Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6, 7, 9, 12, 14, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martinez US20200073123Al in view of Hudman US20200053350Al.
Regarding claim 1, Martinez teaches an optical module (fig. 3) comprising: a quarter wave plate (114) for receiving image light (302) and converting a polarization state (116) of the image light (302)(see fig. 3); a first polarization converter (146; [0022]) and a second polarization converter (124; [0022]) both for receiving the image light (303) from the quarter-wave plate (114) and focusing the image light (310) to a target position (110)(see fig. 3); a lens assembly (130, 132) between the first polarization converter (146) and the second polarization converter (123)(see fig. 3), the image light (310) from the curved surface (130, 132) transmitting to the second polarization converter (124) through an air gap ([0016]); and a polarization reflection film (126) for receiving the image light (310) from the second polarization converter (122), the polarization reflection film (126) being configured to transmit the image light (310) having a target polarization state ([0022]), and make the image light (310) transmitted through converge at the target position (110) to display an image (see fig. 3).
However, Martinez does not explicitly disclose the lens assembly comprising a liquid crystal lens with a flat surface and a curved surface opposite the flat surface, the flat surface being closer to the quarter wave plate than the curved surface, the curved surface protruding towards the quarter wave plate.
Hudman teaches the lens assembly (530, 516) comprising a liquid crystal lens (516; [0050]) with a flat surface (front portion 530; fig. 5) and a curved surface (back portion 530; fig. 5) opposite the flat surface (front portion) (see fig. 5), the flat surface (front portion 530) being closer to the quarter wave plate (526) than the curved surface (back portion 530), the curved surface (back portion 530) protruding towards the quarter wave plate (526)(see fig. 5) for the purposes of removing any stray or undesired light ([0047]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical module of Martinez to include the lens assembly of Hudman for the purposes of removing any stray or undesired light ([0047]).
Regarding claim 4, Martinez and Hudman teach the optical module according to claim 1, Martinez further teaches wherein a diopter ([0013]-[0014]) of the lens assembly (130, 132) is the same as a diopter ([0013]-[0014]) of the liquid crystal lens (516 taught by Hudman).
Regarding claim 6, Martinez and Hudman teach the optical module according to claim 1, Martinez further teaches wherein the quarter wave plate (114), the first polarization converter (146), the lens assembly (130, 132), the second polarization converter (124), and the polarization reflection film (126) are fixed by a mechanism manner to maintain positional relationships ([0019]).
Regarding claim 7, Martinez and Hudman teach the optical module according to claim 1, Martinez further teaches wherein an air gap ([0016]) is between the lens (130, 132) assembly and the second polarization converter (124).
Regarding claim 9, Martinez teaches an optical display apparatus (fig. 3) comprising: a display screen (108) for emitting image light; and an optical module (fig. 3) comprising: a quarter wave plate (114) for receiving image light (302) and converting a polarization state (116) of the image light (302)(see fig. 3); a first polarization converter (146; [0022]) and a second polarization converter (124; [0022]) both for receiving the image light (303) from the quarter-wave plate (114) and focusing the image light (310) to a target position (110)(see fig. 3); a lens assembly (130, 132) between the first polarization converter (146) and the second polarization converter (123)(see fig. 3), the image light (310) from the curved surface (130, 132) transmitting to the second polarization converter (124) through an air gap ([0016]); and a polarization reflection film (126) for receiving the image light (310) from the second polarization converter (122), the polarization reflection film (126) being configured to transmit the image light (310) having a target polarization state ([0022]), and make the image light (310) transmitted through converge at the target position (110) to display an image (see fig. 3).
However, Martinez does not explicitly disclose the lens assembly comprising a liquid crystal lens with a flat surface and a curved surface opposite the flat surface, the flat surface being closer to the quarter wave plate than the curved surface, the curved surface protruding towards the quarter wave plate.
Hudman teaches the lens assembly (530, 516) comprising a liquid crystal lens (516; [0050]) with a flat surface (front portion 530; fig. 5) and a curved surface (back portion 530; fig. 5) opposite the flat surface (front portion) (see fig. 5), the flat surface (front portion 530) being closer to the quarter wave plate (526) than the curved surface (back portion 530), the curved surface (back portion 530) protruding towards the quarter wave plate (526)(see fig. 5) for the purposes of removing any stray or undesired light ([0047]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical module of Martinez to include the lens assembly of Hudman for the purposes of removing any stray or undesired light ([0047]).
Regarding claim 12, Martinez and Hudman teach the optical display apparatus according to claim 9, Martinez further teaches wherein a diopter ([0013]-[0014]) of the lens assembly (130, 132) is the same as a diopter ([0013]-[0014]) of the liquid crystal lens (516 taught by Hudman).
Regarding claim 14, Martinez and Hudman teach the optical display apparatus according to claim 9, Martinez further teaches wherein the quarter wave plate (114), the first polarization converter (146), the lens assembly (130, 132), the second polarization converter (124), and the polarization reflection film (126) are fixed by a mechanism manner to maintain positional relationships ([0019]).
Regarding claim 15, Martinez and Hudman teach the optical display apparatus according to claim 9, Martinez further teaches wherein an air gap ([0016]) is between the lens (130, 132) assembly and the second polarization converter (124).
Regarding claim 17, Martinez and Hudman teach the optical display apparatus according to claim 9, Martinez wherein the optical display apparatus is a head-mounted display device or a head-up display device ([0011]).
Claims 2, 3, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martinez US20200073123Al in view of Hudman US20200053350Al further in view of Lin US20110069395Al.
Regarding claim 2, Martinez and Hudman teach the optical module according to claim 1, however does not explicitly disclose wherein the lens assembly further comprises a transparent substrate between the liquid crystal lens and the second polarization converter, and the transparent substrate comprises two surfaces opposite to each other, shapes of the two surfaces consistent with the curved surface of the liquid crystal lens, so that one of the two surfaces sticks to the curved surface of the liquid crystal lens, and the air gap exists between the transparent substrate and the second polarization converter, and the image light from the curved surface transmits to the second polarization converter through the transparent substrate and the air gap.
Lin teaches in fig 1 wherein the lens assembly further comprises a transparent substrate (102) between the liquid crystal lens (Hudman 5 I6) and the second polarization converter (Martinez 124), and the transparent substrate (102) comprises two surfaces (top 102; bottom 102) opposite to each other (see fig. 1), shapes of the two surfaces ([0014]) consistent with the curved surface of the liquid crystal lens (Hudman 516), so that one of the two surfaces sticks to the curved surface of the liquid crystal lens (Hudman 516), and the air gap (Martinez [0016]) exists between the transparent substrate (102) and the second polarization converter (Martinez 124), and the image light (Martinez 310) from the curved surface (top 102; bottom 102) transmits to the second polarization converter (Martinez 124) through the transparent substrate (102) and the air gap (Martinez [0016]) for the purposes of having a lens assembly with an accurate and precise focal length ([0002]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical module of Martinez and Hudman to include the transparent substate of the lens assembly of Lin for the purposes of having a lens assembly with an accurate and precise focal length ([0002]).
Regarding claim 3, Martinez, Hudman, and Lin teach the optical module according to claim 2, Lin further teaches wherein the transparent substrate (102) is a glass substrate ([0014]).
Regarding claim 10, Martinez and Hudman teach the optical display apparatus according to claim 9, however does not explicitly disclose wherein the lens assembly further comprises a transparent substrate between the liquid crystal lens and the second polarization converter, and the transparent substrate comprises two surfaces opposite to each other, shapes of the two surfaces consistent with the curved surface of the liquid crystal lens, so that one of the two surfaces sticks to the curved surface of the liquid crystal lens, and the air gap exists between the transparent substrate and the second polarization converter, and the image light from the curved surface transmits to the second polarization converter through the transparent substrate and the air gap.
Lin teaches in fig 1 wherein the lens assembly further comprises a transparent substrate (102) between the liquid crystal lens (Hudman 5 I6) and the second polarization converter (Martinez 124), and the transparent substrate (102) comprises two surfaces (top 102; bottom 102) opposite to each other (see fig. 1), shapes of the two surfaces ([0014]) consistent with the curved surface of the liquid crystal lens (Hudman 516), so that one of the two surfaces sticks to the curved surface of the liquid crystal lens (Hudman 516), and the air gap (Martinez [0016]) exists between the transparent substrate (102) and the second polarization converter (Martinez 124), and the image light (Martinez 310) from the curved surface (top 102; bottom 102) transmits to the second polarization converter (Martinez 124) through the transparent substrate (102) and the air gap (Martinez [0016]) for the purposes of having a lens assembly with an accurate and precise focal length ([0002]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical module of Martinez and Hudman to include the transparent substate of the lens assembly of Lin for the purposes of having a lens assembly with an accurate and precise focal length ([0002]).
Regarding claim 11, Martinez, Hudman, and Lin teach the optical display apparatus according to claim 10, Lin further teaches wherein the transparent substrate (102) is a glass substrate ([0014]).
Claims 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martinez US20200073123Al in view of Hudman US20200053350Al further in view of Zhou US20220197072A1.
Regarding claim 5, Martinez and Hudman teach the optical module according to claim 1, however do not explicitly disclose wherein a surface of the quarter wave plate away from the lens assembly is coated with a semi-transparent and semi-reflective film, the semi-transparent and semi-reflective film is configured for transmitting a part of the image light to the quarter wave plate.
Zhou teaches wherein a surface of the quarter wave plate (60; [0079]) away from the lens assembly is coated with a semi-transparent (40; [0079]) and semi-reflective film (40; [0079]), the semi-transparent (40) and semi-reflective film (40) is configured for transmitting a part of the image light ([0079]) to the quarter wave plate (60) for the purpose of achieving an extremely high phase accuracy and extremely short response time ([0080]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical module of Martinez and Hudman to include the quarter wave plate of Zhou for the purpose of achieving an extremely high phase accuracy and extremely short response time ([0080]).
Regarding claim 13, Martinez and Hudman teach the optical display apparatus according to claim 9, however do not explicitly disclose wherein a surface of the quarter wave plate away from the lens assembly is coated with a semi-transparent and semi-reflective film, the semi-transparent and semi-reflective film is configured for transmitting a part of the image light to the quarter wave plate.
Zhou teaches wherein a surface of the quarter wave plate (60; [0079]) away from the lens assembly is coated with a semi-transparent (40; [0079]) and semi-reflective film (40; [0079]), the semi-transparent (40) and semi-reflective film (40) is configured for transmitting a part of the image light ([0079]) to the quarter wave plate (60) for the purpose of achieving an extremely high phase accuracy and extremely short response time ([0080]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical module of Martinez and Hudman to include the quarter wave plate of Zhou for the purpose of achieving an extremely high phase accuracy and extremely short response time ([0080]).
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martinez US20200073123Al in view of Hudman US20200053350Al further in view of Jamali US20210240051A1.
Regarding claim 8, Martinez and Hudman teach the optical module according to claim 1, however does not explicitly disclose wherein the first polarization converter comprises a first electrode, a second electrode, and a first liquid crystal layer between the first electrode and the second electrode, a first electric field is generated when first voltages are applied to the first electrode and the second electrode, and liquid crystal molecules in the first liquid crystal layer are deflected according to the first electric field, the second polarization converter comprises a third electrode, a fourth electrode, and a second liquid crystal layer between the third electrode and the fourth electrode, a second electric field is generated when second voltages are applied to the third electrode and the fourth electrode, and liquid crystal molecules in the second liquid crystal layer are deflected according to the second electric field; and the first polarization converter and the second first polarization converter are configured to control a propagation direction of the image light by controlling the first voltages and the second voltages.
Jamali teaches wherein the first polarization converter (top converter 1100; fig. 11) comprises a first electrode (1010), a second electrode (1002), and a first liquid crystal layer (1014) between the first electrode (1010) and the second electrode (1002)(see fig. 11), a first electric field ([0098]-[0100]) is generated when first voltages are applied to the first electrode (1010) and the second electrode (1002), and liquid crystal molecules (1014) in the first liquid crystal layer are deflected according to the first electric field ([0098]-[0100]), the second polarization converter (bottom converter 1100; fig. 11) comprises a third electrode (1010), a fourth electrode (1002), and a second liquid crystal layer (1014) between the third electrode (1010) and the fourth electrode (1002), a second electric field ([0098]-[0100]) is generated when second voltages are applied to the third electrode (1010) and the fourth electrode (1002), and liquid crystal molecules (1014) in the second liquid crystal layer are deflected according to the second electric field ([0098]-[0100]); and the first polarization converter (top converter 1100; fig. 11) and the second first polarization converter (bottom converter 1100; fig. 11) are configured to control a propagation direction of the image light by controlling the first voltages and the second voltages ([0098]-[0100]; [0102]) for the purpose of adjusting optical power to decrease eye fatigue and improve user comfort and satisfaction with such devices ([0010]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical module of Martinez and Hudman to include the polarization converter of Jamali for the purpose of adjusting optical power to decrease eye fatigue and improve user comfort and satisfaction with such devices ([0010]).
Regarding claim 16, Martinez and Hudman teach the optical display apparatus according to claim 1, however does not explicitly disclose wherein the first polarization converter comprises a first electrode, a second electrode, and a first liquid crystal layer between the first electrode and the second electrode, a first electric field is generated when first voltages are applied to the first electrode and the second electrode, and liquid crystal molecules in the first liquid crystal layer are deflected according to the first electric field, the second polarization converter comprises a third electrode, a fourth electrode, and a second liquid crystal layer between the third electrode and the fourth electrode, a second electric field is generated when second voltages are applied to the third electrode and the fourth electrode, and liquid crystal molecules in the second liquid crystal layer are deflected according to the second electric field; and the first polarization converter and the second first polarization converter are configured to control a propagation direction of the image light by controlling the first voltages and the second voltages.
Jamali teaches wherein the first polarization converter (top converter 1100; fig. 11) comprises a first electrode (1010), a second electrode (1002), and a first liquid crystal layer (1014) between the first electrode (1010) and the second electrode (1002)(see fig. 11), a first electric field ([0098]-[0100]) is generated when first voltages are applied to the first electrode (1010) and the second electrode (1002), and liquid crystal molecules (1014) in the first liquid crystal layer are deflected according to the first electric field ([0098]-[0100]), the second polarization converter (bottom converter 1100; fig. 11) comprises a third electrode (1010), a fourth electrode (1002), and a second liquid crystal layer (1014) between the third electrode (1010) and the fourth electrode (1002), a second electric field ([0098]-[0100]) is generated when second voltages are applied to the third electrode (1010) and the fourth electrode (1002), and liquid crystal molecules (1014) in the second liquid crystal layer are deflected according to the second electric field ([0098]-[0100]); and the first polarization converter (top converter 1100; fig. 11) and the second first polarization converter (bottom converter 1100; fig. 11) are configured to control a propagation direction of the image light by controlling the first voltages and the second voltages ([0098]-[0100]; [0102]) for the purpose of adjusting optical power to decrease eye fatigue and improve user comfort and satisfaction with such devices ([0010]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical module of Martinez and Hudman to include the polarization converter of Jamali for the purpose of adjusting optical power to decrease eye fatigue and improve user comfort and satisfaction with such devices ([0010]).
Conclusion
/AGNES DOBROWOLSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 2871
/JENNIFER D. CARRUTH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2871