DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 19 recites in preamble, “Equipment comprising:”, which should be recited as “An equipment comprising:”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 12-13, 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yasu (US 20230266445 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yasu discloses, a photoelectric conversion device (fig. 2) comprising:
a pixel array unit (1, fig. 2) including a plurality of pixels (11a, 12a, fig. 2) arranged to form a plurality of columns (fig. 2, Abstract, ¶0058);
a plurality of column circuits (4-7, fig. 2, 6) provided corresponding to each of the plurality of columns and to which a pixel signal output from a pixel of the corresponding column is input (¶0093-0100),
wherein the pixel array unit includes
a first region (11, figs. 2, 5) that is provided with a pixel including a photoelectric conversion unit and to which light is incident (A region where the valid pixels 11a are provided is referred to as a region 11 in the drawing. – ¶0058, fig. 5. Pixel 11a has a photoelectric conversion section PD, see fig. 5), and
a second region (12, figs. 2, 5) that is provided with a pixel (122a-3, fig. 5) including no photoelectric conversion units and is shielded from light (The invalid pixel 122a-3 has a structure excluding the photoelectric conversion section PD from the structure of the light-shielded pixel 12a. – ¶0091),
wherein the first region and the second region are defined by columns (fig. 2, 5), and
wherein the plurality of signal lines includes
a first signal line connected to a column circuit corresponding to a column of the first region and not connected to a column circuit corresponding to a column of the second region (see VL from region 11 in fig. 2 going to column circuit 4-7. Also see fig. 6, VSL_1 that carries valid pixels 11a, …pixel signals VSL_1 of the valid pixels 11a in the first row – ¶0115), and
a second signal line connected to the column circuit corresponding to the column of the second region and not connected to the column circuit corresponding to the column of the first region (see separate VL from region 12 in fig. 2 going to column circuit 4-7. Also see fig. 6, …As the zero reset signal, either the pixel signal of the light-shielded pixel 12a (in this example, the pixel signal VSL3 or the pixel signal VSL4 –
¶0094).
Regarding claim 2, Yasu discloses the photoelectric conversion device according to claim 1,
wherein the pixel array unit further includes a third region that is provided with a pixel including a photoelectric conversion unit and is shielded from light (within light shielded region 12, there in a sub-region wherein pixels 12a, 122a-2 and 122a-1 are located, which have PD therein, fig. 5, ¶0091), and
wherein the plurality of signal lines further includes a third signal line connected to a column circuit corresponding to a column of the third region and not connected to the column circuit corresponding to the column of the first region and the column circuit corresponding to the column of the second region (fig. 6 column line structure indicates that each column lines and circuits are separate).
Regarding claim 3, Yasu discloses the photoelectric conversion device according to claim 1,
wherein the pixel array unit further includes a third region that is provided with a pixel including a photoelectric conversion unit and is shielded from light (within light shielded region 12, there in a sub-region wherein pixels 12a, 122a-2 and 122a-1 are located, which have PD therein, fig. 5, ¶0091), and
wherein the first signal line is connected to a column circuit corresponding to a column of the third region (pixel 122a-1, which neighbors is understood meeting the limitation, since column lines are neighboring to one another, the “corresponding to a column of the third region” is understood met as neighboring to one another).
Regarding claim 4, Yasu discloses the photoelectric conversion device according to claim 1,
wherein each of the plurality of column circuits includes a comparison circuit (185, fig. 6) configured to compare the pixel signal with a reference signal (The voltage signal of the vertical signal line VL is input to one input terminal (first input terminal) of the comparator 185 via the capacitor 181. The reference signal RAMP is input to the other input terminal (second input terminal) of the comparator 185 via the capacitor 182. – ¶0099), and
wherein each of the first signal line and the second signal line is a signal line connected to the comparison circuit (ibid, ¶0098-0102).
Regarding claim 5, Yasu discloses the photoelectric conversion device according to claim 4, wherein each of the first signal line and the second signal line is a signal line configured to supply a control signal for controlling a current consumption of the comparison circuit (The comparison circuit section 6 includes a plurality of comparison circuits 6a each connected to the corresponding vertical signal line VL. Each comparison circuit 6a compares the voltage signal of the vertical signal line VL with the reference signal RAMP. The comparison circuit 6a includes a capacitor (capacitive element) 181, a capacitor 182, a switch 183, a switch 184, a comparator 185, and a sense amplifier 186. The comparison result of the comparator 185 is output as a comparison result signal COM_Out via the sense amplifier 186 and is counted by the corresponding counter 7a.
The voltage signal of the vertical signal line VL is input to one input terminal (first input terminal) of the comparator 185 via the capacitor 181. The reference signal RAMP is input to the other input terminal (second input terminal) of the comparator 185 via the capacitor 182. – ¶0098-0099).
Regarding claim 6, Yasu discloses the photoelectric conversion device according to claim 4, wherein each of the first signal line and the second signal line is a signal line configured to supply a control signal for controlling a reset operation of the comparison circuit (During the auto-zero operation, the zero reset signal is input to the first input terminal of the comparator 185, and the reference signal RAMP is input to the second input terminal. – ¶0100. Also see ¶0099-0102).
Regarding claim 12, Yasu discloses, a photoelectric conversion device comprising:
a pixel array unit (1, fig. 2) including a plurality of pixels (11a, 12a, fig. 2) arranged to form a plurality of columns (fig. 2, Abstract, ¶0058);
a plurality of column circuits (4-7, fig. 2, 6) provided corresponding to each of the plurality of columns and to which a pixel signal output from a pixel of the corresponding column is input (¶0093-0100); and
a plurality of signal lines configured to supply signals to the plurality of column circuits (VL, figs. 2, 4, 6),
wherein the pixel array unit includes
a first region (11, figs. 2, 5) that is provided with a pixel (122a-3, fig. 5) including a photoelectric conversion unit and to which light is incident (The invalid pixel 122a-3 has a structure excluding the photoelectric conversion section PD from the structure of the light-shielded pixel 12a. – ¶0091),
a second region (12, figs. 2, 5) that is provided with a pixel (122a-3, fig. 5) including no photoelectric conversion units and is shielded from light (The invalid pixel 122a-3 has a structure excluding the photoelectric conversion section PD from the structure of the light-shielded pixel 12a. – ¶0091), and
a third region that is provided with a pixel including a photoelectric conversion unit and is shielded from light (within light shielded region 12, there in a sub-region wherein pixels 12a, 122a-2 and 122a-1 are located, which have PD therein, fig. 5, ¶0091),
wherein the first region, the second region and the third region are defined by columns (figs. 4-6), and
wherein the plurality of signal lines includes
a first signal line connected to a column circuit corresponding to a column of the third region and not connected to a column circuit corresponding to a column of the second region (see VL from region 11 in fig. 2 going to column circuit 4-7. Also see fig. 6, VSL_1 that carries valid pixels 11a, …pixel signals VSL_1 of the valid pixels 11a in the first row – ¶0115), and
a second signal line connected to the column circuit corresponding to the column of the second region and not connected to the column circuit corresponding to the column of the third region (see separate VL from region 12 in fig. 2 going to column circuit 4-7. Also see fig. 6, …As the zero reset signal, either the pixel signal of the light-shielded pixel 12a (in this example, the pixel signal VSL3 or the pixel signal VSL4 –
¶0094).
Regarding claim 13, Yasu discloses the photoelectric conversion device according to claim 12,
wherein each of the plurality of column circuit includes a comparison circuit (185, fig. 6) configured to compare the pixel signal with a reference signal (The voltage signal of the vertical signal line VL is input to one input terminal (first input terminal) of the comparator 185 via the capacitor 181. The reference signal RAMP is input to the other input terminal (second input terminal) of the comparator 185 via the capacitor 182. – ¶0099), and
wherein each of the first signal line and the second signal line is a signal line connected to the comparison circuit (ibid, ¶0098-0102).
Regarding claim 17, Yasu discloses an imaging system (502, fig. 2) comprising:
the photoelectric conversion device according to claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection above); and
a signal processing device (92, fig. 2) configured to process a signal output from the photoelectric conversion device (Abstract, ¶0083-0087).
Regarding claim 18, Yasu discloses a movable object (vehicle of fig. 38) comprising:
the photoelectric conversion device according to claim 1 (¶0173-0183); and
a distance information acquisition unit configured to acquire distance information to an object from a parallax image based on a signal from the photoelectric conversion device (…signal processing section (92) that generates a depth image signal based on conversion results of the plurality of AD conversion circuits, wherein the plurality of pixels (11a, 12a) include a plurality of valid pixels (11a) provided in the row direction and the column direction to correspond to the depth image signal - Abstract); and
a control unit configured to control the movable object based on the distance information (12000, fig. 37, ¶0153, ¶0158-0159, ¶0169-0171, ¶0174-0183).
Regarding claim 19, Yasu discloses Equipment (fig. 37) comprising:
the photoelectric conversion device according to claim 1 (¶0173-0183), and
at least one of
an optical device corresponding to the photoelectric conversion device (12031, fig. 37, ¶0158-0159),
a control device (12051, fig. 37) configured to control the photoelectric conversion device (¶0161-0163, ¶0170-0172),
a processing device configured to process a signal output from the photoelectric conversion device (92, fig. 2, ¶0174),
a mechanical device that is controlled based on information obtained by the photoelectric conversion device (12010, fig. 37, ¶0155-0156, 0161, ¶0171),
a display device configured to display information obtained by the photoelectric conversion device (12062, fig. 37, ¶0164, 0171-0172), and
a storage device (93, fig. 2) configured to store information obtained by the photoelectric conversion device (¶0087, ¶0146).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16 is allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 16, Yasu discloses a method of driving a photoelectric conversion (¶0002, ¶0062, figs. 7-9) device including:
a pixel array unit including a plurality of pixels arranged to form a plurality of columns,
a plurality of column circuits provided corresponding to each of the plurality of columns and to which a pixel signal output from a pixel of the corresponding column is input, and
a plurality of signal lines configured to supply signals to the plurality of column circuits,
wherein the pixel array unit includes
a first region that is provided with a pixel including a photoelectric conversion unit and to which light is incident, and
a second region that is provided with a pixel including no photoelectric conversion units and is shielded from light,
wherein the first region and the second region are defined by columns, and
wherein the plurality of signal lines includes
a first signal line connected to a column circuit corresponding to a column of the first region and not connected to a column circuit corresponding to a column of the second region,
a second signal line connected to the column circuit corresponding to the column of the second region and not connected to the column circuit corresponding to the column of the first region (see substantively similar claim 1 rejection above),
However, neither Yasu not other prior arts of record taken alone or in combination reasonably disclose or suggest,
wherein each of the plurality of column circuit includes a comparison circuit configured to compare the pixel signal with a reference signal, a switching unit configured to switch the reference signal supplied to the comparison circuit, and a buffer circuit connected between a signal line to which the reference signal is supplied and the comparison circuit, and
wherein each of the first signal line and the second signal line is a signal line configured to supply a control signal for controlling the switching unit, the method comprising:
outputting, when an AD conversion of the pixel signal of a reset level is performed, a control signal for selecting a first reference signal to the switching unit of the column circuit corresponding to the column of the first region via the first signal line, and a control signal for selecting the first reference signal to the switching unit of the column circuit corresponding to the column of the second region via the second signal line;
outputting, when an AD conversion of the pixel signal of a light signal level is performed and an object is low luminance, a control signal for selecting the first reference signal to the switching unit of the column circuit corresponding to the column of the first region via the first signal line, and a control signal for selecting a second reference signal having an amplitude larger than the first reference signal to the switching unit of the column circuit corresponding to the column of the second region via the second signal line; and
outputting, when an AD conversion of the pixel signal of a light signal level is performed and an object is high luminance, a control signal for selecting the second reference signal to the switching unit of the column circuit corresponding to the column of the first region via the first signal line, and a control signal for selecting the second reference signal to the switching unit of the column circuit corresponding to the column of the second region via the second signal line.
Claims 7-11, 14-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Prior arts of record taken alone or in combination fails to reasonably disclose or suggest,
Regarding claim 7, wherein the first signal line is a signal line configured to supply a first reference signal to the comparison circuit, and
wherein the second signal line is a signal line configured to supply a second reference signal different from the first reference signal to the comparison circuit.
Claim 8 is allowable for being dependent on allowable claim 7.
Regarding claim 9, wherein each of the plurality of column circuit includes a comparison circuit configured to compare the pixel signal with a reference signal, and a switching unit configured to switch the reference signal supplied to the comparison circuit,
wherein each of the first signal line and the second signal line is a signal line configured to supply a control signal for controlling the switching unit.
Claim 10 is allowable for being dependent on allowable claim 9.
Regarding claim 11, wherein each of the plurality of column circuit includes an amplifier circuit configured to amplify the pixel signal, and
wherein each of the first signal line and the second signal line is a signal line configured to supply a control signal for controlling a gain of the amplifier circuit.
Regarding claim 14, Yasu discloses the photoelectric conversion device according to claim 12,
wherein each of the plurality of column circuit includes a comparison circuit configured to compare the pixel signal with a reference signal, and a switching unit configured switch the reference signal supplied to the comparison circuit, and
wherein each of the first signal line and the second signal line is a signal line configured to supply a control signal for controlling the switching unit.
Regarding claim 15, Yasu discloses the photoelectric conversion device according to claim 12, wherein each of the plurality of column circuit includes an amplifier circuit configured to amplify the pixel signal, and
wherein each of the first signal line and the second signal line is a signal line configured to supply a control signal for controlling a gain of the amplifier circuit.
Conclusion
The prior and/or pertinent art(s) made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, are – TORIGE et al. (US 20240030257 A1), Kim et al. (US 20220020804 A1), Noh et al. (US 20230170373 A1) who disclose different image sensor architectures of interest disclosing dark current mitigation pixels of interest.
/SHAHBAZ NAZRUL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2638