DETAILED ACTION
Applicant amended claims 1, 3-5, 7, 8, 10, 11, 15, 16 and 20.
Status of claims:
Claims 1-20 are pending in this office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 objected to because of the following informalities: the claim states “The method of claim 1, wherein the second communication connection is a communication with the second network using a second subscriber identity module of the wireless device”. Applicant should amend claims to state “ The method of claim 1, wherein the second communication connection is in communication with a second network using a second subscriber identity module of the wireless device”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7-9, 15,16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Ljung et al.(US20190230497) (hereinafter Ljung).
Per claim 1, Ljung discloses a method of wireless communication, comprising:
transmitting, by a wireless device, to a first network in a first communication connection with the wireless device, a user equipment assistance information message to update a radio access capability between the wireless device (paragraph 0046, i.e. the UE 100 could transmit the bitmap while maintaining a connection to the wireless communication network, e.g., for indicating an update of its capabilities. As illustrated, the bitmap 200 includes a plurality of bits from which subsets of one or more bits indicate whether or not, and optionally also in which way, a certain capability is supported by the UE 100) and the first network due to detecting a change in the radio access capability between the wireless device and the first network (paragraph 0011, i.e. when controlling wireless transmissions of the wireless communication device, the base station may consider changes in the support of combinations in a dynamic manner, without interrupting connectivity of the wireless communication device to the wireless communication network), wherein the user equipment assistance information message includes a capability information indicator identifying, among a plurality of user equipment radio access capability sets previously provided to the first network (paragraph 0073, i.e. the UE 100 may then determine that the supported combinations of capabilities have changed, as indicated by block 806. Similar to the determination of block 803, the determination of block 806 is based on considering the current operational conditions of the UE 100) , a user equipment radio access capability set to be applied, wherein the first network updates the radio access capability between the wireless device(paragraph 0073, i.e. The determination of step 806 corresponds to identifying which limitation(s) now to apply on the maximum set of possible combinations. This may involve identifying one or more additional limitations to be applied identifying one or more limitations no longer to be applied) and the first network by selecting the identified user equipment radio access capability set from the plurality of user equipment radio access capability sets (paragraph 0091, i.e., At step 1030, the base station controls at least one wireless transmission of the wireless communication device. This is accomplished depending on the first indication received at step 1010 and the second indication received at step 1020. For example, this may involve activating or deactivating certain wireless functionalities of the wireless communication device which make use of the indicated capabilities) wherein an establishment of a second communication connection is initiated by the wireless device before or after or concurrently with transmitting the user equipment assistance information message (paragraph 0048, i.e. for example, message 302 could include a bitmap as explained in connection with FIG. 2. In the illustrated example, it is assumed that the UE 100 indicates multiple capabilities, i.e., a set of capabilities. By way of example, these capabilities could include the support of the above-mentioned relaying via one or more side-links, the support of dual connectivity, i.e., simultaneous utilization of connections to different base stations of the wireless communication network, or the support of carrier aggregation, i.e., simultaneous utilization of multiple carriers for establishing a connection to the wireless communication network).
Per claim 7, Ljung discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the user equipment assistance information message, which includes the capability information indicator identifying, among a plurality of user equipment radio access capability sets, the user equipment radio access capability set to be applied, is used to inform the network (paragraph 0073, i.e. The determination of step 806 corresponds to identifying which limitation(s) now to apply on the maximum set of possible combinations. This may involve identifying one or more additional limitations to be applied identifying one or more limitations no longer to be applied and paragraph 0048,. for example, message 302 could include a bitmap as explained in connection with FIG. 2. In the illustrated example, it is assumed that the UE 100 indicates multiple capabilities, i.e., a set of capabilities. By way of example, these capabilities could include the support of the above-mentioned relaying via one or more side-links, the support of dual connectivity, i.e., simultaneous utilization of connections to different base stations of the wireless communication network) at least one of :a delay budget report carrying desired increment or decrement in a connected mode discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle length; an overheating assistance information; an in-device coexistence (IDC) assistance information;a preference on DRX parameters for power saving; a preference on a maximum aggregated bandwidth for power saving; a preference on a maximum number of secondary component carriers for power saving; a preference on a maximum number of multiple-input and multiple-output (MIMO) layers for power saving; a preference on a minimum scheduling offset for cross-slot scheduling for power saving; a preference on radio resource control (RRC) state; a configured grant assistance information for New Radio (NR) side link communication (paragraph 0048, i.e. However, it is to be understood that other radio access technologies or wireless communication technologies could be utilized as well, e.g., a 5G (5th Generation) radio access technology or NR (New Radio) technology. In the example of FIG. 1, it is assumed that the UE 100 may be utilized as a relay station for establishing a link between the base station 150 and the further UE 110 and/or a link between the base station 150 and the IoT device);a preference in being provisioned with reference time information;a preference for frequency range 2 (FR2) uplink (UL) gap; a preference to transition out of RRC_CONNECTED state for multiple universal subscriber identity modules (MUSIM) operation; a preference on the MUSIM gaps; a relaxation state for radio link monitoring (RLM) measurements; a relaxation state for beam failure detection (BFD) measurements; an availability of data mapped to radio bearers which are not configured for small data transmission (SDT);a preference for secondary cell group (SCG) to be deactivated; an indication that the wireless device has uplink data to transmit for a data radio bearer (DRB) for which there is no master cell group (MCG) radio link control (RLC) bearer while a secondary cell group (SCG) is deactivated; or a change to a fulfilment status for radio resource management (RRM) measurement relaxation criterion.
Per claim 8, refer to the same rationale as in claim 1, see paragraphs 0045 and 0073, for stopping activations for example side link connection)
Per claim 9, refer to the same rationale as in claim 8, see paragraphs 0045 and 0073, for stopping activations for example side link connection).
Per claim 15, refer to the same rationale as in claim 7.
Per claim 16, refer to the same rationale as in claim 1(However from a first network perspective).
Per claim 20, refer to the same rationale as in claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-6 , 10-14 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ljung in view of Tillman et al. (US20170171902) (hereinafter Tillman).
Per claim 2, Ljung discloses The method of claim 1, further comprising: transmitting, by the wireless device, to the first network, a capability information message indicating a radio access capability between the wireless device and the first network (paragraph 0046, refer to claim 1). but fails to disclose before transmitting the user equipment assistance information message to the first network, receiving, by the wireless device, a capability enquiry message from the first network in the first communication connection with a first subscriber identity module of the wireless device.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Tillman discloses before transmitting the user equipment
assistance information message to the first network, receiving, by the wireless device a capability enquiry
message from the first network in the first communication connection with a first subscriber identity
module of the wireless device (0008 and 0057, i.e. detecting a handover or a handover request of the first
connection, e.g. to another RAT or carrier. This is e.g. the case when the first subscriber identity 11a is in
active state and moves or is requested to move into another cell using a different RAT or carrier).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Tillman into the invention Ljung, where Ljung provides a wireless communication device provides a first indication to the wireless communication network. The first indication indicates a set of at least two capabilities of the wireless communication device. Further, the wireless communication device determines whether the wireless communication device supports a combination of two or more of the capabilities and provides a second indication to the wireless communication network and Tillman provides to the field of dual access handling. More particularly the disclosure relates to methods of handling more than one connection, each connection corresponding to a respective subscriber identity and connecting a wireless device to a respective wireless network in order to provide a better quality of service by adjusting RAT capabilities where radio networks are capable transmitting radio signals to a UE and receiving signals transmitted by a UE, see Tillman paragraph 0002, 0004 and 0057.
Per claim 3, the combination discloses the method of claim 2, wherein Ljung discloses the capability information message includes at least two the plurality of user equipment radio access capability sets associated with the wireless device (paragraph 0067, Fig 7, a bitmap 700 may be used for indicating a set of multiple capabilities (in this example designated by A, B, C, D, F, G, . . . ) which are supported by the UE 100. Further, a maximum set of combinations of these capabilities is defined, also see limitations 1-5 as it relates to capabilities sets).
Per claim 4, the combination discloses the method of claim 3, wherein Ljung discloses each of the plurality of user equipment radio access capability sets is combined with one or more user equipment capability radio access technology (RAT) containers (paragraph 0045,and 0067, Fig 1 and Fig 7, Wireless communication between the UE 100, the further UE 110, the IoT device 120, and the base station 150 may be based on the LTE radio access technology. However, it is to be understood that other radio access technologies or wireless communication technologies could be utilized as well, e.g., a 5G (5th Generation) radio access technology or NR (New Radio) technology, examiner interprets that the combined capabilities set is described in Fig 7 with limitations utilizing RATs for direct link as well as RATs for side that are supported either support a connection or not), wherein each user equipment capability RAT container indicates user equipment capabilities associated with one RAT type( paragraph 0045 and 0067, same rationale as described above).
Per claim 5,the combination discloses the method of claim 3, wherein Ljung discloses the capability information indicator in the user equipment assistance information message indicates a user equipment radio access capability set among the plurality of user equipment radio access capability sets in the capability information message (paragraph 0048, i.e. the UE 100 may send an indication of its capabilities to the base station 150, as illustrated by message 302. For example, message 302 could include a bitmap as explained in connection with FIG. 2. In the illustrated example, it is assumed that the UE 100 indicates multiple capabilities, i.e., a set of capabilities. By way of example, these capabilities could include the support of the above-mentioned relaying via one or more side-links, the support of dual connectivity, i.e., simultaneous utilization of connections to different base stations of the wireless communication network, or the support of carrier aggregation, i.e., simultaneous utilization of multiple carriers for establishing a connection to the wireless communication network). .
Per claim 6, Ljung discloses the method of claim 1,wherein the second communication connection is a communication with the second network (paragraph 0048, i.e., a set of capabilities. By way of example, these capabilities could include the support of the above-mentioned relaying via one or more side-links, the support of dual connectivity, i.e., simultaneous utilization of connections to different base stations of the wireless communication network)but fails disclose using a second subscriber identity module of the wireless device the UE 100 indicates multiple capabilities.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Tillman discloses using a second subscriber identity module of the wireless device the UE 100 indicates multiple capabilities (paragraph 0047, i.e. the wireless device further comprises two subscriber identities 11a, 11b. The subscriber identities are e.g. two subscriber identity modules, SIM. Hence, according to some aspects, the subscriber identities are Subscriber Identity Modules, SIM).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Tillman into the invention Ljung in order to provide a better quality of service by adjusting RAT capabilities where a wireless device, handling multi access of more than one connection, each connection corresponding to a respective subscriber identity, see Tillman paragraphs 0006, 0007, 0013 and 0047.
Per claim 10, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 2.
Per claim 11, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 3.
Per claim 12, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 4.
Per claim 13, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 5.
Per claim 14, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 6.
Per claim 17, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 4.
Per claim 18, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 5.
Per claim 19, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 3.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH E DEAN, JR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647