35 USC 102 Rejections
Claim(s) 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ohtani et al 6860748.
Regarding claim 11, Ohtani et al (front page and Figure 12) discloses a multi-port connector comprising: a housing 2A,2B having a male-type multi-port connection configured to fit within a female-type multi-port connection, the housing having a first side and top portion extending from the first side; a plurality of pin conductors 5 located at least partially within the housing and configured to electrically connect to the female-type multi-port connection; a latch 6A-E extending in a proximal direction and configured to lock with the female-type multi-port connection when the male-type multi-port connection fits within the female-type multi-port connection; and a button 7 configured, when pressed, to displace the latch for unlocking from the female-type multi-port connection, wherein the button is positioned on the top portion of the housing and configured to be pressed into the housing relative to the top portion in a first direction, and wherein movement of the button in the first direction (downwardly) causes movement of the latch away from the side portion toward a central axis in a second direction (laterally).
Regarding claim 12, Ohtani et al discloses the button 7 is moveable in a first direction to displace the latch 6A-E in a second direction is orthogonal to the first direction.
Regarding claim 13, Ohtani et al discloses the button 7 is configured to displace the latch 6A-E includes a deflection member 6D having a U-shaped configuration with an opening toward the central axis of the multi-port connector.
Regarding claim 14, Ohtani et al discloses the latch includes a base 6A, a deflection member 6D, and a prong 6E.
Regarding claim 15, Ohtani et al discloses the button 7 includes a leg 7C having an angled engagement surface configured to engage the deflection member 6D.
Regarding claim 16, Ohtani et al discloses the deflection member 6D includes an arm configured to limit a pivoting movement of the prong.
35 USC 103 Rejection
Claim(s) 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohtani et al as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Suzuki 6132231.
Suzuki (front page) discloses the button 11 is connected by a flexure 11A, and to provide Ohtani et al with same thus would have been obvious, for ease of manufacture.
Claims Defining Over Prior Art
Claims 1-10 and 18-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: none of the prior art discloses or teaches the combination of the pin conductors, mounts, cable seatings and cable as recited; in combination with the rest of the subject matter of the respective independent claim.
/GARY F PAUMEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834