DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to application filed on 12/10/2025.
Claims 1-7 & 13-17 have been examined and are pending with this action.
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-7 & 13-17 in the reply filed on 12/10/2025 is acknowledged.
Priority
Examiner acknowledges that the Applicant claims a priority benefit of PCT/CN2022/088188 filed on 04/21/2022.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 11/08/2023 and these drawings are accepted.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/27/2025, 3/12/2025 & 6/18/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Oath/Declaration
The Oath/Declaration filed on 9/26/2025, is accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 13 & 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li (CN 100589634 C).
As per claim 1, Li discloses a service data transmission method (Li: “ WiMAX mobile communication system mobile subscriber station to launch establishment and release multicast operation method,”), comprising:
obtaining, by an application server, first information of a multicast broadcast service session (Li: obtains the multicast conversation relative information from the multicast controller, and then launching the multicast registration,”), wherein the first information indicates that at least one terminal has joined the multicast broadcast service session (Li: “using a multicast protocol join to a multicast group associated with the multicast session maintained by the multicast router to implement the multicast content server.,”), and the at least one terminal belongs to a group corresponding to the multicast broadcast service session (Li: “using a multicast protocol join to a multicast group associated with the multicast session maintained by the multicast router to implement the multicast content server.,”); and
sending, by the application server, service data over the multicast broadcast service session based on the first information (Li: “the multicast service scheduling program multicast service data of the MBS Zone centralized scheduling to ensure that MBS Zone in at each BS for transmitting multicast data synchronous, namely ASN-GW for specific multicast stream data sent to master BSC/PCF”).
Claim 13 is rejected based on rationale provided for claim 1.
As per claim 4, Li discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the obtaining, by the application server, the first information comprises: receiving, by the application server, the first information from the at least one terminal (Li: obtains the multicast conversation relative information from the multicast controller, and then launching the multicast registration,”).
Claim 15 is rejected based on rationale provided for claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 5-7, 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable of Li (CN 100589634 C) in view of Qi (CN 115462100 A).
As per claim 3, Li/Qi discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first information comprises a multicast broadcast service session identity and an identifier of the at least one terminal (Li: obtains the multicast conversation relative information from the multicast controller, and then launching the multicast registration,”).
Li does not explicitly teach status of the terminal/user.
Qi however discloses a status indicating the at least one terminal has joined the multicast broadcast service session, (Qi: specific MRB in the PTM delivery instance, the specific UE of the PTM UE group can be assigned a separate UE specific RLC entity, for the UE specific retransmission of the MRB data to the specific UE, and the uplink of the UE specific PDCP status report associated with the MRB ,”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Li in view of Qi to figure out status . One would be motivated to do so because this technique supporting MBS sessions in a wireless access network.(Qi).
As per claim 5, Li/Qi discloses the of claim 1, the method further comprising: sending, by the application server, a service announcement message comprises session report configuration information indicating whether the terminal related to the multicast broadcast service session requires to report the first information (Qi: after receiving the MBS session context information from the core network, the access network further allocates various communication resources, to implement transmission or delivery of MBS session data from the access network to the UE, and receiving various state reports from the UE when needed. ”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Li in view of Qi to figure out status report. One would be motivated to do so because this technique supporting MBS sessions in a wireless access network.(Qi).
As per claim 6, Li/Qi discloses the method of claim 1, the method further comprising: sending, by the application server to the at least one terminal, a service announcement message that comprises fourth information indicating that a type of the multicast broadcast service session is multicast (Qi: “CU uses IP multicast 610 to transmit the MRB data to the DU in the IP layer of the tunnel. the information sent by CU comprises IP multicast downlink tunnel information for MRB, namely, downlink tunnel information of the first IP multicast type. ”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Li in view of Qi to figure out the type of broadcast. One would be motivated to do so because this technique supporting MBS sessions in a wireless access network.(Qi).
As per claim 7, Li/Qi discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the first message carries the fourth information by using a session type parameter (Qi: “QoS parameters of each MRB allocated by CU for the MBS session, and QoS parameters and identification of the QoS flow mapped to each MRB. ”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chen in view of Qi to figure out Data network name and Single-Network Slice Selection Assistance Information. One would be motivated to do so because this technique supporting MBS sessions in a wireless access network.(Qi).
Claim 16-17 are rejected based on rationale provided for claims 3 & 5-7.
Claims 2 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable of Li (CN 100589634 C) in view of Jia (WO 2021204131 A1).
As per claim 2, Li discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the sending, by the application server, the service data over the multicast broadcast service session based on the first information (Li: obtains the multicast conversation relative information from the multicast controller, and then launching the multicast registration,”). comprises:
sending, by the application server, the service data over the multicast broadcast service session (Li: “the multicast service scheduling program multicast service data of the MBS Zone centralized scheduling to ensure that MBS Zone in at each BS for transmitting multicast data synchronous, namely ASN-GW for specific multicast stream data sent to master BSC/PCF”).
Li doesn’t explicitly teach quantity of terminal reaching a preset value.
Jia however discloses determining, by the application server based on the first information, that a quantity of terminals that have joined the multicast broadcast service session reaches a preset value (Li: “The identification and quantity of the terminal equipment of the first multicast/broadcast service, and the terminal equipment joins the first multicast/broadcast service through the first access network device in the access network equipment, the multicast/broadcast control plane function network element Updating the multicast/broadcast service context of the first multicast/broadcast service may be to delete the terminal device from the terminal device that joins the first multicast/broadcast service through the first access network device (the terminal device is in the seventh message). ”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of modified Li in view of Jia to figure quantity of terminal joining the session. One would be motivated to do so because this technique advantageously aids in for a multicast/broadcast service, related to the field of communications, and capable of saving network resource overhead.(Jia).
Claim 14 is rejected based on rationale provided for claim 2.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. This includes:
/SIBTE H BUKHARI/Examiner, Art Unit 2449