecting from candidate resources based on sensing (see Mode 1/Mode 2 discussion and sensing/resource selection description) (¶¶ [0148]–[0149]; ¶¶ [0166]–[0168]; also earlier sections describing sensing and candidate/resource exclusion). Shin further teaches selecting among multiple Tx pools or slot/frequency allocations based on configured PRS parameters (symbol length, subchannel count, repetition factor, comb size, power) and selecting a Tx pool to meet positioning accuracy (¶¶ [0166]–[0169]; FIG. 11 example)]; and performing a first sidelink reference signal transmission on the first sidelink reference signal resource and performing a first Sidelink Control Information (SCI) transmission for scheduling the first sidelink reference signal transmission in the one occasion [Shin discloses transmitting SL PRS together with control information (SCI) that configures/schedules the PRS. Shin describes mapping PSCCH/PSCCH like 1st stage SCI and PSSCH/2nd stage SCI (or PC5 RRC/MAC CE) to indicate PRS parameters and scheduling. Shin shows slot structures where PSCCH (1st SCI) and PRS are multiplexed in the same slot (FDM/TDM) and notes that PSCCH (1st SCI) may indicate PRS configuration (start symbol, length, periodicity, comb info, etc.) and that PSSCH/PSCCH signals carrying SCI can be used to schedule PRS occasions (FIG. 12; ¶¶ [0171]–[0176]; ¶¶ [0128]–[0130]; ¶¶ [0144], [0175]). Shin also proposes SCI/DCI formats and signaling for PRS reservation and periodic/aperiodic reservation (¶¶ [0148]–[0149], [0200]–[0216], FIGs. 10–12)].
Moreover, the combined references of Vivo and Samsung also teach all of the elements of the claimed invention as shown below.
In view of the above response, the cited references teach or suggest, alone or in combination, each and every element of the pending claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 10, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shin et al. (US 2024/0007968 A1, hereinafter “Shin”).
Regarding claims 1 and 21, Shin discloses a first device [see Fig. 14; a UE], comprising:
a memory [see para. 41, 334; a memory]; and
a processor operatively coupled with the memory, wherein the processor is configured to execute a program code to [see Fig. 14, para. 41, 331, 334; a processor operatively coupled with the memory, wherein the processor is configured to execute a program code]:
receive a sidelink resource pool configuration of a sidelink resource pool, wherein the sidelink reference signal pool is utilized for performing one or multiple sidelink reference signal transmission [Shin expressly discloses resource pools as time/frequency sets, (pre-)configuration mechanisms (cell common via SIB, UE specific via RRC, PC5 RRC or MAC CE), and dedicated PRS pools: see FIG. 3 and accompanying description of resource pools and slot/sub channel configuration; see discussion re (pre-)configured resource pools and PRS configuration (passages describing resource pool configuration and (pre-)configuration mechanisms) (Shin: FIG. 3; paragraphs discussing resource pools and (pre-)configuration; e.g., ¶¶ [0070]–[0077], ¶¶ [0126]–[0133] and ¶¶ [0147]–[0149]). Shin also describes a dedicated resource pool region allocated for SL positioning (FIG. 11 and related text) (¶[0169])], and
wherein the sidelink resource pool configuration comprises or provides one or more comb offsets, among N comb offsets associated with a comb-N structure or design, for determining one or more usable, available, or candidate sidelink reference signal resources [Shin discloses comb offset as a configurable PRS parameter and explicitly includes Comb size and Comb offset as part of PRS transmission parameter sets. Shin describes that Comb offset indicates the start position of the comb on the frequency axis and that these comb parameters can be (pre )configured or signaled and used in resource selection (see FIG. 13/resource pool configuration 1310 and text explicitly naming “Combsize, Comb Offset” and stating parameters “may be (pre )configured through resource pool configuration 1310” and that UE may adjust offsets to avoid collisions) (¶¶ [0199]–[0207], ¶¶ [0204]–[0206]). Shin also ties PRS parameter configuration to the pool/selection process (¶¶ [0152]–[0168])] in one occasion in the sidelink resource pool, wherein N is a numeric value of a comb size [Shin explicitly teaches PRS comb structures (comb N) for SL PRS, reusing DL PRS/UL SRS comb patterns, and provides examples of comb values (e.g., comb 2, comb 4, comb 6, comb 12) and associated symbol counts (FIGs. 8–9; ¶¶ [0121]–[0124]; ¶¶ [0161]–[0163]). Shin shows per slot/occasion comb application and symbol mapping in those Figures and descriptive text];
select or determine a first sidelink reference signal resource, among the one or more usable, available, or candidate sidelink reference signal resources, in the one occasion in the sidelink resource pool [Shin discloses resource selection/allocation procedures for SL transmissions including Mode 1 (network scheduled) and Mode 2 (UE sensing and autonomous selection); Shin describes determining candidate resources in a resource selection window and selecting/reselecting from candidate resources based on sensing (see Mode 1/Mode 2 discussion and sensing/resource selection description) (¶¶ [0148]–[0149]; ¶¶ [0166]–[0168]; also earlier sections describing sensing and candidate/resource exclusion). Shin further teaches selecting among multiple Tx pools or slot/frequency allocations based on configured PRS parameters (symbol length, subchannel count, repetition factor, comb size, power) and selecting a Tx pool to meet positioning accuracy (¶¶ [0166]–[0169]; FIG. 11 example)]; and
perform a first sidelink reference signal transmission on the first sidelink reference signal resource and performing a first Sidelink Control Information (SCI) transmission for scheduling the first sidelink reference signal transmission in the one occasion [Shin discloses transmitting SL PRS together with control information (SCI) that configures/schedules the PRS. Shin describes mapping PSCCH/PSCCH like 1st stage SCI and PSSCH/2nd stage SCI (or PC5 RRC/MAC CE) to indicate PRS parameters and scheduling. Shin shows slot structures where PSCCH (1st SCI) and PRS are multiplexed in the same slot (FDM/TDM) and notes that PSCCH (1st SCI) may indicate PRS configuration (start symbol, length, periodicity, comb info, etc.) and that PSSCH/PSCCH signals carrying SCI can be used to schedule PRS occasions (FIG. 12; ¶¶ [0171]–[0176]; ¶¶ [0128]–[0130]; ¶¶ [0144], [0175]). Shin also proposes SCI/DCI formats and signaling for PRS reservation and periodic/aperiodic reservation (¶¶ [0148]–[0149], [0200]–[0216], FIGs. 10–12)].
Regarding claim 10, Shin discloses a method of a network node, comprising:
transmitting or providing, to one or more devices, a sidelink resource pool configuration of a sidelink resource pool, wherein the sidelink resource pool is utilized for performing at least one or multiple sidelink reference signal transmissions [Shin expressly discloses resource pools as time /frequency sets, (pre )configuration mechanisms (cell common via SIB, UE specific via RRC, PC5 RRC or MAC CE), and dedicated PRS pools: see FIG. 3 and accompanying description of resource pools and slot/sub channel configuration; see discussion re (pre )configured resource pools and PRS configuration (passages describing resource pool configuration and (pre )configuration mechanisms) (Shin: FIG. 3; paragraphs discussing resource pools and (pre-)configuration; e.g., ¶¶ [0070]–[0077], ¶¶ [0126]–[0133] and ¶¶ [0147]–[0149]). Shin also describes a dedicated resource pool region allocated for SL positioning (FIG. 11 and related text) (¶[0169])],
wherein comb-N structure or design is applied or utilized for sidelink reference signal resourcing in one occasion in the sidelink resource pool, wherein N is a numeric value of a comb size [Shin explicitly teaches PRS comb structures (comb N) for SL PRS, reusing DL PRS/UL SRS comb patterns, and provides examples of comb values (e.g., comb 2, comb 4, comb 6, comb 12) and associated symbol counts (FIGs. 8–9; ¶¶ [0121]–[0124]; ¶¶ [0161]–[0163]). Shin shows per slot/occasion comb application and symbol mapping in those Figures and descriptive text], and
wherein the sidelink resource pool configuration comprises or provides one or more comb offsets, among N comb offsets associated with a comb-N structure or design, for the one or more devices to determine one or more usable, available, or candidate sidelink reference signal resources in the one occasion in the sidelink resource pool for performing the one or multiple sidelink reference signal transmissions [Shin discloses comb offset as a configurable PRS parameter and explicitly includes Comb size and Comb offset as part of PRS transmission parameter sets. Shin describes that Comb offset indicates the start position of the comb on the frequency axis and that these comb parameters can be (pre )configured or signaled and used in resource selection (see FIG. 13/resource pool configuration 1310 and text explicitly naming “Combsize, Comb Offset” and stating parameters “may be (pre )configured through resource pool configuration 1310” and that UE may adjust offsets to avoid collisions) (¶¶ [0199]–[0207], ¶¶ [0204]–[0206]). Shin also ties PRS parameter configuration to the pool/selection process (¶¶ [0152]–[0168])].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-15, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (Vivo, R1-2211012, Discussion on potential solutions for sidelink positioning, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #111, 3GPP (server publication date November 7, 2022), hereinafter “Vivo”) in view of (Samsung, R1-2212050, Discussion on Potential Solutions for SL Positioning, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #111, 3GPP (server publication date November 7, 2022), hereinafter “Samsung”).
Regarding claim 1, Vivo discloses a method of a first device, comprising:
receiving a sidelink resource pool configuration of a sidelink resource pool, wherein the sidelink reference signal pool is utilized for performing one or multiple sidelink reference signal transmission [see Section 3.4; For configuring an SL-PRS, high-layer signaling is involved, which is provided via RRC or LPP between a network and a UE, or via PC5-SLPP between UEs], and
wherein the sidelink resource pool configuration comprises or provides one or more frequency, among N frequency associated with a comb-N structure or design, for determining one or more usable, available, or candidate sidelink reference signal resources in one occasion in the sidelink resource pool, wherein N is a numeric value of a comb size [see Section 3.2; Candidate comb sizes of 2, 4, 6, and 12 are used for a sidelink reference signal, and a Comb-N is designed on a RE basis. An RE offset of the SL-PRS is indicated by SCI or determined based on UE information];
selecting or determining a first sidelink reference signal resource, among the one or more usable, available, or candidate sidelink reference signal resources, in the one occasion in the sidelink resource pool [see Section 4.4; In a Mode 2 resource allocation scheme, a UE performs sensing, applies resource exclusion, and then selects a resource from among remaining resources within a selection window]; and
performing a first sidelink reference signal transmission on the first sidelink reference signal resource and performing a first Sidelink Control Information (SCI) transmission for scheduling the first sidelink reference signal transmission in the one occasion [see Section 3.4; SCI (e.g., first-stage SCI and second-stage SCI) is transmitted together with an associated SL-PRS in the same slot within a resource pool].
Vivo does not explicitly disclose “comb offset”.
However, Samsung teaches sidelink resource pool configuration comprises or provides one or more comb offsets, among N comb offsets associated with comb-N structure or design, for determining one or more usable, available, or candidate sidelink reference signal resources [see Section 2.2; as parameters for configuring an SL-PRS, a PRS comb offset may be set or (pre-)configured by a higher layer together with a PRS comb size (N)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “sidelink resource pool configuration comprises or provides one or more comb offsets, among N comb offsets associated with comb-N structure or design, for determining one or more usable, available, or candidate sidelink reference signal resources”, as taught by Samsung, into the system of Vivo so that it would provide high positioning accuracy [see Samsung, Section 2.2].
Regarding claim 2, Vivo discloses wherein one or more of: in the one occasion in the sidelink resource pool, other frequency other than the one or more frequency, among the N frequency associated with the comb-N structure or design, are precluded or excluded from utilization for performing the one or multiple sidelink reference signal transmissions, in the one occasion in the sidelink resource pool, only the one or more frequency, among N frequency associated with the comb-N structure or design, are usable or available for performing the one or multiple sidelink reference signal transmissions, in the one occasion in the sidelink resource pool, other sidelink reference signal resources other than the one or more usable, available, or candidate sidelink reference signal resources are precluded or excluded from utilization for performing the one or multiple sidelink reference signal transmissions, or in the one occasion in the sidelink resource pool, only the one or more usable, available, or candidate sidelink reference signal resources are usable or available for performing the one or multiple sidelink reference signal transmissions [see Sections 3.2 and 4.4; an RE offset indicated by SCI is excluded by a sensing UE, and, in a Mode 2 resource allocation scheme, the UE performs sensing, applies resource exclusion, and then selects a resource from among remaining resources within a selection window].
Vivo does not explicitly disclose “comb offset”.
However, Samsung teaches comb offset [see Section 2.2; a PRS comb offset, together with a PRS comb size (N), is configured by a higher layer as parameters for configuring an SL-PRS].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “comb offset”, as taught by Samsung, into the system of Vivo so that it would provide high positioning accuracy [see Samsung, Section 2.2].
Regarding claim 3, Vivo discloses wherein one or more of: the one or more frequency are part of the N frequency associated with the comb-N structure or design, a number of the one or more frequency are smaller than value N, or a number of the one or more usable, available, or candidate sidelink reference signal resources are smaller than the value N [see Sections 3.2 and 4.4; candidate comb sizes of 2, 4, 6, and 12 are used for a sidelink reference signal, a Comb-N is designed on a RE basis, and an RE offset of an SL-PRS is indicated by SCI or determined based on UE information].
Vivo does not explicitly disclose “comb offset”.
However, Samsung teaches comb offset [see Section 2.2; a PRS comb offset, together with a PRS comb size (N), is configured by a higher layer as parameters for configuring an SL-PRS].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “comb offset”, as taught by Samsung, into the system of Vivo so that it would provide high positioning accuracy [see Samsung, Section 2.2].
Regarding claim 4, Vivo discloses wherein: the one or more usable, available, or candidate sidelink reference signal resources are configured in the sidelink resource pool configuration of the sidelink resource pool [see Section 3.2; Candidate comb sizes of 2, 4, 6, and 12 are used for a sidelink reference signal, and a Comb-N is designed on a RE basis. An RE offset of the SL-PRS is indicated by SCI or determined based on UE information; see Section 4.4; In a Mode 2 resource allocation scheme, a UE performs sensing, applies resource exclusion, and then selects a resource from among remaining resources within a selection window].
Regarding claim 5, Vivo discloses wherein one or more of: each of the one or more usable, available, or candidate sidelink reference signal resources is determined or associated with each of the one or more frequency, the first sidelink reference signal resource is restricted or limited within the one or more usable, available, or candidate sidelink reference signal resources, the first sidelink reference signal resource is determined or associated with a first frequency or comb offset among the one or more frequency, or the first frequency is associated with a value among 0˜(N−1) [see Sections 3.2 and 4.4; candidate comb sizes of 2, 4, 6, and 12 are used for a sidelink reference signal; SL-PRS resources determined based on an RE offset and an RE offset indicated by SCI are excluded by a sensing UE; and, in a Mode 2 resource allocation scheme, the UE performs sensing, applies resource exclusion, and then selects a resource from among remaining resources within a selection window].
Vivo does not explicitly disclose “comb offset”.
However, Samsung teaches comb offset [see Section 2.2; a PRS comb offset, together with a PRS comb size (N), is configured by a higher layer as parameters for configuring an SL-PRS].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “comb offset”, as taught by Samsung, into the system of Vivo so that it would provide high positioning accuracy [see Samsung, Section 2.2].
Regarding claim 6, Vivo discloses wherein one or more of: the N frequency associated with the comb-N structure or design are frequency 0˜(N−1), or for one sidelink reference signal resource applying or utilizing the comb-N structure or design, adjacent two Resource Elements (REs) in the one sidelink reference signal resource in a symbol are separated with (N−1) REs or with a frequency gap of (N−1) REs [see Sections 3.2 and 4.4; a Comb-N is designed on a RE basis, and an RE offset of an SL-PRS is indicated by SCI or determined based on UE information].
Vivo does not explicitly disclose “comb offset”.
However, Samsung teaches comb offset [see Section 2.2; a PRS comb offset, together with a PRS comb size (N), is configured by a higher layer as parameters for configuring an SL-PRS].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “comb offset”, as taught by Samsung, into the system of Vivo so that it would provide high positioning accuracy [see Samsung, Section 2.2].
Regarding claim 8, Vivo discloses wherein one or more of: the first device receives a sidelink grant from a network node, or the first device determines the first sidelink reference signal resource based on indication or allocation of the sidelink grant, wherein the first sidelink reference signal resource is restricted or limited within the one or more usable, available, or candidate sidelink reference signal resources [see Section 4.5; a dynamic grant or a configured grant is received from a gNB, the gNB schedules SL-PRS resources, and the UE allocates resources in accordance with the grant].
Regarding claim 9, Vivo discloses wherein one or more of: the sidelink reference signal is a Sidelink Positioning Reference Signal (SL PRS), the sidelink resource pool is a dedicated sidelink resource pool for the SL PRS, one slot in the sidelink resource pool comprises one or more occasions for the SL PRS, or the one occasion comprises one or more symbols in the one slot [see Section 3.2; a time-domain pattern of an SL-PRS is discussed; a slot-based SL-PRS structure is described; the number of symbols occupied by the SL-PRS within one slot is specified as concrete values ({2, 4, 6}); a Comb-N is designed on an RE basis; and an RE offset of the SL-PRS is indicated by SCI or determined based on UE information].
Regarding claim 10, Vivo discloses a method of a network node, comprising:
transmitting or providing, to one or more devices, a sidelink resource pool configuration of a sidelink resource pool, wherein the sidelink resource pool is utilized for performing at least one or multiple sidelink reference signal transmissions [see Section 3.4; For configuring an SL-PRS, high-layer signaling is involved, which is provided via RRC or LPP between a network and a UE, or via PC5-SLPP between UEs],
wherein comb-N structure or design is applied or utilized for sidelink reference signal resourcing in one occasion in the sidelink resource pool, wherein N is a numeric value of a comb size [see Section 3.2; Candidate comb sizes of 2, 4, 6, and 12 are used for a sidelink reference signal, and a Comb-N is designed on a RE basis. An RE offset of the SL-PRS is indicated by SCI or determined based on UE information], and
wherein the sidelink resource pool configuration comprises or provides one or more frequency, among N frequency associated with the comb-N structure or design, for the one or more devices to determine one or more usable, available, or candidate sidelink reference signal resources in the one occasion in the sidelink resource pool for performing the one or multiple sidelink reference signal transmissions [see Section 3.2; Candidate comb sizes of 2, 4, 6, and 12 are used for a sidelink reference signal, and a Comb-N is designed on a RE basis. An RE offset of the SL-PRS is indicated by SCI or determined based on UE information].
Vivo does not explicitly disclose “comb offset”.
However, Samsung teaches sidelink resource pool configuration comprises or provides one or more comb offsets, among N comb offsets associated with comb-N structure or design, for determining one or more usable, available, or candidate sidelink reference signal resources [see Section 2.2; as parameters for configuring an SL-PRS, a PRS comb offset may be set or (pre-)configured by a higher layer together with a PRS comb size (N)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “sidelink resource pool configuration comprises or provides one or more comb offsets, among N comb offsets associated with comb-N structure or design, for determining one or more usable, available, or candidate sidelink reference signal resources”, as taught by Samsung, into the system of Vivo so that it would provide high positioning accuracy [see Samsung, Section 2.2].
Regarding claim 11, Vivo discloses wherein one or more of: in the one occasion in the sidelink resource pool, other frequency other than the one or more frequency, among the N frequency associated with the comb-N structure or design, are precluded or excluded from utilization for performing the one or multiple sidelink reference signal transmissions, in the one occasion in the sidelink resource pool, only the one or more frequency, among N frequency associated with the comb-N structure or design, are usable or available for performing the one or multiple sidelink reference signal transmissions, in the one occasion in the sidelink resource pool, other sidelink reference signal resources, other than the one or more usable, available, or candidate sidelink reference signal resources, are precluded or excluded from utilization for performing the one or multiple sidelink reference signal transmissions, or in the one occasion in the sidelink resource pool, only the one or more usable, available, or candidate sidelink reference signal resources are usable or available for performing the one or multiple sidelink reference signal transmissions [see Sections 3.2 and 4.4; an RE offset indicated by SCI is excluded by a sensing UE, and, in a Mode 2 resource allocation scheme, the UE performs sensing, applies resource exclusion, and then selects a resource from among remaining resources within a selection window].
Vivo does not explicitly disclose “comb offset”.
However, Samsung teaches comb offset [see Section 2.2; a PRS comb offset, together with a PRS comb size (N), is configured by a higher layer as parameters for configuring an SL-PRS].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “comb offset”, as taught by Samsung, into the system of Vivo so that it would provide high positioning accuracy [see Samsung, Section 2.2].
Regarding claim 12, Vivo discloses wherein one or more of: the one or more frequency are part of the N frequency associated with the comb-N structure or design, or a number of the one or more frequency are smaller than value N, or a number of the one or more usable, available, or candidate sidelink reference signal resources are smaller than the value N [see Sections 3.2 and 4.4; candidate comb sizes of 2, 4, 6, and 12 are used for a sidelink reference signal, a Comb-N is designed on a RE basis, and an RE offset of an SL-PRS is indicated by SCI or determined based on UE information].
Vivo does not explicitly disclose “comb offset”.
However, Samsung teaches comb offset [see Section 2.2; a PRS comb offset, together with a PRS comb size (N), is configured by a higher layer as parameters for configuring an SL-PRS].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “comb offset”, as taught by Samsung, into the system of Vivo so that it would provide high positioning accuracy [see Samsung, Section 2.2].
Regarding claim 13, Vivo discloses wherein: the one or more usable, available, or candidate sidelink reference signal resources are configured in the sidelink resource pool configuration of the sidelink resource pool [see Section 3.2; Candidate comb sizes of 2, 4, 6, and 12 are used for a sidelink reference signal, and a Comb-N is designed on a RE basis. An RE offset of the SL-PRS is indicated by SCI or determined based on UE information; see Section 4.4; In a Mode 2 resource allocation scheme, a UE performs sensing, applies resource exclusion, and then selects a resource from among remaining resources within a selection window].
Regarding claim 14, Vivo discloses wherein one or more of: the N frequency associated with the comb-N structure or design are frequency 0˜(N−1), for one sidelink reference signal resource applying or utilizing the comb-N structure or design, adjacent two Resource Elements (REs) in the one sidelink reference signal resource in a symbol are separated with (N−1) REs or with frequency gap of (N−1) Res, or each of the one or more usable, available, or candidate sidelink reference signal resources is determined or associated with each of the one or more frequency [see Sections 3.2 and 4.4; a Comb-N is designed on a RE basis, and an RE offset of an SL-PRS is indicated by SCI or determined based on UE information].
Vivo does not explicitly disclose “comb offset”.
However, Samsung teaches comb offset [see Section 2.2; a PRS comb offset, together with a PRS comb size (N), is configured by a higher layer as parameters for configuring an SL-PRS].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “comb offset”, as taught by Samsung, into the system of Vivo so that it would provide high positioning accuracy [see Samsung, Section 2.2].
Regarding claim 15, Vivo discloses wherein one or more of: a first device, among the one or more devices, selects or determines a first sidelink reference signal resource in the sidelink resource pool in the one occasion, wherein the first sidelink reference signal resource is restricted or limited within the one or more usable, available, or candidate sidelink reference signal resources, or the first device performs a first sidelink reference signal transmission on the first sidelink reference signal resource and performs a first Sidelink Control Information (SCI) transmission for scheduling the first sidelink reference signal transmission in the one occasion, or the first sidelink reference signal resource is determined or associated with a first frequency among the one or more frequency, or the first frequency is associated with a value among 0˜(N−1) [see Sections 3.2 and 4.4; candidate comb sizes of 2, 4, 6, and 12 are used for a sidelink reference signal; SL-PRS resources determined based on an RE offset and an RE offset indicated by SCI are excluded by a sensing UE; and, in a Mode 2 resource allocation scheme, the UE performs sensing, applies resource exclusion, and then selects a resource from among remaining resources within a selection window].
Vivo does not explicitly disclose “comb offset”.
However, Samsung teaches comb offset [see Section 2.2; a PRS comb offset, together with a PRS comb size (N), is configured by a higher layer as parameters for configuring an SL-PRS].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “comb offset”, as taught by Samsung, into the system of Vivo so that it would provide high positioning accuracy [see Samsung, Section 2.2].
Regarding claim 17, Vivo discloses wherein the network node transmits a sidelink grant to a first device among the one or more devices, wherein the sidelink grant indicates or allocates a first sidelink reference signal resource restricted or limited within the one or more usable, available, candidate sidelink reference signal resources [see Section 4.5; a dynamic grant or a configured grant is received from a gNB, the gNB schedules SL-PRS resources, and the UE allocates resources in accordance with the grant].
Regarding claim 18, Vivo discloses wherein one or more of: the sidelink reference signal is a Sidelink Positioning Reference Signal (SL PRS), the sidelink resource pool is a dedicated sidelink resource pool for the SL PRS, one slot in the sidelink resource pool comprises one or more occasions for the SL PRS, or the one occasion comprises one or more symbols in the one slot [see Section 3.2; a time-domain pattern of an SL-PRS is discussed; a slot-based SL-PRS structure is described; the number of symbols occupied by the SL-PRS within one slot is specified as concrete values ({2, 4, 6}); a Comb-N is designed on an RE basis; and an RE offset of the SL-PRS is indicated by SCI or determined based on UE information].
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vivo in view of (CATT et al., R1-2211203, Further discussion on potential solutions for SL positioning, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #111, 3GPP (server publication date November 7, 2022), hereinafter “CATT”).
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Vivo discloses wherein one or more of: the first device performs sensing-based resource selection for performing the first sidelink reference signal transmission, the first device determines or initializes a plurality of candidate sidelink reference signal resources as the one or more usable, available, or candidate sidelink reference signal resources in the one occasion, the first device excludes one or multiple candidate sidelink reference signal resources, from the plurality of candidate sidelink reference signal resources, based on the sensing result, the first device determines or derives a plurality of valid or identified candidate sidelink reference signal resources after exclusion of the one or multiple candidate sidelink reference signal resources, or the first device determines or selects the first sidelink reference signal resource from the plurality of valid or identified candidate sidelink reference signal resources [see Sections 4.1 and 4.4; an RE offset indicated by SCI is excluded by a sensing UE; in a Mode 2 resource allocation scheme, the UE performs sensing, applies resource exclusion, and then selects a resource from among remaining resources within a selection window; a plurality of SL-PRSs are multiplexed using FDM within a single slot; and the UE performs resource exclusion within the resource selection window based on PSCCH decoding and RSRP measurements].
Vivo does not explicitly discloses the first device receives a second SCI transmission reserving a second sidelink reference signal resource in the one occasion, and the first device excludes the second sidelink reference signal resource from the plurality of candidate sidelink reference signal resources.
However, CATT teaches the first device receives a second SCI transmission reserving a second sidelink reference signal resource in the one occasion, and the first device excludes the second sidelink reference signal resource from the plurality of candidate sidelink reference signal resources [see Section 4.3; when UE-1 indicates SL-PRS resources via SCI, other UEs decode the SCI to acquire the corresponding resources and avoid those resources through resource exclusion means].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “the first device receives a second SCI transmission reserving a second sidelink reference signal resource in the one occasion, and the first device excludes the second sidelink reference signal resource from the plurality of candidate sidelink reference signal resources”, as taught by CATT, into the system of Vivo so that it would reduce the workload of standardization and the complexity of UE implementation [see CATT, Section 4.3].
Claims 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vivo in view of Samsung and Shin.
Regarding claim 21, Vivo discloses a first device [see Sections 3.2, 3.4, 4.4; a UE], configured to:
receive a sidelink resource pool configuration of a sidelink resource pool, wherein the sidelink reference signal pool is utilized for performing one or multiple sidelink reference signal transmission [see Section 3.4; For configuring an SL-PRS, high-layer signaling is involved, which is provided via RRC or LPP between a network and a UE, or via PC5-SLPP between UEs], and
wherein the sidelink resource pool configuration comprises or provides one or more frequency, among N frequency associated with a comb-N structure or design, for determining one or more usable, available, or candidate sidelink reference signal resources in one occasion in the sidelink resource pool, wherein N is a numeric value of a comb size [see Section 3.2; Candidate comb sizes of 2, 4, 6, and 12 are used for a sidelink reference signal, and a Comb-N is designed on a RE basis. An RE offset of the SL-PRS is indicated by SCI or determined based on UE information];
select or determine a first sidelink reference signal resource, among the one or more usable, available, or candidate sidelink reference signal resources, in the one occasion in the sidelink resource pool [see Section 4.4; In a Mode 2 resource allocation scheme, a UE performs sensing, applies resource exclusion, and then selects a resource from among remaining resources within a selection window]; and
perform a first sidelink reference signal transmission on the first sidelink reference signal resource and performing a first Sidelink Control Information (SCI) transmission for scheduling the first sidelink reference signal transmission in the one occasion [see Section 3.4; SCI (e.g., first-stage SCI and second-stage SCI) is transmitted together with an associated SL-PRS in the same slot within a resource pool].
Vivo does not explicitly disclose “comb offset”.
However, Samsung teaches sidelink resource pool configuration comprises or provides one or more comb offsets, among N comb offsets associated with comb-N structure or design, for determining one or more usable, available, or candidate sidelink reference signal resources [see Section 2.2; as parameters for configuring an SL-PRS, a PRS comb offset may be set or (pre-)configured by a higher layer together with a PRS comb size (N)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “sidelink resource pool configuration comprises or provides one or more comb offsets, among N comb offsets associated with comb-N structure or design, for determining one or more usable, available, or candidate sidelink reference signal resources”, as taught by Samsung, into the system of Vivo so that it would provide high positioning accuracy [see Samsung, Section 2.2].
The combined system of Vivo and Samsung does not explicitly discloses a memory and a processor.
However, Shin teaches a device [see Fig. 14; a UE], comprising: a memory [see para. 41, 334; a memory]; and a processor operatively coupled with the memory, wherein the processor is configured to execute a program code [see Fig. 14, para. 41, 331, 334; a processor operatively coupled with the memory, wherein the processor is configured to execute a program code].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “a device, comprising: a memory; and a processor operatively coupled with the memory, wherein the processor is configured to execute a program code”, as taught by Shin, into the combined system of Vivo and Samsung so that it would perform positioning or location measurement via a sidelink [see Shin, para. 10].
Regarding claim 22, the combined system of Vivo, Samsung, and Shin discloses the first device of claim 21,
Vivo further discloses wherein one or more of: in the one occasion in the sidelink resource pool, other frequency other than the one or more frequency, among the N frequency associated with the comb-N structure or design, are precluded or excluded from utilization for performing the one or multiple sidelink reference signal transmissions, in the one occasion in the sidelink resource pool, only the one or more frequency, among N frequency associated with the comb-N structure or design, are usable or available for performing the one or multiple sidelink reference signal transmissions, in the one occasion in the sidelink resource pool, other sidelink reference signal resources other than the one or more usable, available, or candidate sidelink reference signal resources are precluded or excluded from utilization for performing the one or multiple sidelink reference signal transmissions, or in the one occasion in the sidelink resource pool, only the one or more usable, available, or candidate sidelink reference signal resources are usable or available for performing the one or multiple sidelink reference signal transmissions [see Sections 3.2 and 4.4; an RE offset indicated by SCI is excluded by a sensing UE, and, in a Mode 2 resource allocation scheme, the UE performs sensing, applies resource exclusion, and then selects a resource from among remaining resources within a selection window].
Samsung further discloses comb offset [see Section 2.2; a PRS comb offset, together with a PRS comb size (N), is configured by a higher layer as parameters for configuring an SL-PRS].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN T LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469