DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims and Other Notes
Claims 1–7 and 9–21 are pending.
Claim 8 is canceled.
The paragraph numbers cited in this Office Action in reference to the instant application are referring to the paragraph numbering of the PG-Pub of the instant application. See US 2024/0243356 A1.
Specification
Applicants' amendments have overcome the objections to the specification.
Claim Objections
Applicants' amendments have overcome the objections of claim 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Applicants' amendments have overcome the rejections of claims 1–7 and 9–20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph.
Applicants' amendments have overcome the rejections of claims 1–7 and 9–20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1–7 and 9–21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan et al. (US 2018/0226679 A1, hereinafter Pan) in view of Li et al. (Study on properties of gel polymer electrolytes based on ionic liquid and amine-terminated butadiene-acrylonitrile copolymer chemically crosslinked by polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane, hereinafter Li) and Park et al. (Polymer electrolytes integrated with ionic liquids for further electrochemical devices, hereinafter Park).
Regarding claims 1, 9–11, and 14, Pan discloses a lithium gel polymer electrolyte composition comprising
a crosslinked network formed by a cross-linking reaction comprising reacting an inorganic polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane with either a functionalized poly(ethylene glycol), or a functionalized poly(ethylene oxide) (FIG. 1B, [0034]); and
one or more lithium salts (FIG. 1B, [0034]),
wherein the lithium salt is selected from the group consisting of a lithium salt with an anion of bis(trifluoromethane)sulfonamide, hexafluoroarsenate, hexafluorophosphate, perchlorate, tetrafluoroborate, tris(pentafluoroethyl)trifluorophosphate, trifluoromethanesulfonate, bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide, cyclo-difluoromethane-1,1-bis(sulfonyl)imide, cyclo-hexafluoropropane-1,1-bis(sulfonyl)imide, bis(perfluoroethanesulfonyl)imide, bis(oxalate)borate, difluoro(oxalato)borate, dicyanotriazolate, tetracyanoborate, dicyanotriazolate, dicyano-trifluoromethyl-imidazole, and dicyano-pentafluoroethyl-imidazole (FIG. 1B, [0034]).
Pan does not explicitly disclose:
an ionic liquid,
wherein the ionic liquid is present in an amount of from about 1 wt. % to about 90 wt. %, based on a total weight of the lithium gel polymer electrolyte.
wherein the lithium salt is present in an amount of from 50 wt. % to about 90 wt. %, based on a total weight of the lithium gel polymer electrolyte.
Li discloses a lithium gel polymer electrolyte composition comprising a crosslinked network, an ionic liquid, and one or more lithium salts (FIG. 1, P274/C2/L1–17), wherein the ionic liquid is present in an amount of from about 1 wt. % to about 90 wt. %, based on a total weight of the lithium gel polymer electrolyte (FIG. 2, P274/C2/L1–17), and wherein the lithium salt is present in an amount of from 50 wt. % to about 90 wt. %, based on a total weight of the lithium gel polymer electrolyte (FIG. 2, P274/C2/L1–17) to improve the ionic conductivity (FIG. 2,P275/C1/L11–25). Pan and Li are analogous art because they are directed to lithium gel polymer electrolytes. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the lithium gel electrolyte composition of Pan with the ionic liquid of Li in order to improve the ionic conductivity.
Modified Pan does not explicitly disclose:
wherein an overall ionic conductivity is 1 mS·cm-1 or greater at 20° C.
Park discloses a lithium gel polymer electrolyte composition having an overall ionic conductivity is 1 mS·cm-1 or greater at 20° C (FIG. 7, P2372/C2/L1–14) to improve the ionic conductivity and ion transference number (P2372/C2/L23–36). Pan and Park are analogous art because they are directed to lithium gel polymer electrolytes. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the lithium gel polymer electrolyte composition of modified Pan with the ionic liquid and ionic conductivity of Park in order to improve the ionic conductivity and ion transference number.
Regarding claim 2, modified Pan discloses all claim limitations set forth above and further discloses a composition:
wherein the polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane is reacted with the functionalized poly(ethylene glycol) (FIG. 1B, [0034]) and
the functionalized poly(ethylene glycol) is an amine-terminated diterminal functionalized poly(ethylene glycol) (FIG. 1B, [0034]).
Regarding claim 12, modified Pan discloses all claim limitations set forth above and further discloses a composition:
wherein the amine-terminated poly(ethylene glycol), has a number average molecular weight of from about 2,000 g/mol to about 6,000 g/mol (FIG. 1B, [0034]).
Regarding claim 3, modified Pan discloses all claim limitations set forth above and further discloses a composition:
wherein the polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane is reacted with the functionalized poly(ethylene oxide) (FIG. 1B, [0034]) and
the functionalized poly(ethylene oxide) is an amine-terminated diterminal functionalized (polyethylene oxide) (FIG. 1B, [0034]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Pan discloses all claim limitations set forth above and further discloses a composition:
wherein the inorganic polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane has a structure:
(FIG. 1B, [0034])
wherein each R group is independently selected from the group consisting of hydrogen, hydrocarbyl, reactive functional groups and functionalized hydrocarbyl groups (FIG. 1B, [0034]) and
at least one of the R groups contains a functional group suitable for the cross-linking reaction (FIG. 1B, [0034]).
Regarding claim 5, modified Pan discloses all claim limitations set forth above and further discloses a composition:
wherein the inorganic polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane is selected from the group consisting of octakis(3-glycidyloxypropyldimethylsiloxy)octasilsesquioxane, epoxycyclohexylethyl polysilsesquioxane, glycidyl polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane, and octa epoxycyclohexyldimethylsilyl polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane (FIG. 1B, [0034]).
Regarding claim 6, modified Pan discloses all claim limitations set forth above and further discloses a composition:
where the inorganic polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane is reacted with the functionalized poly(ethylene glycol) in a molar ratio of from about 1:100 to about 10:1 (FIG. 1C, [0020]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Pan discloses all claim limitations set forth above and further discloses a composition:
wherein the inorganic polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane is reacted with functionalized poly(ethylene glycol) in a molar ratio of from about 1:4 to about 1:2 (FIG. 1C, [0020]).
Regarding claim 13, modified Pan discloses all claim limitations set forth above and further discloses a composition further comprising:
a solvent is selected from the group consisting of tetrahydrofuran, diethyl ether, acetonitrile, ethyl acetate, and methyl acetate (FIG. 1B, [0020]).
Regarding claim 15, Pan discloses a battery comprising a lithium gel polymer electrolyte and a metal anode (FIG. 4A, [0026]), wherein the lithium gel polymer electrolyte comprises:
a crosslinked network formed by a cross-linking reaction comprising reacting an inorganic polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane with either a functionalized poly(ethylene glycol), or a functionalized poly(ethylene oxide) (FIG. 1B, [0034]); and
one or more lithium salts (FIG. 1B, [0034]).
Pan does not explicitly disclose:
an ionic liquid.
Li discloses a lithium gel polymer electrolyte composition comprising a crosslinked network, an ionic liquid, and one or more lithium salts to improve the ionic conductivity (FIG. 2,P275/C1/L11–25). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the lithium gel electrolyte composition of Pan with the ionic liquid of Li in order to improve the ionic conductivity.
Modified Pan does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the ionic liquid is selected from N-methyl-N-propylpyrrolidinium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide, 1-ethyl-3-methylimidazolium tetrafluoroborate, and 1-butylpyridinium tetrafluoroborate.
Park discloses a lithium gel polymer electrolyte composition comprising an ionic liquid is selected from N-methyl-N-propylpyrrolidinium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide, 1-ethyl-3-methylimidazolium tetrafluoroborate, and 1-butylpyridinium tetrafluoroborate (FIG. 4, P2368/C2/L1–15) to improve the ionic conductivity and ion transference number (P2372/C2/L23–36). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the lithium gel polymer electrolyte composition of modified Pan with the ionic liquid and ionic conductivity of Park in order to improve the ionic conductivity and ion transference number.
Regarding claim 16, modified Pan discloses all claim limitations set forth above and further discloses a lithium battery:
wherein the battery delivers stable cycling performance over 6800 hours at a current density of 0.1 mA·cm-2 and a charge-discharge cycle takes a total of about 3 hours, or the battery delivers a stable cycling performance over at least 2250 charge-discharge steps, at a current density of 0.1 mA·cm-2 (FIG. 3B, [0024]), and
wherein stable cycling performance means having a repeatable voltage profile with no insubstantial noise attributable to pulverization, delamination, corrosion, or other side reactions and one cycle equals 1 charge plus 1 discharge (FIG. 3B, [0024]).
Regarding claim 17, modified Pan discloses all claim limitations set forth above and further discloses a lithium battery:
wherein the metal anode is lithium (FIG. 4A, [0026]).
Regarding claim 18, process of preparing a lithium gel polymer electrolyte comprising a crosslinked network formed by a cross-linking reaction comprising reacting an inorganic polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane with either a functionalized poly(ethylene glycol), or a functionalized poly(ethylene oxide) (FIG. 1B, [0034]); and one or more lithium salts (FIG. 1B, [0034]), wherein the process comprises:
reacting the inorganic polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane with the functionalized poly(ethylene glycol) or the functionalized poly(ethylene oxide) to form the crosslinked network in a single-step polymerization process in the presence of one or more lithium salts (FIG. 1B, [0020]).
Pan does not explicitly disclose:
reacting the inorganic polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane to form the crosslinked network in a single-step polymerization process in the presence of an ionic liquid, and one or more lithium salts.
Li discloses preparing a lithium gel polymer electrolyte by reacting the inorganic polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane to form the crosslinked network in a single-step polymerization process in the presence of an ionic liquid, and one or more lithium salts (FIG. 1, P274/C2/L1–17) to improve the ionic conductivity (FIG. 2,P275/C1/L11–25). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the lithium gel electrolyte composition of Pan with the ionic liquid of Li in order to improve the ionic conductivity.
Modified Pan does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the ionic liquid is selected from N-methyl-N-propylpyrrolidinium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide, 1-ethyl-3-methylimidazolium tetrafluoroborate, and 1-butylpyridinium tetrafluoroborate.
Park discloses a lithium gel polymer electrolyte composition comprising an ionic liquid is selected from N-methyl-N-propylpyrrolidinium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide, 1-ethyl-3-methylimidazolium tetrafluoroborate, and 1-butylpyridinium tetrafluoroborate (FIG. 4, P2368/C2/L1–15) to improve the ionic conductivity and ion transference number (P2372/C2/L23–36). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the lithium gel polymer electrolyte composition of modified Pan with the ionic liquid and ionic conductivity of Park in order to improve the ionic conductivity and ion transference number.
Regarding claim 19, modified Pan discloses all claim limitations set forth above and further discloses a process:
wherein the polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane is reacted with the functionalized poly(ethylene glycol) (FIG. 1B, [0034]) and
the functionalized poly(ethylene glycol) is an amine-terminated diterminal functionalized poly(ethylene glycol) (FIG. 1B, [0034]).
Regarding claim 20, modified Pan discloses all claim limitations set forth above and further discloses a process:
wherein the polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane is reacted with the functionalized poly(ethylene oxide) (FIG. 1B, [0034]) and
the functionalized poly(ethylene oxide) is an amine-terminated diterminal functionalized (polyethylene oxide) (FIG. 1B, [0034]).
Regarding claim 21, Pan discloses a lithium gel polymer electrolyte composition comprising
a crosslinked network formed by a cross-linking reaction comprising reacting an inorganic polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane with either a functionalized poly(ethylene glycol), or a functionalized poly(ethylene oxide) (FIG. 1B, [0034]); and
one or more lithium salts (FIG. 1B, [0034]).
Pan does not explicitly disclose:
an ionic liquid.
Li discloses a lithium gel polymer electrolyte composition comprising a crosslinked network and an ionic liquid (FIG. 1, P274/C2/L1–17) to improve the ionic conductivity (FIG. 2,P275/C1/L11–25). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the lithium gel electrolyte composition of Pan with the ionic liquid of Li in order to improve the ionic conductivity.
Modified Pan does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the ionic liquid is selected from 1-ethyl-3-methylimidazolium tetrafluoroborate, and 1-butylpyridinium tetrafluoroborate.
Park discloses a lithium gel polymer electrolyte composition comprising an ionic liquid is selected from N-methyl-N-propylpyrrolidinium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide, 1-ethyl-3-methylimidazolium tetrafluoroborate, and 1-butylpyridinium tetrafluoroborate (FIG. 4, P2368/C2/L1–15) to improve the ionic conductivity and ion transference number (P2372/C2/L23–36). Pan and Park are analogous art because they are directed to lithium gel polymer electrolytes. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the lithium gel polymer electrolyte composition of modified Pan with the ionic liquid and ionic conductivity of Park in order to improve the ionic conductivity and ion transference number.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 13 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argue the Office cannot rely on Li (Dendrite-free, wide temperature range lithium metal batteries enabled by hybrid network ionic liquids) to reject the present application (P3/¶2). The current 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection of all claims uses Li (Study on properties of gel polymer electrolytes based on ionic liquid and amine-terminated butadiene-acrylonitrile copolymer chemically crosslinked by polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane). Li (Study on properties of gel polymer electrolytes based on ionic liquid and amine-terminated butadiene-acrylonitrile copolymer chemically crosslinked by polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane) was published on 30 March 2012. The publication date of Li (Study on properties of gel polymer electrolytes based on ionic liquid and amine-terminated butadiene-acrylonitrile copolymer chemically crosslinked by polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane) is prior to the filing date of U.S. provisional application 63/018,772. Therefore, the Office can rely on Li (Study on properties of gel polymer electrolytes based on ionic liquid and amine-terminated butadiene-acrylonitrile copolymer chemically crosslinked by polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane) to reject the present application.
Applicants argue Park is non-analogous to Pan (P4/¶2). It has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, the instant application, Pan (see abstract), and Park (see abstract) are directed to polymer electrolytes. Therefore, Park is analogous to Pan.
Applicants argue a skilled person would not consult Pan in relation to the present invention since it relates to a different type of electrolyte nor would a skilled person combine Pan with Park et al. since they relate to different types of electrolytes (P4/¶2). It has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor's endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, the instant application, Pan (see abstract), and Park (see abstract) are directed to polymer electrolytes. Therefore, a skilled person would consult Pan in relation to the present invention since it relates to polymer electrolytes and combine Pan with Park since they relate to polymer electrolytes.
Applicants argue a skilled person would not add an ionic liquid to the solid polymer electrolyte of Pan since solid polymer electrolytes do not contain any liquid components (P4/¶4).
It is noted that "the arguments of counsel cannot take the place of evidence in the record", In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965). It is the examiner’s position that the arguments provided by the applicant regarding solid polymer electrolytes do not contain any liquid components must be supported by a declaration or affidavit. As set forth in MPEP 716.02(g), "the reason for requiring evidence in a declaration or affidavit form is to obtain the assurances that any statements or representations made are correct, as provided by 35 U.S.C. 24 and 18 U.S.C. 1001." Pan discloses liquids are used in the manufacture of the polymer electrolyte (see THF, [0041]). Therefore, Pan does not disclose the solid polymer electrolytes does not contain any liquid component.
Applicants argue the Office does not rely on Park as disclosing that "the lithium salt is present in an amount of from 50 wt% to about 90 wt%, based on a total weight of the lithium gel polymer electrolyte" a feature that the Office has conceded is missing from Pan (P4/¶5). Li discloses a lithium gel polymer electrolyte composition comprising a crosslinked network, an ionic liquid, and one or more lithium salts (FIG. 1, P274/C2/L1–17), wherein the ionic liquid is present in an amount of from about 1 wt. % to about 90 wt. %, based on a total weight of the lithium gel polymer electrolyte (FIG. 2, P274/C2/L1–17), and wherein the lithium salt is present in an amount of from 50 wt. % to about 90 wt. %, based on a total weight of the lithium gel polymer electrolyte (FIG. 2, P274/C2/L1–17) to improve the ionic conductivity (FIG. 2,P275/C1/L11–25). Therefore, the combination of references disclose "the lithium salt is present in an amount of from 50 wt% to about 90 wt%, based on a total weight of the lithium gel polymer electrolyte."
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Long (Polymer electrolytes for lithium polymer batteries) discloses gel polymer electrolytes and solid polymer electrolytes are both considered polymer electrolytes in the field of lithium polymer batteries (abstract).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Sean P Cullen, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725