DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims and Other Notes
Claims 1–16 are pending.
The paragraph numbers cited in this Office Action in reference to the instant application are referring to the paragraph numbering of the PG-Pub of the instant application. See US 2024/0072392 A1.
Specification
Applicants' amendments have overcome the objections to the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1–16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “both ends in a stacking direction at each of which a different one of the counter-electrode layers is located.” It is unclear if a single one of the counter-electrode layers is located at both ends or a single one of the counter-electrode layers is located at one end and another single one of the counter-electrode layers is located at another end. Paragraph [0088] describes the embodiment of a single one of the counter-electrode layers is located at one end and another single one of the counter-electrode layers is located at another end.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “both ends in a stacking direction at each of which a different one of the electrode layers is located.” It is unclear if a single one of the electrode layers is located at both ends or a single one of the electrode layers is located at one end and another single one of the electrode layers is located at another end. Paragraph [0088] describes the embodiment of a single one of the electrode layers is located at one end and another single one of the electrode layers is located at another end.
Claims 2–15 are directly or indirectly dependent from claim 1 and include all the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claims 2–15 are also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “both ends in a stacking direction at each of which a different one of the counter-electrode layers is located.” It is unclear if a single one of the counter-electrode layers is located at both ends or a single one of the counter-electrode layers is located at one end and another single one of the counter-electrode layers is located at another end. Paragraph [0088] describes the embodiment of a single one of the counter-electrode layers is located at one end and another single one of the counter-electrode layers is located at another end.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “both ends in a stacking direction at each of which a different one of the electrode layers is located.” It is unclear if a single one of the electrode layers is located at both ends or a single one of the electrode layers is located at one end and another single one of the electrode layers is located at another end. Paragraph [0088] describes the embodiment of a single one of the electrode layers is located at one end and another single one of the electrode layers is located at another end.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1–12 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Harada et al. (US 2020/0112063 A1, hereinafter Harada).
Regarding claim 1, Harada discloses a battery (2, [0065]) comprising:
a power generation element (2) including a plurality of battery cells (10) each of which includes an electrode layer (11), a counter-electrode layer (13), and a solid electrolyte layer (12) located between the electrode layer (11) and the counter-electrode layer (13, [0065]), the plurality of battery cells (10) being electrically connected in parallel and stacked (FIG. 6, [0065]);
a first insulating member (40) covering the electrode layer (11) among electrode layers (11) at a first side surface of the power generation element (2, [0065]); and
a first terminal electrode (30) covering the first side surface and the first insulating member (40), and electrically connected to the counter-electrode layer (13) among counter-electrode layers (13, [0065]),
wherein the power generation element (2) includes:
a first parallel unit (10) that includes first battery cells (10) among the plurality of battery cells (10) and has both ends in a stacking direction at each of which a different one of the counter-electrode layers (13) is located (FIG. 6, [0065]); and
a second parallel unit (10) that includes second battery cells (10) among the plurality of battery cells (10), has both ends in the stacking direction at each of which a different one of the electrode layers (11) is located, and is stacked on the first parallel unit (FIG. 6, [0065]).
Regarding claim 2, Harada discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery:
wherein the first parallel unit (10) is located at one of ends of the power generation element (2) in the stacking direction (FIG. 6, [0065]), and
the second parallel unit (10) is located at an other of the ends of the power generation element (2, [0065]).
Regarding claim 3, Harada discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery:
wherein the power generation element (2) includes an insulating layer (40) located between the first parallel unit (10) and the second parallel unit (10, [0065]).
Regarding claim 4, Harada discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery:
wherein when viewed from front of the first side surface, the first terminal electrode (30) does not cover at least one of end portions of the counter-electrode layer (13) among the counter-electrode layers (13) in a direction orthogonal to the stacking direction (FIG. 6, [0065]), and
the first insulating member (40) further covers the at least one of the end portions (FIG. 6, [0065]).
Regarding claim 5, Harada discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery:
wherein at the first side surface, the first insulating member (40) covers at least a part of the solid electrolyte layer (12) among the solid electrolyte layers (12, [0065]).
Regarding claim 6, Harada discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery:
wherein at the first side surface, the first insulating member (40) covers from the electrode layer (11) among the electrode layers (11) to a part of the counter-electrode layer (13) among the counter-electrode layers (13) along the stacking direction of the power generation element (2, [0065]).
Regarding claim 7, Harada discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery:
wherein at the first side surface, the first insulating member (40) covers the electrode layer (11) of each of the plurality of battery cells (10, [0065]), and
the first terminal electrode (30) is electrically connected to the counter-electrode layer (13) of each of the plurality of battery cells (10, [0065]).
Regarding claim 8, Harada discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery:
wherein in plan view of the first side surface, the first insulating member (40) has a stripe shape (FIG. 6, [0065]).
Regarding claim 9, Harada discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery, further comprising:
a second insulating member (40) covering the counter-electrode layer (13) among the counter-electrode layers (13) at a second side surface of the power generation element (2, [0065]); and
a second terminal electrode (20) covering the second side surface and the second insulating member (40), and electrically connected to the electrode layer (11) among the electrode layers (11, [0065]).
Regarding claim 10, Harada discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery:
wherein the power generation element (2) is a cuboid (FIG. 6, [0018]), and
the second side surface is opposite the first side surface (FIG. 6, [0065]).
Regarding claim 11, Harada discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery, further comprising:
a third insulating member (40) covering the electrode layer (11) among the electrode layers (11) at a third side surface of the power generation element (2, [0065]); and
a third terminal electrode (30) covering the third side surface and the third insulating member (40), and electrically connected to the counter-electrode layer (13) among the counter-electrode layers (13, [0065]).
Regarding claim 12, Harada discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery:
wherein the power generation element (2) is a cuboid (FIG. 6, [0065]), and
the third side surface is adjacent to the first side surface FIG. 6, [0065]).
Regarding claim 16, Harada discloses a method of manufacturing a battery (2, [0065]), the method comprising:
preparing a plurality of battery cells (10) each of which includes an electrode layer (11), a counter-electrode layer (13), and a solid electrolyte layer (12) located between the electrode layer (11) and the counter-electrode layer (13, [0065]);
forming a layered body (2) of the plurality of battery cells (10) stacked in turn so that an order of arrangement of the electrode layer (11), the counter-electrode layer (13), and the solid electrolyte layer (12) is alternately reversed (FIG. 6, [0065]);
covering the electrode layer (11) among electrode layers (11) with an insulating member (40) at one side surface of the layered body (2, [0065]); and
covering the one side surface and the insulating member (40) with a terminal electrode (30) electrically connected to the counter-electrode layer (13) among counter-electrode layers (13, [0065]),
wherein the forming includes forming: a first parallel unit (10) that includes first battery cells (10) among the plurality of battery cells (10) and has both ends in a stacking direction at each of which a different one of the counter-electrode layers (13) is located; and a second parallel unit (10) that includes second battery cells (10) among the plurality of battery cells (10), has both ends in the stacking direction at each of which a different one of the electrode layers (11) is located, and is stacked on the first parallel unit (FIG. 6, [0065]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harada (US 2020/0112063 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Harada discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery:
wherein the electrode layer (11) or the counter-electrode layer (13) includes a current collector (see positive-electrode current collector, [0034]; see negative-electrode current collector, [0040]), and
a thickness of the current collector is less than or equal to 100 μm (see thickness; [0034], [0040]).
Although Harada does not explicitly disclose a range of less than or equal to 20 μm, Harada does disclose an overlapping range. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harada (US 2020/0112063 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Miyaki et al. (WO 2021/070601 A1; see English language equivalent, US 2022/0231389 A1; hereinafter Miyaki).
Regarding claims 14 and 15, Harada discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose a battery:
wherein the first insulating member includes a resin; and
wherein the battery further comprises a sealing member that does not cover at least a part of a main surface of the power generation element, and seals the power generation element.
Miyaki discloses a battery (10) comprising a first insulating member (6) including a resin (FIG. 3, [0118]); and a sealing member (7) that does not cover at least a part of a main surface of a power generation element (10), and seals the power generation element (FIG. 3, [0065]) to improve the charge-discharge cycling (see solid-state battery, [0132]). Harada and Miyaki are analogous because they are directed to solid-state batteries. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the battery of Harada with the resin and sealing member of Miyaki in order to improve the charge-discharge cycling.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1–16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Sean P Cullen, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725