DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 8, and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 6, “selectively sliding of each said adjustable rail” should say “selectively sliding each of said adjustable arms”
Claim 8, line 6, “selectively sliding of each said adjustable rail” should say “selectively sliding each of said adjustable arms”
Claim 13, line 6, “selectively sliding of each said adjustable rail” should say “selectively sliding each of said adjustable arms”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (CN 110182028 A) in view of Ballentine (US 20210194418 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yu discloses a vehicle solar panel charging system (solar photovoltaic top window, figs.1-4) comprising: an adjustable solar panel (photovoltaic window 200, figs.1-4) integrated into a sunroof (roof 100 with window 101, fig.1) of an electric vehicle including a pair of adjustable arms (linkage assemblies 203, fig.1-4) and a pair of corresponding rails (rails 102 and 103, figs.1-4) positioned in said sunroof; wherein said adjustable arms slidable along said corresponding rails (linkage assemblies 203 are slidable along rails 102 and 103, figs.1-4); wherein each said adjustable rail having a corresponding channel along a length of said adjustable rail for selective sliding of each said adjustable rail (rails 102 and 103 have channels for sliding, figs.1-4); wherein said pair of adjustable arms having a first arm (link 203b on one side of the solar window 200, fig.1) including a first top end (top of the link 203b connected to photovoltaic window 200 and hinge 201b, figs.1-4) and a second arm (link 203b on the other side of the solar window 200, fig.1) including a second top end (top of the link 203b connected to photovoltaic window 200 and hinge 201b, figs.1-4); having a pair of pivoting hinges (hinges 201b, figs.1-4) for adjusting an inclination of said vehicular solar panel (figs.1-4). Yu fails to disclose a supporting arm connected between the first arm and the second arm and fastened across a rear surface of the solar panel.
However, Ballentine discloses a supporting arm (beam 150, fig.1) connected between the first arm and the second arm and fastened across a rear surface of the solar panel (beam 150 is connected between arms 170 at bearing apparatus 200 and fastened across the rear of solar panel 190, fig.1).
Yu and Ballentine are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of solar panels. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yu with the support beam and bearing apparatus to connect the arms to solar panels of Ballentine with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have combined prior art elements yielding predictable results of allowing the solar panel to be angled more for better sun absorption as well as having the supporting arm would provide a more stable structure for the solar panel while the vehicle is traveling.
Regarding claim 2, Yu in combination with Ballentine, Yu discloses wherein said solar panel having a plurality of photovoltaic cells (photovoltaic modules 202, fig.2) for absorbing solar energy and converting said absorbed solar energy into electrical energy (photovoltaic modules 202 convert solar radiation into electric energy, fig.2).
Regarding claim 3, Yu in combination with Ballentine, Yu discloses wherein said electrical energy for recharging an electric battery of the electric vehicle (solar cars are driven by solar energy and the solar panel 200 collects sunlight that is stored in a storage battery of the solar car, paragraph under background).
Regarding claim 4, Yu in combination with Ballentine, Yu discloses wherein said vehicular solar panel having dimensions equal to dimensions of said sunroof (photovoltaic top window 200 fills window 101, figs.1-4).
Regarding claim 5, Yu in combination with Ballentine discloses wherein said vehicular solar panel pivotally movable from a first position perpendicular to said rails (Ballentine solar panel 190 have adjustable inclination +/- 60 degrees for a total of 120 degrees via the bearing apparatus 200 on the arms 170, paragraph [0071], figs.1-2, and it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that having the link 203b connected to the photovoltaic window 200 of Yu as seen in figures 1-4 connected in a similar way would allow the window 200 to be perpendicular to the rail, fig.1) to a second position parallel to said rails (Yu; fig.4a the photovoltaic window 200 is parallel to rail).
Regarding claim 6, Yu in combination with Ballentine discloses wherein each of said pair of pivoting hinges rotatable in both clockwise and counterclockwise directions (Ballentine, bearing apparatus 200 has angle inclination of +/- 60 degrees, figs.1-2).
Claim(s) 7-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (CN 110182028 A) in view of Ballentine (US 20210194418 A1) and in further view of Yang (KR 101526558 B1).
Regarding claim 7, Yu in combination with Ballentine discloses the vehicle solar panel charging system of Claim 6, but fail to discloses wherein at least one of said pair of pivoting hinges having inclination markings ranging from zero degrees to 360 degrees and an indication marker indicating said inclination of said vehicular solar panel.
However, Yang discloses inclination markings (time scale 17 and indicating plate 31 with markings, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the inclination markings could be extended to range from 0 to 360 degrees, figs.1-4) and an indication marker indicating said inclination (marker “a” and scale 33, figs.1-4).
Yu and Yang are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of solar panels. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yu with the inclination markings and indication marker of Yang with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have combined prior art elements yielding predictable results of providing a visual representation of the angle of the solar panel allowing the user to manual adjust the angle based on the time of day and direction the vehicle is facing in relation to the sun to allow for the optimum solar absorption.
Regarding claim 8, Yu discloses a vehicle solar panel charging system (solar photovoltaic top window, figs.1-4) comprising: an adjustable solar panel (photovoltaic window 200, figs.1-4) integrated into a sunroof (roof 100 with window 101, fig.1) of an electric vehicle including a pair of adjustable arms (linkage assemblies 203, fig.1-4) and a pair of corresponding rails (rails 102 and 103, figs.1-4) positioned in said sunroof; wherein said adjustable arms slidable along said corresponding rails (linkage assemblies 203 are slidable along rails 102 and 103, figs.1-4); wherein each said adjustable rail having a corresponding channel along a length of said adjustable rail for selective sliding of each said adjustable rail (rails 102 and 103 have channels for sliding, figs.1-4); wherein said pair of adjustable arms having a first arm (link 203b on one side of the solar window 200, fig.1) including a first top end (top of the link 203b connected to photovoltaic window 200 and hinge 201b, figs.1-4) and a second arm (link 203b on the other side of the solar window 200, fig.1) including a second top end (top of the link 203b connected to photovoltaic window 200 and hinge 201b, figs.1-4); having a pair of pivoting hinges (hinges 201b, figs.1-4) for adjusting an inclination of said vehicular solar panel (figs.1-4). Yu fails to disclose a supporting arm connected between the first arm and the second arm and fastened across a rear surface of the solar panel; inclination markings and an indication marker.
However, Ballentine discloses a supporting arm (beam 150, fig.1) connected between the first arm and the second arm and fastened across a rear surface of the solar panel (beam 150 is connected between arms 170 at bearing apparatus 200 and fastened across the rear of solar panel 190, fig.1), and wherein each of said pair of pivoting hinges rotatable in both clockwise and counterclockwise directions (Ballentine, bearing apparatus 200 has angle inclination of +/- 60 degrees, figs.1-2). Yang discloses inclination markings (time scale 17 and indicating plate 31 with markings, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the inclination markings could be extended to range from 0 to 360 degrees, figs.1-4) and an indication marker indicating said inclination (marker “a” and scale 33, figs.1-4).
Yu and Ballentine are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of solar panels. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yu with the support beam and bearing apparatus to connect the arms to solar panels of Ballentine with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have combined prior art elements yielding predictable results of allowing the solar panel to be angled more for better sun absorption as well as having the supporting arm would provide a more stable structure for the solar panel while the vehicle is traveling.
Yu and Yang are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of solar panels. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yu with the inclination markings and indication marker of Yang with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have combined prior art elements yielding predictable results of providing a visual representation of the angle of the solar panel allowing the user to manual adjust the angle based on the time of day and direction the vehicle is facing in relation to the sun to allow for the optimum solar absorption.
Regarding claim 9, Yu in combination with Ballentine and Yang, Yu discloses wherein said solar panel having a plurality of photovoltaic cells (photovoltaic modules 202, fig.2) for absorbing solar energy and converting said absorbed solar energy into electrical energy (photovoltaic modules 202 convert solar radiation into electric energy, fig.2).
Regarding claim 10, Yu in combination with Ballentine and Yang, Yu discloses wherein said electrical energy for recharging an electric battery of the electric vehicle (solar cars are driven by solar energy and the solar panel 200 collects sunlight that is stored in a storage battery of the solar car, paragraph under background).
Regarding claim 11, Yu in combination with Ballentine and Yang, Yu discloses wherein said vehicular solar panel having dimensions equal to dimensions of said sunroof (photovoltaic top window 200 fills window 101, figs.1-4).
Regarding claim 12, Yu in combination with Ballentine and Yang discloses wherein said vehicular solar panel pivotally movable from a first position perpendicular to said rails (Ballentine solar panel 190 have adjustable inclination +/- 60 degrees for a total of 120 degrees via the bearing apparatus 200 on the arms 170, paragraph [0071], figs.1-2, and it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that having the link 203b connected to the photovoltaic window 200 of Yu as seen in figures 1-4 connected in a similar way would allow the window 200 to be perpendicular to the rail, fig.1) to a second position parallel to said rails (Yu; fig.4a the photovoltaic window 200 is parallel to rail).
Claim(s) 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (CN 110182028 A) in view of Ballentine (US 20210194418 A1), Yang (KR 101526558 B1), and in further view of Ward (US-20080100258-A1).
Regarding claim 13, Yu discloses a vehicle solar panel charging system (solar photovoltaic top window, figs.1-4) comprising: an adjustable solar panel (photovoltaic window 200, figs.1-4) integrated into a sunroof (roof 100 with window 101, fig.1) of an electric vehicle including a pair of adjustable arms (linkage assemblies 203, fig.1-4) and a pair of corresponding rails (rails 102 and 103, figs.1-4) positioned in said sunroof; wherein said adjustable arms slidable along said corresponding rails (linkage assemblies 203 are slidable along rails 102 and 103, figs.1-4); wherein each said adjustable rail having a corresponding channel along a length of said adjustable rail for selective sliding of each said adjustable rail (rails 102 and 103 have channels for sliding, figs.1-4); wherein said pair of adjustable arms having a first arm (link 203b on one side of the solar window 200, fig.1) including a first top end (top of the link 203b connected to photovoltaic window 200 and hinge 201b, figs.1-4) and a second arm (link 203b on the other side of the solar window 200, fig.1) including a second top end (top of the link 203b connected to photovoltaic window 200 and hinge 201b, figs.1-4); having a pair of pivoting hinges (hinges 201b, figs.1-4) for adjusting an inclination of said vehicular solar panel (figs.1-4). Yu fails to disclose a supporting arm connected between the first arm and the second arm and fastened across a rear surface of the solar panel; inclination markings and an indication marker.
However, Ballentine discloses a supporting arm (beam 150, fig.1) connected between the first arm and the second arm and fastened across a rear surface of the solar panel (beam 150 is connected between arms 170 at bearing apparatus 200 and fastened across the rear of solar panel 190, fig.1), and wherein each of said pair of pivoting hinges rotatable in both clockwise and counterclockwise directions (Ballentine, bearing apparatus 200 has angle inclination of +/- 60 degrees, figs.1-2). Yang discloses inclination markings (time scale 17 and indicating plate 31 with markings, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the inclination markings could be extended to range from 0 to 360 degrees, figs.1-4) and an indication marker indicating said inclination (marker “a” and scale 33, figs.1-4). Ward discloses a built-in power sensor for measuring solar energy impinging on said vehicular solar panel and autonomously positions said vehicular solar panel for absorbing the maximum solar energy (sung angle sensor 7, figs.1-3, paragraph [0035]).
Yu and Ballentine are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of solar panels. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yu with the support beam and bearing apparatus to connect the arms to solar panels of Ballentine with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have combined prior art elements yielding predictable results of allowing the solar panel to be angled more for better sun absorption as well as having the supporting arm would provide a more stable structure for the solar panel while the vehicle is traveling.
Yu and Yang are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of solar panels. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yu with the inclination markings and indication marker of Yang with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have combined prior art elements yielding predictable results of providing a visual representation of the angle of the solar panel allowing the user to manual adjust the angle based on the time of day and direction the vehicle is facing in relation to the sun to allow for the optimum solar absorption.
Yu and Ward are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of solar panels for vehicles. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yu with the sun angle sensor and controller of Ward with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have combined prior art elements yielding predictable results of optimizing the solar absorption of the solar panel by automatically adjusting the angle of the panel based on the sensor.
Regarding claim 14, Yu in combination with Ballentine, Yang, and Ward discloses wherein said vehicular solar panel connected to an internal battery of the vehicle for recharging the internal battery of the vehicle (Ward, battery of vehicle, paragraph [0034], figs.1-3; Yu, solar cars are driven by solar energy and the solar panel 200 collects sunlight that is stored in a storage battery of the solar car, paragraph under background).
Regarding claim 15, Yu in combination with Ballentine, Yang, and Ward; Ward discloses wherein said vehicular solar panel connected to an ECU of the vehicle for regulating and monitoring electric energy received from said vehicular solar panel (controller 6, figs.1-3, paragraph [0035]).
Regarding claim 16, Yu in combination with Ballentine, Yang, and Ward; Ward discloses wherein said ECU monitors a battery level status of the internal battery of the vehicle and flows said electric energy from said vehicular solar panel to the internal battery of the vehicle (controller 6 controls the solar panel 2 which charges the battery of the vehicle, and controller can be used to monitor charging and battery, paragraphs [0006-0007, 0030-0031 and 0034], figs.1-3).
Regarding claim 17, Yu in combination with Ballentine, Yang, and Ward; Ward discloses wherein said electric energy flows from said vehicular solar panel when the internal battery level is less than 90% of the total battery level of the internal battery of the vehicle (electric energy flows from the solar panel 2 to battery of the vehicle, paragraphs [0006-0007, 0030-0031 and 0034], figs.1-3).
Regarding claim 18, Yu in combination with Ballentine, Yang, and Ward; Yu discloses wherein said solar panel having a plurality of photovoltaic cells (photovoltaic modules 202, fig.2) for absorbing solar energy and converting said absorbed solar energy into electrical energy (photovoltaic modules 202 convert solar radiation into electric energy, fig.2).
Regarding claim 19, Yu in combination with Ballentine, Yang, and Ward; Yu discloses wherein said vehicular solar panel having dimensions equal to dimensions of said sunroof (photovoltaic top window 200 fills window 101, figs.1-4).
Regarding claim 20, Yu in combination with Ballentine, Yang, and Ward discloses wherein said vehicular solar panel pivotally movable from a first position perpendicular to said rails (Ballentine solar panel 190 have adjustable inclination +/- 60 degrees for a total of 120 degrees via the bearing apparatus 200 on the arms 170, paragraph [0071], figs.1-2, and it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that having the link 203b connected to the photovoltaic window 200 of Yu as seen in figures 1-4 connected in a similar way would allow the window 200 to be perpendicular to the rail, fig.1) to a second position parallel to said rails (Yu; fig.4a the photovoltaic window 200 is parallel to rail).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The prior art not relied upon but considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure is included in the 892 form. The art included has features related to claim limitations, the general structural of the invention, teachings, and other analogous art to the invention.
/IAN BRYCE SHELTON/Examiner, Art Unit 3613