DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 8, 11, 13, 21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan et al. (US 2023/0299906) in view of Baldemair (US 2023/0370130) in further view of Wang (US 2025/0202648).
Regarding claim 6, Yuan teaches an information transmission method, comprising: receiving, by a terminal device, first downlink control information from a network device (Paragraphs [0043]; [0092] describes receiving control information from a network device that provides instructions for PUCCH transmission),
Yuan doesn’t teach wherein the first downlink control information is downlink control information scrambled by a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI),
However, in analogous art Baldemair teaches wherein the first downlink control information is downlink control information scrambled by a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) (Paragraph [0089] describes how DCI is scrambled with RNTI for device identification),
Yuan teaches the first downlink control information comprises first information which comprises repetition indication information (Paragraphs [0088]; [0091]-[0092] describes how repetition indication information is provided in DCI messages),
Yuan and Baldemair don’t teach the repetition indication information is repetition indication information of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), and the repetition indication information comprises repetition quantity information and occupied slot length;
However, in analogous art Wang teaches the repetition indication information is repetition indication information of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) (Paragraphs [0061]; [0165] describes DCI format and its added indication field to PUCCH transmission and repetition),
Wang teaches and the repetition indication information comprises repetition quantity information and occupied slot length (Paragraphs [0060]-[0061]; [0139]-[0140] describes a number of slots occupied in the time domain (4 slots is occupied in the time domain) the DCI is “added N bits DMRS bunding window size indication field the slot-length information is carried in the DCI);
Yuan teaches and performing data transmission based on the first downlink control information (Paragraphs [0094]-[0096]; [0100] describes how the UE performs the actual data transmission (transmitting PUCCH) based on the received DCI information, including the repetition parameters).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify Yuan in view of Baldemair to incorporate the teachings of Wang repetition indication information of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) to improve uplink performance and coverage.
Regarding claim 8, Yuan in view of Baldemair and Wang, Yuan teaches wherein 2 bits of the first downlink control information are used to indicate the repetition indication information (Table 1, Paragraph [0092] describes UE receives DCI with codepoint. UE decodes 2-bit codepoint (per table 1-3) to determine PUCCH repetition count).
Claims 11 and 21 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 6 respectively.
Claims 13 and 23 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 8 respectively.
Claim(s) 28 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan in view of Baldemair in further view of Wang and Rastegardoost et al. (US 2024/0031056).
Regarding claim 28, Yuan in view of Baldemair and Rastegardoost, Rastegardoost teaches wherein the type of the terminal device comprises a reduced capability terminal device (RedCap) or a non-RedCap terminal device (Paragraphs [0251]; [0304] describes distinguishes RedCap UEs from legacy UEs, these are distinct device types with different hardware capabilities).
Claim 29 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 28 respectively.
Claim(s) 9-10, 14-16 and 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan in view of Baldemair in further view of Wang and Fakoorian et al. (US 2022/0322447).
Regarding claim 9, Yuan in view of Baldemair and Wang, Yuan teaches wherein the first downlink control information is used to schedule the PUCCH (Paragraphs [0073]; [0091]-[0093] describes PUCCH scheduling, DCI assigns specific PUCCH resource for transmission),
the first downlink control information does not comprise second information (Table 1, 2 and 3, Paragraph [0075] describes four repetition values n2, n4, n8 and n16 all four values are active or not reserved. DCI 2-bit field selects among these four (not reserved state)),
Yuan, Wang and Baldemair don’t teach and the second information comprises a first reserved bit
However, in analogous art Fakoorian teaches and the second information comprises a first reserved bit (Paragraphs [0025]-[0030] describes the second information that uses reserved bits to indicate repetitions but this for PDSCH/Msg2, not for PUCCH scheduling).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yuan in view of Baldemair in further view of Wang and Fakoorian’s method of RNTI scrambling and DCI-based repetition indication to improve coverage enhancement and random access procedure efficiency (Fakoorian, Paragraph [0019]).
Regarding claim 10, Yuan in view of Baldemair, Wang and Fakoorian, Fakoorian teaches wherein the first reserved bit is a bit occupied by a downlink assignment index (DAI) (Paragraphs [0027]-[0028] describes DCI 1_0 has reserved bits, these reserved bits are “in the form of the downlink assignment index (DAI)”)
Regarding claim 27, Yuan in view of Baldemair, Wang and Fakoorian, Fakoorian teaches wherein the first downlink control information is used to schedule an acknowledgment feedback message of a contention resolution message of the terminal device (Paragraphs [0022]; [0027] describes DCI 1_0 is used to schedule Msg4 (the contention resolution message), after receiving Msg4, the UE would send an ACK/NACK feedback. The DCI schedules the PDSCH carrying Msg4).
Claims 14 and 24 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 9 respectively.
Claims 15 and 25 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 10 respectively.
Claims 16 and 26 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 27 respectively.
Claim(s) 30-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan in view of Baldemair in further view of Wang and Cozzo et al. (US 2022/0006575).
Regarding claim 30, Yuan in view of Baldemair in further view of Wang don’t teach wherein a correspondence between the repetition quantity information and the repetition quantity comprises: a bit state of the repetition quantity information is 00, and the repetition quantity is 1; a bit state of the repetition quantity information is 01, and the repetition quantity is 2; a bit state of the repetition quantity information is 10, and the repetition quantity is 4; or a bit state of the repetition quantity information is 11, and the repetition quantity is 8.
However, in analogous art Cozzo teaches wherein a correspondence between the repetition quantity information and the repetition quantity comprises: a bit state of the repetition quantity information is 00, and the repetition quantity is 1; a bit state of the repetition quantity information is 01, and the repetition quantity is 2; a bit state of the repetition quantity information is 10, and the repetition quantity is 4; or a bit state of the repetition quantity information is 11, and the repetition quantity is 8 (Paragraphs [0252]-[0253] a bit state of the repetition quantity information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify Yuan in view of Baldemair and Wang to incorporate the teachings of Cozzo a bit state of the repetition quantity information to improve reliability, reduce latency, and use uplink resources more efficiently.
Claims 31 and 32 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 30 respectively.
Conclusion
/Chandrahas B Patel/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/M.W.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2464