DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 11/8/23, 6/6/24, 8/8/25 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: “from the group” in lines 6-7 should be change to –from a group--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Holesinger (US 2016/0118157 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Holesinger teaches a composite conductor for a vehicle, comprising:
a composite conductor (wire) including a surface (para [0071]), wherein the composite conductor is electrically conductive exhibiting an electrical conductivity of 1.0×10^7 Siemens per meter (S/m) or greater; and
a first copper tape laminated to the surface (para [0075]), wherein the first copper tape includes a layer of carbon nanotubes sandwiched between a first copper layer and a second copper layer (para [0077]).
Regarding claim 2, Holesinger teaches the first copper layer comprises a copper foil and the second copper layer comprises a copper coating (para [0077]).
Regarding claim 3, Holesinger teaches the first copper tape exhibits a thickness in the range of 10 micrometers to 40 micrometers (para [0074]).
Regarding claim 4, Holesinger teaches the carbon nanotube layer exhibits a thickness in the range of 2 nanometers to 50 nanometers, including all values and ranges therein, the copper coating layers exhibits a thickness in the range of 0.1 to 3 micrometers (para [0074]).
Regarding claim 5, Holesinger teaches the composite conductor is formed from one or more of the following materials selected from the group consisting of copper, aluminum, and iron (para [0071]).
Regarding claim 6, Holesinger teaches at least one additional carbon nanotube layer disposed on the second copper layer and at least one additional second copper layer disposed on the at least one additional carbon nanotube layer (para 0075]).
Regarding claim 7, Holesinger teaches at least one additional copper tape is bonded to the first copper tape bonded to the surface (para [0075]).
Regarding claim 8, Holesinger teaches no intermetallic phases are formed at the surface (para [0071]-[0073]).
Regarding claim 9, Holesinger teaches a plurality of composite conductors are sintered together (para [0071]).
Regarding claim 17, Holesinger teaches a method of forming a composite busbar for a vehicle, comprising:
heating a busbar (wire) and a first copper tape (CNT-Cu), wherein the first copper tape includes a layer of carbon nanotubes sandwiched between a first copper layer and a second copper layer (para [0071]);
laminating the first copper tape to the busbar by applying a force to the busbar and the first copper tape and bonding the first copper tape to a surface of the busbar (para [0075]); and
heat treating the busbar and first copper tape (para [0086]).
Regarding claim 18, Holesinger teaches laminating includes thermal rolling of the first copper tape to the surface, wherein the first copper tape exhibits a first length before drawing and a second length in the range of 100 percent to less than 105 percent of the first length (para 0074]).
Regarding claim 19, Holesinger teaches laminating includes extrusion onto the first copper tape, wherein the first copper tape exhibits a first length before drawing and a second length in the range of 100 percent to less than 105 percent of the first length (para [0074]).
Regarding claim 20, Holesinger teaches laminating includes hot-isostatic-pressing of the first copper tape to the surface of the busbar (para [0085]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holesinger in view of Gopalakrishnan et al. (US 2023/0208237 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Holesinger teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1, except for the added limitation of the composite conductor is in the form of a busbar.
Gopalakrishnan teaches a stator of an electric machine having composite conductor is in form of a busbar (8a-8c) to avoid a short-circuit and to securely arrange the terminal connection in a motor (para [0017]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Holesinger’s conductor with the composite conductor is in the form of a busbar as taught by Gopalakrishnan. Doing so would avoid a short-circuit and to securely arrange the terminal connection in a motor (para [0017]).
Regarding claim 11, Holesinger in view of Gopalakrishnan teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 10, except for the added limitation of the busbar is affixed to a plurality of windings of a stator.
Gopalakrishnan further teaches a stator of an electric machine having busbar (8a-8c) is affixed to a plurality of windings (13) of a stator (3) to avoid a short-circuit and to securely arrange the terminal connection in a motor (para [0017]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Holesinger in view of Gopalakrishnan’s conductor with the busbar is affixed to a plurality of windings of a stator as further taught by Gopalakrishnan. Doing so would avoid a short-circuit and to securely arrange the terminal connection in a motor (para [0017]).
Regarding claim 12, Holesinger in view of Gopalakrishnan teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 11, except for the added limitation of a rotor is rotatably held in the stator.
Gopalakrishnan further teaches a stator of an electric machine having a rotor (4) is rotatably held in the stator (3) to provide an electric drive for a vehicle.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Holesinger in view of Gopalakrishnan’s conductor with a rotor is rotatably held in the stator as further taught by Gopalakrishnan. Doing so would provide an electric drive for a vehicle.
Regarding claim 13, Holesinger in view of Gopalakrishnan teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 12, except for the added limitation of the busbar is affixed to an inverter.
Gopalakrishnan further teaches a stator of an electric machine having the busbar (8a-8c) is affixed to an inverter (6) to provide an electric drive for a vehicle.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Holesinger in view of Gopalakrishnan’s conductor with the busbar is affixed to an inverter as further taught by Gopalakrishnan. Doing so would provide an electric drive for a vehicle.
Regarding claim 14, Holesinger teaches a propulsion system for a vehicle, comprising:
a composite busbar including a busbar including a surface busbar formed of at least one material selected from the group consisting of copper, aluminum, and iron (para [0071]); and
a first copper tape laminated to the surface, wherein the first copper tape includes a layer of carbon nanotubes sandwiched between a first copper foil layer and a second copper coating layer, and wherein the first copper tape exhibits a thickness in the range of 10 micrometers to 40 micrometers, and wherein the carbon nanotube layer exhibits a thickness in the range of 2 nanometers to 50 nanometers and the copper coating layers exhibits a thickness in the range of 0.1 to 3 micrometers (para [0075]-[0077]). However, Holesinger does not teach an electric motor, the electric motor including a stator including a plurality of windings, a rotor arranged within the stator, a composite busbar connected to the plurality of windings.
Gopalakrishnan teaches an electric machine having a stator (3) including a plurality of windings (13), a rotor (4) arranged within the stator (3), a composite busbar (8a-8c) connected to the plurality of windings (13) to provide an electric drive for a vehicle.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Holesinger’s vehicle with an electric motor, the electric motor including a stator including a plurality of windings, a rotor arranged within the stator, a composite busbar connected to the plurality of windings as taught by Gopalakrishnan. Doing so would provide an electric drive for a vehicle.
Regarding claim 15, Holesinger in view of Gopalakrishnan teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 14, Holesinger further teaches at least one additional carbon nanotube layer disposed on the second copper layer and at least one additional second copper layer disposed on the at least one additional carbon nanotube layer (para [0077]).
Regarding claim 16, Holesinger in view of Gopalakrishnan teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 14, Holesinger further teaches at least one additional copper tape is laminated to the first copper tape bonded to the surface (para [0077]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Adriaenssens (US 8,853,540 B2) teaches a conductor for a communications cable includes an elongated metal wire and a metal sheet that includes a plurality of carbon nanotubes that at least partially surrounds the elongated metal wire. The metal wire may include copper, and the metal sheet may likewise include copper and may be welded to an outside surface of the metal wire to surround the metal wire. This conductor may be used in a variety of communications cables that carry high frequency signals.
/LEDA T PHAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834