CTNF 18/504,125 CTNF 97508 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on 11/07/2023 has been considered by the Examiner. Drawings 06-22-06 AIA The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: Sensors “616” in Fig. 4 is listed on pg. 14 of the instant specification, but “616” is not present in Fig. 4 . Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 12 line 19 should read “…wherein the amount of power supplied by the battery ”, because this is a typo Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 11 recites “…wherein the user adjusts the amount of power provided by the battery to prevent the atomizer from apply too much heat to the vaporizable substance”. The term “too much heat” in claim 11 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “too much heat” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Applicant is asked to amend and clarify without the addition of new matter. The claim will be examined broadly such that the user may adjust the power to prevent the atomizer from applying heat to the vaporizable substance. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim (s) 1-6 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being clearly anticipated by Memari (US2021/0360981A1) . Regarding claim 1, Memari discloses a vaporizer system (see title, E-cigarette personal vaporizer) comprising: a housing (as in Figs. 2-26, for example, the housing may be considered to be the structure of the personal vaporizer), a dispenser receptacle configured within the housing, and a dispenser removably configured within the dispenser receptacle (the vaporizer may include an e-liquid cartridge “3” which is replaceable [0720, Figs. 7+], such that it would clearly be removably configured, and such that the dispenser receptacle would be considered to be the portion inside of the housing of the vaporizer that the cartridge is placed into), vaporizable substance removably configured within the dispenser (as above, the e-liquid cartridge contains the e-liquid which is configured to be vaporizer in the vaporizer [see Fig. 7+], such that the liquid would clearly be considered removable), an orifice configured proximal to the dispenser receptacle (see Figs. 7-11, wherein the smoking orifice would located to the upper portion of the figures that would be considered proximal from the dispenser receptacle), an advancement mechanism configured distal to the dispenser (the E-liquid is transferred out of its parent reservoir using a piston or other device that decreases the internal volume of the parent reservoir [0947+], and wherein the advancement mechanism would be considered to be at least partially distal compared to parts of the dispenser as in Figs. 7+, as the advancement mechanism must necessarily be situated so as to move the e-liquid in the direction of the orifice for atomization/vaporization), a battery removably configured within the housing (battery “68” may be removed [Fig. 6A+], and this is clearly within the housing as in Figs. 7+), an atomizer configured within the housing (the casing includes an atomizer [0716]. The atomizer may include a coil and wick assembly “52”, where atomizers are included in order to vaporize the e-liquid [0008-0011]), wherein the atomizer is configured distal to the orifice and proximal to the dispenser receptacle (as in the section view of the vaporizer [Fig. 20], the atomizer “52” is located at least partially between the orifice and the dispenser receptacle. And further, as the atomizer atomizes the e-liquid into the vapor which exits from the orifice, it is clear from each of the figures that the atomizer would be located at least partially distal to the orifice and proximal to the dispenser receptacle which houses the vaporizable substrate), wherein the battery powers the atomizer (the battery “68” supplies power to the device [0017-0018]), wherein the advancement mechanism advances at least some of the vaporizable substance from the dispenser into the atomizer (the E-liquid is transferred out of its parent reservoir using a piston or other device that decreases the internal volume of the parent reservoir [0947+], and as in Figs. 7-20, for example, the E-liquid would necessarily be traveling towards the atomizer for atomization of the liquid to form the vapor), wherein the atomizer applies heat to the at least some of the vaporizable substance (the atomizer has a small heating element for vaporizing the e-liquid [0008-0011]), whereby at least some of the vaporizable substance is vaporized and exits the housing via the orifice (as above, the atomization assembly heats the e-liquid and turns it into the vapor substance, such that clearly at least some of the e-liquid would be vaporized. And further, as in Figs. 7+, and Figs. 2-4, the vapor would exit from the orifice of the personal vaporizer as shown in the figures). Regarding claim 2, Memari teaches a vaporizer with a processor [0675] which may be used to send data over wired or wireless connections [0675] such that this would be considered a communication device. The processor or associated processors may store data [0677]. A variety of different sensors are included in the vaporizer included tilt sensor, [0704], air pressure sensors, [0707], charge level sensor [0736], humidity sensor [0760], etc. The vaporizer may be connected and send data to connected smartphones and wearable devices [0685]. The processors analyzes and outputs data dependent on different data received, such that it is considered to analyze the data [0675+]. When certain conditions are met, such as running low on liquid, the processor sends messages to connected equipment [0685], such that this is considered to be an “alarm” to the connected phone which goes off when the sensor data exceeds a threshold. Regarding claim 3, Memari teaches a vaporizer wherein the sensor data are measurements of an amount of vaporizable substance configured (see [0685], wherein alarms are sent when the level of liquid runs low a message is sent to the connected devices to inform the users of low level, such that there must be measurements of the amount of vaporizable liquid in the device). Regarding claim 4, Memari teaches a vaporizer wherein the sensor data are measurements of a volume of vapor (the strength of the inhalation or the volume inhaled may be measured by the sensor [0777]). Regarding claim 5, Memari teaches a vaporizer wherein the sensor data are measurements of a pressure of vapor created by the vaporizer system within the housing (air pressure sensors “58” in the air stream inside of the vaporizer senses air movement and sends power to the vaporizer coil [0653], and as this is within the personal vaporizer it would clearly be located within the housing). Regarding claim 6, Memari teaches a vaporizer wherein the sensor data are durations of time for which the battery will continue to provide power (the vaporizer can be designed to engage with a portable unit for storing the portable vaporizing device, in which the unit is programmed to prevent release of the device for predetermined amounts of time as an aid to cessation or reduction of substance usage. [0767]. And also, charge data is sent regarding how much is left on the battery [0677], such that this would clearly correlate to lengths of time for which the battery will continue to provide power). Regarding claim 15, Memari teaches that the vaporizable substance is a tobacco extract (the e-liquid may contain nicotine and be a nicotine extract [0024], and as nicotine is an extract from the tobacco plant, the vaporizable substance would clearly be a tobacco extract). Regarding claim 16, Memari teaches a vaporizer wherein the vaporizable substance is a liquid before it is vaporized (“vaporizable liquid” [see claim 1, Fig. 7]. Also, the Fluid reservoir is an e-liquid reservoir [0476+]). Regarding claim 17, Memari teaches a vaporizer, wherein the advancement mechanism comprises a screw comprising screw threads and a motor which engage corresponding housing threads, where the motor is powered by the battery, where the motor turns the battery, is advanced proximally, so the screw advances at least some of the vaporizable substance from the dispenser into the atomizer (the E-liquid is transferred out of its parent reservoir using a piston or other device that decreases the internal volume of the parent reservoir [0947+]. This may be utilized with a screw which is turned from within a thread, which would necessarily be at least partially within the housing of the vaporizer, which causes the movement of the screw and thus the corresponding movement of the vaporizable substance into the atomizer [0948-0958]. This may be movable by the motor [see claim 6-7 and 18]. The motor would clearly be powered by the battery of the device because the battery supplies power to the device [0017-0018]). Regarding claim 18, Memari teaches a vaporizer comprising a piston and a linear actuator powered by the battery which advances the piston proximally through the housing to advance the vaporizable substance from the dispenser to the atomizer (the E-liquid is transferred out of its parent reservoir using a piston or other device that decreases the internal volume of the parent reservoir [0947+]. The piston moves to force the e-liquid to transfer [0947]. The piston may be pushed forward using arack and pinion system, rotary end cap, rotary cam, etc. [0948-0951]. The piston may be movable by a motor [claims 6-7, 18], which in the case of a piston, would be reasonably considered a linear actuator under the broadest reasonable interpretation thereof. The motor would clearly be powered by the battery of the device because the battery supplies power to the device [0017-0018]. The piston moves forward to move the e-liquid out of an aperture [0947-0954], which broadly causes the movement of the screw and thus the corresponding movement of the vaporizable substance into the atomizer [0948-0958]). Regarding claim 19, Memari teaches a vaporizer with a pump powered by the battery using pressure to advance the at least some of the vaporizable substance (it is noted that, as in the rejections of claims 17-18 above, the piston/plunger/screw as above may all be reasonably considered a “pump” under the broadest reasonable interpretation thereof (as they all cause a displacement of pressure) which are powered by the battery which advances the vaporizable substances towards the atomizer). Regarding claim 20, Memari teaches a vaporizer wherein the atomizer uses one or more coils to apply heat to the vaporizable substance (the coil heats up so as to turn the liquid into a vapor which is then inhaled by the user [0008-0011]. The coil of the atomizer is shown, for example, in Fig. 49) . 07-15 AIA Claim s 1 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being clearly anticipated by Grandjean (US2021/0360978A1) . Regarding claim 1, Grandjean discloses a vaporizer system (see title, aerosol generating system) a housing (as in Fig. 7, the housing may be considered to be the structure of the personal vaporizer “601”), a dispenser receptacle configured within the housing, and a dispenser removably configured within the dispenser receptacle (the system may include an aerosol-generating article “500” which may be inserted into the aerosol-generating device “600” [0065, 0079, Fig. 1, 7]. The receptacle may be considered the portion where the article is placed into. And the article as in Figs. 1 or 7 is replaceable [0010]), vaporizable substance removably configured within the dispenser (the article includes an aerosol-forming substrate “511” which is disposed in the cavity “510” [Fig. 7, 0066]), an orifice configured proximal to the dispenser receptacle (see Fig. 7, wherein the mouthpiece “501” is located at a proximal portion of the article to where the aerosol leaves the system [Fig. 7, 0080]), an advancement mechanism configured distal to the dispenser (the aerosol generating system comprises a mechanism advancement mechanism configured to advance the aerosol-forming substrate towards the heating element [0006]. As in Fig. 7, this may clearly be located distal to the dispenser), a battery removably configured within the housing (the device may include a battery which is removable/replaceable [0051]), an atomizer configured within the housing (the system includes a heating element “522”, which heats the aerosol forming substrate [0080, Fig. 7], such that the heating element would be considered an atomizer as it converts the liquid substrate into the aerosol to be inhaled. The heating element may be a grid or mesh element or layer [0010]), wherein the atomizer is configured distal to the orifice and proximal to the dispenser receptacle (as in Fig. 7, the heating element “522” is clearly located distal to the orifice “501” and at least proximal to the portion of the dispenser receptable containing the aerosol substrate [Fig. 7]), wherein the battery powers the atomizer (the power supply for the device may be the battery [0051], and the heating element may be coupled to the power supply [0044]), wherein the advancement mechanism advances at least some of the vaporizable substance from the dispenser into the atomizer (the advancement mechanism is configured to advance the aerosol-forming substrate from its dispenser towards the heating element [0006], such that this advancement would necessarily mean moving at least some of this substrate to the atomizer), wherein the atomizer applies heat to the at least some of the vaporizable substance (the heating element heats the aerosol generating substrates [0010+, Fig. 7]), whereby at least some of the vaporizable substance is vaporized and exits the housing via the orifice (air flows and entrains the volatized aerosol components from the heated aerosol forming substrate and travels through the mouthpiece to the consumer [0084]). Regarding claim 15, Grandjean teaches a system which may utilize tobacco extract (the substrate may comprise tobacco and tobacco containing materials [0039]). Regarding claim 16, Grandjean teaches a system wherein the vaporizable substance is a liquid before vaporization (the substrate may be a viscous liquid [0009]). Regarding claim 17, Grandjean teaches a vaporizer, wherein the advancement mechanism comprises a screw comprising screw threads and a motor which engage corresponding housing threads, where the motor is powered by the battery, where the motor turns the battery, is advanced proximally, so the screw advances at least some of the vaporizable substance from the dispenser into the atomizer (the substrate may be advanced towards the heating element via a screw groove/thread where the rotational movement is translated into lateral movement towards the heating element [0008]. The screw would necessarily comprise screw threads on the screw and the corresponding housing, as these are definitional aspects of “screws”. An actuator is configured to move/advance the substrate towards the heating element utilizing the advancement mechanism when the controller detects a certain resistance value [0011]. As the battery supplies power to the device [0044, 0051], the actuator would clearly be powered by the battery. And as in Fig. 7 which shows a layout of the system, the screw would clearly advance proximally through the housing towards the substrate so as to advance the substrate to the atomizer and thus out of the dispenser so as to form the aerosol which leaves from the mouthpiece). Regarding claim 18, Grandjean teaches a vaporizer comprising a piston and a linear actuator powered by the battery which advances the piston proximally through the housing to advance the vaporizable substance from the dispenser to the atomizer (the substrate may be advanced towards the atomizer by a piston-type element [0027, 0006]. An actuator is configured to move/advance the substrate towards the heating element utilizing the advancement mechanism when the controller detects a certain resistance value [0011]. As the battery supplies power to the device [0044, 0051], the actuator would clearly be powered by the battery. And as in Fig. 7 which shows a layout of the system, the piston would clearly advance proximally through the housing towards the substrate so as to advance the substrate to the atomizer and thus out of the dispenser so as to form the aerosol which leaves from the mouthpiece). Regarding claim 19, Grandjean teaches a vaporizer with a pump powered by the battery using pressure to advance the at least some of the vaporizable substance (it is noted that, as in the rejections of claims 17-18 above, the advancement mechanism as above may all be reasonably considered a “pump” under the broadest reasonable interpretation thereof (as they all cause a displacement of pressure) which are powered by the battery which advances the vaporizable substances towards the atomizer) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Memari (US2021/0360981A1) , as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of O’Hare (WO2021099467A1, citing to English Equivalent US2023/0042987A1) . Regarding claim 7, Memari does not explicitly say that the vaporizer includes a MOSFET chip. However, MOSFET chips are ubiquitous chips that are present in essentially every modern electronic device. O’Hare, for example, teaches heater controls for aerosol generating devices [see title], wherein the aerosol generating devices are such as electronic cigarettes which heat a liquid into a vapor/aerosol [0002-0004], in the same manner as the vaporizer of Memari. The main electronics of the controls of the aerosol generating device includes a main MOSFET [0060], or metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor. The main MOSFET is connected to the battery and to the heater [0060]. The main control unit of O’Hare may utilize the MOSFET using a pulse width modulated (PWM) signal to the gate of the MOSFET [0061]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to include MOSFET chips in the vaporizer of Memari, as MOSFET chips are ubiquitous in modern electronic devices. One would have found it obvious so as to have improved electronic controls of the vaporizer device [0060+]. And as Memari already specifies that the amount of power provided may be controlled via locking the device for use [0767, 0697], and also through monitoring and controlling charge data of the battery [0677-0699], with this modification Memari would clearly also utilize the MOSFET chip to control the power of the battery. Regarding claim 8, modified Memari makes obvious the MOSFET chip controlling the power by pulse width modulation (O’Hare suggests that the MOSFET chips may be connected/control the battery of the aerosol generating device, and that the MOSFET may use a pulse width modulated (PWM) signal to the gate of the MOSFET [0061]. Pulse width modulation is, again, an extremely common and ubiquitous technique within electronics for controlling analog devices such as heaters. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to utilize the MOSFET chip via pulse width modulation to control power/heat/battery of Memari, in order to effectively control the power of the device [O’Hare, 0026, 0039-0040]. Regarding claim 9, modified Memari makes obvious the MOSFET chip preventing a short circuit (as in the rejection of claims 7-8 above, it would have been obvious to include the ubiquitous MOSFET chips and to have controlled the power by pulse width modulation as is conventional within the field. These controls controlling the power and thus the heating device are well-understood to help prevent a short circuit from occurring do to the power/heat control [see O’Hare 0060-0065]. And additionally, as pulse width modulation is utilized this causes less stress on the system to more efficiently control the power [0025-0026], it would reasonably be expected that these controls would lead to a prevention of short circuits from occurring). Regarding claim 10, modified Memari makes obvious an input device (the personal vaporizer may accept user inputs, such as a touch sensor to control inputs [0931]), wherein the MOSFET chip is configured to adjust the amount of power provided by the battery according to an input (the touch inputs may be utilized to activate or de-activate the device [Memari, 0931], such that it would clearly control the amount of power supplied. And as MOSFET chips are ubiquitously used in controlling electronic devices as taught by O’Hare, it would have been obvious to utilize a MOSFET chip in controlling this device for supporting these desired user inputs). Regarding claim 11, modified Memari makes obvious the user adjusts the amount of power provided by the battery to prevent the atomizer from applying too much heat (Memari suggests that user inputs may be utilized to not only turn off the device, but also to control the heat [0931]), and whereby the vaporizable substrate is vaporized and not burned (vaporization is recognized as an alternative to burning [Memari, 0006], such that the vaporizable substrate of Memari would clearly be vaporized). Regarding claim 12, modified Memari makes obvious the MOSFET chip controls an amount of power supplied by the battery (as in the rejection of claim 7 above, one would have found it obvious to include the extremely well-known MOSFET chips as in O’Hare as the chip for controlling the electronic controls of the vaporizer device of Memari. And as Memari/O’Hare specify that the amount of power supplied may be controlled by the vaporizer, it would be obvious for the MOSFET chip to control this), and wherein the MOSFET chip controls an amount of power supplied by the battery to the advancement mechanism (the advancement mechanism may be controlled by a motor [claim 6], such that this would clearly also be controlled by the MOSFET chip), and wherein the amount of power supplied to the atomizer and to the advancement mechanism are controlled independently (MOSFET chips allow for multiple controls, as is well understood in the art. As Memari independently suggests that the power of the atomizer may be controlled [0675+] and also independently suggests that the advancement mechanism may be controlled by a motor which is run by the device [claim 6], and as MOSFET chips may be arranged to control multiple aspects independently [see O’Hare 0060+], it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to situate the two types of power to be independently controlled by one another by the MOSFET chip. As additionally, it is noted that Memari allows for highly specialized individual controls [0931], such that multiple types of inputs and actions may be taken independently depending on the desires of the user) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Memari (US2021/0360981A1) , as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Memari (US2021/0360981A1) . Regarding claim 13, Memari does not explicitly teach an atomizer which is not removable from the housing. However, case law holds that making one component “integral” to other components would merely be a matter of obvious engineering choice. In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965). See MPEP 2144.04 V.B. Additionally, the instant specification is silent as to any unique advantages or improvements over the prior art with such a design. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to make the atomizer “integral” with the housing or otherwise non-removable from the housing, as a matter of obvious engineering choice in the design of the vaporizer system . 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Memari (US2021/0360981A1) , as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Danek (US2020/0060338A1) . Regarding claim 14, Memari does not explicitly state that its vaporizable substance is a cannabis extract. However, Memari does not limit the types of extracts that may be used as E-liquids in its vaporizer, such that any number of different substances would be obvious to include for their stated benefits. Danek, for example, teaches that common Vaping substrates include those such as nicotine and cannabis [0004]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the vaporizer of Memari to include cannabis extract as suggested by Danek, and one would have been motivated in order to self-administer the cannabis drug to the user [0004, 0006]. Case law holds that the selection of a known material based on suitability for its intended use support prima facie obviousness. Sinclair & Carroll Co vs. Interchemical Corp., 325 US 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1045)". See MPEP 2144.07 . 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 2-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grandjean (US2021/0360978A1) , as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Memari (US2021/0360981A1) . Regarding claim 2, Grandjean teaches that the vaporizer may include a processor which may be a programmable processor [0044-0045], and that the device may include sensors such as temperature sensors [0048]. Grandjean does not explicitly disclose the rest of the limitations of claim 2. However, each of the electronic components as claimed are conventional and standard within the art, such that one would have found it obvious to include each of these conventional electronic components in the vaporizer of Grandjean. Memari, for example, teaches a vaporizer with a processor [0675] which may be used to send data over wired or wireless connections [0675] such that this would be considered a communication device. The processor or associated processors may store data [0677]. A variety of different sensors are included in the vaporizer included tilt sensor, [0704], air pressure sensors, [0707], charge level sensor [0736], humidity sensor [0760], etc. The vaporizer may be connected and send data to connected smartphones and wearable devices [0685]. The processors analyzes and outputs data dependent on different data received, such that it is considered to analyze the data [0675+]. When certain conditions are met, such as running low on liquid, the processor sends messages to connected equipment [0685], such that this is considered to be an “alarm” to the connected phone which goes off when the sensor data exceeds a threshold. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the vaporizer of Grandjean to have the electronics/communications/sensors as suggested in Memari. One would have been motivated in order to have a higher functionality of the device so as to accomplish various different tasks (such as the alarms, wireless communications to user devices, and additional sensor data of the device) which would clearly be recognized by the person of ordinary skill as aspects which would improve the function of the device [0675+]. Regarding claim 3, Grandjean suggests a vaporizer wherein the sensor data are measurements of an amount of vaporizable substance configured (see Memari [0685], wherein alarms are sent when the level of liquid runs low a message is sent to the connected devices to inform the users of low level, such that there must be measurements of the amount of vaporizable liquid in the device). Regarding claim 4, Grandjean suggests a vaporizer wherein the sensor data are measurements of a volume of vapor (See Memari, the strength of the inhalation or the volume inhaled may be measured by the sensor [0777]). Regarding claim 5, Grandjean suggests a vaporizer wherein the sensor data are measurements of a pressure of vapor created by the vaporizer system within the housing (as suggested by Memari, air pressure sensors “58” in the air stream inside of the vaporizer senses air movement and sends power to the vaporizer coil [0653], and as this is within the personal vaporizer it would clearly be located within the housing). Regarding claim 6, Grandjean suggests a vaporizer wherein the sensor data are durations of time for which the battery will continue to provide power (as in Memari, the vaporizer can be designed to engage with a portable unit for storing the portable vaporizing device, in which the unit is programmed to prevent release of the device for predetermined amounts of time as an aid to cessation or reduction of substance usage. [0767]. And also, charge data is sent regarding how much is left on the battery [0677], such that this would clearly correlate to lengths of time for which the battery will continue to provide power) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grandjean (US2021/0360978A1) , as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Memari (US2021/0360981A1) and O’Hare (WO2021099467A1, citing to English Equivalent US2023/0042987A1) . Regarding claim 7, Grandjean teaches that the vaporizer may include a processor which may be a programmable processor [0044-0045], and that the device may include sensors such as temperature sensors [0048]. Grandjean does not explicitly disclose the rest of the limitations of claim 2. However, each of the electronic components as claimed are conventional and standard within the art, such that one would have found it obvious to include each of these conventional electronic components in the vaporizer of Grandjean. Memari, for example, teaches a vaporizer with a processor [0675] which may be used to send data over wired or wireless connections [0675] such that this would be considered a communication device. The processor or associated processors may store data [0677]. A variety of different sensors are included in the vaporizer included tilt sensor, [0704], air pressure sensors, [0707], charge level sensor [0736], humidity sensor [0760], etc. The vaporizer may be connected and send data to connected smartphones and wearable devices [0685]. The processors analyzes and outputs data dependent on different data received, such that it is considered to analyze the data [0675+]. When certain conditions are met, such as running low on liquid, the processor sends messages to connected equipment [0685], such that this is considered to be an “alarm” to the connected phone which goes off when the sensor data exceeds a threshold. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the vaporizer of Grandjean to have the electronics/communications/sensors as suggested in Memari. One would have been motivated in order to have a higher functionality of the device so as to accomplish various different tasks (such as the alarms, wireless communications to user devices, and additional sensor data of the device) which would clearly be recognized by the person of ordinary skill as aspects which would improve the function of the device [0675+]. Grandjean in view of Memari does not explicitly suggest the MOSFET chip. However, MOSFET chips are ubiquitous chips that are present in essentially every modern electronic device. O’Hare, for example, teaches heater controls for aerosol generating devices [see title], wherein the aerosol generating devices are such as electronic cigarettes which heat a liquid into a vapor/aerosol [0002-0004], in the same manner as the vaporizer of Grandjean/Memari. The main electronics of the controls of the aerosol generating device includes a main MOSFET [0060], or metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor. The main MOSFET is connected to the battery and to the heater [0060]. The main control unit of O’Hare may utilize the MOSFET using a pulse width modulated (PWM) signal to the gate of the MOSFET [0061]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to include MOSFET chips in the vaporizer of Grandjean, as MOSFET chips are ubiquitous in modern electronic devices. One would have found it obvious so as to have improved electronic controls of the vaporizer device [0060+]. And as Memari as applied to Grandjean already specifies that the amount of power provided may be controlled via locking the device for use [0767, 0697], and also through monitoring and controlling charge data of the battery [0677-0699], with this modification Grandjean would clearly also utilize the MOSFET chip to control the power of the battery. Regarding claim 8, modified Grandjean makes obvious the MOSFET chip controlling the power by pulse width modulation (O’Hare suggests that the MOSFET chips may be connected/control the battery of the aerosol generating device, and that the MOSFET may use a pulse width modulated (PWM) signal to the gate of the MOSFET [0061]. Pulse width modulation is, again, an extremely common and ubiquitous technique within electronics for controlling analog devices such as heaters. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to utilize the MOSFET chip via pulse width modulation to control power/heat/battery of Grandjean, in order to effectively control the power of the device [O’Hare, 0026, 0039-0040]. Regarding claim 9, modified Grandjean makes obvious the MOSFET chip preventing a short circuit (as in the rejection of claims 7-8 above, it would have been obvious to include the ubiquitous MOSFET chips and to have controlled the power by pulse width modulation as is conventional within the field. These controls controlling the power and thus the heating device are well-understood to help prevent a short circuit from occurring do to the power/heat control [see O’Hare 0060-0065]. And additionally, as pulse width modulation is utilized this causes less stress on the system to more efficiently control the power [0025-0026], it would reasonably be expected that these controls would lead to a prevention of short circuits from occurring). Regarding claim 10, modified Grandjean makes obvious an input device (the personal vaporizer may accept user inputs, such as a touch sensor to control inputs [Memari, 0931]), wherein the MOSFET chip is configured to adjust the amount of power provided by the battery according to an input (the touch inputs may be utilized to activate or de-activate the device [Memari, 0931], such that it would clearly control the amount of power supplied. And as MOSFET chips are ubiquitously used in controlling electronic devices as taught by O’Hare, it would have been obvious to utilize a MOSFET chip in controlling the device of Grandjean for supporting these desired user inputs). Regarding claim 11, modified Grandjean makes obvious the user adjusts the amount of power provided by the battery to prevent the atomizer from applying too much heat (Memari suggests that user inputs may be utilized to not only turn off the device, but also to control the heat [0931]), and whereby the vaporizable substrate is vaporized and not burned (vaporization is recognized as an alternative to burning, such that the vaporizable substrate of Grandjean as modified would clearly be vaporized and not burned). Regarding claim 12, modified Grandjean makes obvious the MOSFET chip controls an amount of power supplied by the battery (as in the rejection of claim 7 above, one would have found it obvious to include the extremely well-known MOSFET chips as in O’Hare as the chip for controlling the electronic controls of the vaporizer device of Grandjean. And as Memari/O’Hare specify that the amount of power supplied may be controlled by the vaporizer, it would be obvious for the MOSFET chip to control this), and wherein the MOSFET chip controls an amount of power supplied by the battery to the advancement mechanism (the advancement mechanism may be controlled by a motor [Grandjean, 0011], such that this would clearly also be controlled by the MOSFET chip), and wherein the amount of power supplied to the atomizer and to the advancement mechanism are controlled independently (MOSFET chips allow for multiple controls, as is well understood in the art. As Memari independently suggests that the power of the atomizer may be controlled [0675+] and also independently suggests that an advancement mechanism may be controlled by a motor which is run by the device [claim 6], and as MOSFET chips may be arranged to control multiple aspects independently [see O’Hare 0060+], it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to situate the two types of power to be independently controlled by one another by the MOSFET chip. As additionally, it is noted that Memari allows for highly specialized individual controls [0931], such that multiple types of inputs and actions may be taken independently depending on the desires of the user) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grandjean (US2021/0360978A1) , as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Grandjean (US2021/0360978A1) . Regarding claim 13, Grandjean teaches that the heating element may form a portion of the aerosol-generating device, as opposed to a part of the replaceable article [0010]. Grandjean does not explicitly teach an atomizer which is not removable from the housing. However, case law holds that making one component “integral” to other components would merely be a matter of obvious engineering choice. In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965). See MPEP 2144.04 V.B. Additionally, the instant specification is silent as to any unique advantages or improvements over the prior art with such a design. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to make the atomizer “integral” with the housing or otherwise non-removable from the housing, as a matter of obvious engineering choice in the design of the vaporizer system . 07-22-aia AIA Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grandjean (US2021/0360978A1) , as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Danek (US2020/0060338A1) . Regarding claim 14, Grandjean does not explicitly state that its vaporizable substance is a cannabis extract. However, Grandjean does not limit the types of extracts that may be used as E-liquids in its vaporizer, such that any number of different substances would be obvious to include for their stated benefits. Danek, for example, teaches that common Vaping substrates include those such as nicotine and cannabis [0004]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the vaporizer of Grandjean to include cannabis extract as suggested by Danek, and one would have been motivated in order to self-administer the cannabis drug to the user [0004, 0006]. Case law holds that the selection of a known material based on suitability for its intended use support prima facie obviousness. Sinclair & Carroll Co vs. Interchemical Corp., 325 US 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1045)". See MPEP 2144.07 . 07-22-aia AIA Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grandjean (US2021/0360978A1) , as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Rosser (US2018/0177236A1) . Regarding claim 20, Grandjean does not explicitly state that the atomizer may user coils as its heating element to apply heat to the vaporizable substrate. However, coils are an extremely common method that is utilized in the art of e-cigarettes to heat the substrate. Rosser, for example, teaches an electronic smoking device which utilizes a heating coil as its heating element in the atomization of the substrate [see Figs. 1-2, title]. The coil may comprise a plurality of windings [Figs. 2, 0078, 0080]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the heating element of Grandjean to be a coil as suggested by Rosser. One would have been motivated so as to allow for heating over a larger area, to prevent isolated heat spots, and to ensure that a sufficient amount of liquid may be atomized [0078-0080]. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to THOMAS F SCHNEIDER whose telephone number is (571)272-4857. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 7:30 am - 5:00 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Katelyn Smith can be reached at 571-270-5545. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /T.F.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1749 /KATELYN W SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1749 Application/Control Number: 18/504,125 Page 2 Art Unit: 1749 Application/Control Number: 18/504,125 Page 3 Art Unit: 1749 Application/Control Number: 18/504,125 Page 4 Art Unit: 1749 Application/Control Number: 18/504,125 Page 5 Art Unit: 1749 Application/Control Number: 18/504,125 Page 6 Art Unit: 1749 Application/Control Number: 18/504,125 Page 7 Art Unit: 1749 Application/Control Number: 18/504,125 Page 8 Art Unit: 1749 Application/Control Number: 18/504,125 Page 9 Art Unit: 1749 Application/Control Number: 18/504,125 Page 10 Art Unit: 1749 Application/Control Number: 18/504,125 Page 11 Art Unit: 1749 Application/Control Number: 18/504,125 Page 12 Art Unit: 1749 Application/Control Number: 18/504,125 Page 13 Art Unit: 1749 Application/Control Number: 18/504,125 Page 14 Art Unit: 1749 Application/Control Number: 18/504,125 Page 15 Art Unit: 1749 Application/Control Number: 18/504,125 Page 16 Art Unit: 1749 Application/Control Number: 18/504,125 Page 17 Art Unit: 1749 Application/Control Number: 18/504,125 Page 18 Art Unit: 1749 Application/Control Number: 18/504,125 Page 19 Art Unit: 1749 Application/Control Number: 18/504,125 Page 20 Art Unit: 1749 Application/Control Number: 18/504,125 Page 21 Art Unit: 1749 Application/Control Number: 18/504,125 Page 22 Art Unit: 1749 Application/Control Number: 18/504,125 Page 23 Art Unit: 1749 Application/Control Number: 18/504,125 Page 24 Art Unit: 1749