November 21, 2025
DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 11/07/2025. These drawings are approved.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Plant et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,291,310 B2) in view of Norman et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,913,540 B2).
Plant et al. teach the structure substantially as claimed including a chair seat comprising:
a frame 48 having a groove 60 on an outer side wall of the frame 48, the groove substantially extending around the frame;
at least one edging strip 64 disposed in the groove the edging strip having outer surfaces that form an interference fit with inner surfaces of the groove (See column 4, lines 1-3 where it reads “Referring to FIG. 11, the insert 64 has a substantially rectangular cross-section, and is dimensioned to form an interference fit with the groove 60.”), thereby constraining the hem and drawstring of the cover 49 and hold it holding the cover taut but does not teach that the cover has a drawstring incorporated in a hem which substantially extends around the cover, the hem and drawstring being disposed in the groove.
However, Noman et al. teach the concept of a cover 58 that has a drawstring 70 incorporated in a hem 68 which substantially extends around the cover, the hem and drawstring being capable of being disposed in a groove. It would have been obvious and well within the level of ordinary skill in the art to modify the seat, as taught by Plant et al., to include a cover that has a drawstring incorporated in a hem which substantially extends around the cover, the hem and drawstring being capable of being disposed in a groove, as taught by Norman et al., since it would allow the cover to be tautly secure to the frame before the edging strip is inserted in the grove 60.
As for claim 2, Plant et al. teach that the at least one edging strip has barbs 75 by way of clip 61.
As for claim 4, Plant et al. teach that a back cap 65 is provided to cover the cleat.
Claims 3 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eberlein et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,527,335 B2) in view of Law (U.S. Patent No. 7,073,693 B2), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hanley (U.S. Patent No. 5,806,925).
Eberlein et al. in view of Law teach the structure substantially as claimed but is silent as to whether or not a cleat is provided to hold drawstring under tension.
However, Hanley teaches a seat cover that is secured to a seat by a drawstring 22 in which a cleat 30 is provided to hold drawstring under tension and also allow the drawstring to be secured in the cleat and the back cap 65 can cover the cleat.. It would have been obvious and well within the level of ordinary skill in the art to modify the cover of the chair seat, as taught by Eberlein et al. in view of Law, to include a cleat 30 on the drawstring to hold the drawstring under tension, as taught by Hanley, since drawstring cleats, toggles, fasteners, etc. are well known and it would prevent the drawstring of the seat cover from losing tension, thus preventing the seat cover from detaching from the seat.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8, 10-11, and 14-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Rodney B White/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636