DETAILED ACTION
FINAL REJECTION
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Response to Applicant's Remarks: Applicant argues that the claims differentiate that one transformer operates at both frequencies and the other transformer operates at only one of those frequencies, citing the fourth and fifth embodiments of the specification. Applicant notes that during the telephonic interview on April 30, 2026, the Examiner indicated that the claim language was understandable with this clarification.
While the Examiner acknowledges that the intent behind the claims was clarified during the interview to cover two different embodiments (Fig. 11 and Fig. 13), the claim language itself must stand on its own without reliance on external verbal explanations. As noted in the interview summary, simplifying the claim with a direct, smaller sentence to rephrase could have been better. The current phrasing, "a balanced unbalanced transformer circuit on the radio frequency signal of one of the first frequency and the second frequency and not on the radio frequency signal of the other of the first frequency and the second frequency," remains ambiguous on its face. It is not clear from the claim language itself whether both transformers are operating at the same frequency, or which transformer is operating at which of the first and second frequencies. Therefore, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Chung et.al. (“Design of Step-Down Broadband and Low-Loss Ruthroff-Type Baluns Using IPD Technology”, IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON COMPONENTS, PACKAGING AND MANUFACTURING TECHNOLOGY, VOL. 4, NO. 6, JUNE 2014, cited by the applicant).
Fig. 3(b) of Chung annotated by the examiner for ease of reference.
Regarding claim 1, A balanced-unbalanced transformer circuit (1) comprising:
a main line (2) constituted by a first transmission line having a first end and a second end (designated as EP1 and EP2 respectively by the examiner in the annotated Fig. 3(b) of Chung);
a sub-line (3) coupled to (left col., pp. 969) the main line (2), the sub-line being constituted by a second transmission line having a third end and a fourth end (designated as EP3 and EP4 respectively by the examiner in the annotated Fig. 3(b) of Chung);
an unbalanced node (4) to which an unbalanced signal is input and from which the unbalanced signal is output, the unbalanced node being connected to the first end (EP1);
a first balanced node (5) and a second balanced node (6) to which a balanced signal is input and from which the balanced signal is output; and
a first LC resonant circuit (phase compensation line1, can be considered as a LC resonant circuit, see the footnote) connected between the first balanced node (5) and the unbalanced node (4).
wherein the main line (2) and the sub-line (3) are coupled to each other such that a direction from the first end (EP1) toward (from left to right on the plane of the paper) the second end (EP2) of the main line is identical to a direction from the third end (EP3) toward (from left to right on the plane of the paper) the fourth end (EP4) of the sub-line (see Fig. 3(b) of Chung above),
wherein the first balanced node (5) is connected to the first end (EP1), and the second balanced node (6) is connected to the fourth end (EP4), and
wherein the second end (EP2) and the third end (EP3) are connected to a reference potential (ground).
Response to Applicant's Remarks: Applicant argues that Chung’s phase compensation line is merely a transmission line and not an LC resonant circuit. Applicant relies on the LibreTexts reference to assert that a transmission line cannot be replaced by a lumped element.
Applicant’s argument is unpersuasive because the citation of LibreTexts is a selective cut of a longer statement. The full text specifies that "a line cannot be replaced by a lumped element when the line is not a simple two-wire line but rather a more complex structure with multiple conductors or conductive media". As shown in LibreTexts, a segment of uniform transmission line can be explicitly modeled by a circuit with Resistance (R), Inductance (L), Conductance (G), and Capacitance (C).
Furthermore, regular microstrip lines such as Chung's are readily converted to equivalent LC circuits and vice versa for frequency band applications. For low-frequency applications, it might be desirable to use a lumped element equivalent of a microstrip transmission line to save space, and conversely, at very high frequencies, it might be desirable to use microstrip transmission lines to replace lumped element L-C circuits to avoid multiple parasitics. Because Chung’s phase compensation line inherently functions with distributed inductance and capacitance to provide a desired phase shift, it reads on the claimed LC resonant circuit structure. Therefore, the rejection of Claim 1 is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Chung et al. in view of Gunnarsson et. al. (US 2024/0072405 A1, effectively filed on Jan 21, 2021, before the effective filing date of the current application).
Regarding claims 2-3, Chung teaches all limitations of claim 1, however, the transmission line section of Chung, although can be considered as LC-LC2 resonant may not be analogous to a series LC resonant circuit.
In a similar field of endeavor, Gunnarsson teaches in a balanced-unbalanced transformer, connection of series L-C resonators at different section of the main-line and sub-line of the transformer as claimed. balanced-unbalanced transformers typically possess leakage of high-frequency out-of-band signals between distributed baluns. While resonators (see Fig. 2 of Gunnarsson) for semi-lumped baluns mitigate these deficiencies employing series resonances. Resonator can effectively cancel/short-circuits spurious on the resonant frequencies (Gunnarsson: §0033-§0034).
Fig. 2 of GUNNARSSON annotated by the examiner for ease of reference.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use LC series resonators like Gunnarsson or equivalent parallel L-C tank circuits in place of the phase compensation line as marked in the Chung balanced-unbalanced transformer circuit. So that the benefit of spurious suppression as well as phase compensation can be achieved with a proper lumped LC resonator design where it possible to achieve tunability relatively easy. Further per claims 4, 5 and 6, a pluralities of L-C resonators similar to Gunnarsson can be disposed conveniently between the first balanced node and the first end (similar to 8’ of Gunnarsson), between the second balanced node and the fourth end (similar to 8 of Gunnarsson), or between the first end and the unbalanced node (similar to 8’’), wherein the second LC resonant circuit is disposed where the first LC resonant circuit is not disposed, in order to enable for even higher suppression at higher frequencies.
Response to Applicant's Remarks: Applicant argues that Chung and Gunnarsson cannot be combined because Chung’s transmission line provides phase delay, whereas Gunnarsson's LC circuit is used for spurious suppression in a Marchand topology.
This argument is unpersuasive. Gunnarsson teaches the connection of series L-C resonators at different sections of the main-line and sub-line of the transformer. Resonators mitigate deficiencies in balanced-unbalanced transformers by effectively cancelling or short-circuiting spurious signals on the resonant frequencies. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use LC series resonators like Gunnarsson, or equivalent parallel L-C tank circuits, in place of the phase compensation line in the Chung balanced-unbalanced transformer circuit. This modification provides the dual benefits of spurious suppression and phase compensation through a proper lumped LC resonator design where tunability is relatively easy to achieve. Furthermore, pluralities of L-C resonators like Gunnarsson can be conveniently disposed between the balanced nodes and the ends to enable even higher suppression at higher frequencies. Thus, the rejection of Claims 2-6 is maintained.
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Bao et al., (US 2022/0321061 A1, effectively filed on July 11, 2019 earlier than the effective filing date of the current application of November 10, 2022) in view of Chung et al. and further in view of Gunnarsson et. al.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Bao teaches an amplifier circuit (100b, Fig. 2) comprising:
a first balanced-unbalanced transformer circuit (equivalent to a balanced unbalanced transformer, Bao teaches a power divider, 114) configured to transform a first unbalanced signal (single ended signal Pin into a balanced signal, and to output the balanced signal (differential output to enter into two amplifiers Main 102 and Auxiliary 108 respectively);
a differential amplifier (main and auxiliary amplifier) configured to amplify the balanced signal output from the first balanced-unbalanced transformer circuit; and
Fig. 2 of Bao et al. annotated by the examiner for ease of reference.
a second balanced-unbalanced transformer circuit (122a) configured to transform the balanced signal output from the differential amplifier (Main 102 and Auxiliary 108) into a second unbalanced signal (output to Pout 124), wherein one of the first balanced-unbalanced transformer circuit (equivalent to a balanced unbalanced transformer, Bao teaches a power divider, 114) and the second balanced-unbalanced transformer (122a) circuit is the balanced-unbalanced transformer circuit according to Claim 1 (Ruthroff transformer 122a is connected between the output 106 of the main amplifier 102 and the output 112 of one of the auxiliary amplifiers 108, §0032), and is configured to operate on a radio frequency signal of a first frequency and a radio frequency signal of a second frequency (The first Ruthroff transformer 122a transfers a low output impedance of the main amplifier to a higher output impedance and thus provides an upward impedance transformation, §0032. Ruthroff transformer can be utilized for both impedance matching and power combining. Ruthroff transformer realizes ideally a 1 :4 impedance transformation based on a transformer with a turns ratio of 1: 1, which has a wide frequency bandwidth, §0024), and
wherein the other, i.e. the the first balanced-unbalanced transformer circuit (in this instance of Bao) is configured to operate as a balanced unbalanced transformer circuit on the radio frequency signal of one of the first frequency and the second frequency and not on the radio frequency signal of the other of the first frequency and the second frequency.
Bao is not explicit about the Ruthroff transformer has an LC resonator as recited in claims 1 and/or 4. However, Chung in view of Gunnarsson teaches LC resonators at different sections of the Ruthroff transformer for spurious rejection and phase transformation as recited in claims 1 and 4.
Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to replace the output balanced unbalanced transformer of Bao with the Chung-Gunnarsson modified form of Ruthroff transformer (recited in claims 1 and 4) for obvious benefits of spurious rejection and phase transformation in order to accomplish better match and combining transformation necessities of the Doherty amplifier of Bao.
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Lin et al., (US 2021/0194451 A1) in view of Chung et al. and further in view of Gunnarsson et. al.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Lin teaches an amplifier circuit (310, Fig. 7A) comprising:
a first balanced-unbalanced transformer circuit (301) configured to transform a first unbalanced signal (single ended signal Input into a balanced signal, and to output the balanced signal (differential output to enter into two amplifiers 305 and 306 respectively, §0083);
a differential amplifier (305, 306) configured to amplify the balanced signal output from the first balanced-unbalanced transformer circuit; and
Fig. 7A of Lin et al. annotated by the examiner for ease of reference.
a second balanced-unbalanced transformer circuit (302) configured to transform the balanced signal output from the differential amplifier (305, 306) into a second unbalanced signal (Output), wherein none of the first (301) balanced-unbalanced transformer circuit and the second (302) balanced-unbalanced transformer (122a) circuit is the balanced-unbalanced transformer circuit according to Claims 1 and or claim 4 (i.e. Ruthroff transformer with L-C resonators at different sections) and is configured to operate on a radio frequency signal of a first frequency and a radio frequency signal of a second frequency.
Lin is not explicit about the Ruthroff transformer with an LC resonator as recited in claims 1 and/or 4. However, Chung in view of Gunnarsson teaches LC resonators at different sections of the Ruthroff transformer for spurious rejection and phase transformation as recited in claims 1 and 4.
Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to replace the input or output or both balanced unbalanced transformer of Lin with the Chung-Gunnarsson modified form of Ruthroff transformer (recited in claims 1 and 4) for obvious benefits of broad band operation with spurious rejection and phase transformation to accomplish better match and combining transformation necessities of the Push pull amplifier of Lin.
Response to Applicant's Remarks: Applicant argues that neither Bao nor Lin teaches frequency-selective operation where one transformer operates at both frequencies and the other operates at only one, but rather that they operate symmetrically across the same operating bandwidth.
This argument is unpersuasive. Bao teaches an amplifier circuit comprising a first balanced-unbalanced transformer circuit (power divider 114) and a second balanced-unbalanced transformer circuit (Ruthroff transformer 122a). Bao's Ruthroff transformer realizes a 1:4 impedance transformation with a wide frequency bandwidth. Similarly, Lin teaches an amplifier circuit comprising a first balanced-unbalanced transformer circuit (301) and a second balanced-unbalanced transformer circuit (302).
While Bao and Lin may not explicitly detail a Ruthroff transformer with an LC resonator, Chung in view of Gunnarsson teaches LC resonators at different sections of the Ruthroff transformer for spurious rejection and phase transformation. A person of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to replace the input or output balanced-unbalanced transformers of Bao or Lin with the Chung-Gunnarsson modified Ruthroff transformer. This substitution provides the obvious benefits of broadband operation combined with spurious rejection and phase transformation to accomplish the necessary matching and combining transformations for the respective amplifiers. Frequency-dependent selectivity is an inherent result of applying the resonant LC circuits of Gunnarsson within these architectures. Therefore, the rejections of Claims 7 and 8 are maintained.
Conclusion
/HAFIZUR RAHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2843.
1 For most lines the effects due to and dominate because of the relatively low series resistance and shunt conductance. The propagation characteristics of the line are described by its loss-free, or lossless, equivalent line, although in practice some information about or is necessary to determine power
Figure: Transmission line segment: (a) of length; and (b) lumped-element model.
2.2: Transmission Line Theory - Engineering LibreTexts
2 Xiong et al., Development of compact rapid capacitor charging power supply for TMS, IET Power Electronics, IET Power Electron., 2020, Vol. 13 Issue. 12, pp. 2651-2657.