DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to application filed on 6/14/2026.
Claims 1, 3-7, 13, 15-17 & 21-26 have been examined and are pending with this action.
The Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 has been withdrawn based on amendment filed on 6/14/2026.
Priority
Examiner acknowledges that the Applicant claims a priority benefit of PCT/CN2022/088188 filed on 04/21/2022.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 11/08/2023 and these drawings are accepted.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed in the amendment filed 6/14/2026., regarding 35 USC 102 Claim Rejections are persuasive and that rejection is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 13, 15, 21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable of Li (CN 100589634 C) in view of ZHU (CN 201910944825 A).
As per claim 1, Li discloses a service data transmission method (Li: “ WiMAX mobile communication system mobile subscriber station to launch establishment and release multicast operation method,”), comprising:
obtaining, by an application server, first information of a multicast broadcast service session (Li: obtains the multicast conversation relative information from the multicast controller, and then launching the multicast registration,”), wherein the first information indicates that at least one terminal has joined the multicast broadcast service session (Li: “using a multicast protocol join to a multicast group associated with the multicast session maintained by the multicast router to implement the multicast content server.,”), and the at least one terminal belongs to a group corresponding to the multicast broadcast service session (Li: “using a multicast protocol join to a multicast group associated with the multicast session maintained by the multicast router to implement the multicast content server.,”); and
sending, by the application server, service data over the multicast broadcast service session based on the first information (Li: “the multicast service scheduling program multicast service data of the MBS Zone centralized scheduling to ensure that MBS Zone in at each BS for transmitting multicast data synchronous, namely ASN-GW for specific multicast stream data sent to master BSC/PCF”).
Li doesn’t explicitly teach quantity of terminal reaching a preset value.
Zhu however discloses determining, by the application server based on the first information, that a quantity of terminals that have joined the multicast broadcast service session reaches a preset value (Zhu: “ unit 702, specifically for according to the multicast access control information, the bit map in the terminal device allows the multicast address of the multicast group corresponding to the multicast address is set as the first preset value; and/or, setting the value of the bit corresponding to the multicast address of the multicast group not allowed to join in the terminal device in the bitmap as the second preset value.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of modified Li in view of Zhu to figure quantity of terminal joining the session. One would be motivated to do so because this technique advantageously aids in for a multicast/broadcast service, applied in 5G LAN communications.(ZHU).
Claim 13 and 21 are rejected based on rationale provided for claim 1.
As per claim 4, Li discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the obtaining, by the application server, the first information comprises: receiving, by the application server, the first information from the at least one terminal (Li: obtains the multicast conversation relative information from the multicast controller, and then launching the multicast registration,”).
Claim 15 and 23 are rejected based on rationale provided for claim 4.
Claims 3, 5-7, 16-17, 22 and 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable of Li (CN 100589634 C) in view of ZHU (CN 201910944825 A) and in further view of Qi (CN 115462100 A).
As per claim 3, Li/Zhu/Qi discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first information comprises a multicast broadcast service session identity and an identifier of the at least one terminal (Li: obtains the multicast conversation relative information from the multicast controller, and then launching the multicast registration,”).
Li does not explicitly teach status of the terminal/user.
Qi however discloses a status indicating the at least one terminal has joined the multicast broadcast service session, (Qi: specific MRB in the PTM delivery instance, the specific UE of the PTM UE group can be assigned a separate UE specific RLC entity, for the UE specific retransmission of the MRB data to the specific UE, and the uplink of the UE specific PDCP status report associated with the MRB ,”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Li in view of Qi to figure out status . One would be motivated to do so because this technique supporting MBS sessions in a wireless access network.(Qi).
As per claim 5, Li/Zhu/Qi discloses the of claim 1, the method further comprising: sending, by the application server, a service announcement message comprises session report configuration information indicating whether the terminal related to the multicast broadcast service session requires to report the first information (Qi: after receiving the MBS session context information from the core network, the access network further allocates various communication resources, to implement transmission or delivery of MBS session data from the access network to the UE, and receiving various state reports from the UE when needed. ”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Li in view of Qi to figure out status report. One would be motivated to do so because this technique supporting MBS sessions in a wireless access network.(Qi).
As per claim 6, Li/Zhu/Qi discloses the method of claim 1, the method further comprising: sending, by the application server to the at least one terminal, a service announcement message that comprises fourth information indicating that a type of the multicast broadcast service session is multicast (Qi: “CU uses IP multicast 610 to transmit the MRB data to the DU in the IP layer of the tunnel. the information sent by CU comprises IP multicast downlink tunnel information for MRB, namely, downlink tunnel information of the first IP multicast type. ”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Li in view of Qi to figure out the type of broadcast. One would be motivated to do so because this technique supporting MBS sessions in a wireless access network.(Qi).
As per claim 7, Li/Zhu/Qi discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the first message carries the fourth information by using a session type parameter (Qi: “QoS parameters of each MRB allocated by CU for the MBS session, and QoS parameters and identification of the QoS flow mapped to each MRB. ”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chen in view of Qi to figure out Data network name and Single-Network Slice Selection Assistance Information. One would be motivated to do so because this technique supporting MBS sessions in a wireless access network.(Qi).
Claim 16-17 and 22 and 24-26 are rejected based on rationale provided for claims 3 & 5-7.
Conclusion
This action is made Final. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. This includes:
/SIBTE H BUKHARI/Examiner, Art Unit 2449