DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 11/08/2023. This application is a continuation (CON) of application 18/205442 and has a foreign priority of the application JP2022-095808 filed on 06/14/2022.
Claims 1-12 are currently pending in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/08/2023 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Examiner’s Note
Applicants are suggested to include information from figures 7 and 8 with related text into the claims to provide a better condition for an allowance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION. —The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 (claims 11 and 12 include similar limitations) recites:
“A test familiarity determination device … to be required for the subject to become familiar with a test undergone by the subject …”; however, it is not clear how to define whether it is familiar or not – or it is not clear to define a boundary of the limitations (note: familiarity in computing refers to a user's or developer's working knowledge, comfort level, or previous experience with a technology);
“… estimate, based on the attribute data and estimation-specific prior information, a required trial quantity of a test … with a test undergone by the subject …”; however, it is not clear (1) how to define “estimation-specific” for estimation process (e.g., all information used in the estimation process is estimation-specific, etc.) – or it is not clear to define a boundary of the limitations; (2) whether “a test” included in two different locations are the same or not.
Claims 2-10 depend from the claim 1, and are analyzed and rejected accordingly.
Claim 2 recites “… wherein the estimation-specific prior information is a result of a similar type of a test”, however, it is not clear (1) it is not clear how to define the similar type of a test (e.g., the same subject defined in claim 1, etc.); (2) whether the term, “a test” is the same as “a test” of the claim 1.
Double Patenting
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the claims at issue are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); and In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 and 7-11 of co-pending Application 18/205442 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claims 1-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9, 11 and 12 of co-pending Application 18/504566 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claims 1-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 4-13 of co-pending Application 18/504577 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional non-statutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Current application No. 18/504569
Reference application No. 18/205442
Claim 1: A test familiarity determination device in communication with client device, the test familiarity determination device comprising: at least one memory configured to store instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to:
acquire attribute data indicating an attribute of a subject from an input device;
estimate, based on the attribute data and estimation-specific prior information, a required trial quantity of a test, wherein the required trial quantity is a trial quantity to be required for the subject to become familiar with a test undergone by the subject;
determine whether the subject is familiar with the test, based on the required trial quantity; and
output, to the client device, a test result and validity of the test result in case the test result is determined to be valid.
Claim 1: determination device comprising:
at least one memory configured to store instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to:
acquire attribute data indicating an attribute of a subject;
estimate a required trial quantity, which is a trial quantity to be required for the subject to become familiar with a test undergone by the subject, based on the attribute data; and
Claim 3: The determination device … estimate the required trial quantity based on the attribute data, an inference model, and a test result of the test (equivalent to estimation-specific prior information) …
determine whether or not the subject is familiar with the test, based on the required trial quantity.
Claim 8: The determination device … output, by audio, a determination result of validity of the test based on the determination result of whether or not the subject is familiar with the test.
Claim 2: The test familiarity determination device according to claim 1,
wherein the estimation-specific prior information is a result of a similar type of a test.
Claim 3: The determination device … estimate the required trial quantity based on the attribute data, an inference model, and a test result of the test (equivalent to a result of a similar type of a test) …
Claim 3: The test familiarity determination device according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to:
estimate the required trial quantity based on the attribute data and an inference model, and
wherein the inference model is a model which learned a relation between data based on the attribute data and the required trial quantity.
Claim 2: The determination device according to claim 1,
wherein the at least one processor is configured to
estimate the required trial quantity based on the attribute data and an inference model, and
wherein the inference model is a model which learned a relation between data based on the attribute data and the required trial quantity.
Claim 4: The test familiarity determination device according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to:
estimate the required trial quantity based on the attribute data, an inference model, and the test result, and wherein the inference model is a model which learned, by machine learning, a relation between data based on the attribute data and the test result and the required trial quantity.
Claim 3: The determination device according to claim 1,
wherein the at least one processor is configured to
estimate the required trial quantity based on the attribute data, an inference model, and a test result of the test, and wherein the inference model is a model which learned, by machine learning, a relation between data based on the attribute data and the test result and the required trial quantity.
Claim 5: The test familiarity determination device according to claim 3, wherein the test result is time-series results of the test that the subject underwent in the past.
Claim 4: The determination device according to claim 3, wherein the test result is time-series results of the test that the subject underwent in the past.
Claim 6: The test familiarity determination device according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to:
estimate the required trial quantity from the attribute data, based on a table in which each of candidates for the attribute is associated with the required trial quantity corresponding to the each of the candidates.
Claim 5: The determination device according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to
estimate the required trial quantity from the attribute data, based on a table in which each of candidates for the attribute is associated with the required trial quantity corresponding to the each of the candidates.
Claim 7: The test familiarity determination device according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to:
determine that the test result of the test is invalid if the determination result indicates that the subject is not familiar with the test.
Claim 7: The determination device according to claim 6, wherein the at least one processor is configured to
determine that the test result of the test is invalid if the determination result indicates that the subject is not familiar with the test.
Claim 8: The test familiar determination device according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to:
output, to the client device, advice information for a manager of the subject to perform a decision-making regarding whether to continue to conduct the test.
Claim 11: The determination device according to claim 6, wherein the at least one processor is configured to
output advice information for a manager of the subject to perform a decision-making regarding whether or not to continue to conduct the test.
Claim 9: The test familiarity determination device according to claim 1, wherein the least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to:
display, to the client device, a determination result of validity of the test based on the determination result of whether the subject is familiar with the test.
Claim 8: The determination device according to claim 6, wherein the least one processor is configured to
display or output, by audio, a determination result of validity of the test based on the determination result of whether or not the subject is familiar with the test.
Claim 10: The test familiarity determination device according to claim 1, wherein the least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to:
output to the client device, by audio, a determination result of validity of the test based on the determination result of whether the subject is familiar with the test.
Claim 8: The determination device according to claim 6, wherein the least one processor is configured to
display or output, by audio, a determination result of validity of the test based on the determination result of whether or not the subject is familiar with the test.
Claims 11 and 12 have similar limitations with the claims 9 and 10 of the reference application 18/205442, and they are analyzed and rejected accordingly (see the above table for the matching claim limitations).
Claims 1-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims “1 and 3”, 3, 2, 3-9, 11 and 12, respectively of co-pending Application 18/504566 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claims 1-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims “1 and 5”, 5, 4-13, respectively of co-pending Application 18/504577 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamamoto et al. (US 2022/0148729 A1).
As per claim 1, Yamamoto teaches a test familiarity determination device [see figs. 1, 10] in communication with client device [see paras. 0087, 0090], the test familiarity determination device comprising: at least one memory configured to store instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to:
acquire attribute data indicating an attribute of a subject from an input device; estimate, based on the attribute data and estimation-specific prior information, a required trial quantity of a test, wherein the required trial quantity is a trial quantity to be required for the subject to become familiar with a test undergone by the subject [figs. 1, 3, 8; par. 0030, lines 1-6; par. 0038, lines 1-7; par. 0039, lines 1-7; par. 0040, lines 1-7; par. 0056, lines 1-8; par. 0068, lines 1-8; par. 0071, lines 1-8; par. 0081, lines 1-6; par. 0087, lines 1-13 of Yamamoto teaches to acquire attribute data (e.g., the feature quantity) indicating an attribute of a subject (e.g., the operation information of a communication terminal) from an input device; estimate, based on the attribute data (e.g., the feature quantity) and estimation-specific prior information (e.g., the correct answer data indication attention of the user or the information of the previous stage), a required trial quantity of a test, wherein the required trial quantity is a trial quantity to be required for the subject to become familiar with a test undergone by the subject (e.g., the quantity, such as two/three, of the estimation models have to be connected in series to construct an estimation model for the estimation process based on feature quantities)];
determine whether the subject is familiar with the test, based on the required trial quantity [figs. 1, 3; par. 0039, lines 1-7; par. 0040, lines 1-7; par. 0075, lines 1-12; par. 0076, lines 1-4 of Yamamoto teaches to determine whether the subject is familiar (e.g., having the granularity of state estimation) with the test, based on the required trial quantity (e.g., the estimation models have to be run)]; and
output, to the client device, a test result and validity of the test result in case the test result is determined to be valid [figs. 3, 10; par. 0041, lines 1-4; par. 0049, lines 1-9; par. 0097, lines 4-8 of Yamamoto teaches output, to the client device, a test result and validity of the test result in case the test result is determined to be valid].
As per claim 2, Yamamoto teaches the test familiarity determination device according to claim 1.
Yamamoto further teaches wherein the estimation-specific prior information is a result of a similar type of a test [par. 0071, lines 1-8; par. 0081, lines 1-6 of Yamamoto teaches wherein the estimation-specific prior information (e.g., the correct answer data indication attention of the user or the information of the previous stage) is a result of a similar type of a test].
As per claim 3, Yamamoto teaches the test familiarity determination device according to claim 1.
Yamamoto further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to estimate the required trial quantity based on the attribute data and an inference model, and wherein the inference model is a model which learned a relation between data based on the attribute data and the required trial quantity [figs. 6, 8, 9; par. 0057, lines 1-7; par. 0072, lines 1-11; par. 0075, lines 1-12 of Yamamoto teaches to estimate the required trial quantity (e.g., the estimation models have to be run) based on the attribute data (e.g., the feature quantity) and an inference model (e.g., the description estimation model), and wherein the inference model is a model which learned a relation between data based on the attribute data (e.g., the feature quantity) and the required trial quantity (e.g., the estimation models have to be run)].
As per claim 4, Yamamoto teaches the test familiarity determination device according to claim 1.
Yamamoto further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to estimate the required trial quantity based on the attribute data, an inference model, and a test result, and wherein the inference model is a model which learned, by machine learning, a relation between data based on the attribute data and the test result and the required trial quantity [figs. 1, 3, 8; par. 0026, lines 1-4; par. 0057, lines 1-7; par. 0072, lines 1-11; par. 0075, lines 1-12 of Yamamoto teaches to estimate the required trial quantity (e.g., the estimation models have to be run) based on the attribute data (e.g., the feature quantity), an inference model (e.g., the description estimation model), and a test result (e.g., how detailed state estimation, or estimation granularity), and wherein the inference model is a model which learned, by machine learning, a relation between data based on the attribute data and the test result and the required trial quantity].
As per claim 5, Yamamoto teaches the test familiarity determination device according to claim 3.
Yamamoto further teaches wherein the test result is time-series results of the test that the subject underwent in the past [par. 0071, lines 1-8; par. 0081, lines 1-6 of Yamamoto teaches wherein the test result is time-series results of the test that the subject underwent in the past (e.g., in the previous stage)].
As per claim 6, Yamamoto teaches the test familiarity determination device according to claim 1.
Yamamoto further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to estimate the required trial quantity from the attribute data, based on a table in which each of candidates for the attribute is associated with the required trial quantity corresponding to the each of the candidates [par. 0104, lines 1-7 of Yamamoto teaches to estimate the required trial quantity from the attribute data, based on a table in which each of candidates for the attribute (e.g., the input information) is associated with the required trial quantity (e.g., the output information) corresponding to the each of the candidates (e.g., the input information) – see also rejections to the claim 1].
As per claim 7, Yamamoto teaches the test familiarity determination device according to claim 1.
Yamamoto further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to determine that the test result of the test is invalid if the determination result indicates that the subject is not familiar with the test [par. 0075, lines 1-12; par. 0076, lines 1-4; par. 0078, lines 1-11 of Yamamoto teaches to determine that the test result of the test is invalid (e.g., it is necessary to perform more detailed state estimation) if the determination result indicates that the subject is not familiar with the test (e.g., determining that the granularity of the state estimation is not fine)].
As per claim 8, Yamamoto teaches the test familiarity determination device according to claim 1.
Yamamoto further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: output advice information for a manager of the subject to perform a decision-making regarding whether to continue to conduct the test [par. 0097, lines 4-8; par. 0104, lines 1-7 of Yamamoto teaches to output advice information for a manager (e.g., output for the management) of the subject to perform a decision-making regarding whether to continue to conduct the test (e.g., to overwritten, update, additionally written, etc.)].
As per claim 9, Yamamoto teaches the test familiarity determination device according to claim 1.
Yamamoto further teaches wherein the least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to display, to the client device, a determination result of validity of the test based on the determination result of whether the subject is familiar with the test [fig. 10; par. 0075, lines 1-12; par. 0076, lines 1-4; par. 0097, lines 4-8 of Yamamoto teaches to display, to the client device (e.g., output by a display, a speaker or an LED lamp), a determination result of validity of the test (e.g., it is necessary to perform more detailed state estimation) based on the determination result of whether the subject is familiar with the test – see also rejections to the claims 1 and 7].
As per claim 10, Yamamoto teaches the test familiarity determination device according to claim 1.
Yamamoto further teaches wherein the least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to output to the client device, by audio, a determination result of validity of the test based on the determination result of whether the subject is familiar with the test [fig. 10; par. 0075, lines 1-12; par. 0076, lines 1-4; par. 0097, lines 4-8 of Yamamoto teaches to output to the client device, by audio (e.g., output by a display, a speaker or an LED lamp), a determination result of validity of the test (e.g., it is necessary to perform more detailed state estimation) based on the determination result of whether the subject is familiar with the test – see also rejections to the claims 1 and 7].
Claims 11 and 12 are method and medium claims that correspond to the device claim 1, and are analyzed and rejected accordingly.
Conclusion
/MAUNG T LWIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2495