DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Objections Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: the preamble states: “The system of any of claims 1….” The claim should be amended to recite: “The system of claim 1….” Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim(s) 1 -5, 11, 18-2 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frausto et al. (US 2022/0387704) in view of Bancroft et al. (US 2015/0343123 ) . Regarding claim 1, Frausto et al. (henceforth Frausto ) discloses a system for altering flow during a procedure comprising a height adjustable flow assembly (¶ [0028] discloses that the adjustable pole can provide variation of flow rate via increasing or decreasing the head-height of the fluid source relative to the fluid receptacle or patient) comprising: a base (Figure 2, base 110), a tower (132 , 134 ) extending upward from the base (122 ; Figures 4-5 ), an actuator (drive 136, ¶ 0038]), and a carrier ( weight measurement assembly 140 and fluid source retainer 150; ¶ ¶ [0039] and [0040] ) ; the actuator is coupled to the carrier (via pole 134 and cross spar 142) and the tower (132, 134, the motor surrounds the tower as seen in Figure 5), and the actuator vertically adjust the carrier relative to the base (¶ [0038]); a receptacle (bag 170; the fluid source and destination are analogous to a person as the source and a receiving bag as the destination for the purposes of fluid flow in a dynamic system) being connected to the carrier (Figure 2; ¶ [0040]) and configured to receive a container (the fluid source of Frausto is a bag of fluid and the patient is analogous to the collection container in this example; however, the dynamics of the system are directly analogous to the patient being the source and the receiving blood donation bag being the collection container); and a controller (¶ [0028] discloses a motor control for automatically adjusting the head-height of the fluid source on the pole via actuating the motor drive) that interacts with at least the actuator. Frausto fails to explicitly disclose the system being used for altering blood flow rate during donation and the receptacle being configured to receive a blood collection container. Bancroft teaches a blood donation management system wherein a blood collection assembly (106) is used to monitor a blood donation procedure wherein the weight measurement of the blood receptacle is used to calculate flow rates and to vary the flow rates if the measured volume is greater than or less than desired for a given volume received (¶ [0023]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the height adjustable fluid system of Frausto to be utilized in a blood donation procedure since Bancroft teaches that it is known to utilize weight-derived volume measurements to control fluid flow from a patient into a receptacle during a blood donation procedure. It is noted that, when modified to be used in a blood donation procedure, the system of Frausto would be modified to replace the variable height fluid source with a static patient height. Frausto discloses that it is known to vary the head-height of the fluid source during a procedure to control flow rates, and because the patient is static, the receptacle would be the variable height component of the modified system. The creates an analogous system from a fluid dynamics perspective. Because it is known to vary the height of the fluid source relative to the receiving component, it would have been obvious to vary the blood bag height in the modified system to achieve the same results of automatically controlling the flow rate of blood flowing from the patient to the collection bag during the modified procedure. Regarding claim 2, Frausto further discloses wherein the base is configured to rest on a horizontal surface (Figure 1, the wheels 114 rest on the floor; ¶ [0035]). Regarding claim 3, Frausto further discloses wherein the actuator further comprises a drive (136; ¶ [0038]). Regarding claim 4, Frausto further discloses wherein the actuator is a linear actuator (pole 134 is moved linearly via rotation of drive 136 which causes threaded portion 135 to wind or unwind thereby effecting the linear motion of the pole). Regarding claim 5, Frausto further discloses wherein the actuator further comprises a screw (e.g., screw 135 on shaft 134) and the drive rotates the screw (¶ [0038]). Regarding claim 11, Frausto further discloses wherein the tower is telescopic (shaft 134 extends from housing 132 in a telescopic manner) . Regarding claims 18 and 19, Frausto fails to disclose that the receptacle is movably connected to the carrier. Bancroft , however, further teaches wherein the receptacle is movably connected to the carrier (¶ [0017] discloses that tray 112 can comprise a motor for agitat ing or shaking the bag during collection, this is also considered to teach the tilting of claim 19, as the vertical oscillations of the agitation require some degree of tilting of the base). It would have been obvious to modify the system of Frausto /Bancroft to utilize the agitation means of Bancroft to gently mix the blood during collection as taught by Bancroft (¶ [0018]). In the cited combination, the receptacle Bancroft replaces the patient of Frausto , and therefore the receptacle, when placed on the tray of Bancroft in the cited combination, would utilize the agitation means of Bancroft for the purpose of ensuring the blood is mixed during a procedure. Regarding claim 20, Frausto /Bancroft both teach the use of a weight scale operably connected to the controller (see weight measurement assembly 140 of Frausto as detailed in ¶ [0039] which uses sensor assembly 144 to measure the weight of the bag 170; see also ¶¶ [0016] and [0020]-[0022] of Bancroft which teaches that the tray 112 weighs the bag during a blood collection procedure to keep track of flow rates during the procedure). Regarding claim 21, Frausto further discloses wherein the container (170) is connected to a flow path (from the bag to the patient as depicted in Figure 1). Bancroft also teaches (Figure 1) the blood collection bag connected to a patient via a flow path (patient line). Regarding claim 22, Frausto further discloses at least one sensor that monitors the flow path (¶ [0027] discloses the use of feedback sensors such as flow meters to control infusion rates). Regarding claim 23, Frausto further discloses at least one clamp configured to engage the flow path (¶ [0033] discloses the use of orifice/clamping control for providing closed loop flow control in addition to the head height adjustment). Regarding claims 24-25, Frausto further discloses at least one input element (visual display 160 as per claim 25 , Figure 2; ¶ [0037]) wherein the at least one input element is usable to enter a manual selection of a height adjustment of the carrier and/or is usable to enter parameters relating to a procedure (¶ [0037] discloses that the display is for data entry, control, or changing settings relevant to the procedure and is therefore fully capable of changing the claimed data). See also ¶ [0016] of Bancroft which teaches a GUI (110) for blood collection data entry, calibration, and measurement during a blood donation procedure. Claim(s) 6- 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frausto in view of Bancroft, and further in view of Masters (4,669,484) . Regarding claim 6, Frausto /Bancroft teach the claimed invention substantially as set forth above for claim 5, but fail to disclose the tower comprises a column and the carrier translates vertically along the column. Masters teaches (Figure 1-2) a medical table assembly comprising a linear actuator (43, 44) comprising a rotatable shaft (44) within a column (45), and wherein a carrier (e.g., 13, 46) translates vertically along the column (Figure 2, Col. 4, lines 43-48). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the adjustment system of Frausto /Bancroft to comprise the adjustable column assembly of Master since Masters teaches that such a configuration is known in the art for adjusting a medical device carrier assembly for bedside use during a procedure to provide a desired height for an apparatus placed on the carrier (Col. 3, lines 47-51). Regarding claim 7, Masters further discloses wherein the screw is a vertically extending screw located in the column (Figure 2, screw 44 is within column 45). Regarding claim 8, Masters further discloses wherein the drive (motor 34) is connected to the base (it’s adjacent the base portion of the stand (Col. 4, lines 21-29 disclose the motor being attached on a housing of the stand base) and rotatably drives the screw in the column (Col. 4, lines 37-48). Claim(s) 9 - 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frausto in view of Bancroft, and further in view of Toye ( 6 , 603 , 229 ). Regarding claim 9, Frausto /Bancroft teach the claimed device substantially as set forth above for claim 4, but fail to disclose the use of a non-captive motor for the linear actuator. Toye teaches (Figure 1) a linear actuator comprising a fixed screw (42, 44) and the drive comprises a non-captive motor (Col. 3, lines 53-61; captivation sleeve 64 is splined to provide linear actuation of the screw via rotation of the motor assembly around the screw to provide the drive means; the lead screw threaded portion 42 is passed through the threaded rotor of a rotary electric motor; see also Col. 1, lines 15-28 which disclose the lead screw actuation via rotation of the motor components around the screw). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the drive assembly of Frausto /Bancroft to comprise the linear actuator of Toye since Toye teaches that such a device is known for effecting linear motion of a screw drive to extend or retract the screw relative to the motor as desired. Toye further teaches that such a configuration allows for efficient manufacture and requires no external anti-rotation techniques (Col. 1, lines 20-23 and 40-41). Regarding claim 10, the cited combination of Frausto /Bancroft/Toye would locate the motor above the base as it is in Frausto (136, Figure 5) and the drive would be connected to the carrier to raise or lower the fluid source during use (in the combination, drive 136 of Frausto would be replaced by the actuator of Toye to provide the movement of 134, 140, 150). Claim(s) 12 - 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frausto in view of Bancroft, and further in view of Kovacic ( 2006/0054395 ). Regarding claim 12, Frausto /Bancroft teach the claimed invention substantially as set forth for claim 11, but fail to disclose a plurality of telescoping riser elements. Kovacic teaches (Figures 1-2B) a telescoping lift platform (20) comprising a plurality of telescoping riser elements (32-38). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the system of Frausto /Bancroft to replace the telescoping tower assembly with the telescoping platform of Kovacic as it represents a known means of automatically adjusting a device utilizing a nested telescoping structure. As the cited combination aims to replace the gravity IV bag of Frausto with the patient, it would be obvious to replace the telescoping holder for the bag with a platform that is below the patient rather than above. This would maintain the desired fluid dynamics of the system which rely on the patient being analogous to the IV source of Frausto . For this reason, the combination would be modified to utilize the telescoping platform of Kovacic as a means of adjusting the blood donation bag system of Bancroft so that it may move relative to the patient to vary the flow rate during a procedure when the patient is at a height above the donation bag. Regarding claim 13, Kovacic further teaches a base ( 50 ) defined by a lowermost telescoping riser element ( 38, Figure 2A) and a top portion (33) defined by an uppermost telescoping riser element (32). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the system of Frausto /Bancroft to place the blood collection bag assembly on the top, carrier portion, of the riser assembly of Kovacic so as to provide a level means of adjusting the bag height of the cited combination. Regarding claim 14, Kovacic further teaches wherein the actuator is located within the tower (¶ [0020] teaches that the sidewall columns 30 are placed over the means of raising and lowering the lift, which is disclosed as a motorized lift). Regarding claim 15, Kovacic further teaches wherein the actuator further comprises a scissor lift (formed as 60; see e.g., ¶¶ [0002] and [0006]). Regarding claim 16, Kovacic further teaches wherein the scissor lift further comprises a lower portion connected to the base (actuator engagement with base 50 so as to move the arms 60, horizontally to allow the scissor mechanism to extend vertically) and an upper portion (portion of scissor mechanism connected to underside of 32 in Figure 2A) connected to the carrier, and the scissor lift moves the carrier vertically relative to the base (Figures 2A-2B). Regarding claim 17, Kovacic further teaches (via incorporation by reference of US patent 6,044,927 to Newlin in ¶ [0002]) that the scissor lift further comprises a screw and a drive rotatably drives the screw (screw mechanisms are well-established in scissor lifts, and Newlin, which is disclosed as a suitable example of a scissor lift usable with the telescoping arrangement of Kovacic , teaches the use of a screw and a drive for rotating the screw to extend the lift vertically (see actuator 22 of Newlin; Col. 5, line 64-Col. 6, line 15 ; see also Col. 7, lines 28-48 which disclose the threaded extension of component 22; and Col. 9, lines 15-30 which disclose the motor assembly for rotating 22). Allowable Subject Matter Claims 26-28 are allowed. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the prior art made of record fails to anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, the method of claim 26 . The closest prior art is considered to be Bancroft in view of Frausto . As above, Bancroft discloses a blood collection system which utilizes a scale assembly to track a volume received and therefore a flow rate of blood during a collection procedure. Frausto teaches that it is known to automatically adjust the head height of a fluid source during a fluid transfer procedure to vary flow rate as desired. Neither Bancroft nor Frausto teach varying the height of a portion of the system during a procedure to three distinct heights for the purpose of gradually increasing the flow rate to expedite the collection process while maintaining patient comfort via an adaption volume between flow rate adjustments. The flow rate adjustment of the cited prior art can only be applied generally to the process of blood collection wherein it is known to change it, as desired, during a procedure. Adjusting the bag height relative to a patient, as set forth in the method of claim 26, is not reasonably taught by the prior art, and for this reason, along with the totality of the claimed method set forth in claim 26, the claims are allowable over the prior art made of record. It’s further noted that an amendment to claim 1, which requires the controller to adjust the height of the blood collection container in the same manner as the method of claim 26, would place the device claims in condition for allowance as well. Any comments considered necessary by applicant must be submitted no later than the payment of the issue fee and, to avoid processing delays, should preferably accompany the issue fee. Such submissions should be clearly labeled “Comments on Statement of Reasons for Allowance.” Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT JUSTIN L ZAMORY whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-1238 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT M-F 8:30am-4:30pm ET . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Michael Tsai can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-270-5246 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JUSTIN L ZAMORY/ Examiner, Art Unit 3783 /MICHAEL J TSAI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783