DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-6 in the reply filed on 02/28/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Binkowski [US 2014/0252902].
Claim 1, Binkowski discloses an electric motor-generator [figures 1i and 1j] comprising: a rotary electrical switch [figures 1i and 1j] that enables paired alternating periods of current flow and no current flow into respective stator field coils [89], such that in a period pair the period of current flow is shorter than the period of no current flow [the gap between current inducing conductors 39 is wider than the width of 39].
Claim 2, Binkowski discloses the motor-generator of claim 1, wherein a ratio of the period of current flow to the period of no current flow is less than 1:1 [figure 1j].
Claim 3, Binkowski discloses the motor-generator of claim 2, wherein the ratio of the period of current flow to the period of no current flow is less than or equal to 4:6 [figure 1j].
Claim 4, Binkowski discloses the motor-generator of claim 1, wherein the rotary switch is a commutator [paragraph 21] with brushes [45/53], and the commutator further comprises a plurality of alternating conducting segment [39] and insulating segment [air gap] pairs, wherein the conducting segment of each pair is narrower than the insulating segment [figure 1j].
Claim 5, Binkowski discloses the motor-generator of claim 4, wherein for a pair of segments a ratio of conducting segment width to insulating segment width is less than or equal to 4:6 [figure 1j].
Claim 6, Binkowski discloses the motor-generator of claim 5, wherein for a pair of segments a ratio of conducting segment width to insulating segment width is less than or equal to 1:2 [figure 1j].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 11/17/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-6 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Binkowski [US 2014/0252902] figures 1i and 1j as applied above.
Conclusion
/BERNARD ROJAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837