DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-4, 6-10, 12 and 13 are pending. Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s amendments to claims 1, 4, 6, 7, 10 and 13 and the cancelation of claims 5 and 11.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4, 6-10, 12 and 13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 5/27/25. These drawings are not acceptable to Examiner. See the drawing objections set forth below.
The drawings are objected to because:
Figure 13 – the second clip is not shown as described in paragraph 34 of the specification.
Figure 13 – the multiple o-rings look like a singular o-ring at 608.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph 34 – the second clip is not shown in Figure 13 as described in paragraph 34 of the specification.
Correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Lines 5 and 7 – add --at least one-- between “the” and “o-ring”.
Correction is required.
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: it is not clear what changes were made to claim 6 which has a claim status identifier “(Currently amended)”. It does not appear that any changes were made to claim 6.
Correction is required.
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Lines 7 and 8 - add --at least one-- between “the” and “o-ring”.
Line 8 – add a comma before “the spigot indentation”.
Correction is required.
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 1 – add --two-- before “o-rings”.
Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Crompton et al U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0138738 A1.
With regard to claim 1, and as shown in Figures 7-8, Crompton et al disclose a connector assembly comprising:
a first tube (at 10);
a bellows tube (at 50), the bellows tube having a cup (see below) at a distal end of the bellows tube;
at least one o-ring (at 42), the o-ring disposed around an outer circumference of the first tube, the first tube having an indentation (see below) around said outer circumference of the first tube, the indentation configured to hold the o-ring in place; and
the cup positioned over the first tube and the at least one o-ring wherein the at least one o-ring seals and/or locks the bellows tube to the first tube (as shown in Fig 8).
With regard to claim 4, and as shown in Figures 7-8, Crompton et al disclose wherein two o-rings (at 42, 42) are provided to lock and/or seal the connector assembly.
With regard to claim 6, and as shown in Figures 7-8, Crompton et al disclose wherein a plurality of o-rings (at 42, 42) are provided to lock and/or seal the connector assembly.
Claim(s) 1-3 and 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ishida et al U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0052314 A1.
With regard to claim 1, and as shown in Figures 1 and 3, Ishida et al disclose a connector assembly comprising:
a first tube (20);
a bellows tube (at 30 – paragraph 45, lines 1-4 and 16-21), the bellows tube having a cup (see below) at a distal end of the bellows tube;
at least one o-ring (at 50), the o-ring disposed around an outer circumference of the first tube (at 20), the first tube having an indentation (see below) around said outer circumference of the first tube, the indentation configured to hold the o-ring in place; and
the cup positioned over the first tube and the at least one o-ring wherein the at least one o-ring seals and/or locks the bellows tube to the first tube (as shown in Fig 3).
With regard to claim 2, and as shown in Figure 3, Ishida et al disclose wherein a heat shield (at 40) is positioned around the first tube (at 20) and adjacent to the at least one o-ring (at 50).
With regard to claim 3, and as shown in Figure 3, Ishida et al disclose wherein a spacer (at 40) is provided around the first tube (at 20) and adjacent to the at least one o-ring (at 50).
With regard to claim 7, and as shown in Figures 1 and 3, Ishida et al disclose a connector assembly comprising:
a spigot (at 20), the spigot having a spigot indentation (see above) around an outer circumference of the spigot;
a bellows tube (at 30 – paragraph 45, lines 1-4 and 16-21), the bellows tube having a cup (see above) at a distal end of the bellows tube, the cup having a cup indentation (see above) on an inner surface of the cup, the cup indentation extending around an inner circumference of the cup (as shown in Fig 3);
at least one o-ring (at 50), the o-ring disposed around the outer circumference of the spigot the spigot indentation and the cup indentation configured to hold the o-ring in place (as shown in Fig 3); and
the cup positioned over the spigot and the at least one o-ring wherein the at least one o-ring seals and/or locks the bellows tube to the spigot (as shown in Fig 3).
With regard to claim 8, and as shown in Figure 3, Ishida et al disclose wherein a heat shield (at 40) is positioned around the spigot (at 20) and adjacent to the at least one o-ring (at 50).
With regard to claim 9, and as shown in Figure 3, Ishida et al disclose wherein a spacer (at 40) is provided around the spigot (at 20) and adjacent to the at least one o-ring (at 50).
Claim(s) 1, 7 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liao Chinese Patent No. CN 114754204A.
With regard to claim 1, and as shown in Figure 3, Liao discloses a connector assembly comprising:
a first tube (at 1);
a bellows tube (at 2), the bellows tube having a cup (see below) at a distal end of the bellows tube;
at least one o-ring (at 4), the o-ring disposed around an outer circumference of the first tube, the first tube having an indentation (see below) around said outer circumference of the first tube, the indentation configured to hold the o-ring in place; and
the cup positioned over the first tube and the at least one o-ring wherein the at least one o-ring seals and/or locks the bellows tube to the first tube (as shown in Figure 3).
With regard to claim 7, and as shown in Figure 3, Liao discloses a connector assembly comprising:
a spigot (at 1), the spigot having a spigot indentation (see above) around an outer circumference of the spigot;
a bellows tube (at 2), the bellows tube having a cup (see above) at a distal end of the bellows tube, the cup having a cup indentation (see above) on an inner surface of the cup, the cup indentation extending around an inner circumference of the cup;
at least one o-ring (at 4), the o-ring disposed around the outer circumference of the spigot the spigot indentation and the cup indentation configured to hold the o-ring in place; and
the cup positioned over the spigot and the at least one o-ring wherein the at least one o-ring seals and/or locks the bellows tube to the spigot (as shown in Fig 3).
With regard to claim 13, and as shown in Figure 3, Liao discloses wherein a retaining clip (at 3) is provided around the connector assembly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 6, 10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishida et al.
With regard to claim 4, Ishida et al disclose the claimed invention but do not disclose that two o-rings are provided to lock and/or seal the connector assembly.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided two o-rings with a reasonable expectation of success to have a backup in the event of a seal failure, to provide additional sealing security and because duplicating the components of a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
With regard to claim 6, Ishida et al disclose the claimed invention but do not disclose that a plurality of o-rings are provided to lock and/or seal the connector assembly.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a plurality of o-rings with a reasonable expectation of success to have a backup in the event of a seal failure, to provide additional sealing security and because duplicating the components of a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
With regard to claim 10, Ishida et al disclose the claimed invention but do not disclose that o-rings are provided to lock and/or seal the connector assembly.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided two o-rings with a reasonable expectation of success to have a backup in the event of a seal failure, to provide additional sealing security and because duplicating the components of a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
With regard to claim 12, Ishida et al disclose the claimed invention but do not disclose that a plurality of o-rings are provided to lock and/or seal the connector assembly.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a plurality of o-rings with a reasonable expectation of success to have a backup in the event of a seal failure, to provide additional sealing security and because duplicating the components of a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied are examples of connector assemblies with generally a first tube, a bellows tube and at least one o-ring.
Applicant's amendment of at least claim 1 necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/F.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3679
/ZACHARY T DRAGICEVICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679