DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims and Other Notes
Claims 1–7 and 9–21 are pending.
Claim 8 is canceled.
The paragraph numbers cited in this Office Action in reference to the instant application are referring to the paragraph numbering of the PG-Pub of the instant application. See US 2024/0243356 A1.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08 November 2023 was filed before the mailing of a first Office Action on the merits. The submission complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 08 November 2023. These drawings are acceptable.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: GEL POLYMER ELECTROLYTE INCLUDING CROSSLINKED NETWORK OF POSS AND PEG, IONIC LIQUID, AND LITHIUM SALT, LITHIUM BATTERY INCLUDING THE SAME, AND PROCESS OF PREPARING THE SAME.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Propylpyrrolidinium is misspelled as "propylpyrolidinium" in paragraph [0095].
Appropriate correction is required.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 1 be found allowable, claim 21 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1–20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "an ionic liquid selected from the group consisting of 1-ethyl-3-methylimidazolium tetrafluoroborate and 1-buylpyridinium tetrafluoroborate." Emphasis added. Applicants have indicated that this limitation is supported by original claim 8. Claim 8 recited the limitation "wherein the ionic liquid is selected from N-methyl-N-propylpyrolidinium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide, 1-ethyl-3-methylimidazolium tetrafluoroborate, and 1-butylpyridinium tetrafluoroborate." 1-buylpyridinium is not a proper chemical name and is not described in the original disclosure. Therefore, claim 1 contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 2–7 and 9–14 are directly or indirectly dependent from claim 1 and include all the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claims 2–7 and 9–14 are contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the composition of claim 14" and includes all the limitations of claim 14. Therefore, claim 15 also contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 16 and 17 are directly dependent from claim 15 and include all the limitations of claim 15. Therefore, claims 16 and 17 also contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the lithium gel polymer electrolyte of claim 1" and includes all the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claim 18 also contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 19 and 20 are directly dependent from claim 18 and include all the limitations of claim 18. Therefore, claims 19 and 20 also contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1–20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "an ionic liquid selected from the group consisting of 1-ethyl-3-methylimidazolium tetrafluoroborate and 1-buylpyridinium tetrafluoroborate." Emphasis added. 1-buylpyridinium is not a proper chemical name and is not described in the original disclosure. It is unclear what molecule is represented by 1-buylpyridinium.
Claims 2–7 and 9–14 are directly or indirectly dependent from claim 1 and include all the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claims 2–7 and 9–14 are also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the composition of claim 14" and includes all the limitations of claim 14. Therefore, claim 15 is also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 16 and 17 are directly dependent from claim 15 and include all the limitations of claim 15. Therefore, claims 16 and 17 are also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the lithium gel polymer electrolyte of claim 1" and includes all the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claim 18 is also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 19 and 20 are directly dependent from claim 18 and include all the limitations of claim 18. Therefore, claims 19 and 20 are also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1–7 and 9–21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan.
Regarding claims 1, 9–11, 14, and 21, Pan discloses a lithium gel polymer electrolyte composition comprising
a crosslinked network formed by a cross-linking reaction comprising reacting an inorganic polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane with either a functionalized poly(ethylene glycol), or a functionalized poly(ethylene oxide) (FIG. 1B, [0034]); and
one or more lithium salts (FIG. 1B, [0034]),
wherein the lithium salt is selected from the group consisting of a lithium salt with an anion of bis(trifluoromethane)sulfonamide, hexafluoroarsenate, hexafluorophosphate, perchlorate, tetrafluoroborate, tris(pentafluoroethyl)trifluorophosphate, trifluoromethanesulfonate, bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide, cyclo-difluoromethane-1,1-bis(sulfonyl)imide, cyclo-hexafluoropropane-1,1-bis(sulfonyl)imide, bis(perfluoroethanesulfonyl)imide, bis(oxalate)borate, difluoro(oxalato)borate, dicyanotriazolate, tetracyanoborate, dicyanotriazolate, dicyano-trifluoromethyl-imidazole, and dicyano-pentafluoroethyl-imidazole (FIG. 1B, [0034]).
Pan does not explicitly disclose:
an ionic liquid,
wherein the ionic liquid is present in an amount of from about 1 wt. % to about 90 wt. %, based on a total weight of the lithium gel polymer electrolyte.
wherein the lithium salt is present in an amount of from 50 wt. % to about 90 wt. %, based on a total weight of the lithium gel polymer electrolyte.
Li discloses a lithium gel polymer electrolyte composition comprising a crosslinked network, an ionic liquid, and one or more lithium salts (FIG. 1, P274/C2/L1–17), wherein the ionic liquid is present in an amount of from about 1 wt. % to about 90 wt. %, based on a total weight of the lithium gel polymer electrolyte (FIG. 2, P274/C2/L1–17), and wherein the lithium salt is present in an amount of from 50 wt. % to about 90 wt. %, based on a total weight of the lithium gel polymer electrolyte (FIG. 2, P274/C2/L1–17) to improve the ionic conductivity (FIG. 2,P275/C1/L11–25). Pan and Li are analogous art because they are directed to lithium gel polymer electrolytes. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the lithium gel electrolyte composition of Pan with the ionic liquid of Li in order to improve the ionic conductivity.
Modified Pan does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the ionic liquid is selected from 1-ethyl-3-methylimidazolium tetrafluoroborate, and 1-butylpyridinium tetrafluoroborate; and
wherein an overall ionic conductivity is 1 mS·cm-1 or greater at 20° C.
Park discloses a lithium gel polymer electrolyte composition comprising an ionic liquid is selected from N-methyl-N-propylpyrrolidinium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide, 1-ethyl-3-methylimidazolium tetrafluoroborate, and 1-butylpyridinium tetrafluoroborate (FIG. 4, P2368/C2/L1–15); and wherein an overall ionic conductivity is 1 mS·cm-1 or greater at 20° C (FIG. 7, P2372/C2/L1–14) to improve the ionic conductivity and ion transference number (P2372/C2/L23–36). Pan and Park are analogous art because they are directed to lithium gel polymer electrolytes. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the lithium gel polymer electrolyte composition of modified Pan with the ionic liquid and ionic conductivity of Park in order to improve the ionic conductivity and ion transference number.
Regarding claim 2, modified Pan discloses all claim limitations set forth above and further discloses a composition:
wherein the polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane is reacted with the functionalized poly(ethylene glycol) (FIG. 1B, [0034]) and
the functionalized poly(ethylene glycol) is an amine-terminated diterminal functionalized poly(ethylene glycol) (FIG. 1B, [0034]).
Regarding claim 12, modified Pan discloses all claim limitations set forth above and further discloses a composition:
wherein the amine-terminated poly(ethylene glycol), has a number average molecular weight of from about 2,000 g/mol to about 6,000 g/mol (FIG. 1B, [0034]).
Regarding claim 3, modified Pan discloses all claim limitations set forth above and further discloses a composition:
wherein the polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane is reacted with the functionalized poly(ethylene oxide) (FIG. 1B, [0034]) and
the functionalized poly(ethylene oxide) is an amine-terminated diterminal functionalized (polyethylene oxide) (FIG. 1B, [0034]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Pan discloses all claim limitations set forth above and further discloses a composition:
wherein the inorganic polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane has a structure:
(FIG. 1B, [0034])
wherein each R group is independently selected from the group consisting of hydrogen, hydrocarbyl, reactive functional groups and functionalized hydrocarbyl groups (FIG. 1B, [0034]) and
at least one of the R groups contains a functional group suitable for the cross-linking reaction (FIG. 1B, [0034]).
Regarding claim 5, modified Pan discloses all claim limitations set forth above and further discloses a composition:
wherein the inorganic polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane is selected from the group consisting of octakis(3-glycidyloxypropyldimethylsiloxy)octasilsesquioxane, epoxycyclohexylethyl polysilsesquioxane, glycidyl polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane, and octa epoxycyclohexyldimethylsilyl polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane (FIG. 1B, [0034]).
Regarding claim 6, modified Pan discloses all claim limitations set forth above and further discloses a composition:
where the inorganic polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane is reacted with the functionalized poly(ethylene glycol) in a molar ratio of from about 1:100 to about 10:1 (FIG. 1C, [0020]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Pan discloses all claim limitations set forth above and further discloses a composition:
wherein the inorganic polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane is reacted with functionalized poly(ethylene glycol) in a molar ratio of from about 1:4 to about 1:2 (FIG. 1C, [0020]).
Regarding claim 13, modified Pan discloses all claim limitations set forth above and further discloses a composition further comprising:
a solvent is selected from the group consisting of tetrahydrofuran, diethyl ether, acetonitrile, ethyl acetate, and methyl acetate (FIG. 1B, [0020]).
Regarding claim 15, Pan discloses a battery comprising a lithium gel polymer electrolyte and a metal anode (FIG. 4A, [0026]), wherein the lithium gel polymer electrolyte comprises:
a crosslinked network formed by a cross-linking reaction comprising reacting an inorganic polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane with either a functionalized poly(ethylene glycol), or a functionalized poly(ethylene oxide) (FIG. 1B, [0034]); and
one or more lithium salts (FIG. 1B, [0034]).
Pan does not explicitly disclose:
an ionic liquid.
Li discloses a lithium gel polymer electrolyte composition comprising a crosslinked network, an ionic liquid, and one or more lithium salts to improve the ionic conductivity (FIG. 2,P275/C1/L11–25). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the lithium gel electrolyte composition of Pan with the ionic liquid of Li in order to improve the ionic conductivity.
Modified Pan does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the ionic liquid is selected from N-methyl-N-propylpyrrolidinium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide, 1-ethyl-3-methylimidazolium tetrafluoroborate, and 1-butylpyridinium tetrafluoroborate.
Park discloses a lithium gel polymer electrolyte composition comprising an ionic liquid is selected from N-methyl-N-propylpyrrolidinium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide, 1-ethyl-3-methylimidazolium tetrafluoroborate, and 1-butylpyridinium tetrafluoroborate (FIG. 4, P2368/C2/L1–15) to improve the ionic conductivity and ion transference number (P2372/C2/L23–36). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the lithium gel polymer electrolyte composition of modified Pan with the ionic liquid and ionic conductivity of Park in order to improve the ionic conductivity and ion transference number.
Regarding claim 16, modified Pan discloses all claim limitations set forth above and further discloses a lithium battery:
wherein the battery delivers stable cycling performance over 6800 hours at a current density of 0.1 mA·cm-2 and a charge-discharge cycle takes a total of about 3 hours, or the battery delivers a stable cycling performance over at least 2250 charge-discharge steps, at a current density of 0.1 mA·cm-2 (FIG. 3B, [0024]), and
wherein stable cycling performance means having a repeatable voltage profile with no insubstantial noise attributable to pulverization, delamination, corrosion, or other side reactions and one cycle equals 1 charge plus 1 discharge (FIG. 3B, [0024]).
Regarding claim 17, modified Pan discloses all claim limitations set forth above and further discloses a lithium battery:
wherein the metal anode is lithium (FIG. 4A, [0026]).
Regarding claim 18, process of preparing a lithium gel polymer electrolyte comprising a crosslinked network formed by a cross-linking reaction comprising reacting an inorganic polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane with either a functionalized poly(ethylene glycol), or a functionalized poly(ethylene oxide) (FIG. 1B, [0034]); and one or more lithium salts (FIG. 1B, [0034]), wherein the process comprises:
reacting the inorganic polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane with the functionalized poly(ethylene glycol) or the functionalized poly(ethylene oxide) to form the crosslinked network in a single-step polymerization process in the presence of one or more lithium salts (FIG. 1B, [0020]).
Pan does not explicitly disclose:
reacting the inorganic polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane to form the crosslinked network in a single-step polymerization process in the presence of an ionic liquid, and one or more lithium salts.
Li discloses preparing a lithium gel polymer electrolyte by reacting the inorganic polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane to form the crosslinked network in a single-step polymerization process in the presence of an ionic liquid, and one or more lithium salts (FIG. 1, P274/C2/L1–17) to improve the ionic conductivity (FIG. 2,P275/C1/L11–25). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the lithium gel electrolyte composition of Pan with the ionic liquid of Li in order to improve the ionic conductivity.
Modified Pan does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the ionic liquid is selected from N-methyl-N-propylpyrrolidinium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide, 1-ethyl-3-methylimidazolium tetrafluoroborate, and 1-butylpyridinium tetrafluoroborate.
Park discloses a lithium gel polymer electrolyte composition comprising an ionic liquid is selected from N-methyl-N-propylpyrrolidinium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide, 1-ethyl-3-methylimidazolium tetrafluoroborate, and 1-butylpyridinium tetrafluoroborate (FIG. 4, P2368/C2/L1–15) to improve the ionic conductivity and ion transference number (P2372/C2/L23–36). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the lithium gel polymer electrolyte composition of modified Pan with the ionic liquid and ionic conductivity of Park in order to improve the ionic conductivity and ion transference number.
Regarding claim 19, modified Pan discloses all claim limitations set forth above and further discloses a process:
wherein the polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane is reacted with the functionalized poly(ethylene glycol) (FIG. 1B, [0034]) and
the functionalized poly(ethylene glycol) is an amine-terminated diterminal functionalized poly(ethylene glycol) (FIG. 1B, [0034]).
Regarding claim 20, modified Pan discloses all claim limitations set forth above and further discloses a process:
wherein the polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane is reacted with the functionalized poly(ethylene oxide) (FIG. 1B, [0034]) and
the functionalized poly(ethylene oxide) is an amine-terminated diterminal functionalized (polyethylene oxide) (FIG. 1B, [0034]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Li (Dendrite-free, wide temperature range lithium metal batteries enabled by hybrid network ionic liquids) is a journal article authored by the inventors substantially corresponding to the instant application.
/Sean P Cullen, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725