DETAILED ACTION
Receipt is acknowledged of applicant’s Response to Restriction Requirement filed 5/26/2026.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Election/Restriction
Applicant's election with traverse of Group II (claims 11-20) in the reply filed on 5/26/2026 is acknowledged.
After further consideration, the Restriction Requirement dated 3/25/2026 is withdrawn.
Accordingly, claims 1-20 are currently under examination.
Information Disclosure Statements
The IDS’s filed 5/27/2025 and 11/14/2025 have been considered. Signed copies are enclosed herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chirila et al. (“Photocrosslinking of Adventitial Collagen in the Porcine Abdominal Aorta: A Preliminary Approach to a Strategy for Prevention of Aneurysmal Rupture”, Designs 2022, 6(1), 5, pp. 1-14; hereafter as “Chirila”).
Instant claims 1-10 are drawn to a method of inhibiting rupture of an artery in a subject, comprising applying to at least part of the arterial wall a photosensitizer that initiates crosslinking in response to photo-activating radiation, and irradiating the arterial wall with photo-activating radiation to initiate crosslinking in the arterial wall.
Instant claims 11-20 are drawn to a method of treating or inhibiting the progression of an arterial aneurysm in a subject, comprising applying to at least part of an arterial wall comprising an aneurysm a photosensitizer that initiates crosslinking in response to photo-activating radiation, and irradiating the arterial wall with photo-activating radiation to initiate crosslinking in the arterial wall.
Regarding claims 1-11 and 13-20, Chirila teaches a method to prevent the rupture of the abdominal aortic aneurysm (AAA) by crosslinking of adventitial collagen of the vessel’s walls through a photochemical process promoted by UV-A radiation (abstract). Chirila teaches that riboflavin (riboflavin 5’-phosphate monosodium salt) is utilized as a photosensitizer and the UV radiation has a wavelength of 365 nm (abstract; page 2, 5th paragraph). Chirila teaches that such a method can be applied to an aneurysmal dilated wall region and the stabilization of tunica adventitia may delay or prevent the rupture of the aneurysm and potentially arrest the progression of AAA (abstract).
Regarding instant claim 12, Chirila teaches the elements above. Chirila also teaches that an aortic aneurysm is commonly described as the localized degenerative weakening of the aortic wall, leading to the formation of an irreversibly progressing dilatation (bulge) that exceeds the diameter of the normal aorta by at least 1.5 times, i.e., to ≥3 cm in diameter (page 1, section 1., 1st paragraph). Chirila further teaches that, currently, repair surgery is the only treatment for AAAs, applicable preventively for aneurysms larger than 5 to 5.5 cm in diameter, and to ruptured aneurysms in emergency settings (page 1, section 1., 2nd paragraph). Chirila also teaches that there is no therapeutic option available now for the patients having small aneurysms (<5 cm in women, <5.5 cm in men) and for those deemed unfit for surgical intervention (page 2, 1st full paragraph). Chirila’s teachings imply that the method is contemplated for patients having small aneurysms (≥3 cm and <5 cm in women, <5.5 cm in men) and for those deemed unfit for surgical intervention which require aneurysms larger than 5 to 5.5 cm which encompasses the claimed diameter of greater than about 4 cm.
Thus, the teachings of Chirila render the instant claims anticipated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schreck et al. (US 2004/0230156 A1, Nov. 18, 2004, hereafter as “Schreck”) in view of Cleveland Clinic (“Aneurysm”, Apr. 16, 2002, hereafter as “Cleveland Clinic”) and Aggarwal et al. (“Abdominal aortic aneurysm: A comprehensive review”, Exp Clin Cardiol. 2011 Spring;16(1):11–15; hereafter as “Aggarwal”) as evidenced by Cleveland Clinic (“Atherosclerosis”, Feb. 15, 2024, hereafter as “Cleveland Clinic 2”).
The instant invention is described above.
Regarding instant claims 1 and 3-8, Schreck teaches a method for treating vulnerable plaque by crosslinking the fibrous cap, or collagenous extracellular matrix layer, on the inner wall or vascular intima of the vessel, the method comprising delivering a crosslinking agent to the extracellular matrix layer and irradiating the extra cellular matrix layer and the crosslinking agent with light energy (abstract). Schreck teaches the particular crosslinking agents, riboflavin and riboflavin-5-phosphate (abstract). Schreck teaches that vulnerable plaque is a rupture-prone plaque in the walls of coronary arteries, aorta, carotid arteries as well as the whole arterial system ([0005]).
Schreck is silent to inhibiting rupture of an artery, in particular an abdominal aorta.
Cleveland Clinic teaches that atherosclerosis, a gradual buildup of plaque in the wall of arteries as evidenced by Cleveland Clinic 2, is a known cause of aneurysms (Cleveland Clinic at page 3).
Aggarwal teaches that aneurysms are defined as a focal dilation of a blood vessel with respect to the original artery and are common in patients with atherosclerosis (abstract; page 11, right col. 1st full paragraph). Aggarwal teaches that aneurysm size is one of the strongest predictors of the risk of rupture with risk increasing markedly at aneurysm diameters of greater than 5.5 cm (page 11, right col., 3rd full paragraph). Aggarwal further teaches that a statement from the Joint Council of the American Association for Vascular Surgery and Society for Vascular Surgery (20) estimated the annual rupture risk according to abdominal aortic aneurysm (AAA) diameter to be the following:
• Less than 4.0 cm in diameter – 0%
• 4.0 cm to 4.9 cm in diameter – 0.5% to 5%
• 5.0 cm to 5.9 cm in diameter – 3% to 15%
• 6.0 cm to 6.9 cm in diameter – 10% to 20%
• 7.0 cm to 7.9 cm in diameter – 20% to 40%
• 8.0 cm in diameter or greater – 30% to 50% (paragraph bridging pages 11-2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to inhibit rupture of an artery such as a carotid artery, aorta, or abdominal aorta utilizing the method of Schreck with a reasonable expectation of success because Schreck teaches that the method treats vulnerable plaque by treating the tissue of the arterial wall including in the coronary artery and aorta, Cleveland Clinic teaches that that atherosclerosis, a gradual buildup of plaque in the wall of arteries, is a known cause of aneurysms and Aggarwal teaches that aneurysms including abdominal aortic aneurysms, as they grow, increase the risk of rupture. One of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably expected that treating an arterial wall having plaque, which is known to cause aneurysms that can eventually rupture, would thereby inhibit the rupture of an artery such as the abdominal aorta.
Regarding instant claims 9 and 10, Schreck, Cleveland Clinic and Aggarwal teach the elements discussed above. Schreck further teaches that the wavelength of the irradiation energy is desirably between about 200 and 500 nm, and more preferably 220-225 nm, 266 nm, 371 nm, 444 nm, or 475 nm ([0020]). MPEP states, “In the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists”. Because the claimed range of about 300 to about 400 nm lies inside the range of about 200 to about 500 disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Further, the wavelength of 371 nm disclosed by the prior art falls within the claimed range as well as reads on the claimed wavelength of about 365 nm. It is noted that the instant specification defines the term “about” to mean up to a 15% variation of the recited value. Thus, the claimed “about 365 nm” is being given its broadest most reasonable interpretation to mean 310.25 nm to 419.7 nm.
Regarding instant claims 11 and 13-18, Schreck teaches a method for treating vulnerable plaque by crosslinking the fibrous cap, or collagenous extracellular matrix layer, on the inner wall or vascular intima of the vessel, the method comprising delivering a crosslinking agent to the extracellular matrix layer and irradiating the extra cellular matrix layer and the crosslinking agent with light energy (abstract). Schreck teaches the particular crosslinking agents, riboflavin and riboflavin-5-phosphate (abstract). Schreck teaches that vulnerable plaque is a rupture-prone plaque in the walls of coronary arteries, aorta, carotid arteries as well as the whole arterial system ([0005]).
Schreck is silent to inhibiting the progression of an arterial aneurysm.
Cleveland Clinic teaches that atherosclerosis, a gradual buildup of plaque in the wall of arteries as evidenced by Cleveland Clinic 2, is a known cause of aneurysms (Cleveland Clinic at page 3).
Aggarwal teaches that aneurysms are defined as a focal dilation of a blood vessel with respect to the original artery and are common in patients with atherosclerosis (abstract; page 11, right col. 1st full paragraph). Aggarwal teaches that aneurysm size is one of the strongest predictors of the risk of rupture with risk increasing markedly at aneurysm diameters of greater than 5.5 cm (page 11, right col., 3rd full paragraph). Aggarwal further teaches that a statement from the Joint Council of the American Association for Vascular Surgery and Society for Vascular Surgery (20) estimated the annual rupture risk according to abdominal aortic aneurysm (AAA) diameter to be the following:
• Less than 4.0 cm in diameter – 0%
• 4.0 cm to 4.9 cm in diameter – 0.5% to 5%
• 5.0 cm to 5.9 cm in diameter – 3% to 15%
• 6.0 cm to 6.9 cm in diameter – 10% to 20%
• 7.0 cm to 7.9 cm in diameter – 20% to 40%
• 8.0 cm in diameter or greater – 30% to 50% (paragraph bridging pages 11-2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to inhibit the progression of an arterial aneurysm in an artery such as a carotid artery, aorta, or abdominal aorta utilizing the method of Schreck with a reasonable expectation of success because Schreck teaches that the method treats vulnerable plaque by treating the tissue of the arterial wall including in the coronary artery and aorta, Cleveland Clinic teaches that that atherosclerosis, a gradual buildup of plaque in the wall of arteries, is a known cause of aneurysms and Aggarwal teaches that aneurysms including abdominal aortic aneurysms, as they grow, increase the risk of rupture. One of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably expected that treating an arterial wall having plaque, which is known to cause aneurysms that can eventually rupture, would thereby inhibit the progression of an arterial aneurism such as an abdominal aortic aneurysm.
Regarding instant claim 12, Schreck, Cleveland Clinic and Aggarwal teach the elements discussed above including that rupture risk begins at about 4 cm (Aggarwal at paragraph bridging pages 11-2). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to treat an aneurysm having a diameter of greater than about 4 cm utilizing the method of Schreck/Cleveland Clinic/Aggarwal with a reasonable expectation of success because Aggarwal teaches that the rupture risk increases when the aneurysm is 4 cm or higher. One of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably expected that treating an aneurysm having a diameter of 4 cm or higher would slow the expansion of the aneurysm and improve the rupture risk.
Regarding instant claims 19 and 20, Schreck, Cleveland Clinic and Aggarwal teach the elements discussed above. Schreck further teaches that the wavelength of the irradiation energy is desirably between about 200 and 500 nm, and more preferably 220-225 nm, 266 nm, 371 nm, 444 nm, or 475 nm ([0020]). MPEP states, “In the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists”. Because the claimed range of about 300 to about 400 nm lies inside the range of about 200 to about 500 disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Further, the wavelength of 371 nm disclosed by the prior art falls within the claimed range as well as reads on the claimed wavelength of about 365 nm. It is noted that the instant specification defines the term “about” to mean up to a 15% variation of the recited value. Thus, the claimed “about 365 nm” is being given its broadest most reasonable interpretation to mean 310.25 nm to 419.7 nm.
Thus, the combined teachings of Schreck, Cleveland Clinic and Aggarwal render the instant claims prima facie obvious.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schreck et al. (US 2004/0230156 A1, Nov. 18, 2004, hereafter as “Schreck”) in view of Cleveland Clinic (“Aneurysm”, Apr. 16, 2002, hereafter as “Cleveland Clinic”) and Aggarwal et al. (“Abdominal aortic aneurysm: A comprehensive review”, Exp Clin Cardiol. 2011 Spring;16(1):11–15; hereafter as “Aggarwal”) as evidenced by Cleveland Clinic (“Atherosclerosis”, Feb. 15, 2024, hereafter as “Cleveland Clinic 2”), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lower, James ("Aortic Aneurysm" (2019). Nursing Student Class Projects (Formerly MSN). 358; hereafter as “Lower”).
The claimed invention is described above.
Schreck, Cleveland Clinic and Aggarwal teach the elements discussed above.
Schreck, Cleveland Clinic and Aggarwal are silent to “wherein the rupture is associated with weakening of the tunica adventitia.
However, Lower teaches that the wall of the aorta is divided into three layers: the innermost layer is the tunica intima, the middle layer is the tunica media, and the outermost layer is the tunica adventitia (1st column). Lower also teaches that a true aneurysm involves all three layers whereas a false aneurysm (pseudoaneurysm) does not involve all three layers (1st column).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to inhibit the rupture of an artery wherein the rupture is associated with weakening of the tunica adventitia with a reasonable expectation of success because Lower teaches that aneurysms can involve any or all three layers of the aorta (tunica intima, tunica media, tunica adventitia). One of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably expected the inhibition of a rupture in an artery due to a weakening in the tunica intima, the tunica media, and/or the tunica adventitia depending on whether the aneurysm is a true or false aneurysm.
Thus, the combined teachings of Schreck, Cleveland Clinic, Aggarwal and Lower render the instant claim prima facie obvious.
Conclusion
All claims have been rejected; no claims are allowed.
Correspondence
/CASEY S HAGOPIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1617