DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-12 and 18 in the reply filed on 01/09/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the search for a composition comprising at least one fire ant food source and at least one fire ant venom alkaloid, the composition optionally comprising a carrier and/or an insecticide of Group I would absolutely encompass a search for a method for selectively attracting fire ants over non-target organisms using such compositions of Group II. This is not found persuasive because the method of claim 13 requires selectively attracting fire ants over non-target organisms wherein the composition of claim 1 does not require selectively attracting fire ants over non-target organisms, therefore there is a search and examination burden for each group.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 13-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 01/09/2026.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-18 are pending. Claims 13-17 have been withdrawn.
Claims 1-12 and 18 are currently under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
Initialed and dated copies of Applicants’ information disclosure statements (IDS) filed on 01/09/2026 is attached to the instant Office action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-6, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(I) as being anticipated by Bowen et al. (US6369078B1, Published 04/09/2002).
The claims are drawn to a composition comprising at least one fire ant food source and at least first ant venom alkaloid, wherein the composition optionally comprises a carrier and/or an insecticide.
Regarding claims 1, 5-6 and 18, Bowen discloses in claim 1, A method for reducing or eradicating a population or for reducing or preventing the spread of a colony of fire ants comprising exposing to said population of fire ants a composition (i.e., kit) comprising an effective amount of a trans-2,6-disubstituted piperidine (i.e., fire ant venom alkaloid) compound according to the structure:
wherein R1 and R2 are selected from a C1 to C20 saturated or unsaturated linear, cyclic or branch-chained substituted or unsubstituted hydrocarbon group, a substituted or unsubstituted aromatic group or an ester group and salts thereof; in combination with a bait and optionally, a carrier. The Examiner interprets the term “bait” of the prior art to read on “fire ant food source” as instantly claimed. Bowen et al defines “bait” to mean “a carrier which is an attractant to fire ants. Preferred baits include food products or other materials which attract or draw fire ants to it and which the fire ant ingests or takes back to its colony so that other fire ants may ingest the material. As used herein, the term bait shall be directed to any material which is sought after by a fire ant and includes numerous types of insect bait. The term bait includes, for example, any material or substance which is formulated or may be formulated for the biology, feeding behavior and food preferences of fire ants and includes materials which contain, for example, any one or more of sucrose, fructose, proteins, peptides, amino acids, and different salts and minerals and other materials which the fire ant obtains from the environment. Suitable baits can include for example, sugar, jelly, peanut oil, soybean oil, corn oil, other vegetable oils, peanut butter, honey, and related food items, including grains, cereals, soy protein etc.” (column 11, lines 51-67). The Examiner points out that it is clear that bait is intended to be a fire ant food source to attract the fire ants, therefore reading to the instantly claimed limitation “fire ant food source”.
Accordingly, Bowen anticipated the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bowen et al. (US6369078B1, Published 04/09/2002).
Applicant’s Invention
Applicant’s claims are drawn to a composition comprising at least one fire ant food source and at least one fire ant venom alkaloid, wherein the composition optionally comprises a carrier and/or an insecticide.
Determination of the scope and the content of the prior art
(MPEP §2141.01)
Regarding claims 1-6 and 18, Bowen teaches in claim 1, A method for reducing or eradicating a population or for reducing or preventing the spread of a colony of fire ants comprising exposing to said population of fire ants a composition (i.e., kit) comprising an effective amount of a trans-2,6-disubstituted piperidine (i.e., fire ant venom alkaloid) compound according to the structure:
wherein R1 and R2 are selected from a C1 to C20 saturated or unsaturated linear, cyclic or branch-chained substituted or unsubstituted hydrocarbon group, a substituted or unsubstituted aromatic group or an ester group and salts thereof; in combination with a bait and optionally, a carrier. The Examiner interprets the term “bait” of the prior art to read on “fire ant food source” as instantly claimed. Bowen et al defines “bait” to mean “a carrier which is an attractant to fire ants. Preferred baits include food products or other materials which attract or draw fire ants to it and which the fire ant ingests or takes back to its colony so that other fire ants may ingest the material. As used herein, the term bait shall be directed to any material which is sought after by a fire ant and includes numerous types of insect bait. The term bait includes, for example, any material or substance which is formulated or may be formulated for the biology, feeding behavior and food preferences of fire ants and includes materials which contain, for example, any one or more of sucrose, fructose, proteins, peptides, amino acids, and different salts and minerals and other materials which the fire ant obtains from the environment. Suitable baits can include for example, sugar, jelly, peanut oil, soybean oil, corn oil, other vegetable oils, peanut butter, honey, and related food items, including grains, cereals, soy protein etc.” (column 11, lines 51-67).
Regarding claims 7-8, Bowen teaches the carrier can be preferably, an inert, non-repellant carrier, wherein the non-repellent carrier includes water (i.e., an aqueous solution), and other non-repelling solvents such as water and minor quantities of ethanol (i.e., an alcohol) (column 12, lines 7-14).
Regarding claims 9-12, Bowen teaches in this aspect of the present invention, an effective amount of one or more analogues of solenopsin are placed in a carrier or vehicle and are then delivered to or spread on areas from which insects susceptible to solenopsin A or B are to be repelled, resulting in a marked decrease in insects in the treated area (column 9, lines 1-6). Bowen further teaches the present invention relates to solenopsin alkaloid derivatives which are trans-2,6-disubstituted piperidines (i.e., trans-solenopsin A) according to the structure:
wherein R1 and R2 are selected from a C1 to C20 saturated or unsaturated linear, cyclic or branch-chained substituted or unsubstituted hydrocarbon group, a substituted or unsubstituted aromatic group or an ester group and salts thereof (column 8, lines 1-17).
Ascertainment of the Difference Between Scope the Prior Art and the Claims
(MPEP §2141.02)
Bowen does not disclose a single embodiment or example where every limitation recited in the instant claims is taught.
Finding of Prima Facie Obviousness Rationale and Motivation
(MPEP §2142-2143)
The claims are considered prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing because Bowen teaches all of the claimed elements. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to make a composition comprising at least one fire ant food source and at least one fire ant venom alkaloid, wherein the composition optionally comprises a carrier and/or an insecticide because Bowen teaches and contemplates all the elements required to make the composition.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
AFUA BAMFOAA BOATENGExaminer, Art Unit 1617
/ALI SOROUSH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1614