DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1 in the reply filed 04/27/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 19 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b)
as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election
was made without traverse in the reply filed on 04/27/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 9, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 5, the claim recites the play image among a plurality of regions included in the one dart target is dynamically determined, however it is unclear what is meant by dynamically determined. Examiner understands a “play image” to be a still/non-moving image and “dynamically determined” is defined as changing or moving. As such, this is unclear with the definition of a “play image,” and examiner understands this to mean considering both dart pin throws. For purposes of this opinion, that is how this claim shall be interpreted and treated. Examiner suggests amending the claim to clearly define the limitation.
Regarding claim 9, the claim recites the area information being generated, however it is unclear whether this is a separate type of information than the location information, or the same. Examiner understands this to be analogous to the hit location information. For purposes of this opinion, that is how this claim shall be interpreted and treated. Examiner suggests amending the claim to clearly define the limitation.
Regarding claim 18, the claim recites wherein the play image is displayed so that at least one segment in the dart target corresponding to the first location information of the first dart pin and the second location information of the second dart pin protrudes relative to other segments of the dart target, however it is unclear how a still/non-moving “play image” can “protrude.” Examiner understands this to mean that a segment of the play image is illuminated/highlighted when hit by a dart pin. For purposes of this opinion, that is how this claim shall be interpreted and treated. Examiner suggests amending the claim to clearly define the limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-5, 9-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong (EP 3251732 A1) in view McNally et al. (US 20220341716 A1), hereinafter McNally, further in view of Hollinger et al. (US 20170307341 A1), hereinafter Hollinger.
Regarding claim 1, Hong discloses A method for providing a dart game, the method being performed by a dart game device, the method comprising: obtaining, in response to a first throw of a first dart pin, a first image corresponding to a dart target including the first dart pin (A camera is installed at a location to photograph the dart target 110 in association with the dart game apparatus, and as a result, the camera unit 150 may photograph and/or capture the location which the dart pin reaches [0080]; the image includes both the dart target 110 and dart pin 510 (first dart pin), wherein the dart target includes a plurality of segments, and each segment includes a predetermined number of bits ([0079] Alternatively, referring to the above description, in more detail, the dart game apparatus 100 may map location coordinate values (x,y) in respective receiving grooves of the segments of the dart target 110.); obtaining, in response to a second throw of a second dart pin, a second image corresponding to the dart target including the second dart pin (That is, the location of the dart pin may be identified based on an image acquired by capturing the image photographed through the camera unit 150 photographing the dart target 110 [0054]; for a second dart pin 510-1); generating first location information of the first dart pin (510) corresponding to the first image and second location information of the second dart pin (510-1) corresponding to the second image (That is, the location of the dart pin may be identified based on an image acquired by capturing the image photographed through the camera unit 150 photographing the dart target 110 [0054]; for both dart pins), wherein the first location information includes a bit location within a segment hit by the first dart pin, and the second location information includes a bit location within a segment hit by the second dart pin ([0141] Referring to FIGS. 5C and 5D , the hitting locations of the dart pins 550, 550-1 and 550-2 may be identified based on the receiving grooves of the dart target, which correspond to the dart pins which stick, respectively. The hitting areas may be calculated based on segments 521, 523, and 525 of the dart target, which correspond to the dart pins 550, 550-1, and 550-2 which stick the dart target 110 identified by the location identification unit 121) and generating a play result (score, weighted value) for the dart game including the first throw and the second throw by using the first location information and the second location information ([0063]The network connection unit 160 may receive information for calculating the score by using the location of the dart pin from the dart game apparatus 100. Alternatively, the network connection unit 160 may receive the positional information from the dart pin. Further, the network connection unit 160 may include at least one of the number of throwing times of the dart pin, which remain in the throwing opportunity of the dart game player to the dart game apparatus 100; each of the dart pins 510, 510-1 are included), wherein the play result (score, weighted value) for the dart game includes information indicating a player who wins (obtaining the highest weighted value) by throwing any one of the first dart pin and the second dart pin to a location close to a specific location of the dart target (predetermined location of the dart target) among a plurality of players (first and second players) throwing the dart pins (Additionally, when the hitting areas formed by the thrown dart pins include the predetermined location of the dart target, the weighted value may be granted. For example, since the formed hitting area 910 includes the bullseye 901 therein in the case of the hitting area 910, the weighted value may be granted to the hitting area 910 [0165]).
While Hong teaches a dart pin location identification model (121), it fails to teach that it is artificial intelligence-based.
McNally teaches this as follows: Advantageously, the trained neural network or AI infers the positions of dartboard calibration points and dart landing positions even when they are not directly visible in the image (e.g., due to self-occlusion or occlusion from other darts), thereby enabling reliable automatic dart scoring using a single-camera system [0060].
As Hong and McNally both teach a method of determining a position of a dart pin landing on a dart target, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the location identification unit of Hong with the AI neural network of McNally to best enable automatic dart scoring (McNally, [0060]).
However, the modified Hong fails to teach by comparing a first distance from the specific location of the dart target to a bit location within a segment hit by the first dart pin, and a second distance from the specific location of the dart target to a bit location within a segment hit by the second dart pin.
Hollinger teaches this as follows: by comparing a first distance from the specific location of the dart target (rules from the game database 624) to a bit location within a segment hit by the first dart pin (Module 634 may use mathematics module 622 to calculate the location of the dart and to compare this location with rules from game database 624 to determine the scoring region the dart is in [0103]).
Therefore, it would have obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the play result of the modified Hong to further include the information regarding the comparison of the dart target location to where the dart pin hits of Hollinger in order to best have a standard of comparison to most accurately determine a winner amongst a plurality of players.
In the combination of the modified Hong and Hollinger, the play result of Hong with the further information of comparison of locations of Hollinger teaches and a second distance from the specific location of the dart target to a bit location within a segment hit by the second dart pin, as there is a second dart pin of Hong (510-1), and it would have been readily understood by one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention that, the second dart pin’s distance could also be compared if the first dart pin’s distance is already being compared (Hollinger, [0103]).
Regarding claim 2, in further modified Hong, Hollinger teaches wherein the play result for the dart game further includes information indicating which of the first dart pin (110A) and the second dart pin (110B) hit a location close to a predetermined point (206) on the dart target (108); Board 108 is divided into scoring regions such as regions 204A-204F, and each separate region may be assigned a separate point value. When the system detects a dart such as darts 110A or 110B, it can calculate the position of the dart on board 108, and assigns the proper point value based on which region 204 the dart 110 is calculated to be in [0036]. See Fig.2.
This appreciates claim 3 as well, as all the limitations are the same as claim 2, with the additional limitation of a location close to a center point of the dart target, which is the same as the predetermined point (206) of claim 2 above, as seen below in Fig 2 of Hollinger.
Regarding claim 4, in the modified Hong, Hong discloses wherein the play result for the dart game further includes a play image (graphically generated image) in which the first location information of the first dart pin and the second location information of the second dart pin are displayed on one dart target together ([0042] The display unit 142 may graphically generate the hitting area formed by connecting the dart pins which stick in the dart target 110 and provide the graphically generated hitting area. For example, an image showing that a triangular area is formed by connecting three dart pins may be output.)
Regarding claim 5, in the modified Hong, Hong discloses wherein based on the first location information of the first dart pin and the second location information of the second dart pin, a region to be represented in a center portion (area 520) of the play image among a plurality of regions included in the one dart target ([0137] Referring to FIGS. 5A and 5B , a predetermined figure may be formed by connecting the hitting locations of the dart pins 510, 510-1 and 510-2 identified by the location identification unit 121. Therefore, the hitting area of the dart pin thrown by the dart game player may be calculated by an area 520 of the formed figure) is dynamically determined (as understood by examiner, this is appreciated as both dart pin locations are considered and included in the play image).
Regarding claim 9, in the further modified Hong, Hong teaches further comprising: obtaining, in response to a third throw of a third dart pin (That is, when the dart pin may be thrown three times per hitting opportunity of the dart game player, a maximum of three dart pins may stick in the dart target 110 [0146], a third image corresponding to a dart target including the third dart pin (A camera is installed at a location to photograph the dart target 110 in association with the dart game apparatus, and as a result, the camera unit 150 may photograph and/or capture the location which the dart pin reaches [0080]; the image includes both the dart target 110 and dart pin 510-2 (third dart pin); and generating third location information of the third dart pin corresponding to the third image by using the artificial intelligence-based dart pin location identification network model (as discussed above in claim 1, this is appreciated the same way in the combination of Hong and Hollinger via the modified dart pin location identification network model, and it would have been readily understood by one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, that the third location information of the third dart pin (510-2) corresponding to the third image would be generated, since the first location and second location information is already generated), wherein the generating of the play result for the dart game includes generating a play result for the dart game based on area information corresponding to the first throw, the second throw, and the third throw from the dart target (While the modified Hong doesn’t explicitly disclose this, it would have been readily understood by one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, that third throw would be included in the play result, since the first throw and second throw information is already generated; ([0063] The network connection unit 160 may receive information for calculating the score by using the location of the dart pin from the dart game apparatus 100. Alternatively, the network connection unit 160 may receive the positional information from the dart pin. Further, the network connection unit 160 may include at least one of the number of throwing times of the dart pin, which remain in the throwing opportunity of the dart game player to the dart game apparatus 100; each of the dart pins 510, 510-1, and 510-2 are included), the area information being generated by using the first location information, the second location information, and the third location information (As understood by the examiner, the area information is analogous to the hit location information, and The hitting areas may be calculated based on segments 521, 523, and 525 of the dart target, which correspond to the dart pins 550, 550-1, and 550-2 which stick the dart target 110 identified by the location identification unit 121 [0141]. Although Lee doesn’t explicitly state using the first location information, the second location information, and the third location information, there are three dart pin throws each having their respective location information, resulting in the area location information being generated by using the first location information, the second location information, and the third location information).
Regarding claim 10, in the modified Hong, Hong teaches wherein the first image and the second image are obtained by a camera unit connected to the dart game device ([0080] A camera is installed at a location to photograph the dart target 110 in association with the dart game apparatus, and as a result, the camera unit 150 may photograph and/or capture the location which the dart pin reaches; this includes both a first image of first dart pin 510 and second image of second dart pin 510-1) and Hollinger teaches the obtaining of the first image includes obtaining the first image including a first-1 image (302A) and a first-2 image (302B) of the dart target (108) hit by the first dart pin (110A), photographed from different directions (field-of-view) in response to the first throw of the first dart pin (In both FIGS. 3A and 3B, field-of-view 304 may be captured by cameras that are mounted flush with the surface of board 108. Such a field-of-view is thus configured to capture image data depicting the position of darts 110 and may exclude image data showing the sides or edges of board 108; the position of the darts being in response to the firth throw of the first dart pin), and the obtaining of the second image includes obtaining the second image including a second-1 image and a second-2 image of the dart target hit by the second dart pin, photographed from different directions in response to the second throw of the second dart pin (While Hollinger doesn’t explicitly disclose this, it would have been readily understood by one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention that, a second image with second-1 and 2 images of the second dart pin could also be obtained if the a first image with first-1 and 2 images of the first dart pin darts is already being obtained. Additionally, in Figs 3A and 3B of Hollinger the two images generated include second dart pin 110B).
Regarding claim 11, the modified Hong with Hollinger teaches wherein the generating of first location information of the first dart pin corresponding to the first image by using the artificial intelligence-based dart pin location identification network model (see above in rejection of claim 1).
Additionally, McNally further teaches includes generating first input data (calibration points) by performing a merging operation (processing tasks 12); and generating the first location information of the first dart pin from the first input data ([0062] In reference to FIG. 3, the computing device 1 uses a camera 2 to capture an RGB image 7 of the target surface 5. The computing device 1 then uses its processing units, which may be embodied as digital signal processors or the like, to perform various image processing tasks 12 that localize, in the image coordinates, a set of at least four unique calibration points 9A, 9B, 9C, 9D, and a set of points 10 corresponding to the landing positions of any dart 11 that may be present in the image)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the method of the modified Hong with the merging step of the method of McNally to best detect the location information of the respective first dart pin (McNally, [0084]).
In the further modified Hong with McNally, the first-1 image and first-2 images of Hollinger with the merging operation of McNally teaches the first-1 image and the first-2 image of the dart target hit by the first dart pin, photographed from different directions.
While the further modified Hong doesn’t explicitly disclose and generating second input data by performing a merging operation on the second-1 image and the second-2 image of the dart target hit by the second dart pin, photographed from different directions; and generating the second location information of the second dart pin from the second input data, by using the dart pin location identification network model, it would have been readily understood by one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention that the second input data and second location information can be generated since the first input data from the merging of the first-1 image and first-2 image is being generated, and since the first location information of the first dart pin from the first input data is being generated.
Regarding claim 12, in the further modified Hong, McNally teaches wherein each of the first input data (calibration points 9A, 9B, 9C, 9D corresponding to the first dart pin) includes at least two bounding box images (predicted and target keypoint bounding boxes; One embodiment utilizes the notion of a keypoint bounding box, a small square box representing a keypoint at its center. The keypoint detector, which may be embodied as a convolutional neural network or the like, is trained in the same manner as an object detector, using a loss function based on the intersection over union computed using the predicted and target keypoint bounding boxes [0067]) corresponding to at least two dart target photographed images (see FIG 4, where the calibration points of the keypoint bounding boxes correspond to image 7 and image 15, which are the two dart target photographed images); and each of the first input data (calibration points) includes images of the at least two bounding box images arranged in a predetermined direction (Some of the disclosed strategies change the positions of the darts while keeping the calibration points fixed, so as to not confuse the neural network regarding the relative positioning of the calibration points [0072]; by keeping the calibration points fixed in both predicted and target keypoint bounding boxes, they are arranged in a predetermined direction).
While the further modified Hong doesn’t explicitly disclose the second input data, as discussed above in claim 11, it would have been readily understood by one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to have include the second input data, since the first input data is already disclosed.
Regarding claim 13, in the further modified Hong, McNally teaches wherein the dart pin location identification network model (neural network) is pre-trained by using a training dataset including training image data ([0107] In another embodiment, the system is further configured to utilize a trained neural network to detect the dart landing position in the image plane, and correlating the orientation of the dart relative to the dart landing position), including at least two photographed images (7,15) of the dart target hit by the dart pin (the image plane is in both image 7 and image, and the neural network is trained by taking into account these two images), photographed from different directions ([0084] At 27, the controller uses the image processing tasks 12 to detect the calibration points 9A, 9B, 9C, 91) and any dart landing positions 10 in the RGB image 7. If no calibration points are detected at 28, the game controller returns to 24 and instructs the user to reposition the camera 2 such that it has a clear and unobstructed view of the dartboard 4; this repositioning of the camera is analogous to photographing from different directions) and label data including hit location information (dart landing positions) of the dart pin corresponding to the training image data (Up to seven keypoints were labeled in each image, including four dartboard calibration points P.sub.c, and up to three dart landing positions P.sub.d [0078]; these are included in the training dataset (training image data) used to pre-train the neural network).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention, that the embodiment of McNally could have been modified as claimed in view of the teachings regarding a system configured to utilize a trained neural network and include labeled data to best improve the accuracy of the system (McNally, [0080]).
Regarding claim 14, in the modified Hong, McNally teaches wherein the label data includes bit location information indicating location information of a bit within a segment of the dart target (Up to seven keypoints were labeled in each image, including four dartboard calibration points P.sub.c, and up to three dart landing positions P.sub.d [0078]; each of these seven keypoints included in the label data are made up of a dart pin landing in a specific bit within a segment of the dart target; see Fig. 6J).
Regarding claim 15, in the modified Hong, McNally teaches wherein the label data includes history information (annotations of dart pin location information from annotation tool) for identifying a dart pin (All digital images were annotated by a single person using a custom--made annotation tool. Up to seven keypoints were labeled in each image, including four dartboard calibration points P.sub.c, and up to three dart landing positions P.sub.d [0078]) that is the subject of training within at least two photographed images of the dart target hit by the plurality of dart pins ([0107] In another embodiment, the system is further configured to utilize a trained neural network to detect the dart landing position in the image plane, and correlating the orientation of the dart relative to the dart landing position; the at least two photographed images of the dart target hit by the plurality of dart pins (7,15) of the dart target hit by the dart pin are included in the image plane that is the subject of training).
Regarding claim 16, in the modified Hong, McNally teaches wherein the history information includes at least one of a score value determined based on a dart pin throw or location information of the dart pin determined based on a dart pin throw (Up to seven keypoints were labeled in each image, including four dartboard calibration points P.sub.c, and up to three dart landing positions P.sub.d [0078]; each of these seven keypoints included in the label data are location information of the dart pin determined based on a dart pin throw, and this label data includes the history information, resulting in the history information includes location information of the dart pin determined based on a dart pin throw).
Regarding claim 17, in the modified Hong, Hong teaches wherein the dart pin location identification network model (121) determines a dart pin to be excluded ([0142] For example, the hitting areas may be calculated by the sum of respective areas of the segments 521, 523, and 525 of the dart target, which correspond to the dart pins 550, 550-1, and 550-2. Alternatively, in general, since the areas of the segments of 'bullseye area', 'double area', and 'triple area' of the dart target are small, a largest area is excluded among the segments hit per hitting opportunity which the dart game player has by reflecting the small areas to calculate the hitting areas; a dart pin in the largest area is excluded).
Moreso, McNally teaches a training process from the history information included in the label data, from the plurality of dart pins (Up to seven keypoints were labeled in each image, including four dartboard calibration points P.sub.c, and up to three dart landing positions P.sub.d [0078]; each of these seven keypoints included in the label data are from the plurality of dart pins, and this label data includes the history information).
As Hong and McNally both teach a method of determining a position of a dart pin landing on a dart target, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the exclusion step of Hong with the training process of McNally to best train the dart pin location identification model (McNally, [0081]).
Regarding claim 18, in the further modified Hong, Hong teaches wherein the play image (graphically generated image) is displayed so that at least one segment in the dart target protrudes (illuminates) relative to other segments of the dart target (For example, the illumination effect may be output to a segment corresponding to an area of triple 3. Alternatively, the illumination effect may be output to segments corresponding to areas of double 5 and double 17 [0096]). As understood by the examiner, the protrudes relative to other segments of the dart target is analogous to an illumination/irradiation on the dart target. Additionally, as there are three dart pins, this illumination effect on a segment of the dart target is corresponding to the first location information of the first dart pin (510) and the second location information of the second dart pin (510-1) in order to compare the first distance with the second distance (see Fig. 5C).
Regarding claim 20, Hong discloses A computer program stored in a computer-readable storage medium ([0011]), the computer program allowing at least one processor to perform operations for providing a dart game when being executed by the at least one processor ([0019] For example, the component may be a processing process executed on a processor, the processor, an object, an execution thread, a program, and/or a computer, but is not limited thereto) the operations comprising: an operation of obtaining, in response to a first throw of a first dart pin, a first image corresponding to a dart target including the first dart pin (A camera is installed at a location to photograph the dart target 110 in association with the dart game apparatus, and as a result, the camera unit 150 may photograph and/or capture the location which the dart pin reaches [0080]; the image includes both the dart target 110 and dart pin 510 (first dart pin), wherein the dart target includes a plurality of segments, and each segment includes a predetermined number of bits ([0079] Alternatively, referring to the above description, in more detail, the dart game apparatus 100 may map location coordinate values (x,y) in respective receiving grooves of the segments of the dart target 110.); an operation of obtaining, in response to a second throw of a second dart pin, a second image corresponding to the dart target including the second dart pin (That is, the location of the dart pin may be identified based on an image acquired by capturing the image photographed through the camera unit 150 photographing the dart target 110 [0054]; for a second dart pin 510-1); an operation of generating first location information of the first dart pin (510) corresponding to the first image and second location information of the second dart pin (510-1) corresponding to the second image (That is, the location of the dart pin may be identified based on an image acquired by capturing the image photographed through the camera unit 150 photographing the dart target 110 [0054]; for both dart pins) wherein the first location information includes a bit location within a segment hit by the first dart pin, and the second location information includes a bit location within a segment hit by the second dart pin ([0141] Referring to FIGS. 5C and 5D , the hitting locations of the dart pins 550, 550-1 and 550-2 may be identified based on the receiving grooves of the dart target, which correspond to the dart pins which stick, respectively. The hitting areas may be calculated based on segments 521, 523, and 525 of the dart target, which correspond to the dart pins 550, 550-1, and 550-2 which stick the dart target 110 identified by the location identification unit 121); and an operation of generating a play result (score, weighted value) for the dart game including the first throw and the second throw by using the first location information and the second location information ([0063]The network connection unit 160 may receive information for calculating the score by using the location of the dart pin from the dart game apparatus 100. Alternatively, the network connection unit 160 may receive the positional information from the dart pin. Further, the network connection unit 160 may include at least one of the number of throwing times of the dart pin, which remain in the throwing opportunity of the dart game player to the dart game apparatus 100; each of the dart pins 510, 510-1 are included); wherein the play result (score, weighted value) for the dart game includes information indicating a player who wins (obtaining the highest weighted value) by throwing any one of the first dart pin and the second dart pin to a location close to a specific location of the dart target (predetermined location of the dart target) among a plurality of players (first and second players) throwing the dart pins (Additionally, when the hitting areas formed by the thrown dart pins include the predetermined location of the dart target, the weighted value may be granted. For example, since the formed hitting area 910 includes the bullseye 901 therein in the case of the hitting area 910, the weighted value may be granted to the hitting area 910 [0165]).
While Hong teaches a dart pin location identification model (121), it fails to teach that it is artificial intelligence-based.
McNally teaches this as follows: Advantageously, the trained neural network or AI infers the positions of dartboard calibration points and dart landing positions even when they are not directly visible in the image (e.g., due to self-occlusion or occlusion from other darts), thereby enabling reliable automatic dart scoring using a single-camera system [0060].
As Hong and McNally both teach a method of determining a position of a dart pin landing on a dart target, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the location identification unit of Hong with the AI neural network of McNally to best enable automatic dart scoring (McNally, [0060]).
However, the modified Hong fails to teach by comparing a first distance from the specific location of the dart target to a bit location within a segment hit by the first dart pin, and a second distance from the specific location of the dart target to a bit location within a segment hit by the second dart pin.
Hollinger teaches this as follows: by comparing a first distance from the specific location of the dart target (rules from the game database 624) to a bit location within a segment hit by the first dart pin (Module 634 may use mathematics module 622 to calculate the location of the dart and to compare this location with rules from game database 624 to determine the scoring region the dart is in [0103]).
Therefore, it would have obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the play result of the modified Hong to further include the information regarding the comparison of the dart target location to where the dart pin hits of Hollinger in order to best have a standard of comparison to most accurately determine a winner amongst a plurality of players.
In the combination of the modified Hong and Hollinger, the play result of Hong with the further information of comparison of locations of Hollinger teaches and a second distance from the specific location of the dart target to a bit location within a segment hit by the second dart pin, as there is a second dart pin of Hong (510-1), and it would have been readily understood by one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention that, the second dart pin’s distance could also be compared if the first dart pin’s distance is already being compared (Hollinger, [0103]).
2. Claims 6-7 are rejected under U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Hong in view of McNally, further in view of Hollinger and Hong (US 20180266794 A1), hereinafter HONG.
Regarding claim 6, while in the further modified Hong, Hong teaches the play image (dart target photographing image), it fails to teach that it includes a video image representing an image before and an image after the first dart pin reaches the dart target, and a video image representing an image before and an image after the second dart pin reaches the dart target in a state where the first dart pin has hit according to the second throw of the second dart pin.
HONG teaches this as follows: includes a video image (third lesson image; the third lesson image may include an image of praising the real player [0364], therefore it is understood to be moving; i.e. a video image) representing an image before and an image after the first dart pin reaches the dart target (which includes the replay for the dart pin throwing of the real player, a comparison image between an image for throwing before the lesson and the throwing motion after the lesson, and the like [0364])
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the play image of the modified Lee to further include the video image of HONG with before and after images of the first dart pin to best document the dart pin hit (Hong, [0364]).
In the combination of the further modified Hong and HONG, the play image of the further modified Hong with the moving picture having before and after images of HONG teaches and a video image representing an image before and an image after the second dart pin reaches the dart target in a state where the first dart pin has hit according to the second throw of the second dart pin, as it would have been readily understood by one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to also include a video image representing an image before and an image after of the second dart pin, since the first dart pin is already being documented.
Regarding claim 7, while in the further modified Hong, Hong teaches wherein the play image based on the first location information of the first dart pin and the second location information of the second dart pin (graphically generated image including location information of both the first dart pin 510 and second dart pin 510-1), it fails to teach includes a highlighted indication for comparing the first distance with the second distance.
HONG teaches this as follows: For example, the dart game apparatus 100 may display a highlight effect showing that the virtual player is selected on a card contour line of the selected virtual player (910) [0271].
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the play image of the further modified Hong with the specific highlight indication of HONG to effectively indicate to the user the location information of each dart pin in a visual manner (Hong, col 24, lines 41-44).
In the combination of the further modified Hong and HONG, the play image of the further modified Hong with the highlighted indication capability of HONG teaches comparing the first distance with the second distance of each dart pin, respectively.
3. Claim 8 is rejected under U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Hong in view of McNally, further in view of Hollinger and Rice (US 20180169515 A1).
While in the further modified Hong, Hong teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the play result for the dart game further includes a play result (the score, weighted value obtained), it fails to teach indicating that priority is given to a player who throws a dart pin that hits a location close to a center point of the dart target between the first dart pin and the second dart pin by comparing first location information corresponding to the first throw with second location information corresponding to the second throw.
Rice teaches this as follows: The problem to be solved by this new invention pertains to computerized determination of who shoots/throws first in a dart match competition. Typically, within the soft-tipped, automatic scoring, electronic dart community, determination of who goes first is made after those involved throw a dart; the closest to the center of the bullseye being selected to begin [0010].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the play image of the further modified Hong with the step of determining which player goes first of Rice in order to most fairly begin the game amongst a group of players (Rice, [0010]).
Additionally, in the combination of the further modified Hong and Rice, the play result between the first and second dart pins of Hong with the priority determination step of Rice teaches by comparing first location information corresponding to the first throw with second location information corresponding to the second throw.
Conclusion
/R.S./ Examiner, Art Unit 3711
/NICHOLAS J. WEISS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3711