DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/23/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the unlabeled rectangular box(es) shown in the drawings should be provided with descriptive text labels (such as figure 1). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10, 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gauthier et al. US Pub 2021/0276425 (hereinafter Gauthier) in view of Berels et al. US Pub 2018/0029474 (hereinafter Berels).
Regarding claim 1, Gauthier teaches an electrical power system (¶ 0020; vehicle system) for a vehicle having a traction motor (¶ 0021; the traction motor(s) 110) and a plurality of electrical grids (¶ 0021 and fig. 1, elements 113/115; power rails), comprising:
a rechargeable energy storage system (RESS) (fig. 1, element 101) having a high voltage (HV) interface (connection between element 101 and element 109) configured for exchanging HV power with the traction motor (¶ 0021; HV source 101 is
coupled to a first power rail 107 via a DC/DC converter 109. First power rail 107 is a general-purpose rail that provides power for the traction motor(s) 110) and
a low voltage (LV) interface (connected with LV battery 103 and LV battery 105) configured for exchanging LV power with the electrical grids (fig. 1, elements 113, 115); and
a redundant distribution system (¶ 0020; the vehicle system described herein provides a redundant power distribution system) having a plurality of safety switches (117, 119) configured for redundantly connecting the electrical grids (113, 115) with the LV interface such that each of the electrical grids remains operable and connected to the LV interface during a disconnect event (claim 4; the power distribution system wherein said first set of lights receives power from said first battery when said second circuit detects said fault corresponding to said second safety critical power rail, and wherein said second set of lights receives power from said second battery when said first circuit detects said fault corresponding to said first safety critical power rail).
Gauthier does not disclose a redundant distribution system further includes a plurality of busbars configured for redundantly connecting the electrical grids.
However, Berels further discloses a vehicle system includes multiple DC-DC converter circuits, vehicle batteries, and vehicle power distribution buses (busbars) in abstract. Each vehicle power distribution bus 116 overload protection circuit 132 may monitor the collective current drawn by all vehicle loads 110 connected to the output terminals 128 of the respective vehicle power distribution bus 116, compare the current draw to the predetermined threshold, and shut off (e.g., disconnect) the output terminals 128 if the current draw exceeds the predetermined threshold. When power provided to the first power supply input 130 fails, the vehicle load 110 may use the electrical power provided to the second power supply input 130 to continue operating in ¶¶ 0019-0020.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gauthier to incorporate with the teaching of Berels by including vehicle power distribution buses in the system, because it would be advantageous to tolerate certain failures and the power supply allows the vehicle to fulfil certain safety critical functionalities.
Regarding claim 2, Gauthier in view of Berels teaches wherein: the electrical grids each include a LV bus (Gauthier, fig. 1, element 113; power rail) configured for distributing the LV power (Gauthier, from low voltage power source 103) to one or more loads (fig. 1, elements 137, 139); and
the busbars (Berels, fig. 2, element 116: vehicle power distribution buses) are arranged in a redundant configuration (¶ 0020; a redundant power distribution system) characterized by each of the LV buses (Gauthier, fig. 1, elements 113, 115) being independently (Berels, fig. 2) connectable to two or more of the busbars (Berels, fig. 2, element 116a and 116b and ¶ 0011; each of the vehicle batteries 114 are electrically connected to multiple vehicle power distribution buses 116).
Regarding claim 3, Gauthier in view of Berels teaches the electrical power system further comprising:
a plurality of aggregating units (Gauthier, fig. 1, elements 117, 119) each having a plurality of inputs (Gauthier: one input from the power rail, such as element 113; receiving input signal from ECU1, 141) commonly connectable (directly/indirectly connected) to an output (Gauthier, see fig. 1),
wherein the aggregating units (Gauthier, 117, 119) each include the output connected (indirectly connected) to one of the LV buses of the electrical grids (Gauthier, 113/115) and the inputs separately connected (separately and indirectly connected) to one of the two or more of the busbars (Berels, ¶¶ 0019-0020; vehicle power distribution buses).
Regarding claim 4, Gauthier teaches wherein:
the RESS includes a plurality of cell groups (Gauthier, fig. 1, element 103, 105, 101) and a power converter (Gauthier, fig. 1, element 109),
the power converter operable for converting electrical power from one or more of the cell groups (Gauthier, from HV battery, 101) into a plurality of LV outputs (Gauthier, ¶ 0023; DC/DC converter 109 maintain the charge levels on batteries 103 and 105 [two LV batteries]),
each of the LV outputs correspondingly delivering LV power (Gauthier, from two batteries 103, 105) to a connected to one power rail (115)
Gauthier fails to disclose a plurality of power converters are able to deliver LV power to a connected to one of the busbars.
Berels discloses a vehicle system includes multiple DC-DC converter circuits (fig. 2, element 122), vehicle batteries (114), and vehicle power distribution buses 116 in Abstract. The DC-DC converter may have an input terminal 118 connected to an input power line 104 and an output terminal 120 connected to an output power line 104 in ¶ 0015. Each of the DC-DC converter circuits 112 and each of the vehicle batteries 114 are electrically connected to multiple vehicle power distribution buses 116 in ¶ 0011. Therefore, each power converter is able to convert from the battery cell groups into a plurality of LV outputs.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gauthier to incorporate with the teaching of Berels by including vehicle power distribution buses in the system, because it would be advantageous to tolerate certain failures and the power supply allows the vehicle to fulfil certain safety critical functionalities.
Regarding claim 5, Gauthier teaches the electrical power system wherein:
the electrical grids (113, 115) include a first grid (113) and a second grid (115); and
the aggregating units include a first unit (117) and a second unit (119),
wherein:
the unit inputs of the first unit include a first primary input (element 117 includes a power input) and a first secondary input (element 117 includes a control input);
the unit output of the first unit connects to the first grid (113);
the unit inputs of the second unit include a second primary input (element 119 includes a power input) and a second secondary input (element 119 includes a control input); and
the unit output of the second unit (119) connects to (indirectly connects to) the second grid (115; when element 119 is turned on).
Regarding claim 6, Gauthier in view of Berels teaches wherein:
the LV outputs of each of the power converters (Berels, fig. 2, element 122) include a first LV output (Berels, fig. 2, element 120) and a second LV output (Berels, fig. 2, element 120); and
the busbars include a first busbar (Berels, fig. 2, element 116a) and a second busbar (Berels, fig. 2, element 116b), wherein:
the first busbar (Berels, fig. 2, element 116a) connects to (directly/indirectly) each of the first LV outputs (Berels, fig. 2, element 120) and the first and second primary inputs (Gauthier, power inputs of 117, 119); and
the second busbar (Berels, fig. 2, element 116b) connects to each of the second LV outputs (Berels, fig. 2, element 120; the output of the lower DC-DC converter circuit) and the first and second secondary inputs (Gauthier, power inputs of 117, 119).
Regarding claim 7, Gauthier fails to teaches the electrical power system further comprising:
the LV outputs of each of the power converters including a first LV output and a second LV output;
a junction box having a first junction input connectable to a junction output via a first switch or fuse and a second junction input connectable to the junction output via a second switch or fuse; and
the busbars including a first busbar, a second busbar, a third busbar, wherein:
the first busbar connects to each of the first LV outputs, the first primary input, and the first junction input;
the second busbar connects to each of the second LV outputs, the second secondary input, and the second junction input; and
the third busbar connects to the first secondary input, the second primary input, and the junction output.
However, Berels discloses the electrical power system further comprising:
the LV outputs of each of the power converters (120, 120) including a first LV output (120) and a second LV output (see fig. 2, 120; upper DC-DC converter and lower DC-DC converter);
a junction box (fig. 2, element 106; power junction elements) having a first junction input (from 104) connectable to a junction output (104b) via a first switch or fuse (132) and a second junction input (104a) connectable to the junction output (104c) via a second switch or fuse (132); and the busbars including a first busbar (116a), a second busbar (116b), wherein: the first busbar (116a) connects to (indirectly connects) each of the first LV outputs (120, 120), the first primary input (118), and the first junction input (104); the second busbar (116b) connects to each of the second LV outputs (fig. 2, element 120), the second secondary input (118), and the second junction input (104).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gauthier to incorporate with the teaching of Berels by including multiple DC-DC converters and fuses in the system, because it would be advantageous to increase power transmission efficiency and reduce the risk of power failure.
Gauthier in view of Berels fails to disclose a third busbar. However, the prior art discloses the busbars including a first busbar, a second busbar. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide at least three busbars since it has been held that the mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art in order to supply operatable power to more loads. See St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8 and MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 8, Gauthier in view of Berels teaches wherein:
the LV outputs of each of the power converters include a first LV output (Berels, 140), a second LV output (Berels, 140a), and a third LV output (Berels, 140b); and
the busbars include a first busbar (Berels, 116a), a second busbar (Berels, 116b), wherein:
the first busbar (Berels, 116a) connects (indirectly) to each of the first LV outputs and the first primary input (Gauthier, power input of 117);
the second busbar (Berels, 116b) connects (indirectly) to each of the second LV outputs (Gauthier, power input of 119) and the second secondary input; and the busbar (Berels, 116a and 116b) connects (indirectly) to each of the third LV outputs (Berels, 104b), the first secondary input (Gauthier, element 117 includes a control input), and the second primary input (Gauthier, element 119 includes a power input).
Gauthier in view of Berels fails to disclose a third busbar. However, the prior art discloses the busbars including a first busbar, a second busbar. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide at least three busbars since it has been held that the mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art in order to supply operatable power to more loads. See St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8 and MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 9, Gauthier fails to teach the electrical power system comprising:
the LV outputs of each of the power converters including a first LV output, a second LV output, and a third LV output;
a junction box having a junction input connected to a first junction output via a first switch or fuse and a second switch or fuse and to a second junction output via the first switch or fuse and a third switch or fuse; and
the busbars including a first busbar, a second busbar, a third busbar, wherein:
the first busbar connects to each of the first LV outputs and the first primary input;
the second busbar connects to each of the second LV outputs and the second secondary input; and
the third busbar connects to each of the third LV outputs, the first secondary input, the second primary input, the junction input and the first and second junction outputs.
However, Berels discloses the electrical power system further comprising:
the LV outputs of each of the power converters (120, 120) including a first LV output (120), a second LV output (see fig. 2, 120; upper DC-DC converter and lower DC-DC converter), and a third LV output (122; the communication interface output);
a junction box (fig. 2, element 106; power junction elements) having a first junction input (from 104) connectable to a junction output (104b) via a first switch or fuse (132) and a second junction input (104a) connectable to the junction output (104c) via a second switch or fuse (132) and a third switch (134; a switch) or fuse; and
the busbars including a first busbar (116a), a second busbar (116b),
wherein: the first busbar (116a) connects to (indirectly connects) each of the first LV outputs (120, 120), the first primary input (118), and the first junction input (104); the
second busbar (116b) connects to each of the second LV outputs (fig. 2, element 120), the second secondary input (118), and the second junction input (104);
one of the busbars connects (indirectly) to each of the third LV outputs (122; the communication interface output), the first secondary input (Gauthier, element 117 includes a control input), the second primary input (Gauthier, power input of 119), the junction input (104a) and the first and second junction outputs (104b, 104c).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gauthier to incorporate with the teaching of Berels by including multiple DC-DC converters and fuses in the system, because it would be advantageous to increase power transmission efficiency and reduce the risk of power failure.
Gauthier in view of Berels fails to disclose a third busbar. However, the prior art discloses the busbars including a first busbar, a second busbar. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide at least three busbars since it has been held that the mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art in order to supply operatable power to more loads. See St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8 and MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 10, Gauthier fails to teaches wherein: the LV outputs of a primary side of the power converters each include a first LV output and a second LV output, and the LV outputs of a secondary side of the power converters each include a third LV output and a fourth LV output; and the busbars include a first busbar, a second busbar, a third busbar, and a fourth busbar, wherein: the first busbar connects to each of the first LV outputs and the first primary input; the second busbar connects to each of the second LV outputs and the first secondary input; the third busbar connects to each of the third LV outputs and the second secondary input; and the fourth busbar connects to each of the fourth LV outputs and the first primary input.
However, Berels discloses wherein: the LV outputs (104) of a primary side of the power converters (112a, 112b) each include a first LV output and a second LV output (see fig. 2, 104), and the LV outputs (120, 120) of a secondary side of the power converters each include a third LV output (120; upper one) and a fourth LV output (120; lower one); and the busbars include a first busbar (116a), a second busbar (116b), wherein: the first busbar (116a) connects to each of the first LV outputs (104) and the first primary input; the second busbar (116b) connects to each of the second LV outputs and the first secondary input; one of the busbars connects (indirectly) to each of the third LV outputs (120) and the second secondary input; and one of the busbars connects to each of the fourth LV outputs (120) and the first primary input.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gauthier to incorporate with the teaching of Berels by including multiple busbars in the system, because it would be advantageous to increase power transmission efficiency and reduce the risk of power failure.
Gauthier in view of Berels fails to disclose a third busbar and a fourth busbar. However, the prior art discloses the busbars including a first busbar, a second busbar. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide at least four busbars since it has been held that the mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art in order to supply operatable power to more loads. See St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8 and MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 13, Gauthier in view of Berels discloses wherein: the aggregating units each include a plurality of fuses (Berels, an overload protection circuit
132, such as a fuse) for connecting the one of the LV buses (Gauthier, fig. 1, elements 113, 115) with the two or more of busbars (Berels, fig. 2, element 116a and 116b and ¶ 0011; each of the vehicle batteries 114 are electrically connected to multiple vehicle power distribution buses 116).
Regarding claim 14, Gauthier in view of Berels discloses wherein: the aggregating units each include a plurality of switches (Berels, fig. 2, elements 134) for selectively connecting and disconnecting (¶ 0018; the processor 136 may send a signal to the controllable switch 134 of an individually interruptible output terminal 128 connected to a standard vehicle load 110 to shut the switch off) the inputs and the output.
Regarding claim 15, Gauthier in view of Berels discloses wherein: the busbars (Berels, the vehicle power distribution buses 116) each have approximately (interpret as “same or different”) the same length and the same impedance.
Regarding claim 16, Gauthier in view of Berels discloses wherein: the disconnect event (Gauthier, claim 4; wherein said first set of lights receives power from said first battery when said second circuit detects said fault corresponding to said second safety critical power rail, and wherein said second set of lights receives power from said second battery when said first circuit detects said fault corresponding to said first safety critical power rail) corresponds with one of the busbars (Berels, fig. 2, element 116a and 116b and ¶ 0011; each of the vehicle batteries 114 are electrically connected to multiple vehicle power distribution buses 116) experiencing an open circuit condition.
Regarding claim 17, Gauthier discloses wherein: the disconnect event corresponds with one of the LV outputs experiencing an open circuit condition (Gauthier, claim 4; wherein said first set of lights receives power from said first battery when said second circuit detects said fault corresponding to said second safety critical power rail, and wherein said second set of lights receives power from said second battery when said first circuit detects said fault corresponding to said first safety critical power rail).
Regarding claim 18, Gauthier teaches an electrical power system (¶ 0020; vehicle system) for a vehicle having a traction motor (¶ 0021; the traction motor(s) 110) and a plurality of electrical grids (¶ 0021 and fig. 1, elements 113/115; power rails), comprising:
a rechargeable energy storage system (RESS) (fig. 1, element 101) having a high voltage (HV) interface (connection between element 101 and element 109) configured for exchanging HV power with the traction motor (¶ 0021; HV source 101 is
coupled to a first power rail 107 via a DC/DC converter 109. First power rail 107 is a general-purpose rail that provides power for the traction motor(s) 110) and
a low voltage (LV) interface (connected with LV battery 103 and LV battery 105) configured for exchanging LV power with the electrical grids (fig. 1, elements 113, 115),
each include a LV bus (Gauthier, fig. 1, element 113; power rail) configured for distributing the LV power (Gauthier, from low voltage power source 103) to one or more loads (fig. 1, elements 137, 139);
a redundant distribution system (¶ 0020; the vehicle system described herein provides a redundant power distribution system) having a plurality of safety switches (117, 119) arranged in a redundant configuration characterized by each of the LV buses (113, 115) being independently connectable to the LV interface (interface of the LV battery) via two or more of the wires (as shown above) such that each of the electrical grids (113, 115) remains operable and connected to the LV interface during a disconnect event whereby one of the wires experiences an open circuit condition (claim 4; the power distribution system wherein said first set of lights receives power from said first battery when said second circuit detects said fault corresponding to said second safety critical power rail, and wherein said second set of lights receives power from said second battery when said first circuit detects said fault corresponding to said first safety critical power rail).
Gauthier does not disclose a redundant distribution system further includes a plurality of busbars configured for redundantly connecting the electrical grids.
However, Berels further discloses a vehicle system includes multiple DC-DC converter circuits, vehicle batteries, and vehicle power distribution buses (busbars) in abstract. Each vehicle power distribution bus 116 overload protection circuit 132 may monitor the collective current drawn by all vehicle loads 110 connected to the output terminals 128 of the respective vehicle power distribution bus 116, compare the current draw to the predetermined threshold, and shut off (e.g., disconnect) the output terminals 128 if the current draw exceeds the predetermined threshold. When power provided to the first power supply input 130 fails, the vehicle load 110 may use the electrical power provided to the second power supply input 130 to continue operating in ¶¶ 0019-0020.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gauthier to incorporate with the teaching of Berels by including vehicle power distribution buses in the system, because it would be advantageous to tolerate certain failures and the power supply allows the vehicle to fulfil certain safety critical functionalities.
Regarding claim 19, Gauthier in view of Berels teaches the electrical power system further comprising:
a plurality of aggregating units (Gauthier, fig. 1, elements 117, 119) having a plurality of unit inputs Gauthier: one input from the power rail, such as element 113; receiving input signal from ECU1, 141) commonly connectable (indirectly) to a unit output (Gauthier, see fig. 1),
wherein the aggregating units (Gauthier, 117, 119) each include the unit output connected to one of the LV buses of the electrical grids (Gauthier, 113/115) and the unit inputs separately connected (separately and indirectly connected) to one of the two or more of the busbars connectable thereto (Berels, ¶¶ 0019-0020; vehicle power distribution buses).
Regarding claim 20, Gauthier teaches an electrical power system (¶ 0020; vehicle system), comprising:
a rechargeable energy storage system (RESS) (fig. 1, element 101) having a high voltage (HV) interface (connection between element 101 and element 109) configured for exchanging HV power with one or more loads (¶ 0021; HV source 101 is
coupled to a first power rail 107 via a DC/DC converter 109. First power rail 107 is a general-purpose rail that provides power for the traction motor(s) 110) and a low voltage (LV) interface (connected with LV battery 103 and LV battery 105) configured for exchanging LV power with a plurality of electrical grids (fig. 1, elements 113, 115); and
a redundant distribution system (¶ 0020; the vehicle system described herein provides a redundant power distribution system) having a plurality of safety switches (117, 119) configured for redundantly connecting the electrical grids (113, 115) with the LV interface such that each of the electrical grids remains operable and connected to the LV interface during a disconnect event (claim 4; the power distribution system wherein said first set of lights receives power from said first battery when said second circuit detects said fault corresponding to said second safety critical power rail, and wherein said second set of lights receives power from said second battery when said first circuit detects said fault corresponding to said first safety critical power rail).
Gauthier does not disclose a redundant distribution system further includes a plurality of busbars configured for redundantly connecting the electrical grids.
However, Berels further discloses a vehicle system includes multiple DC-DC converter circuits, vehicle batteries, and vehicle power distribution buses (busbars) in abstract. Each vehicle power distribution bus 116 overload protection circuit 132 may monitor the collective current drawn by all vehicle loads 110 connected to the output terminals 128 of the respective vehicle power distribution bus 116, compare the current draw to the predetermined threshold, and shut off (e.g., disconnect) the output terminals 128 if the current draw exceeds the predetermined threshold. When power provided to the first power supply input 130 fails, the vehicle load 110 may use the electrical power provided to the second power supply input 130 to continue operating in ¶¶ 0019-0020.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gauthier to incorporate with the teaching of Berels by including vehicle power distribution buses in the system, because it would be advantageous to tolerate certain failures and the power supply allows the vehicle to fulfil certain safety critical functionalities.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 11, Gauthier in view of Berels fails to teach or suggest further inclusion of wherein: the LV outputs of a primary side of a first plurality of the power converters each include a first LV output and a second plurality of the power converters each include a second LV output, and the LV outputs of a secondary side of a third plurality of the power converters each include a third LV output and a fourth plurality of the power converters each include a fourth LV output; and the busbars include a first busbar, a second busbar, a third busbar, and a fourth busbar, wherein: the first busbar connects to each of the first LV outputs and the second secondary input; the second busbar connects to each of the second LV outputs and the second primary input; the third busbar connects to each of the third LV outputs and the first secondary input; and the fourth busbar connects to each of the fourth LV outputs and the first primary input.
Regarding claim 12, Gauthier in view of Berels fails to teach or suggest further inclusion of wherein: the electrical grids include a first grid and a second grid; and the aggregating units include a first unit and a second unit, wherein: the unit inputs of the first unit include a first primary input, a first secondary input, and a first tertiary input; the unit output of the first unit connects to the first grid; the unit inputs of the second unit include a second primary input, a second secondary input, and a second tertiary input; and the unit output of the second unit connects to the second grid; the LV outputs of a primary side of the power converters each include a first LV output and a second LV output, and the LV outputs of a secondary side of the power converters each include a third LV output and a fourth LV output; and the busbars include a first busbar, a second busbar, a third busbar, a fourth busbar, and a fifth busbar, wherein: the first busbar connects to each of the first LV outputs and the second primary input; the second busbar connects to each of the second LV outputs and the second secondary input; the third busbar connects to each of the third LV outputs and the first secondary input; the fourth busbar connects to each of the fourth LV outputs and the first primary input; and the fifth busbar connects to the first tertiary input and the second tertiary input.
Conclusion
/ZIXUAN ZHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859 06/25/2026