Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Reference numerals table list the following reference numbers: 41 explosion venting part, and 42 explosion venting guide part. Neither reference number is shown in any of the disclosed figures, or discussed in the specification. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 3 are objected to because of the following informalities: wording “at a top of the structural cabinet” is improper grammar and appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: wording “reserved at tops of the of the fire-fighting “ is improper grammar. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: wording "arranged on the at least one . . ." is improper grammar, and appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: "PCS" should be defined to read "Power Conversion System". Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 recites the limitation " a fire-fighting module, an electrical cabinet, and a wiring cabinet are also mounted in the structural cabinet" in the second and third lines. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Du et al., (CN115000577A), hereinafter Du.
Regarding claim 1, Du teaches:
An energy storage system, comprising a structural cabinet, a battery module and a thermal management unit mounted in the structural cabinet, wherein the thermal management unit comprises a liquid cooling unit, an air-cooling heat dissipation module ([0021] energy storage cabinet temperature control system includes a cooling unit 11, a battery pack 13, an energy storage converter 14, an air cooler 15, and a coolant circulation pipeline)
a liquid cooling management module configured for managing the distribution of a cooling fluid of the liquid cooling unit, and ([0023] coolant circulation pipeline includes a battery pack inlet manifold 6, a battery pack outlet manifold 7,and a connecting pipe 8)
the liquid cooling unit, the air-cooling heat dissipation module and the liquid cooling management module are separately mounted and arranged in a split manner in the structural cabinet. (Figure 2, [0021] Liquid cooling unit 11 and air cooler 15 are separate units/modules within the cabinet)
Regarding claim 4, Du teaches the energy storage system according to claim 1, wherein:
the liquid cooling unit and the liquid cooling management module are arranged adjacent to each other, and both of them are arranged on a same end side of the structural cabinet. (Figures 1 and 2 shows the liquid cooling unit 11, connecting pipe 8 arranged together in a compartment separate from the battery pack compartment)
Regarding claim 5, Du teaches the energy storage system according to claim 4, wherein
both the liquid cooling unit and the liquid cooling management module are arranged adjacent to the air-cooling heat dissipation module. (Figure 2 shows the liquid cooling unit 11 and air cooler unit 15 arranged together in a converter compartment separate from the battery pack compartment.)
Regarding claim 9, Du teaches the energy storage system according to claim 1, wherein
the air-cooling heat dissipation module is arranged on a back-side wall of the structural cabinet; or, the air-cooling heat dissipation module is arranged on an end-side wall of the structural cabinet; or, the air-cooling heat dissipation module is arranged on a front-side wall of the structural cabinet. ([0038] air cooler 15 is arranged at the back plate of the converter compartment)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Du et al., (CN115000577A), hereinafter Du as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Li et al., (CN217485555U), hereinafter Li.
Regarding claim 2, Du does not teach
the energy storage system according to claim 1, wherein the air-cooling heat dissipation module is of a flat structure and is arranged at a top of the structural cabinet. (Li)
Li teaches
the energy storage system according to claim 1, wherein the air-cooling heat dissipation module is of a flat structure and is arranged at a top of the structural cabinet. (Figure 2, [0058] a liquid-to-air heat exchange fan 101 is disposed on top of the liquid cooling system 10 for blowing air upwards, and an air cooling system 20 is disposed above the liquid cooling system 10)
Li also teaches an energy storage device consisting of an energy storage battery module, a control system, an energy storage converter, and a liquid cooling system integrated into a single frame or cabinet. [0046] Placing the air cooling system above the liquid cooling system provides forced air cooling for the energy storage converter. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to place the air cooling system above the liquid cooling system to allow for efficient cooling.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Du et al., (CN115000577A), hereinafter Du as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Feng et al., (CN216928688U), hereinafter Feng.
Regarding claim 3, Du does not teach:
the energy storage system according to claim 1, wherein an explosion venting mounting area is reserved at a top of the structural cabinet, and the explosion venting mounting area is configured for mounting an explosion venting assembly.
Feng teaches:
the energy storage system according to claim 1, wherein an explosion venting mounting area is reserved at a top of the structural cabinet, and the explosion venting mounting area is configured for mounting an explosion venting assembly. ([0057] explosion-proof system includes a combustible gas detection device 220, an explosion-proof alarm device, and an explosion proof fan 21 is connected to the fireproof damper 31. Figure 2 – shows the explosion-proof fan 21 located on the side near the top of the container wall.)
Feng also teaches a container body equipped with a battery rack and a battery management system [0006-0009], and a thermal management system with an air cooling device and liquid cooling unit [0031-0032]. By locating the explosion-proof system at the top of the container wall, Feng teaches an explosion-proof system that integrates gas detection device 220, and explosion-proof alarm, and an explosion-proof fan 21. When abnormal gas levels are detected, the explosion-proof fan 21 is automatically started and combustible gas is discharged from the container body [0059]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to configure an explosion venting assembly at the top of the energy storage system to provide improved safety of the power supply.
Claims 6, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Du et al., (CN115000577A), hereinafter Du as applied to the claims above, in view of Yu et al., (CN115531778A), hereinafter, Yu and in further view of Feng et al., (CN216928688U), hereinafter Feng.
Regarding claim 6, Du does not teach the energy storage system according to claim 4, wherein
a fire-fighting module, an electrical cabinet, and a wiring cabinet are also mounted in the structural cabinet, and
the fire-fighting module, the electrical cabinet, the wiring cabinet, the liquid cooling unit, and the liquid cooling management module are arranged on the same end side of the structural cabinet.
Yu teaches the energy storage system according to claim 4, wherein
a fire-fighting module, an electrical cabinet, and a wiring cabinet are also mounted in the structural cabinet, ([0026] electrical compartment equipped with control cabinet 2 that includes electrical control, circuit protection control, controller 10. Controller 10 integrates the energy storage unit communication and internal local control and protection, including fire control and cooling.)
Yu teaches an electrical compartment that is equipped with 2 control cabinets that include a controller integrates a communication control board for the energy storage system and batter management device. In addition, the controller establishes communication with the fire control panel, the liquid cooling unit and temperature and humidity sensors.
Yu does not teach:
and the fire-fighting module, the electrical cabinet, the wiring cabinet, the liquid cooling unit, and the liquid cooling management module are arranged on the same end side of the structural cabinet.
Feng teaches:
and the fire-fighting module, the electrical cabinet, the wiring cabinet, the liquid cooling unit, and the liquid cooling management module are arranged on the same end side of the structural cabinet. (Figure 7, [0049] the control area 200 is used to house the control modules for each system and is located at one end of the container. [n0008] fire protection system [n0053] domain control cabinet 41 [0098] the liquid cooling device 52 can be installed in the control area 200)
Figure 7 in Feng shows an embodiment where the containerized power supply has a separate control area to the side of the battery area that houses the liquid cooling device domain control cabinet. Further, isolating the battery area from the control area will protect the equipment in the control area in the event of fire in the battery area. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to have a separate compartment for control modules from the battery area to protect and isolate the control area in the event of a fire in the battery area.
Regarding claim 7, Du as modified by Yu, does not teach:
The energy storage system according to claim 6, wherein the fire-fighting module, the electrical cabinet, and the wiring cabinet are arranged along a depth direction of the structural cabinet.
Feng teaches:
The energy storage system according to claim 6, wherein the fire-fighting module, the electrical cabinet, and the wiring cabinet are arranged along a depth direction of the structural cabinet. (Figure 7, [0049] the control area 200 is used to house the control modules for each system and is located at one end of the container.)
Feng teaches a separate control area 200 for the control modules to isolate the battery area 100 in the event of an accident such as a fire in the battery area 100, protecting the equipment in the control area [0049]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to arrange the fire-fighting module, the electrical cabinet, the wiring cabinet, the liquid cooling unit, and the liquid cooling management module at one end of the cabinet for increased safety.
Regarding claim 8, Du does not teach:
The energy storage system according to claim 7, wherein a liquid cooling mounting area is reserved at tops of the fire-fighting module, the electrical cabinet, and wherein the wiring cabinet, and the liquid cooling unit and the liquid cooling management module are mounted in the liquid cooling mounting area.
Feng, as modified by Yu, teaches:
The energy storage system according to claim 7, wherein a liquid cooling mounting area is reserved at tops of the fire-fighting module, the electrical cabinet, and wherein the wiring cabinet, and the liquid cooling unit and the liquid cooling management module are mounted in the liquid cooling mounting area. (Figure 7, [0049] the control area 200 is used to house the control modules for each system and is located at one end of the container, and each control module can be integrated into the control cabinet.)
Feng, as modified by Yu, discloses a control area that houses the control cabinet, which contains the control modules for each system. The systems and control modules disclosed in Feng, as modified by Yu, include the liquid cooling device 52 [0098], fire protection system connected to the main control module [0027], battery management system [0024] , explosion-proof system and fire protection system [0027]. Feng also discloses that the liquid cooling device can be installed in the control area 200 [0098]. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to organize the modules and devices such that wiring cabinet, and the liquid cooling unit and the liquid cooling management module are mounted in the liquid cooling mounting area, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Du et al., (CN115000577A), hereinafter Du, as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Kronke et al., (US 2017/0077467A1), hereinafter Kronke.
Regarding claim 10, Du does not teach the energy storage system according to claim 9, wherein:
in the case that the air-cooling heat dissipation module is arranged on the front-side wall of the structural cabinet, at least one cabinet door that is configured to be opened or closed is provided at the front-side wall, the air-cooling heat dissipation module is arranged on the at least one cabinet door; wherein in a case that the number of the cabinet door is more than one, the number of the air-cooling heat dissipation module is also more than one, and the air-cooling heat dissipation modules on any two of the cabinet doors are independent of each other.
Kronke teaches:
in the case that the air-cooling heat dissipation module is arranged on the front-side wall of the structural cabinet, at least one cabinet door that is configured to be opened or closed is provided at the front-side wall, the air-cooling heat dissipation module is arranged on the at least one cabinet door; wherein in a case that the number of the cabinet door is more than one, the number of the air-cooling heat dissipation module is also more than one, and the air-cooling heat dissipation modules on any two of the cabinet doors are independent of each other. ( [0032] Fig. 2 illustrates the right side door assembly 130, but applies equally to a left-side door assembly. Door assembly includes a cooling device 131 and an air distribution member 133.)
Kronke also teaches a single housing comprised of an upper housing 120 and lower housing 110 [0028], wherein the lower housing contains a plurality of energy storage devices 200 such as batteries. Figures 1 and 2 show a cooling device 131 mounted on each door panel 132 that provides cooling air flow through the door panel to the air distribution member 133, which allows efficient and targeted temperature control of the energy storage devices [0032]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to integrate an air cooling dissipation module with the cabinet door to facilitate efficient cooling of the energy storage device.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Du et al., (CN115000577A), hereinafter Du as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Yu et al., (CN115531778A), hereinafter, Yu.
Regarding claim 11, Du does not teach:
The energy storage system according to claim 1, wherein a PCS module is further mounted in the structural cabinet, and the PCS module is arranged below the battery module. (Yu)
Yu teaches the energy storage system according to claim 1, wherein
a PCS module is further mounted in the structural cabinet, and the PCS module is arranged below the battery module. (Yu)
Conclusion
/MARIO R GAMBOA/Examiner, Art Unit 1729
/ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729