DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-4 in the reply filed on 11/7/23 is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 1 recites “a power part configured to generate rotational driving force for liquid circulation and receive power having a single polarity”. This uses the nonce term part modified by functional language “a power” and “configured to generate rotational driving force for liquid circulation and receive power having a single polarity”. This is interpreted as a motor, shaft, and rotor per Paragraph 0011.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR1020160021619 to Lee (Lee) in view of KR1020180129325 to Choi (Choi).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches a power part configured to generate rotational driving force for liquid circulation (10, 20, 25, and 30, Figure 1); and a housing having at least one opening through which a liquid flows and configured to accommodate the power part therein (exterior surface of 1, Figure 1)
Lee is silent on the power part receiving power having a single polarity and the housing receiving power having a polarity opposite to that of the power part.
Choi teaches the power part receiving power having a single polarity and the housing receiving power having a polarity opposite to that of the power part (electrode 223 is on container 210 and electrode 222 is on the inside of the container, Figure 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Choi to provide the power part receiving power having a single polarity and the housing receiving power having a polarity opposite to that of the power part. Doing so would increase the heat transferred to the liquid.
Regarding claim 2, Lee teaches wherein the power part comprises: a motor; a shaft connected to the motor to receive power; and a rotor connected to the shaft to rotate (10, 20, 25, and 30, Figure 1).
Regarding claim 3, Lee teaches wherein the housing comprises a recess part in which at least a portion of a side surface thereof facing the shaft is recessed (90, Figure 1).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Choi and U.S. Patent 248625 to Wells (Wells).
Regarding claim 4, Lee is silent on wherein the opening is defined in a surface of the recess part, which faces the rotor in a forward and backward direction.
Wells teaches wherein the opening is defined in a surface of the recess part, which faces the rotor in a forward and backward direction (N and/or O, Figure 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Wells to provide wherein the opening is defined in a surface of the recess part, which faces the rotor in a forward and backward direction. Doing so would increase the dwell time and increase the heat transfer to the liquid.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art attached shows the general state of the art.
/STEVEN S ANDERSON II/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762