DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Action is in response to Applicant’s Amendment filed on February 3, 2026. Claims 1, 3-6, 8-9, 11-12, 16, 19, 21-24, 26-27, 39 and 40 are still pending in the present application. This Action is made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 8-9, 11-12, 16, 19, 21-24, 26-27, 39 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Wang et al (US Pat. Pub. No. 2022/0232639) in view of Wang et al (US Pat. Pub. No. 2019/0261424).
Regarding claim 1, Wang et al discloses a method for wireless communication, comprising: enhancing, by a user equipment (UE) (paragraph 90 [UE]), an uplink coverage of a cell with a base station (paragraph 107 [network device, gNB]) by: receiving, by the UE, a configuration from the cell (see at least paragraph 88 discloses receiving system information including a configuration); performing, by the UE, cell selection and reselection based on at least one access threshold, the at least one access threshold being configured by the base station via system information (see at least paragraph 88).
Wang et al specifically does not disclose performing, by the UE, cell selection and reselection based on at least one access threshold being configured by the base station via system information, wherein: the UE is configured with per-cell level indication in the system information corresponding to whether one or more neighbor cells should apply the at least one access threshold: or the UE is configured with per-frequency level indication in the system information corresponding to whether one or more inter frequencies should apply the at least one access threshold.
However, Park et al from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches performing, by the UE, cell selection and reselection based on at least one access threshold being configured by the base station via system information, wherein: the UE is configured with per-cell level indication in the system information corresponding to whether one or more neighbor cells should apply the at least one access threshold: or the UE is configured with per-frequency level indication in the system information corresponding to whether one or more inter frequencies should apply the at least one access threshold (see at least paragraphs 331, 342-343, 347 discloses wireless device perform access selection based on power value threshold; also see paragraph 313 discloses cell configuration and cell selection).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify to incorporate above mention feature as taught by Park et al into the system of Wang et al for purpose of enhance random access reliability; cell selection criterion for enhanced coverage may be fulfilled.
Regarding claim 3, Wang et al discloses the configuration comprises at least one of the following: a list of synchronization signal block (SSB) indexes; an SSB bitmap; a reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold configuration; a pathloss threshold configuration; or a random access channel (RACH) resource configuration (see at least paragraphs 89-90 discloses random access resources, SSB, RSRP).
Regarding claim 4, Wang et al discloses the list of SSB indexes indicates that any SSB in the list of SSB indexes is available for the UE to request Msg3 repetition (see at least paragraphs 89-90 discloses random access resources, SSB, RSRP).
Regarding claim 5, Wang et al discloses the SSB bitmap indicates that any SSB in the SSB bitmap is available for the UE to request Msg3 repetition (see at least paragraph 106).
Regarding claim 6, Wang et al discloses the RSRP threshold configuration comprises at least one of the following: an Msg3 repetition RSRP threshold; an SSB selection RSRP threshold; or a set of two carrier selection RSRP thresholds (see at least paragraph 106).
Regarding claim 8, Wang et al discloses the configuration is configured differently for at least one of the following: different uplink carriers comprising a normal uplink (NUL) carrier and a supplementary uplink (SUL) carrier; different bandwidth parts; or different SSBs (see at least paragraph 19).
Regarding claim 9, Wang et al discloses the set of two carrier selection RSRP thresholds comprises a first carrier selection RSRP threshold and a second carrier selection RSRP threshold, the first carrier selection RSRP threshold being applicable to a UE not supporting Msg3 repetition, and the second carrier selection RSRP threshold being applicable to a UE supporting Msg3 repetition (see at least paragraphs 89 and 107).
Regarding claim 11, Wang et al discloses the RACH resource configuration comprises at least one of the following: a RACH occasion associated with an SSB; at least one random access preamble associated with an SSB; at least one preamble for RACH group A; or at least one preamble for RACH group B (see at least paragraph 82).
Regarding claim 12, Wang et al discloses the RACH resource configuration comprises at least one of the following parameters for triggering RACH with Msg3 repetition: a preambleTransMax; a preambleReceivedTargetPower; a powerRampingStep; an ra-ResponseWindow; or an Msg3-DeltaPreamble (see at least paragraph 90).
Regarding claim 16, Wang et al discloses the at least one access threshold comprises at least one of the following: a first threshold being applicable to a UE not supporting SUL and Msg3 repetition; a second threshold being applicable to a UE supporting Msg3 repetition and not supporting SUL; a third threshold being applicable to a UE supporting SUL and not supporting Msg3 repetition; or a fourth threshold being applicable to a UE supporting SUL and Msg3 repetition (see at least paragraph 89).
Regarding claim 19, Wang et al discloses method for wireless communication, comprising: enhancing, by a base station, an uplink coverage of a cell for a user equipment (UE) by: sending, by the base station, a configuration to the UE (see at least paragraph 88 discloses receiving system information including a configuration), the UE performs cell selection and reselection based on at least one access threshold, the at least one access threshold being configured by the base station via system information (see at least paragraph 88).
Wang et al specifically does not disclose configuring, by the base station, at least one access threshold via system information, so that the UE performs cell selection and reselection based on the at least one access threshold, wherein the base station sends per-cell level indication in the system information to the UE corresponding to whether one or more neighbor cells should apply the at least one access threshold; or the base station sends per-frequency level indication in the system information to the UE corresponding to whether one or more inter frequencies should apply the at least one access threshold.
However, Park et al from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches configuring, by the base station, at least one access threshold via system information, so that the UE performs cell selection and reselection based on the at least one access threshold, wherein the base station sends per-cell level indication in the system information to the UE corresponding to whether one or more neighbor cells should apply the at least one access threshold; or the base station sends per-frequency level indication in the system information to the UE corresponding to whether one or more inter frequencies should apply the at least one access threshold (see at least paragraphs 331, 342-343, 347 discloses wireless device perform access selection based on power value threshold; also see paragraph 313 discloses cell configuration and cell selection).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify to incorporate above mention feature as taught by Park et al into the system of Wang et al for purpose of enhance random access reliability; cell selection criterion for enhanced coverage may be fulfilled.
Regarding claims 21-24 and 26-27, see above rejection of claims 3-6 and 8-9.
Regarding claim 39, Wang et al discloses an apparatus 400 (figure 4 and paragraph 0114) comprising: a memory 434 storing instructions; and a processor 428 in communication with the memory, wherein, when the processor executes the instructions, the processor is configured to cause the apparatus to perform: enhancing an uplink coverage of a cell with a base station by: receiving a configuration from the cell (see at least paragraph 88 discloses receiving system information including a configuration); the UE performs cell selection and reselection based on at least one access threshold, the at least one access threshold being configured by the base station via system information (see at least paragraph 88)
Wang et al specifically does not disclose performing cell selection and reselection based on at least one access threshold being configured by the base station via system information, wherein: the apparatus is configured with per-cell level indication in the system information corresponding to whether one or more neighbor cells should apply the at least one access threshold; or the apparatus is configured with per-frequency level indication in the system information corresponding to whether one or more inter frequencies should apply the at least one access threshold.
However, Park et al from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches performing cell selection and reselection based on at least one access threshold being configured by the base station via system information, wherein: the apparatus is configured with per-cell level indication in the system information corresponding to whether one or more neighbor cells should apply the at least one access threshold; or the apparatus is configured with per-frequency level indication in the system information corresponding to whether one or more inter frequencies should apply the at least one access threshold (see at least paragraphs 331, 342-343, 347 discloses wireless device perform access selection based on power value threshold; also see paragraph 313 discloses cell configuration and cell selection).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify to incorporate above mention feature as taught by Park et al into the system of Wang et al for purpose of enhance random access reliability; cell selection criterion for enhanced coverage may be fulfilled.
Regarding claim 40, Wang et al discloses an apparatus 400 (figure 4 and paragraph 0114) comprising: a memory 434 storing instructions; and a processor 428 in communication with the memory, wherein, when the processor executes the instructions, the processor is configured to cause the apparatus to perform: enhancing an uplink coverage of a cell for a user equipment (UE) by: sending a configuration to the UE (see at least paragraph 88 discloses receiving system information including a configuration), the UE performs cell selection and reselection based on at least one access threshold, the at least one access threshold being configured by the base station via system information (see at least paragraph 88).
Wang et al specifically does not disclose configuring at least one access threshold via system information, so that the lE performs cell selection and reselection based on the at least one access threshold, wherein the apparatus sends per-cell level indication in the system information to the lE corresponding to whether one or more neighbor cells should apply the at least one access threshold; or the apparatus sends per-frequency level indication in the system information to the lE corresponding to whether one or more inter frequencies should apply the at least one access threshold.
However, Park et al from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches configuring at least one access threshold via system information, so that the lE performs cell selection and reselection based on the at least one access threshold, wherein the apparatus sends per-cell level indication in the system information to the lE corresponding to whether one or more neighbor cells should apply the at least one access threshold; or the apparatus sends per-frequency level indication in the system information to the lE corresponding to whether one or more inter frequencies should apply the at least one access threshold (see at least paragraphs 331, 342-343, 347 discloses wireless device perform access selection based on power value threshold; also see paragraph 313 discloses cell configuration and cell selection).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify to incorporate above mention feature as taught by Park et al into the system of Wang et al for purpose of enhance random access reliability; cell selection criterion for enhanced coverage may be fulfilled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed on February 3, 2026, with respect to claims 1, 19, 39 and 40 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection, necessitated by applicant’s amendment. See the above rejection of claims 1, 3-6, 8-9, 11-12, 16, 19, 21-24, 26-27, 39 and 40 for the relevant citations found in Wang et al and Park et al disclosing the limitations.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LITON MIAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642