DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-20 have been presented for examination.
PRIORITY
3. Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) to INDIA 202221064699 filed 11/11/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/8/23 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the Examiner has considered the IDS as to the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
5. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e. abstract idea) without anything significantly more.
i) In view of Step 1 of the analysis, claim(s) 1 is directed to a statutory category as a machine, claim 9 is directed to a statutory category as a process, and claim 17 is directed to an article of manufacture as a non-transitory computer readable medium, which each represent a statutory category of invention. Therefore, claims 1-20 are directed to patent eligible categories of invention.
ii) In view of Step 2A, Prong One, claims 1, 9, and 17 recite the abstract idea of simulating tire designs which constitutes an abstract idea based on Mental Processes based on concepts performed in the human mind, or with the aid of pencil and paper as well as and alternatively as Mathematical Concepts including mathematical formulas or equations as well as calculations.
As per claim 1, and similarly recited in claims 9 and 17, “generating… a plurality of random interpolation points based on the one or more NPT parameters;” would be analogous to a person calculating a set of points based on given parameters and thus fall under Mental Processes. In addition, the steps would constitute Mathematical Concepts including mathematical formulas or equations as well as calculations.
As per claim 1, and similarly recited in claims 9 and 17, “generating… one or more candidate spoke designs from the plurality of random interpolation points;” would be analogous to a person calculating a set of designs based on given parameters and thus fall under Mental Processes. In addition, the steps would constitute Mathematical Concepts including mathematical formulas or equations as well as calculations.
As per claim 1, and similarly recited in claims 9 and 17, “extracting … a first curve profile and a second curve profile from the one or more candidate spoke designs;” would be analogous to a person calculating a set of curve profiles based on given parameters and thus fall under Mental Processes. In addition, the steps would constitute Mathematical Concepts including mathematical formulas or equations as well as calculations.
As per claim 1, and similarly recited in claims 9 and 17, “performing… a comparison of the first curve profile and the second curve profile of the one or more candidate spoke designs with a first reference curve profile and a second reference curve profile obtained from a reference spoke design;” would be analogous to a person comparing a set of curve profiles based on given parameters and thus fall under Mental Processes. In addition, the steps would constitute Mathematical Concepts including mathematical formulas or equations as well as calculations.
As per claim 1, and similarly recited in claims 9 and 17, “generating… one or more updated candidate spoke designs based on the comparison;” would be analogous to a person determining spoke designs based on given parameters and thus fall under Mental Processes. In addition, the steps would constitute Mathematical Concepts including mathematical formulas or equations as well as calculations.
As per claim 1, and similarly recited in claims 9 and 17, “analysing, using a finite element method (FEM) … one or more NPT parameters for the one or more updated candidate spoke designs to obtain the one or more updated NPT parameters;” would be analogous to a person analyzing using FEM calculations for spoke designs based on given parameters and thus fall under Mental Processes. In addition, the steps would constitute Mathematical Concepts including mathematical formulas or equations as well as calculations.
As per claim 1, and similarly recited in claims 9 and 17, “processing, … the one or more updated NPT parameters to obtain one or more spoke properties;” would be analogous to a person analyzing spoke designs to determine spoke properties based on given parameters and thus fall under Mental Processes. In addition, the steps would constitute Mathematical Concepts including mathematical formulas or equations as well as calculations.
As per claim 1, and similarly recited in claims 9 and 17, “and selecting… at least one candidate spoke design from the one or more candidate spoke designs based on the one or more spoke properties, wherein the at least one candidate spoke design being selected serves as an optimal spoke design.” would be analogous to a person selecting spoke designs based on given parameters and thus fall under Mental Processes. In addition, the steps would constitute Mathematical Concepts including mathematical formulas or equations as well as calculations.
As per claim 1, and similarly recited in claims 9 and 17 other than reciting “hardware processors”, “memory”, “machine learning models” and/or “non-transitory machine-readable information storage mediums” nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind.
Dependent claims 2-8, 10-16, and 18-20 further narrow the abstract ideas, identified in the independent claims.
iii) In view of Step 2A, Prong Two, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In Claims 1, 9 and 17, the additional element of “hardware processors”, “memory”, “machine learning models” and/or “non-transitory machine-readable information storage mediums” merely uses a computer device as a tool to perform the abstract idea. (MPEP 2106.05(f)) The limitation in claim 1, and similarly recited in claims 9 and 17 of “obtaining, via one or more hardware processors, an input comprising one or more Non-Pneumatic Tire (NPT) parameters associated with a tire;” are mere instructions to implement an abstract idea using a computer in its ordinary capacity, or merely uses the computer as a tool to perform the identified abstract idea. See MPEP (2106.05(f)) Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a mental process) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. (MPEP 2106.05(f)(2)) Additionally the limitation of “obtaining, via one or more hardware processors, an input comprising one or more Non-Pneumatic Tire (NPT) parameters associated with a tire;” are in claims 1, 9, and 17, alternatively can be viewed as insignificant extra-solution activity, specifically pertaining to mere data gathering/output necessary to perform the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(g)) and is not sufficient to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. This is akin to selecting information, based on types of information and availability of information in a power-grid environment, for collection, analysis and display, which has been identified as extra solution activity. Therefore, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Dependent claims 2-8, 10-16, and 18-20 further narrow the abstract ideas, identified in the independent claims and do not introduce further additional elements for consideration beyond those addressed above.
iv) In view of Step 2B, claims 1, 9 and 17 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Claims 1, 9, and 17, the additional element of “hardware processors”, “memory”, “machine learning models” and/or “non-transitory machine-readable information storage mediums” merely uses a computer device as a tool to perform the abstract idea. (MPEP 2106.05(f)) The limitation in claim 1, and similarly recited in claims 9 and 17 of “obtaining, via one or more hardware processors, an input comprising one or more Non-Pneumatic Tire (NPT) parameters associated with a tire;” are mere instructions to implement an abstract idea using a computer in its ordinary capacity, or merely uses the computer as a tool to perform the identified abstract idea. See MPEP (2106.05(f)) Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a mental process) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. (MPEP 2106.05(f)(2)) Additionally the limitation of “obtaining, via one or more hardware processors, an input comprising one or more Non-Pneumatic Tire (NPT) parameters associated with a tire;” are in claims 1, 9, and 17, alternatively can be viewed as an insignificant extra-solution activity, specifically pertaining to mere data gathering/output necessary to perform the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(g)) and is not sufficient to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. This is akin to selecting information, based on types of information and availability of information in a power-grid environment, for collection, analysis and display, which has been identified as extra solution activity. Therefore, the claim as a whole does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements, when considered alone or in combination, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As stated in Section I.B. of the December 16, 2014 101 Examination Guidelines, “[t]o be patent-eligible, a claim that is directed to a judicial exception must include additional features to ensure that the claim describes a process or product that applies the exception in a meaningful way, such that it is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.”
The dependent claims include the same abstract ideas recited as recited in the independent claims, and merely incorporate additional details that narrow the abstract ideas and fail to add significantly more to the claims.
Dependent claims 2, 10, and 18 further define the design/generation of a design of a tire and validating that design which merely narrows the abstract idea identified as a mental process and/or mathematical concepts including mathematical formulas or equations as well as calculations.
Dependent claims 3 and 11 further define data parameters of a design of a tire which merely narrows the abstract idea identified as a mental process and/or mathematical concepts including mathematical formulas or equations as well as calculations.
Dependent claims 4 and 12 further define data determination of a design of a tire which merely narrows the abstract idea identified as a mental process and/or mathematical concepts including mathematical formulas or equations as well as calculations.
Dependent claims 5 and 13 further define data generation for a design of a tire which merely narrows the abstract idea identified as a mental process and/or mathematical concepts including mathematical formulas or equations as well as calculations.
Dependent claims 6 and 14 further define data parameters of a design of a tire which merely narrows the abstract idea identified as a mental process and/or mathematical concepts including mathematical formulas or equations as well as calculations.
Dependent claims 7 and 15 further define data determination of a design of a tire which merely narrows the abstract idea identified as a mental process and/or mathematical concepts including mathematical formulas or equations as well as calculations.
Dependent claims 8 and 16 further define data parameters of a design of a tire which merely narrows the abstract idea identified as a mental process and/or mathematical concepts including mathematical formulas or equations as well as calculations.
Dependent claims 19 and 20 further define data parameters and calculations of a design of a tire which merely narrows the abstract idea identified as a mental process and/or mathematical concepts including mathematical formulas or equations as well as calculations.
v) Accordingly, claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e. an abstract idea) without anything significantly more.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. Claims 7, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
i) The term “similar” in claim 7 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “similar” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. See 2173.05(b)(III)(C). This renders the claim vague and indefinite. An analogous analysis would render the same term in claims 15 and 20 as indefinite as well.
Appropriate correction is required.
All claims dependent upon a rejected base claim are rejected by virtue of their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1-4, 8-12, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Zhou, Haichao, et al. "Research on vibration reduction method of nonpneumatic tire spoke based on the mechanical properties of domestic cat’s paw pads." Applied Bionics and Biomechanics 2021.1 (2021): 9976488, hereafter Zhou.
Regarding Claim 1: The reference discloses A processor implemented method, comprising:
obtaining, via one or more hardware processors, an input comprising one or more Non-Pneumatic Tire (NPT) parameters associated with a tire;
generating, via the one or more hardware processors, a plurality of random interpolation points based on the one or more NPT parameters; (Zhou. Page 12, top left, “provides a global approximation model of the design space, and Z(x) creates localized deviations so that the Kriging model can interpolate the sample points[39]. In many cases, f(x) is taken as a constant, and β is also employed.”)
generating, via the one or more hardware processors, one or more candidate spoke designs from the plurality of random interpolation points; (Zhou. Page 12, Section 4.2.2, 1st paragraph, “4.2.2.Error Analysis. When constructing the Kriging model, there will be errors caused by the polynomial model itself or fitting. Therefore, the squared multiple correlation coefficientR2 is introduced to verify the reliability of the Kriging model. The closer R2 is to 1,the more accurate the fitting will be. The final result shows that R2=0:99, for which, a conclusion can be drawn that, the Kriging model has sufficient accuracy to interpolate these 9 sample points for optimization calculations.”)
extracting, via the one or more hardware processors, a first curve profile and a second curve profile from the one or more candidate spoke designs; (Zhou. Figure 20)
performing, via the one or more hardware processors, a comparison of the first curve profile and the second curve profile of the one or more candidate spoke designs with a first reference curve profile and a second reference curve profile obtained from a reference spoke design; (Zhou. Figure 20)
generating, via the one or more hardware processors, one or more updated candidate spoke designs based on the comparison; (Zhou. Table 7)
analysing, using a finite element method (FEM) via the one or more hardware processors, one or more NPT parameters for the one or more updated candidate spoke designs to obtain the one or more updated NPT parameters; (Zhou. Figure 7)
processing, by using one or more machine learning models via the one or more hardware processors, the one or more updated NPT parameters to obtain one or more spoke properties; and (Zhou. Page 11, Section 4.2.1, “RBF/EBF neural network model)
selecting, via the one or more hardware processors, at least one candidate spoke design from the one or more candidate spoke designs based on the one or more spoke properties, wherein the at least one candidate spoke design being selected serves as an optimal spoke design. (Zhou. Figure 22)
Regarding Claim 2: The reference discloses The processor implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: generating an optimal Non-Pneumatic Tire based on the optimal spoke design; and validating the generated optimal Non-Pneumatic Tire based on the input. (Zhou. Figure 17)
Regarding Claim 3: The reference discloses The processor implemented method of claim 1, wherein the one or more Non-Pneumatic Tire (NPT) parameters comprise a stiffness, (Zhou. Figure 8) and a damage resistance, (Zhou. Figure 4) and wherein the stiffness and the damage resistance comprise one or more range values. (Zhou. Figure 3)
Regarding Claim 4: The reference discloses The processor implemented method of claim 1, wherein the first curve profile and the second curve profile from the one or more spoke designs are extracted by fitting a first set of coordinates and a second set of coordinates obtained from the one or more spoke designs into one or more associated polynomial equations. (Zhou. Page 12, Section 4.2.2, 1st paragraph, “4.2.2.Error Analysis. When constructing the Kriging model, there will be errors caused by the polynomial model itself or fitting. Therefore, the squared multiple correlation coefficientR2 is introduced to verify the reliability of the Kriging model. The closer R2 is to 1,the more accurate the fitting will be. The final result shows that R2=0:99, for which, a conclusion can be drawn that, the Kriging model has sufficient accuracy to interpolate these 9 sample points for optimization calculations.”)
Regarding Claim 8: The reference discloses The processor implemented method of claim 1, wherein the one or more spoke properties comprise at least one of a tensile strength, a compressive strength, and one or more damage analysis of the one or more updated candidate spoke designs. (Zhou. Figures 3/4)
Regarding Claim 9: The reference discloses A system, comprising: a memory storing instructions; one or more communication interfaces; and one or more hardware processors coupled to the memory via the one or more communication interfaces, wherein the one or more hardware processors are configured by the instructions to: obtain an input comprising one or more Non-Pneumatic Tire (NPT) parameters associated with a tire; generate a plurality of random interpolation points based on the one or more NPT parameters; generate one or more candidate spoke designs from the plurality of random interpolation points; extract a first curve profile and a second curve profile from the one or more candidate spoke designs; perform a comparison of the first curve profile and the second curve profile of the one or more candidate spoke designs with a first reference curve profile and a second reference curve profile obtained from a reference spoke design; generate one or more updated candidate spoke designs based on the comparison; analyse, by using a finite element method (FEM), one or more NPT parameters for the one or more updated candidate spoke designs to obtain the one or more updated NPT parameters; process, by using one or more machine learning models, the one or more updated NPT parameters to obtain one or more spoke properties; and select at least one candidate spoke design from the one or more candidate spoke designs based on the one or more spoke properties, wherein the at least one candidate spoke design being selected serves as an optimal spoke design. (See rejection for claim 1)
Regarding Claim 10: The reference discloses The system of claim 9, wherein the one or more hardware processors are further configured by the instructions to generate an optimal Non-Pneumatic Tire based on the optimal spoke design; and validate the generated optimal Non-Pneumatic Tire based on the input. (See rejection for claim 2)
Regarding Claim 11: The reference discloses The system of claim 9, wherein the one or more Non-Pneumatic Tire (NPT) parameters comprise a stiffness, and a damage resistance, and wherein the stiffness and the damage resistance comprise one or more range values. (See rejection for claim 3)
Regarding Claim 12: The reference discloses The system of claim 9, wherein the first curve profile and the second curve profile from the one or more spoke designs are extracted by fitting a first set of coordinates and a second set of coordinates obtained from the one or more spoke designs into one or more associated polynomial equations. (See rejection for claim 4)
Regarding Claim 16: The reference discloses The system of claim 9, wherein the one or more spoke properties comprise at least one of a tensile strength, a compressive strength, and one or more damage analysis of the one or more updated candidate spoke designs. (Zhou. Figure 4, Page 4, right column)
Regarding Claim 17: The reference discloses One or more non-transitory machine-readable information storage mediums comprising one or more instructions which when executed by one or more hardware processors cause: obtaining, an input comprising one or more Non-Pneumatic Tire (NPT) parameters associated with a tire; generating a plurality of random interpolation points based on the one or more NPT parameters; generating one or more candidate spoke designs from the plurality of random interpolation points; extracting a first curve profile and a second curve profile from the one or more candidate spoke designs; performing a comparison of the first curve profile and the second curve profile of the one or more candidate spoke designs with a first reference curve profile and a second reference curve profile obtained from a reference spoke design; generating one or more updated candidate spoke designs based on the comparison; analysing, using a finite element method (FEM), one or more NPT parameters for the one or more updated candidate spoke designs to obtain the one or more updated NPT parameters; processing, by using one or more machine learning models, the one or more updated NPT parameters to obtain one or more spoke properties; and selecting at least one candidate spoke design from the one or more candidate spoke designs based on the one or more spoke properties, wherein the at least one candidate spoke design being selected serves as an optimal spoke design. (See rejection for claim 1)
Regarding Claim 18: The reference discloses The one or more non-transitory machine-readable information storage mediums of claim 17, wherein the one or more instructions which when executed by the one or more hardware processors further cause: generating an optimal Non-Pneumatic Tire based on the optimal spoke design; and validating the generated optimal Non-Pneumatic Tire based on the input. (See rejection for claim 2)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claim(s) 5-7, 13-15, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of Dhrangdhariya, Priyankkumar, Soumyadipta Maiti, and Beena Rai. "Effect of spoke design and material nonlinearity on non-pneumatic tire stiffness and durability performance." SAE International Journal of Passenger Cars: Mechanical Systems 14.2 (2021): 117-135, hereafter D.
Regarding Claim 5: Zhou discloses The processor implemented method of claim 1, wherein the one or more updated candidate spoke designs are generated by adjusting the first curve profile and the second curve profile of the one or more candidate spoke designs with the first reference curve profile and the second reference curve profile of the reference spoke design…
Zhou does not explicitly recite to maintain a volume equivalency in the one or more candidate spoke designs.
However, D discloses maintain a volume equivalency in the one or more candidate spoke designs. (D. Page 4, bottom, “Spoke’s thickness and numbers have been selected such that the volume difference of all three spokes are less than 5% and the volume of all spokes is almost equivalent and comparable.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the volume equivalency of D with the tire modeling of Zhou in order to establish a baseline for an accurate comparison of the spoke designs. (D. Page 4, bottom, “Spoke’s thickness and numbers have been selected such that the volume difference of all three spokes are less than 5% and the volume of all spokes is almost equivalent and comparable.”)
Regarding Claim 6: Zhou does not explicitly recite The processor implemented method of claim 5, wherein the volume equivalency is maintained in the one or more candidate spoke designs by applying a constraint condition for an area difference of the one or more candidate spoke designs such that the area difference of the one or more candidate spoke designs and the reference spoke design is less than or equal to a pre-defined threshold.
However, D discloses The processor implemented method of claim 5, wherein the volume equivalency is maintained in the one or more candidate spoke designs by applying a constraint condition for an area difference of the one or more candidate spoke designs such that the area difference of the one or more candidate spoke designs and the reference spoke design is less than or equal to a pre-defined threshold. (D. Page 4, bottom, “Spoke’s thickness and numbers have been selected such that the volume difference of all three spokes are less than 5% and the volume of all spokes is almost equivalent and comparable.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the volume equivalency of D with the tire modeling of Zhou in order to establish a baseline for an accurate comparison of the spoke designs. (D. Page 4, bottom, “Spoke’s thickness and numbers have been selected such that the volume difference of all three spokes are less than 5% and the volume of all spokes is almost equivalent and comparable.”)
Regarding Claim 7: Zhou does not explicitly recite The processor implemented method of claim 5, wherein the first curve profile and the second curve profile of the one or more candidate spoke designs are adjusted to enable a cross section of the one or more candidate spoke designs to be similar to the reference spoke design.
However, D discloses The processor implemented method of claim 5, wherein the first curve profile and the second curve profile of the one or more candidate spoke designs are adjusted to enable a cross section of the one or more candidate spoke designs to be similar to the reference spoke design. (D. Page 4, bottom, “Spoke’s thickness and numbers have been selected such that the volume difference of all three spokes are less than 5% and the volume of all spokes is almost equivalent and comparable.” See also Figure 2)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the similar designs of D with the tire modeling of Zhou in order to establish a baseline for an accurate comparison of the spoke designs. (D. Page 4, bottom, “Spoke’s thickness and numbers have been selected such that the volume difference of all three spokes are less than 5% and the volume of all spokes is almost equivalent and comparable.”)
Regarding Claim 13: The reference discloses The system of claim 9, wherein the one or more updated candidate spoke designs are generated by adjusting the first curve profile and the second curve profile of the one or more candidate spoke designs with the first reference curve profile and the second reference curve profile of the reference spoke design to maintain a volume equivalency in the one or more candidate spoke designs. (See rejection for claim 5)
Regarding Claim 14: The reference discloses The system of claim 13, wherein the volume equivalency is maintained in the one or more candidate spoke designs by applying a constraint condition for an area difference of the one or more candidate spoke designs such that the area difference of the one or more candidate spoke designs and the reference spoke design is less than or equal to a pre-defined threshold. (See rejection for claim 6)
Regarding Claim 15: The reference discloses The system of claim 13, wherein the first curve profile and the second curve profile of the one or more candidate spoke designs are adjusted to enable a cross section of the one or more candidate spoke designs to be similar to the reference spoke design. (See rejection for claim 7)
Regarding Claim 19: The reference discloses The one or more non-transitory machine-readable information storage mediums of claim 17, wherein the one or more Non-Pneumatic Tire (NPT) parameters comprise a stiffness, and a damage resistance, and wherein the stiffness and the damage resistance comprise one or more range values, (Figure 3, 4, and 8) wherein the first curve profile and the second curve profile from the one or more spoke designs are extracted by fitting a first set of coordinates and a second set of coordinates obtained from the one or more spoke designs into one or more associated polynomial equations, (Page 12, Section 4.2.2, 1st paragraph, “4.2.2.Error Analysis. When constructing the Kriging model, there will be errors caused by the polynomial model itself or fitting. Therefore, the squared multiple correlation coefficientR2 is introduced to verify the reliability of the Kriging model. The closer R2 is to 1,the more accurate the fitting will be. The final result shows that R2=0:99, for which, a conclusion can be drawn that, the Kriging model has sufficient accuracy to interpolate these 9 sample points for optimization calculations.”), and wherein the one or more spoke properties comprise at least one of a tensile strength, a compressive strength, and one or more damage analysis of the one or more updated candidate spoke designs. (Zhou. Figure 4, Page 4, right column)
Zhou does not explicitly recite wherein the one or more updated candidate spoke designs are generated by adjusting the first curve profile and the second curve profile of the one or more candidate spoke designs with the first reference curve profile and the second reference curve profile of the reference spoke design to maintain a volume equivalency in the one or more candidate spoke designs
However, D discloses wherein the one or more updated candidate spoke designs are generated by adjusting the first curve profile and the second curve profile of the one or more candidate spoke designs with the first reference curve profile and the second reference curve profile of the reference spoke design to maintain a volume equivalency in the one or more candidate spoke designs (D. Page 4, bottom, “Spoke’s thickness and numbers have been selected such that the volume difference of all three spokes are less than 5% and the volume of all spokes is almost equivalent and comparable.” See also Figure 2)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the similar designs of D with the tire modeling of Zhou in order to establish a baseline for an accurate comparison of the spoke designs. (D. Page 4, bottom, “Spoke’s thickness and numbers have been selected such that the volume difference of all three spokes are less than 5% and the volume of all spokes is almost equivalent and comparable.”)
Regarding Claim 20: The reference discloses The one or more non-transitory machine-readable information storage mediums of claim 19, wherein the volume equivalency is maintained in the one or more candidate spoke designs by applying a constraint condition for an area difference of the one or more candidate spoke designs such that the area difference of the one or more candidate spoke designs and the reference spoke design is less than or equal to a pre-defined threshold, and wherein the first curve profile and the second curve profile of the one or more candidate spoke designs are adjusted to enable a cross section of the one or more candidate spoke designs to be similar to the reference spoke design. (See rejections for claims 5-7)
Conclusion
9. All Claims are rejected.
10. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
i) Bezgam, Shashank. Design and analysis of alternating spoke pair concepts for a non-pneumatic tire with reduced vibration at high speed rolling. MS thesis. Clemson University, 2009.
SAA
/SAIF A ALHIJA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2186