DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-16 are subject to examination.
Priority
The claimed foreign priority (JAPAN 2023-080578 05/16/2023) in this application under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) or (f), is acknowledged.
Specification
The title is objected to because the title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. The present title is well known in the art (please see cited arts), too broad and not sufficient for proper classification of the claimed subject matter. The title should also reflect claimed invention, A mobile terminal instead of a user terminal requesting key for encrypted data, please refer to MPEP 606 for title contents.
Appropriate correction is required.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure.
The abstract is objected. Some of the informalities are:
The abstract should not contain the claimed subject matter itself. See claim 1 versus abstract.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The figures submitted on the filing date of this application are acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 11/8/23 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, and has been considered and a copy is enclosed with this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 5, 6, 7, 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 1 contains “by displaying the unprocessable data”. The claim 4 claims, “by displaying the substitute information instead of the unprocessable data”. The claim 6 claims, “instead of displaying the unprocessable data”. Hence, claims 4 and 6 do not further limit the subject matter claimed in claim 1. Claims 5, 7, 11-14 are dependent claims and hence subject to the same rejections.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 15, 16, 2, 8, 9, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KAMIYA et al., 20210303640 FUJIFILM Business Innovation Corp.
Referring to claim 1, KAMIYA-FUJIFILM discloses an authorization service system in which a mobile terminal makes an authorization request
[0048] The authentication device 109 may alternatively be a mobile terminal, such as a smartphone, having functions similar to those of the above-described IC card. The document user terminal 104 and the document creation terminal 102 exchange user authentication information with the authentication device 109 in accordance with a predetermined protocol, and authenticate a user carrying the authentication device 109.
instead of a user terminal apparatus in a case where the user terminal apparatus is not
able to connect to a cloud via a network,
[0079] “Offline effective period” is information indicating the length of the effective period for the metadata 300. It is now assumed that the metadata 300 of the eDoc file has already been obtained from the management system 200 and cached in the document use terminal 104. In this case, even when the document use terminal 104 is unable to access the management system 200 because it is offline
in a case where the cloud an entity provides an authorization
service for obtaining authorization from an authorizer in response to the authorization request
for execution of data processing via the network from the user terminal apparatus,
The control device and the processing terminal are disposed on a local network. The management apparatus is disposed on an external network connected to the local network and permits the control device to execute processing if the control device satisfies a predetermined security condition, abstract;
[0027] This document management system includes plural local systems 100 and a management system 200. The management system 200 conducts management concerning the local systems 100, in particular, control devices 110, which will be discussed later. The management system 200 is able to communicate with the local systems 100 via a wide area network 10, such as the Internet.
the mobile terminal comprising: a processor configured to:
in a case where the user terminal apparatus receives data set to a state where a
data processing apparatus is not able to process the data as unprocessable data (
[0031] Processing to be executed on a document is protection processing, for example. The processing terminal 106 executes protection processing on an original document so as to generate a protected document. The protected document is an example of a processed document. Protection processing is processing for converting an original document into a protected document that can be used in a secure environment. An example of protection processing is encryption processing. Encryption processing is executed on an original document so as to generate an encrypted document, which is an example of a protected document. For example, the processing terminal 106 encrypts an original document in such a manner that the encrypted document can be decrypted only by a user specified as a document receiver user.
make the authorization request to the authorizer (
[0079] obtains the latest metadata of the eDoc file from the management system 200
by displaying the unprocessable data;
[0148] (6) A user (also called a viewer user) using the document use terminal 104 passes the authentication device 109 of the user over the card reader of the document use terminal 104 so as to conduct user authentication. The document use terminal 104 displays a list screen of a list of eDoc files distributed to the document use terminal 104. The viewer user touches and selects an eDoc file on the list screen to be viewed.
acquire execution permission information to be provided in a case where the authorizer makes an authorization in response to the authorization request;
0040] The control device 110 obtains environment information and processing terminal information from the processing terminal 106 by using a communication method which satisfies a specific communication condition. The environment information is information concerning the environments of document processing to be executed by the processing terminal 106. The processing terminal information is information concerning the processing terminal 106. If the obtained environment information and processing terminal information satisfy specific processing conditions, the control device 110 permits the processing terminal 106 to execute document processing. The control device 110 then sends permission information to the processing terminal 106. The permission information is then stored in the processing terminal 106. The processing terminal 106 is allowed to execute document processing. An effective period may be set in the permission information. In this case, the processing terminal 106 is allowed to execute document processing within this effective period. If multiple processing terminals 106 are registered in the control device 110, the control device 110 judges for each processing terminal 106 whether to permit the processing terminal 106 to execute document processing.
change the unprocessable data to a state where the data processing apparatus
is able to process the unprocessable data by using the execution permission information.
[0033] Another example of processing to be executed on an original document is both of the above-described protection processing and conversion processing. In this case, the processing terminal 106 converts an original document into data in the dedicated format designed for the document management system and also encrypts this data in such a manner that the encrypted document can be decrypted only by a user specified as a document receiver user. A document generated as a result of executing both of protection processing (encryption processing, for example) and conversion processing is an example of a processed document. Regarding the order of format conversion and data encryption, either one of them may be executed first.
[0074] “Encoded date” is a date on which the eDoc file is created as a result of the processing terminal 106 encoding the document received from the document creation terminal 102. “Control device ID” is identification information concerning the control device 110 that has permitted the processing terminal 106 to execute processing (to create the eDoc file). “Permission information” includes information indicating the processing terminal ID of the processing terminal 106 that has created the eDoc file and information indicating that the control device 110 has permitted the processing terminal 106 to create the eDoc file. “Encryption information” is information concerning encryption conducted when the eDoc file is created and indicates the name and the version of encryption software, and also includes key information indicating the key for decrypting the encrypted file. “Keyword information” is a list of keywords extracted from the eDoc file (or the original data). The keyword information is used for searching for this eDoc file, for example.
[0046] The document use terminal 104 is a terminal for using a processed document, such as an eDoc file. For example, the document use terminal 104 is used for accessing a processed document. Accessing a document means using a processed document in a mode according to the content of information represented by this document. For example, if a processed document represents information concerning data created by word-processing software or a drawing, accessing the document means that a user reads or views the document displayed by the document use terminal 104. If a processed document represents information concerning sound, accessing the document means that a user listens to sound played back by the document use terminal 104. The document use terminal 104 is constituted by a general-purpose computer, such as a desktop PC, a notebook PC, a workstation, a tablet terminal, or a smartphone, in which a viewer application for accessing a processed document is installed. Alternatively, a read only terminal, such as a digital book terminal, having a function similar to a viewer application, may be used as the document use terminal 104. The viewer application has a function of decrypting an encrypted protected document by using metadata information and a function of decoding data indicating a processed document described in the dedicated format into data in a readable format. A computer that does not have a viewer application that can be used in the document management system is unable to decode data in the dedicated format into data in a readable format.
[0109] The key information manager 128 manages encryption information concerning encryption to be conducted on a file, such as an eDoc file, when the file is generated. The encryption information indicates the name and the version of encryption software used for encrypting the file and also includes key information indicating the key for decrypting the encrypted file. The key information is information generated by encrypting the key for decrypting the file with the public key of each document receiver user.
Referring to claims 15, 16, the medium/method/ claims is similarly analyzed and rejected for the same rationale as a system claim 1.
Referring to claim 2, KAMIYA-FUJIFILM discloses change the unprocessable data to a state where the unprocessable data is able to be executed by the data processing apparatus capable of processing data for which the execution permission information is set, by setting the acquired execution permission information to the unprocessable data (para 74, 40).
Referring to claim 8, 9, KAMIYA-FUJIFILM discloses wherein the authorization service is an authorization print service, and the data processing apparatus is a printing apparatus. (para 74, 40).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-6, 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KAMIYA- FUJIFILM in view of Takano, FUJIFILM 11245809.
Referring to claim(s) 3, KAMIYA- FUJIFILM discloses acquire the execution permission information presented by the authorizer (para 74, 40). KAMIYA- FUJIFILM do not disclose, which Takano- FUJIFILM discloses, by reading code information by using a reading unit included in the mobile terminal (col., 19, line 63 - col., 20, line 8, col., 21, lines 52-56).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by KAMIYA- FUJIFILM to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing code information. The code information would enable representing associated document. The mobile device would enable performing an action for the document after reading the code information , col., 19, line 63 - col., 20, line 8.
Referring to claim(s) 4, KAMIYA- FUJIFILM discloses in a case where the unprocessable data is encrypted data, and the unprocessable data and substitute information for specifying the data are received from the user terminal apparatus, make the authorization request to the authorizer by displaying the substitute information instead of the unprocessable data (thumbnail, one of the page of eDOC, para 147, Takano- FUJIFILM col., 19, line 63 - col., 20, line 8)
acquire a decryption key corresponding to an encryption key used for encrypting the
unprocessable data as the execution permission information (para 31, 35); and
change the unprocessable data to a state where the unprocessable data is able to be
processed by the data processing apparatus, by decrypting the unprocessable data with the
decryption key (para 31, 35).
Referring to claim(s) 5, KAMIYA- FUJIFILM discloses wherein the substitute information is a reduced image of the data before being encrypted (thumbnail, one of the page of eDOC, para 147, Takano col., 19, line 63 - col., 20, line 8).
Referring to claim(s) 6, KAMIYA- FUJIFILM discloses make the authorization request by transmitting the unprocessable data to an authorizer terminal used by the authorizer instead of displaying the unprocessable data (para 109, 110, thumbnail, one of the page of eDOC, para 147, Takano 237, col., 19, line 63 - col., 20, line 8); and receive and acquire the execution permission information from the authorizer terminal in a case where the authorizer makes an authorization in response to the authorization request (para 109, 110).
Referring to claims 10-13, KAMIYA-FUJIFILM discloses wherein the authorization service is an authorization print service, and the data processing apparatus is a printing apparatus. (para 74, 40).
Claim(s) 7, 14, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KAMIYA- FUJIFILM in view of Takano, FUJIFILM 11245809 and KAMIYA et al., 20200314063.
Referring to claim(s) 7, KAMIYA- FUJIFILM discloses authorizer, unprocessable, authorizer terminal (para 74, 40). KAMIYA- FUJIFILM and Takano-FUJIFILM do not disclose, which KAMIYA-2 discloses, in a case where the entity has a public key corresponding to a private key assigned to a user of the user terminal apparatus, transmit the data encrypted using the private key to another entity. (para 66). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by KAMIYA- FUJIFILM to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing a pair of a private key and a public key. The pair of keys would enable communicating information between a sender and a receiver such that others who don’t have both the keys cannot access the information while it is transmitted across a network, para 66.
Referring to claim 14, KAMIYA-FUJIFILM discloses wherein the authorization service is an authorization print service, and the data processing apparatus is a printing apparatus. (para 74, 40).
Conclusion
Pertinent prior arts: MOBILE FIELD LEVEL ENCRYPTION OF PRIVATE DOCUMENTS
McCorkindale et al., 20130272523, abstract
/HARESH N PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2496