DETAILED ACTION
Accordingly, claims 1 and 16 are amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iannotti et al. (US 20120143267 A1) in view of BOLLINGER (US 20140163564 A1) and further in view of GELAUDE et al. (US 20140236158 A1).
Iannotti discloses a system capable to guiding a glenoid prosthesis that includes a glenoid component, the system comprising: a glenoid guide figs 34-37 that comprises: a guide feature 428; at least three arms 2278 having a first end coupled with the guide feature 428 and a second end disposed away from the guide feature; at least three peripheral pegs 520, each peripheral peg extending from the second end of a corresponding arm and comprising an engagement surface capable to engage a scapula of a patient; and a strut (see modified fig. 34-35 below) extending laterally from the guide feature, the strut comprising a positioning opening (see modified fig. 34-35 below); wherein the positioning opening is capable to provide to be positioned along a supero-inferior axis of the glenoid component when the glenoid guide is being used to guide the glenoid component with respect to the scapula of the patient, wherein the guide feature 428 comprises a tubular element having a lumen figs. 34-37, wherein a position and orientation of the tubular element is capable to control a translational and rotational position of the glenoid component during implantation, wherein the position and orientation of the tubular element capable to provide translational control along an axis, wherein the tubular element is a central tubular element fig. 34-37, wherein the guide is configured so that one or more pins are insertable through the guide to establish one or more axes about which subsequent bone preparation procedures can be carried out, wherein the at least three peripheral pegs comprises four peripheral pegs figs 36-37, wherein three peripheral pegs of the four peripheral pegs is capable to be positioned to engage an anterior border of a glenoid and a fourth peripheral peg of the four peripheral pegs capable to be positioned to engage a supero-posterior border of the glenoid (see modified fig. 36 below), wherein each of the at least three peripheral pegs extends transversely (blue line in modified fig. 35 below) from an axis (red line in modified fig. 35 below) defined by the corresponding arm of the at least three arms (see modified fig. 35 below) such that each arm of the at least three arms is spaced apart from a glenoid when each engagement surface of the at least three peripheral pegs engages the scapula.
Iannotti fails to teach a pin guide configured to engage the guide feature, wherein the pin guide comprises a tapered surface, and wherein the guide feature is tapered to receive the tapered pin guide.
BOLLINGER teaches a pin guide 122, fig. 1 configured to engage the guide feature 124 to provide stability during the insertion of an alignment pin that can define the alignment axis (para. 38) , wherein the pin guide comprises a tapered surface (para. 37), and wherein the guide feature is tapered to receive the tapered pin guide (para. 37). The complementary tapers can ensure appropriate and selected alignment of the bore 124 and the insert bore 126. Thus, the bore 124 and the insert bore 126 can be concentric and coextensive (para. 37).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify the system of Iannotti with a pin guide configured to engage the guide feature, wherein the pin guide comprises a tapered surface, and wherein the guide feature is tapered to receive the tapered pin guide in view of BOLLINGER in order to provide stability during the insertion of an alignment pin that can define the alignment axis and to ensure appropriate and selected alignment of the guide feature and the pin guide bore. Thus, the guide feature and the pin guide bore can be concentric and coextensive.
Iannotti in view of BOLLINGER fail to teach that each peripheral peg extending from the second end of a corresponding arm, extending away from a bone-facing surface of the
corresponding arm, and comprising an engagement surface configured to engage a
scapula of a patient; and wherein a longitudinal direction of each of the at least three peripheral pegs extends substantially orthogonally from an axis defined by the corresponding arm of the at least three arms such that each am of the at least three arms is spaced apart from a glenoid when each engagement surface of the at least three peripheral pegs engages the scapula, and the at least three peripheral pegs have a cross- section that is round.
GELAUDE teaches peripheral pegs 5, figs. 4 extending from the second end of a corresponding arm, extending away from a bone-facing surface of the corresponding arm (see modified fig. 4 A, C below), and comprising an engagement surface (para. 102) configured to engage a scapula of a patient; and wherein a longitudinal direction of each of the peripheral pegs 5 extends substantially orthogonally (fig. 4a, c) from an axis defined by the corresponding arm such that each am is spaced apart from a glenoid when each engagement surface of the peripheral pegs engages the scapula fig. 4a.
GELAUDE also teaches peripheral pegs 7, fig. 1 have a cross- section that is round.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify the pegs of Iannotti in view of BOLLINGER to extending away from a bone-facing surface of the corresponding arm, and wherein a longitudinal direction of each of the peripheral pegs extends substantially orthogonally from an axis defined by the corresponding arm, and to modify the pegs with around shape further in view of GELAUDE in order to enhancing the stability and the support of the pegs in place on the bone.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iannotti in view of BOLLINGER, GELAUDE and further in view of Dross (US 20070005067 A1).
Iannotti in view of BOLLINGER and GELAUDE fail to teach the guide feature comprises two or more lumens having parallel axes.
Dross teaches a guide feature fig. 11 comprises two or more lumens 202 and 216 having parallel axes.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify the guide feature of Iannotti in view of BOLLINGER and GELAUDE with two or more lumens having parallel axes in view of Dross in order to facilitating insertion more than one alignment pin to provide stability.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-16 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of .
Conclusion
/SAMEH R BOLES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775