DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shealy (US2019/0305753, hereinafter Shealy).
Regarding claim 1, Shealy discloses a bulk acoustic wave resonator (Fig. 68B), comprising:
a first carrier substrate (2210);
a barrier layer (6811), located on a main surface of the first carrier substrate and configured to prevent an undesired conductive channel from being generated due to charge accumulation on the main surface of the first carrier substrate (considering the enhancement layer 6811 comprises a semiconductor such as SiC, the limitation of the claimed invention is considered to be anticipated);
a piezoelectric layer (1621), located on a side of the barrier layer away from the first carrier substrate;
a first electrode (1710) and a second electrode (2910), located on opposite sides of the piezoelectric layer in a direction perpendicular to the main surface of the first carrier substrate, wherein the first electrode is disposed on a side of the piezoelectric layer close to the first carrier substrate;
a first passivation layer (1810) and a second passivation layer (2710), respectively covering sidewalls of the first electrode and the second electrode, and surfaces of the first electrode and the second electrode at sides away from the piezoelectric layer; and
a dielectric layer (2011), located between the first passivation layer (1810) and the barrier layer (6811), wherein a first cavity (6810) is provided between the first passivation layer and the dielectric layer, and the first cavity and the first electrode are separated from each other by the first passivation layer (See Fig. 68B).
Regarding claim 2, the barrier layer (6811) is selected from diamond, silicon-carbide, silicon (paragraph [0168]), therefore the limitation of a non- electron-rich, non-conductive, and non-silicon-oxide layer is anticipated.
Regarding claim 3, the first carrier substrate is a semiconductor substrate, and the non-electron-rich, non-conductive, and non-silicon-oxide layer is in contact with the semiconductor substrate. See paragraph [0096] and Fig. 68B.
Regarding claim 4, Shealy discloses the material of the first carrier substrate comprises monocrystalline silicon, and a material of the barrier layer comprises silicon carbide (paragraph [6811]).
Regarding claim 5, Shealy discloses a buffer layer (2220), disposed between the barrier layer and the dielectric layer.
Regarding claim 6, the material of the buffer layer is silicon oxide (paragraph [0096]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The references of the Prior Art fail to teach or disclose, alone or in obvious combination, the claimed invention as described in claim 7 and comprising the second carrier substrate, the seal ring structure and the recited elements of the claimed structure.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hurwitz discloses a BAW element package comprising a second carrier substrate.
/J. San Martin/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837