DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 21, 24-25 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Guo et al. (US 2012/0268809).
Regarding claim 1, Guo discloses a display module (see figures 1-11C, for instance), comprising: a display panel ([0118]); and an image color switch film (30), disposed above or below the display panel, wherein in a viewing angle at least in viewing angles from 45 degrees to 85 degrees (see figures 8B and 11B, for instance; wherein the viewing angle range is from 0 to 90 degrees, see also [0115]), a peak of a transmittance spectrum of the image color switch film falls within a range of 400 nanometers (nm) to 600 nm (see figures 8B and 11B, for instance), and an average transmittance of the transmittance spectrum within a range of 450 nm to 600 nm is greater than an average transmittance of the transmittance spectrum within a range of 650 nm to 800 nm (see figures 8B and 11B, for instance, since the transmittance gradually decreases from the peak that is located at less than 600nm).
Regarding claim 3, Guo discloses the display module according to claim 1, wherein spectrum intensity of the transmittance spectrum decreases from the peak to a position corresponding to a wavelength of 800 nanometers of the transmittance spectrum (see figures 8B and 11B, for instance).
Regarding claim 4, Guo discloses the display module according to claim 1, wherein the image color switch film (30) comprises at least one layer of interference thin film ([0008]).
Regarding claim 5, Guo discloses the display module according to claim 4, wherein the at least one layer of interference thin film (30) comprises: a first light- transmitting film; and a second light-transmitting film, stacked with the first light- transmitting film, wherein a refractive index of the first light-transmitting film is smaller than a refractive index of the second light-transmitting film ([0117]).
Regarding claim 21, Guo discloses a display module (see figures 1-11C, for instance), comprising: a display panel ([0118]); and an image color switch film (30), disposed above or below the display panel, wherein, under front viewing angles from minus 30 degrees to plus 30 degrees (“incidence angle of 0 to 90°”, [0012]), a peak of a transmittance spectrum of the image color switch film falls within a range of 400 nm to 600 nm (see figure 8B and 11B, for instance), and an average transmittance of the transmittance spectrum within a range of 500 nm to 600 nm is greater than an average transmittance of the transmittance spectrum within a range of 650 nm to 800 nm (see figure 8B, for instance), wherein spectrum intensity of the transmittance spectrum decreases from the peak to a position corresponding to a wavelength of 800 nanometers of the transmittance spectrum (see figures 8B and 11B, for instance, since the transmittance gradually decreases from the peak that is located at less than 600nm).
Regarding claim 24, Guo discloses the display module according to claim 21, wherein the image color switch film (30) comprises at least one layer of interference thin film ([0008]).
Regarding claim 25, Masaharu discloses the display module according to claim 24, wherein the at least one layer of interference thin film (30) comprises: a first light- transmitting film; and a second light-transmitting film, stacked with the first light- transmitting film, wherein a refractive index of the first light-transmitting film is smaller than a refractive index of the second light-transmitting film ([0117]).
Regarding claim 28, Guo discloses the display module according to claim 21, wherein, under the front viewing angle (see figure 8B, 0°) and in a wavelength band at 700 nm and above, a transmittance of the display module is smaller than a transmittance of the display module after the image color switch film is removed (since element 30 attenuates a non-zero amount of light from the display).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 11-13, 15-20, 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo in view of Masaharu et al. (JP2007316156A; translation previously submitted).
Regarding claims 2 and 22, Guo discloses the display module according to claims 1 and 21. However, Guo does not expressly disclose wherein the display panel is an in-plane switching liquid crystal display panel.
Masaharu discloses a display module (see figures 1-11, for instance), wherein the display panel is an in-plane switching liquid crystal display panel (page 4, Description, fourth paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the IPS display as Masaharu in the device of Guo. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase the transmittance for light emitted in an oblique direction, as taught by Masaharu (paragraph 2, page 2 of previously submitted translation).
Regarding claim 11, Guo discloses the display module according to claim 5. However, Guo does not expressly disclose the device further comprising: a first transparent substrate, wherein the image color switch film is disposed between the first transparent substrate and the display panel; a second transparent substrate, disposed between the image color switch film and the display panel; a polarizing layer, disposed between the image color switch film and the second transparent substrate; and a retardation compensation film, disposed between the polarizing layer and the second transparent substrate.
Masaharu discloses the display module according to claim 5, further comprising: a first transparent substrate (15), wherein the image color switch film (4) is disposed between the first transparent substrate (15) and the display panel (11); a second transparent substrate (2b), disposed between the image color switch film (4) and the display panel (11); a polarizing layer (16), disposed between the image color switch film (4) and the second transparent substrate (2b); and a retardation compensation film (3b), disposed between the polarizing layer (16) and the second transparent substrate (2b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the display structure as Masaharu in the device of Guo. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase the transmittance for light emitted in an oblique direction, as taught by Masaharu (paragraph 2, page 2 of previously submitted translation).
Regarding claim 12, Guo discloses the display module according to claim 11. However, Guo does not expressly disclose wherein a transmission axis of the polarizing layer is parallel to a short side direction or a long side direction of the display panel.
Regarding claim 12, Masaharu discloses the display module according to claim 11, wherein a transmission axis of the polarizing layer (16) is parallel to a short side direction or a long side direction of the display panel (11, since the panel can be oriented arbitrarily in any direction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the display structure as Masaharu in the device of Guo. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase the transmittance for light emitted in an oblique direction, as taught by Masaharu (paragraph 2, page 2 of previously submitted translation).
Regarding claim 13, Guo discloses the display module according to claim 5. However, Guo does not expressly disclose the device further comprising: a first transparent substrate, wherein the image color switch film is disposed between the first transparent substrate and the display panel; a second transparent substrate, disposed between the image color switch film and the display panel; and a polarizing layer (16), wherein the image color switch film is disposed between the polarizing layer and the second transparent substrate.
Masaharu discloses the display module according to claim 5, further comprising: a first transparent substrate (13, see figure 7), wherein the image color switch film (4) is disposed between the first transparent substrate and the display panel (11); a second transparent substrate (2b), disposed between the image color switch film (4) and the display panel (11); and a polarizing layer (16), wherein the image color switch film (4) is disposed between the polarizing layer (16) and the second transparent substrate (2b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the display structure as Masaharu in the device of Guo. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase the transmittance for light emitted in an oblique direction, as taught by Masaharu (paragraph 2, page 2 of previously submitted translation).
Regarding claim 15, Masaharu discloses the display module according to claim 5. However, Guo does not expressly disclose the device further comprising: a first transparent substrate, wherein the image color switch film is disposed between the first transparent substrate and the display panel; a second transparent substrate, disposed between the image color switch film and the display panel, wherein the second transparent substrate is a retardation compensation film; and a polarizing layer, disposed between the image color switch film and the second transparent substrate.
Masaharu discloses the display module according to claim 5, further comprising: a first transparent substrate (13), wherein the image color switch film (4) is disposed between the first transparent substrate and the display panel (11); a second transparent substrate (2b), disposed between the image color switch film and the display panel, wherein the second transparent substrate is a retardation compensation film; and a polarizing layer (3b), disposed between the image color switch film (4) and the second transparent substrate (2b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the display structure as Masaharu in the device of Guo. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase the transmittance for light emitted in an oblique direction, as taught by Masaharu (paragraph 2, page 2 of previously submitted translation).
Regarding claim 16, Guo discloses the display module according to claim 4. However, Guo does not expressly disclose wherein the at least one layer of interference thin film is a light-transmitting film of a single layer, and a refractive index of the light-transmitting film is 2 to 2.1, the display module further comprises a first polarizing plate and a second polarizing plate, the display panel is disposed between the first polarizing plate and the second polarizing plate, and the light-transmitting film is disposed on a side of the first polarizing plate facing away from the display panel or a side of the second polarizing plate facing away from the display panel.
Masaharu discloses the display module according to claim 4, wherein the at least one layer of interference thin film is a light-transmitting film of a single layer (page 20, tenth paragraph), and a refractive index of the light-transmitting film is 2 to 2.1 (page 20, tenth paragraph), the display module further comprises a first polarizing plate (3a) and a second polarizing plate (3b), the display panel (11) is disposed between the first polarizing plate and the second polarizing plate, and the light-transmitting film (of 4) is disposed on a side of the first polarizing plate facing away from the display panel or a side of the second polarizing plate facing away from the display panel (See figure 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the display structure as Masaharu in the device of Guo. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase the transmittance for light emitted in an oblique direction, as taught by Masaharu (paragraph 2, page 2 of previously submitted translation).
Regarding claim 17, Guo discloses the display module according to claim 5. However, Guo does not expressly disclose wherein the device further comprising: a second polarizing plate, wherein the second polarizing plate is disposed between the image color switch film and the display panel, or the image color switch film is disposed between the second polarizing plate and the display panel, wherein the image color switch film is disposed below the display panel.
Masaharu discloses the display module according to claim 5, further comprising: a second polarizing plate (3b), wherein the second polarizing plate is disposed between the image color switch film (4) and the display panel (11), or the image color switch film (4) is disposed between the second polarizing plate and the display panel, wherein the image color switch film is disposed below the display panel (See figure 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the display structure as Masaharu in the device of Guo. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase the transmittance for light emitted in an oblique direction, as taught by Masaharu (paragraph 2, page 2 of previously submitted translation).
Regarding claim 18, Guo discloses the display module according to claim 17. However, Guo does not expressly disclose wherein a transmission axis of the second polarizing plate is parallel to a short side direction or a long side direction of the display panel.
Masaharu discloses the display module according to claim 17, wherein a transmission axis of the second polarizing plate (3b) is parallel to a short side direction or a long side direction of the display panel (11, since the panel can be oriented arbitrarily in any direction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the display structure as Masaharu in the device of Guo. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase the transmittance for light emitted in an oblique direction, as taught by Masaharu (paragraph 2, page 2 of previously submitted translation).
Regarding claim 19, Guo discloses the display module according to claim 5. However, Guo does not expressly disclose the device further comprising: a third transparent substrate, disposed below the display panel; a fourth transparent substrate, wherein the third transparent substrate is disposed between the display panel and the fourth transparent substrate; and a polarizing layer, disposed between the third transparent substrate and the fourth transparent substrate, wherein the image color switch film is disposed between the third transparent substrate and the fourth transparent substrate.
Masaharu discloses the display module according to claim 5, further comprising: a third transparent substrate (2b), disposed below the display panel (11); a fourth transparent substrate (14), wherein the third transparent substrate (2b) is disposed between the display panel and the fourth transparent substrate (14); and a polarizing layer (16), disposed between the third transparent substrate (2b) and the fourth transparent substrate (14), wherein the image color switch film (4) is disposed between the third transparent substrate (2b) and the fourth transparent substrate (14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the display structure as Masaharu in the device of Guo. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase the transmittance for light emitted in an oblique direction, as taught by Masaharu (paragraph 2, page 2 of previously submitted translation).
Regarding claim 20, Guo discloses the display module according to claim 19. However, Guo does not expressly disclose wherein a transmission axis of the polarizing layer is parallel to a short side direction or a long side direction of the display panel.
Masaharu discloses the display module according to claim 19, wherein a transmission axis of the polarizing layer (16) is parallel to a short side direction or a long side direction of the display panel (11, since the panel can be oriented arbitrarily in any direction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the display structure as Masaharu in the device of Guo. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase the transmittance for light emitted in an oblique direction, as taught by Masaharu (paragraph 2, page 2 of previously submitted translation).
Claim(s) 6 and 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo in view of Watakabe (US 2013/0021550).
Regarding claims 6 and 26, Guo discloses the display module according to claims 5 and 25. However, Guo does not expressly disclose wherein the refractive index of the first light-transmitting film is 1.2 to 1.6, and the refractive index of the second light- transmitting film is 1.7 to 2.4.
Watakabe discloses a display module (see figure 6, for instance), comprising a interference thin film (31 and/or 32) comprising first and second light-transmitting films (311-314 and/or 321-324), wherein the refractive index of the first light-transmitting film is 1.2 to 1.6 (SiOz), and the refractive index of the second light-transmitting film is 1.7 to 2.4 (SiN).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the thin films with refractive index values as Watakabe in the device of Guo. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the efficiency of light usage of the device, as taught by Watakabe ([0048)).
Regarding claim 27, Guo discloses the display module according to claim 24. wherein the at least one layer of interference thin film (44) is a light-transmitting film of a single layer, and a refractive index of the light-transmitting film is 2 to 2.1 ([0026], Si3N4). However, Guo does not expressly disclose wherein the display module further comprises a first polarizing plate and a second polarizing plate, the display panel is disposed between the first polarizing plate and the second polarizing plate, and the light-transmitting film is disposed on a side of the first polarizing plate facing away from the display panel or a side of the second polarizing plate facing away from the display panel.
Watakabe discloses a display module (see figure 6, for instance), wherein the display module further comprises a first polarizing plate (408) and a second polarizing plate (404), the display panel (401) is disposed between the first polarizing plate and the second polarizing plate, and the light-transmitting film is disposed on a side of the first polarizing plate facing away from the display panel or a side of the second polarizing plate facing away from the display panel (401).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the thin films with refractive index values as Watakabe in the device of Guo. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the efficiency of light usage of the device, as taught by Watakabe ([0048)).
Claim(s) 7, 10 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo in view of Li (US 2021/0325718).
Regarding claim 7, Guo discloses the display module according to claim 5. However, Guo does not expressly disclose the device further comprising: a first polarizing plate, disposed between the image color switch film and the display panel. However, Masaharu does not expressly disclose wherein the image color switch film is disposed above the display panel.
Li discloses a display module (see figure 2, for instance), comprising: a first polarizing plate (221), disposed between the image color switch film (222) and the display panel (30), wherein the image color switch film (222) is disposed above the display panel (30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to position the image color switch film above the display panel as Li in the device of Guo. The motivation for doing so would have been to simplify manufacturing process and improve the production efficiency, while using an alternative position configuration of the image color switch film, as taught by Li (see [0011] and [0023]).
Regarding claim 10, Guo in view of Li discloses the display module according to claim 7, wherein a transmission axis of the first polarizing plate (Li 221) is parallel to a short side direction or a long side direction of the display panel (Li 30; since the polarizers could be oriented according to the design choice of the manufacturer).
Regarding claim 14, Guo discloses the display module according to claim 5. However, Guo does not expressly disclose a first polarizing plate, wherein the image color switch film is disposed between the first polarizing plate and the display panel, wherein the image color switch film is disposed above the display panel.
Li discloses a display module (see figure 2, for instance), a first polarizing plate (221), wherein the image color switch film (222) is disposed between the first polarizing plate (221) and the display panel (30) wherein the image color switch film (222) is disposed above the display panel (30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to position the image color switch film above the display panel as Li in the device of Guo. The motivation for doing so would have been to simplify manufacturing process and improve the production efficiency, while using an alternative position configuration of the image color switch film, as taught by Li (see [0011] and [0023]).
Claim(s) 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo in view of Li and in further view of Zhang et al. (US 2023/0118724).
Regarding claim 8, Guo in view of Li discloses the display module according to claim 7, wherein the first polarizing plate (Li 221) comprises: a first transparent substrate, disposed between the image color switch film (Li 222) and the display panel (Li 30). However, Guo in view of Li does not expressly disclose wherein the first polarizing plate comprises a second transparent substrate, disposed between the first transparent substrate and the display panel; a polarizing layer, disposed between the first transparent substrate and the second transparent substrate; and a retardation compensation film, disposed between the first transparent substrate and the second transparent substrate.
Zhang discloses a display module, wherein the first polarizing plate ([0003]) comprises a second transparent substrate (“protective layer”), disposed between the first transparent substrate and the display panel; a polarizing layer (“polyvinyl alcohol layer’), disposed between the first transparent substrate and the second transparent substrate; and a retardation compensation film (“a compensation film”), disposed between the first transparent substrate and the second transparent substrate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the polarizing layer structure as Zhang in the device of Guo. The motivation for doing so would have been to use a conventional polarizer structure in the art for decreased device costs, as taught by Zhang ([0003]).
Regarding claim 9, Guo in view of Li discloses the display module according to claim 7, wherein the first polarizing plate (Li 221) comprises: a first transparent substrate, disposed between the image color switch film (Li 222) and the display panel (Li 30). However, Masaharu in view of Li does not expressly disclose wherein the first polarizing plate comprises a second transparent substrate, disposed between the first transparent substrate and the display panel, wherein the second transparent substrate is a retardation compensation film; and a polarizing layer, disposed between the first transparent substrate and the second transparent substrate.
Zhang discloses a display module, wherein the first polarizing plate ([0003]) comprises a second transparent substrate ([0003]: “a compensation film”), disposed between the first transparent substrate and the display panel; wherein the second transparent substrate is a retardation compensation film (“a compensation film’), disposed between the first transparent substrate and the second transparent substrate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the polarizing layer structure as Zhang in the device of Guo. The motivation for doing so would have been to use a conventional polarizer structure in the art for decreased device costs, as taught by Zhang ([0003]).
Conclusion
/NATHANAEL R BRIGGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871 10/23/2025