Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 03/20/2026, with respect to the claim objections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claim objections have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments, filed 03/20/2026, with respect to the claim interpretation have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. While the claims have been amended to include the interpreted structure of the claimed temperature control device and memory storage device, the claims still recite “a temperature control device comprising a temperature control box”, which does not necessarily limit the temperature control device to consisting of only a temperature control box due to the use of the term “comprising”. This is also true for “a memory storage device comprising a rewritable non-volatile memory module and a memory controller”. IF applicant wishes for the claims to no longer be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), the claims may be amended to state “.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 03/20/2026, with respect to the 35 USC § 103 rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the amendments to the claims. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Nishida (GB2108730A).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 10: “a temperature control device; and a controller coupled to the temperature control device”
Claims 9 and 18: “wherein the target device comprises a memory storage device”
With regards to the temperature control device of claims 1, 5, 10, and 14, the corresponding structure is described as a temperature control box in [0034] of the 11/08/2023 specification, which states “the temperature control device 41 may include a temperature control box”, wherein the temperature control device 41 is shown as a box on fig. 4.
With regards to the memory storage device of claims 9 and 18, the corresponding structure is described as a rewritable non-volatile memory module and a memory controller in [0015] of the 11/08/2023 specification, which states “the electronic device 100 is a memory storage device. For example, the electronic device 100 may include a rewritable non-volatile memory module and a memory controller configured to control the rewritable non-volatile memory module”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 8, 10-12, 14-15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reitinger (US20230280396A1) in view of Xu (TWM632983U), referring to the English translation dated 01/08/2026, and Nishida (GB2108730A).
Regarding claim 1, Reitinger teaches
a temperature control method, for controlling a temperature of a target device (chuck 3), wherein the target device is disposed in a temperature control device comprising a temperature control box (housing 2), and the temperature control method comprises:
controlling an internal temperature of the temperature control device according to the base parameter (“The temperature of the chuck 3 can be adjusted to a set temperature by means of a heating device (not shown) and a cooling device (not shown) via a temperature controller 300”) [0006];
detecting a temperature of the target device via a temperature sensor during a period of controlling the internal temperature of the temperature control device according to the base parameter (“The temperature controller 300 also includes a non-volatile memory device 310 in which the calibrated temperature output values of the temperature probes S 1 to S 9 at the various positions on the chuck 3 can be stored”) [0052];
Reitinger does not teach
determining a base parameter according to a target temperature
controlling an internal temperature of the temperature control device according to a base parameter and a compensation parameter;
detecting a temperature of the target device via a temperature sensor during the period of controlling the internal temperature of the temperature control device according to the base parameter and the compensation parameter; and
adjusting the compensation parameter according to the temperature of the target device to control the temperature of the target device to change between two temperature states of being higher than the target temperature and being lower than the target temperature at least twice, thereby accelerating the temperature of the target device to converge to the target temperature,
wherein before the temperature of the target device converges to the target temperature, during a period of performing a first change of the temperature of the target device between the two temperature states of being higher than the target temperature and being lower than the target temperature, the compensation parameter determined according to the temperature of the target device detected at a first time point causes the temperature of the target device to decrease to be lower than the target temperature, and the compensation parameter determined according to the temperature of the target device detected at a second time point causes the temperature of the target device to increase to be higher than the target temperature,
wherein before the temperature of the target device converges to the target temperature, during a period of performing a second change of the temperature of the target device between the two temperature states of being higher than the target temperature and being lower than the target temperature, the compensation parameter determined according to the temperature of the target device detected at a third time point causes the temperature of the target device to decrease again to be Lower than the target temperature, the compensation parameter determined according to the temperature of the target device detected at a fourth time point causes the temperature of the target device to increase again to be higher than the target temperature, and the second change occurs after the first change
Xu teaches
determining a base parameter according to a target temperature (target temperature signal 120; “The control module 122 obtains the reference temperature and the target temperature based on the received reference temperature signal 110 and the target temperature signal 120”) [0071]
controlling an internal temperature of the temperature control device according to a base parameter and a compensation parameter (“The control module 122 receives the reference temperature signal 110 and the target temperature signal 120 . The control module 122 obtains the reference temperature and the target temperature based on the received reference temperature signal 110 and the target temperature signal 120, and then outputs a temperature compensation related value based on the reference temperature and the target temperature difference. Temperature control signal 10” [0069]; “The temperature adjustment devices 2 are respectively connected to the target temperature control zones 8 . Each temperature adjustment device 2 receives the corresponding temperature control signal 10 and adjusts the temperature adjustment of the target temperature control zone 8 according to the temperature control signal 10”) [0071];
detecting a temperature of the target device via a temperature sensor during the period of controlling the internal temperature of the temperature control device according to the base parameter and the compensation parameter (via reference temperature sensor 111 and the target temperature sensors 121); and
adjusting the compensation parameter according to the temperature of the target device to control the temperature of the target device (“a temperature compensation related value based on the reference temperature and the target temperature difference”[0069]; thus, temperature compensation value is adjusted based on the measured temperature)
Reitinger teaches a method to calibrate temperature sensors for use in a closed circuit testing system. The system of Reitinger teaches “The regulation of the entered set temperature by the temperature controller 300 is carried out either by means of a regulating probe (not shown) or by means of one or more of the calibrated temperature sensors S 1 to S 9” [0055], however does not explicitly disclose how the temperature is regulated by a regulation probe. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the temperature control regulation system of Xu to Reitinger, in order to allow for a system that effectively “reduces the reference temperature measurement error” [001 of Xu], to further improve the accuracy of the temperature control.
Nishida teaches
adjusting the compensation parameter according to the temperature of the target device to control the temperature of the target device to change between two temperature states of being higher than the target temperature and being lower than the target temperature at least twice, thereby accelerating the temperature of the target device to converge to the target temperature (fig. 11),
wherein before the temperature of the target device converges to the target temperature, during a period of performing a first change of the temperature of the target device between the two temperature states of being higher than the target temperature and being lower than the target temperature, the compensation parameter determined according to the temperature of the target device detected at a first time point causes the temperature of the target device to decrease to be lower than the target temperature (1TP on annotated fig. 11 below, after which the temperature of the target device decreases to be lower than the preset temperature), and the compensation parameter determined according to the temperature of the target device detected at a second time point causes the temperature of the target device to increase to be higher than the target temperature (2TP on annotated fig. 11 below, after which the temperature of the target device increases to be higher than the preset temperature),
wherein before the temperature of the target device converges to the target temperature, during a period of performing a second change of the temperature of the target device between the two temperature states of being higher than the target temperature and being lower than the target temperature, the compensation parameter determined according to the temperature of the target device detected at a third time point causes the temperature of the target device to decrease again to be Lower than the target temperature (3TP on annotated fig. 11 below, after which the temperature of the target device decreases to be lower than the preset temperature), the compensation parameter determined according to the temperature of the target device detected at a fourth time point causes the temperature of the target device to increase again to be higher than the target temperature, and the second change occurs after the first change (4TP on annotated fig. 11 below, after which the temperature of the target device increases to be higher than the preset temperature)
While Xu, as applied to Reitinger, teaches a method of controlling an internal temperature of the temperature control device according to a base parameter and a compensation parameter and adjusting the compensation parameter according to the temperature of the target device to control the temperature of the target device, it does not specifically teach the method of how the target devices converges upon the target temperature. In fig. 1 and 2, Nishida teaches an integration control method of converging upon the preset temperature and a proportional control method of converging upon the preset temperature. Each of these methods comprises benefits and drawbacks outlined on page 1 lines 27-49. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the hybrid proportion and integration control methods of fig. 11 to Reitinger, as modified, in order to obtain benefits of each control method, wherein the exact target temperature is both reached due to the integration control, and overshoot of the target temperature is small and thus component degradation can be suppressed due to the initial proportion control.
Annotated fig. 11 of Nishida
Regarding claim 2, Reitinger, as modified, does not teach the temperature control method of claim 1,
wherein the temperature sensor comprises a thermistor
Xu teaches
wherein the temperature sensor comprises a thermistor (“the reference temperature sensor 111 and the target temperature sensors 121 are implemented by thermocouples, but in other variations, they can also be resistive temperature sensors. Resistance Temperature Detector (RTD), or a temperature sensor with a thermistor”) [0070 of Xu]
Reitinger does not explicitly disclose the type of temperature sensor of the regulating probe or temperature probes S1 to S9. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the regulating probe and temperature probes S1 to S9 as thermistors, as taught in Xu, in order to utilize a low cost and easily accessible sensor for the system.
Regarding claim 3, Reitinger, as modified, teaches the temperature control method of claim 1,
wherein the temperature sensor is physically in contact with the target device (temperature probes S1 to S9 located on chuck 3 as shown on fig. 2)
Regarding claim 5, Reitinger, as modified, teaches the temperature control method of claim 1,
wherein the compensation parameter is configured to compensate the base parameter to change the internal temperature of the temperature control device (“The control module 122 obtains the reference temperature and the target temperature based on the received reference temperature signal 110 and the target temperature signal 120, and then outputs a temperature compensation related value based on the reference temperature and the target temperature difference. Temperature control signal 10” [0069 of Xu]; “The temperature adjustment devices 2 are respectively connected to the target temperature control zones 8 . Each temperature adjustment device 2 receives the corresponding temperature control signal 10 and adjusts the temperature adjustment of the target temperature control zone 8 according to the temperature control signal 10”) [0071 of Xu]
Regarding claim 6, Reitinger, as modified, teaches the temperature control method of claim 1,
wherein the step of adjusting the compensation parameter according to the temperature of the target device comprises: determining the compensation parameter according to a difference between the temperature of the target device and the target temperature (“The control module 122 obtains the reference temperature and the target temperature based on the received reference temperature signal 110 and the target temperature signal 120, and then outputs a temperature compensation related value based on the reference temperature and the target temperature difference. Temperature control signal 10”) [0069 of Xu]
Regarding claim 8, Reitinger, as modified, teaches the temperature control method of claim 1,
wherein in a case that there are a plurality of the target device, the temperature of the target device is an average or a median of temperatures of the plurality of target devices (“Another possibility of the regulation is to perform it directed to an average value of all or only the adjacent temperature sensors S1 to S9” [0055 of Reitinger])
Note: claim 8 (and claim 17) comprises a contingent limitation that is not required to be taught due to “in a case” language.
Regarding claim 10, Reitinger teaches
a temperature control system (wafer prober 1), comprising:
a temperature control device (housing 2); and
a controller coupled to the temperature control device (temperature controller 300), wherein the target device is disposed in the temperature control device (chuck 3)
The remainder of claim 10 is rejected over Reitinger in view of Xu and Nishida by the same or substantially the same rationale as applied to claim 1 above.
Claim 11 is rejected over Reitinger in view of Xu and Nishida by the same or substantially the same rationale as applied to claim 2 above.
Claim 12 is rejected over Reitinger in view of Xu and Nishida by the same or substantially the same rationale as applied to claim 3 above.
Claim 14 is rejected over Reitinger in view of Xu and Nishida by the same or substantially the same rationale as applied to claim 5 above.
Claim 15 is rejected over Reitinger in view of Xu and Nishida by the same or substantially the same rationale as applied to claim 6 above.
Claim 17 is rejected over Reitinger in view of Xu and Nishida by the same or substantially the same rationale as applied to claim 8 above.
Claim(s) 4 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reitinger (US20230280396A1) in view of Xu (TWM632983U), referring to the English translation dated 01/08/2026, and Nishida (GB2108730A), in further view of Wang (US20100163545A1).
Regarding claim 4, Reitinger, as modified, teaches the temperature control method of claim 1,
wherein the temperature sensor is disposed in the target device (temperature probes S1 to S9 located on chuck 3 as shown on fig. 2), and the step of detecting the temperature of the target device via the temperature sensor comprises:
receiving a response of the target device to the command (“The control module 122 receives the reference temperature signal 110 and the target temperature signal 120”) [0069 of Xu]; and
obtaining the temperature of the target device according to the response (“The control module 122 obtains the reference temperature and the target temperature based on the received reference temperature signal 110 and the target temperature signal 120”) [0069 of Xu]
Reitinger, as modified, does not teach
sending a command to the target device; receiving a response of the target device to the command
Wang teaches
sending a command to the target device (“electrical terminals configured to accept as input electrical power and command signals useful to operate each of said temperature sensing circuit” [claim 15]; receiving a response of the target device to the command (“a temperature control circuit constructed on said surface, said temperature control circuit in electrical communication with said temperature sensing circuit and said temperature reference circuit, said temperature control circuit configured to calculate and amplify a temperature difference between said temperature-independent reference signal and said temperature signal” [claim 1])
Reitinger, as modified by Xu, teaches receiving a response of the temperature of the target device, however does not explicitly teach sending a command to the target device in order to receive the response. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the electrical terminals configured to command signals to operate the temperature sensing circuit of Wang, to the temperature controller 300 of Reitinger, as modified, in order to effectively provide the structure to allow the temperature controller 300 of Reitinger to initiate controlling an internal temperature of the temperature control device according to a base parameter and a compensation parameter, thereby ensuring proper control method operation.
Claim 13 is rejected over Reitinger in view of Xu, Nishida and Wang by the same or substantially the same rationale as applied to claim 4 above.
Claim(s) 7 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reitinger (US20230280396A1) in view of Xu (TWM632983U), referring to the English translation dated 01/08/2026, and Nishida (GB2108730A), in further view of Seo (US20230350438A1).
Regarding claim 7, Reitinger, as modified, teaches the temperature control method of claim 6, wherein the step of determining the compensation parameter according to the difference between the temperature of the target device and the target temperature comprises:
setting the compensation parameter as a first compensation parameter in response to the difference between the temperature of the target device and the target temperature being a first difference (“The control module 122 obtains the reference temperature and the target temperature based on the received reference temperature signal 110 and the target temperature signal 120, and then outputs a temperature compensation related value based on the reference temperature and the target temperature difference. Temperature control signal 10” [0069 of Xu]; temperature compensation related value reads on first compensation parameter); and
Reitinger, as modified, does not explicitly teach
setting the compensation parameter as a second compensation parameter in response to the difference between the temperature of the target device and the target temperature being a second difference, wherein the first difference is different from the second difference, and the first compensation parameter is different from the second compensation parameter
Seo teaches
setting the compensation parameter as a second compensation parameter in response to the difference between the temperature of the target device and the target temperature being a second difference, wherein the first difference is different from the second difference, and the first compensation parameter is different from the second compensation parameter (“An aspect of a process measurement method performed by a computing device comprising, receiving a plurality of sensed values from a plurality of sensors disposed in a wafer-type temperature sensor, generating a first temperature value of a first heating zone based on the plurality of sensed values and determining a first compensation value based on a first difference value corresponding to a difference between the first temperature value and a target value, wherein a first compensation ratio between the first difference value and the first compensation value when the first difference value is a first value is different from a second compensation ratio between the first difference value and the first compensation value when the first difference value is a second value”) [0006]
Reitinger, as modified by Xu, teaches setting the compensation parameter as a first compensation parameter in response to the difference between the temperature of the target device and the target temperature being a first difference, however does not explicitly disclose another iteration of the compensation parameter setting step when the difference between the temperature of the target device and the target temperature is a second difference. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to repeat the compensation parameter setting step, as taught in Seo, with a first compensation parameter different from a second compensation parameter to account for the second difference between the temperature of the target device and the target temperature. Thus, the control system would be able to monitor the difference between the actual and set temperatures once again after the first compensation related value is determined, and determine a second compensation related value based on the updated temperature measurements, thus further allowing the system to further improve the accuracy of the set temperature.
Claim 16 is rejected over Reitinger in view of Xu, Nishida and Seo by the same or substantially the same rationale as applied to claim 7 above.
Claim(s) 9 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reitinger (US20230280396A1) in view of Xu (TWM632983U), referring to the English translation dated 01/08/2026, and Nishida (GB2108730A), in further view of Sung (US20200264228A1) and Yeh (US20200326736A1).
Regarding claim 9, Reitinger, as modified, does not explicitly teach the temperature control method of claim 1,
wherein the target device comprises a memory storage device comprising a rewritable non-volatile memory module and a memory controller
Sung teaches
wherein the target device comprises a memory storage device (“It is an object of the present invention to provide an integrated circuit device testing apparatus capable of performing a heating test on an integrated circuit” [0007]; “the integrated circuit device may be a memory module” [0015])
Reitinger teaches “temperature-controlled chuck 3 for clamping the wafer 4 on its upper side” [0005], wherein [0002] discloses a circuit (microchip) as integrated into the wafer. However, Reitinger does not explicitly disclose the circuit as a memory device. Sung teaches a similar circuit testing apparatus wherein the target circuit device is a memory module. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the testing circuit of Reitinger as a memory module, as taught in Sung, since “a semiconductor integrated circuit device such as a memory module should be assured whether it also performs normal operation in a high temperature environment” [0005 of Sung].
While examiner contends that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a memory module inherently comprises a rewritable non-volatile memory module and a memory controller, in the event that applicant disagrees, Yeh further teaches
a memory storage device comprising a rewritable non-volatile memory module and a memory controller (“In general, a memory storage device (a.k.a. a memory storage system) includes a rewritable non-volatile memory module and a controller (a.k.a. a control circuit” [0061])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the memory module of Sung with a rewritable non-volatile memory module and a controller as taught in Yeh, since “The memory storage device usually operates together with a host system so the host system can write data into the memory storage device or read data from the memory storage device” [0061 of Yeh], and thus the memory can effectively communicate with a host control system.
Claim 18 is rejected over Reitinger in view of Xu, Nishida, Sung, and Yeh by the same or substantially the same rationale as applied to claim 9 above.
Conclusion
The prior art of record not relied upon includes:
Zhang (CN113760194A), which teaches a similar memory temperature control method and a memory temperature control system to the claimed temperature control method and temperature control system
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRETT P. MALLON/Examiner, Art Unit 3762 /MICHAEL G HOANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762