Detailed Action
This office action is for US application number 18/504,511 evaluates the claims as filed on December 11, 2025.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 11, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The rejections in this office action have been amended to address the amended claims. Examiner asserts that Honiball, Siegler, and Chao teach all the newly-amended limitations and are capable of performing the functions as claimed. Examiner directs Applicant to the rejection below for a more in-depth description of the limitations.
With regards to Applicant’s statement that Claims 1-4 and 6-17 stand rejected prior to entry of this response (Remarks p. 6), Examiner notes that this is incorrect. Review of the final office action dated September 11, 2025 shows that claims 4, 10, and 17 were previously objected to as allowable if rewritten in independent form.
With regards to Applicant’s statement that an IDS was previously submitted on November 26, 2025 (Remarks p. 6), Examiner notes that this is the first office action since that filing and thus such has been appropriately reviewed at this time.
With regards to Applicant’s argument that a request for continued examination was filed with an IDS November 26, 2025 and does not believe an additional request is needed for consideration of the current amendments and arguments dated December 11, 2025 in the file wrapper (Remarks p. 6), Examiner notes that an additional request is not required. To be clear, per MPEP 706.07(h)(II) “If a reply to an Office action under 35 U.S.C. 132 is outstanding, the submission must meet the reply requirements of 37 CFR 1.111. See 37 CFR 1.114(c). Thus, an applicant may file a submission under 37 CFR 1.114 containing only an information disclosure statement (37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98 ) in an application subject to a notice of allowance under 35 U.S.C. 151, but not in an application where the last Office action is a final rejection….”. Thus, the request for continued examination in response to the final office action dated September 11, 2025 was not deemed proper until the filing of the amendment/reply December 11, 2025 and was then forwarded to the examiner for consideration of the amendment/reply under 37 CFR 1.111.
With regards to Applicant’s argument that “interface” is a term of art that is well known to mean a physical connection point where two components meet, transmit forces, control movement, etc. and may include mating surfaces, shafts, flanges, etc. to allow for controlled interaction between two components; thus, as used in the specification and claims the various “interfaces” are not generic but are specific features of the guides that allow for controlled interaction that, for example, are contoured to interact with patient-specific anatomy to provide secure, consistent interaction and are not generic but tangible structural features (Remarks p. 7), Examiner notes that there Appears to be some confusion regarding interpretation under 35 USC 112f reflected by this argument. As an initial matter, Examiner notes that it has not been asserted that any of the claimed interfaces are generic or that their disclosure is unclear. Applicant’s own argument asserts that the claimed interfaces may include a physical connection point, mating surfaces, shafts, flanges, etc. to allow for controlled interaction between two components. That is, by Applicant’s own admission interfaces may include many different structures that provide a function; thus, “interfaces” has been appropriately interpreted as a generic placeholder, i.e. has no specific structural meaning. As this appears to be an ongoing point of confusion, Examiner notes that MPEP 2181 provides information on identifying and interpreting a 35 USC 112f limitation. Examiner also notes that if there is a specific structure that Applicant’s intends for “interface to refer to, Applicant may amend to claim that structure or a structural feature thereof in order for the claimed limitation to be interpreted based on a broadest reasonable interpretation, which is described in MPEP 2111.
With regards to Applicant’s argument that Honiball does not disclose that instruments recited in the independent claims as the second instrument/block 20.2 does not contact the patient’s bone and is not a patient specific component but merely defines a cutting slot (Remarks p. 7-8), Examiner notes that claim 13 does not require the second instrument to contact or be able to contact bone as argued. Further, Honiball p. 11 lines 18-26 discloses that there is flexibility in providing differently configured blocks/instruments for 20.2 that each have a differently positioned cutting guide slot/aperture. Thus, Honiball’s second instrument/block 20.2 is patient specific in that the appropriately configured block is selected by the surgeon (p. 11 lines 18-26). That is, the surgeon selects a block that is appropriate to the specific patient.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed November 26, 2025 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.98(a)(4) because it lacks the appropriate size fee assertion. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits. That is, page 9 of the IDS indicates that no size fee is required at this time under 37 CFR 1.17(v). However, the November 26, 2025 IDS includes 32 US patents, 22 US PG Publications, 7 foreign patent documents, and 14 non-patent literature documents, which is 75 documents. There were also 84 pages of IDSes dated February 2, 2024, February 16, 2024, January 10, 2025, and August 25, 2025. Thus, the cumulative number of items cited by Applicant is substantially more than the minimum amount at which a fee would be due. For additional information regarding the IDS size fee and assertion, the Office has frequently asked questions available: https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/quick-reference-guide-to-the-information-disclosure-statement-ids.pdf
From the above noted frequently asked questions document:
The information disclosure statement filed November 26, 2025 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97(a) because it lacks the appropriate size fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(v). It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
As to claim 17, the specification appears to lack proper antecedent basis for “the second surgical instrument remains in contact with a tibia of the patient” of lines 2-3. That is, Applicant has claimed interfaces configured to contact a first bone (claim 13 line 5) and a second bone (claim 13 line 6) and remaining in contact with a tibia (claim 17 lines 2-3), i.e. 3 bones. However, Applicant appears to have only disclosed devices that contact a tibia and a talus, i.e. a total of 2 bones. Thus, the specification fails to provide proper antecedent basis for “the second surgical instrument remains in contact with a tibia of the patient” of claim 17 lines 2-3.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the second surgical instrument that has a third bone contact interface, is patient specific, and comprises an adjustable mechanism of claims 2-4 and 6; the second surgical instrument that has a third bone contact interface, is patient specific, and comprises an adjustable mechanism of claims 11 and 12; and the second surgical instrument that is patient specific and comprises an adjustable mechanism of claim 14 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “a first bone contact interface” in claim 1 line 3, “a second bone contact interface” in claim 1 line 4, “a first connection interface” in claim 1 line 6, “a third bone contact interface” in claim 1 line 8, “second a connection interface” in claim 1 line 9; “an adjustable mechanism” in claim 2 line 2; “at least two adjustable mechanisms” in claim 3 line 2; “external guiding elements” in claim 6 lines 2-3; “a first bone contact interface” in claim 9 line 3, “a second bone contact interface” in claim 9 line 4, “a first connection interface” in claim 9 line 6, “a third bone contact interface” in claim 9 line 9, “second a connection interface” in claim 9 line 11, “a third connection interface” in claim 10 line 3; “an adjustable mechanism” in claim 11 line 2; “at least two adjustable mechanisms” in claim 12 line 2; “a first bone contact interface” in claim 13 line 5, “a second bone contact interface” in claim 13 line 6, “a first connection interface” in claim 13 line 8, “an adjustable mechanism” in claim 14 lines 2-3; “a second connection interface” in claim 15 line 2, and “a third connection interface” in claim 15 line 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
As to claim 17, “the second surgical instrument remains in contact with a tibia of the patient” of lines 2-3 appears to be new matter. That is, Applicant has claimed interfaces configured to contact a first bone (claim 13 line 5) and a second bone (claim 13 line 6) and remaining in contact with a tibia (claim 17 lines 2-3), i.e. 3 bones. However, Applicant appears to have only disclosed devices that contact a tibia and a talus, i.e. a total of 2 bones. Thus, “the second surgical instrument remains in contact with a tibia of the patient” of claim 17 lines 2-3 constitutes new matter.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim(s) 17 is/are unclear with regards to “the second surgical instrument remains in contact with a tibia of the patient” in lines 2-3 and how an instrument that has not been claimed to be in contact with a tibia can be reasonably claimed to remain in contact with a tibia. Examiner is interpreting this broadly and suggests amending to clarify.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Honiball (WO 2014/020561 as provided with the PTO-892 dated March 25, 2025).
As to claim 13, Honiball discloses a method of aligning surgical instruments relative to a patient (Figs. 5-8, p. 7 line 26 – page 8 line 6 and p. 8 lines 8-19), the method comprising: providing a first surgical instrument (20.1) and a second surgical instrument (20.2, Figs. 5 and 8, p. 9 lines 20-22, p. 11 lines 19-26), the first surgical instrument including a first bone contact interface (16) capable of contacting a first bone of a patient (12, Fig. 8, p. 7 line 26 – page 8 line 6), a second bone contact interface (25) capable of contacting a second bone of the patient (14, Fig. 8, p. 8 lines 8-19), and a first connection interface (opening forming dovetail joint 27, Figs. 5 and 8, p. 9 lines 20-22) capable of mechanically linking the first surgical instrument with the second surgical instrument (20.2, Figs. 5 and 8, p. 9 lines 20-22, p. 11 lines 19-26), connecting the first surgical instrument with the second surgical instrument (20.2, Figs. 5 and 8, p. 9 lines 20-22, p. 11 lines 19-26), and arranging the first surgical instrument and the second surgical instrument in contact with the first bone of the patient (Fig. 8, page 10 lines 16-20); and removing the first surgical instrument from the second surgical instrument (p. 11 lines 19-26), wherein the first surgical instrument is patient-specific (at 16 and 25, Fig. 8, p. 7 line 26 – page 8 line 18) and the second surgical instrument is patient specific (Fig. 8; p. 11 lines 18-26 disclose the flexibility of providing differently configured blocks/instruments for 20.2 from which the surgeon can select an appropriate one and mount via the dove tail joint where each blocks/instrument 20.2 has a differently positioned cutting guide slot/aperture, i.e. appropriate to the specific patient).
As to claim 14, Honiball discloses that the second surgical instrument comprises an aperture (46) for guiding a third surgical instrument (Figs. 5 and 8, p. 10 lines 10-12), and an adjustable mechanism (differently configured blocks with different positions of 46 of p. 11 lines 19-25. p. 11 lines 19-25) capable of repositioning the aperture relative to an anatomy of the patient (p. 11 lines 19-25).
As to claim 15, Honiball discloses that the second surgical instrument comprises a second connection interface (protrusion forming dovetail joint 27, Figs. 5 and 8, p. 9 lines 20-22, p. 11 lines 19-26) capable of selectively engaging with both the first connection interface of the first surgical instrument and a third connection interface of a third surgical instrument (if one chooses to use it as such due to the shown structure of the dovetail joint protrusion, Fig. 5 and 8).
As to claim 16, Honiball discloses that the first connection interface is at least partially defined on an outer end surface of the first surgical instrument (Fig. 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siegler (US 2020/0085452) in view of Chao (US 2013/0296874).
As to claims 1-4, 6, and 8, Siegler discloses a surgical guide (Figs. 6A, 6B, and 9A-9C, ¶s 103, 104, and 111) comprising: a first surgical instrument (110, 120, Figs. 6A and 6B) comprising: a first bone contact interface (surface of 110 shown with a grid pattern in Fig. 6A, Fig. 6A, abstract) capable of contacting a first bone of a patient (Fig. 6A, ¶104, i.e. as shown in Figs. 4 and 5 and disclosed in ¶102 for an alternate embodiment), and a second bone contact interface (surface of 120 shown with a grid pattern in Fig. 6A, Fig. 6A, abstract) capable of contacting a second bone of the patient (Fig. 6A, ¶103, i.e. as shown in Figs. 4 and 5 and disclosed in ¶102 for an alternate embodiment), and a first connection interface (130 and portion of 120 adjacent 130, Figs. 6A and 6B); and a second surgical instrument (150, Figs. 9A-9C) comprising: a third bone facing surface (rear surface of 150 as best shown in Fig. 9B, Fig. 9B) capable of facing the second bone of the patient (Figs. 9A-9C, ¶103, i.e. as shown in Figs. 4 and 5 and disclosed in ¶102 for an alternate embodiment), a second connection interface (outer perimeter surfaces of 150 as shown in Figs. 9A-9C, Figs. 9A-9C) capable of selectively engaging with the first connection interface (Figs. 9A-9C, ¶111), and an aperture (opening shown in the central portion of 150 in Figs. 9A-9C, Figs. 9A-9C, ¶111 discloses that 150 is a cutting guide used in cutting, sawing, or other procedure) capable of guiding a third surgical instrument (instrument used to perform the cutting, sawing, or other procedure with guide 150 in ¶111, ¶111), wherein the first surgical instrument is patient-specific (Fig. 6A, abstract). As to claim 2, Siegler discloses that the second surgical instrument further comprises an adjustable mechanism capable of repositioning the aperture relative to the first bone of the patient (Figs. 9A-9C, ¶111). As to claim 3, Siegler discloses that the adjustable mechanism includes at least two adjustable mechanisms capable of repositioning the aperture (Figs. 9A-9C, ¶111). As to claim 6, Siegler discloses that the first surgical instrument and the second surgical instrument are capable of being positioned relative to the patient without any external guiding elements (due to the bone contacting interfaces contouring with the bone anatomy, Fig. 6a, ¶111). As to claim 8, Siegler discloses that the first surgical instrument is capable of contacting a tibia and a talus of the patient such that the first surgical instrument is oriented in a predetermined manner (Fig. 6A, ¶103).
Siegler is silent to the third bone facing surface being a third bone contact interface configured to contact the second bone of the patient and that the second surgical instrument is patient specific. As to claim 4, Siegler is silent to the at least two adjustable mechanisms are configured to reposition the aperture in two distinct planes that are oriented 90 degrees relative to each other.
Chao teaches a similar surgical guide (Figs. 1-11, 14-16C, and 18-23) comprising: a first surgical instrument (25, Figs. 1-7, 16A-16C, and 18-23) comprising: a first bone contact interface (70, 190, ¶s 55 and 58) capable of contacting a first bone portion of a patient (Figs. 18-23, ¶s 55 and 58), and a second bone contact interface (120, 190, Figs. 2 and 5, ¶s 55 and 58) capable of contacting a second bone portion of the patient (Figs. 18-23, ¶s 55 and 58), and a first connection interface (130 and the opening 130 is shown positioned within in Figs. 3, 4, and 16A-16C, Figs. 3, 4, and 16A-16C); and a second surgical instrument (guide box of ¶61, Figs. 8A-11, 14-16C, 19, and 22) comprising: a third bone contact interface (surface with 290 label in Fig. 10, i.e. central portion of the rear surface of the guide box as shown in Fig. 14, Figs. 9, 10, and 14, ¶s 58, 62, and 74) capable of contacting the second bone of the patient (Figs. 8A-10, 14-16B, 19, and 22, ¶s 58, 62, and 74), a second connection interface (dovetail slot/groove 260 of Fig. 9, i.e. shown in Figs. 16A-16C receiving 130 and peripheral walls of the guide box, Figs. 8A-11, 14-16C, 19, and 22, ¶62) capable of selectively engaging with the first connection interface (Figs. 16A-16B, 19, and 22, ¶s 56 and 62), and an aperture (cutting guide slot of ¶81, i.e. openings shown in Figs. 8A-8C, ¶s 61 and 81, where ¶61 discloses use to cut the tibia) capable of guiding a third surgical instrument (reciprocating saw or similar cutting device of ¶81, i.e. tool used to cut the tibia, ¶s 61 and 81, where ¶61 discloses cutting the tibia and ¶81 discloses cutting the tibia with a reciprocating saw or similar cutting device fitted through a cutting guide slot of the guide box), wherein the first surgical instrument is patient-specific (Figs. 16A-16B, 19, and 22, ¶s 8, 45, 55, and 58) and the second surgical instrument is patient specific (Figs. 8A-10, 14-16A, 19, and 22, ¶s 9, 46, 58, 62, 65-66, 73, and 74). As to claim 2, Chao teaches that the second surgical instrument further comprises an adjustable mechanism capable of repositioning the aperture relative to the first bone of the patient (Figs. 8A-8C, ¶61). As to claim 3, Chao teaches that the adjustable mechanism includes at least two adjustable mechanisms capable of repositioning the aperture (Figs. 8A-8C, ¶61). As to claim 4, Chao teaches that the at least two adjustable mechanisms are capable of repositioning the aperture in two distinct planes that are oriented 90 degrees relative to each other (¶s 64, 66, and 68).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify/specify the third bone facing surface and the second surgical instrument as disclosed by Siegler to contact the second bone of the patient and be patient specific as taught by Chao in order to easily mate with the surface of the bone (Chao ¶46), to achieve the degree of deformity correction necessary for desired alignment (Chao ¶68), for example with varus/valgus deformities/angles (Chao ¶s 64 and 66), and to fit a cutting device through a cutting guide slot to cut the bone (Chao Figs. 18-23, ¶81) in a known and stable manner.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 9-12 are allowed.
Conclusion
/AMY R SIPP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775