DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/28/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, see Applicant’s arguments pages 11-12, against the use of Joseph. Firstly, Applicant argues that sensor 102 obtains the first and second pulse waveforms at different arterial sites and that sensor 102 is a single sensing element. Paragraph [0040] states that the first and second pulse waveforms can be obtained at the same site. Additionally, [0040] further states sensor 102 comprises a set of sensors, but is referred to collectively as “sensor 102”. Secondly, Applicant argues that ultrasound transducer 104 is separate from sensor 102, and that sensor 102 can be any of several types of sensor. Examiner does not cite ultrasound transducer 104 in the rejection; sensor 102 teaches the claimed limitations. Whether sensor 102 can be multiple types of sensor does not preclude it from reading on the claimed ultrasound components of the instant application. By it being an ultrasound sensor in one embodiment, sensor 102 would be able to perform the functionalities detailed in Joseph using ultrasound energy. Joseph teaching that sensor 102 can be a pressure sensor, magnetic sensor, etc. in separate embodiments does not diminish its ability to function as an ultrasound sensor in the embodiment in which it is an ultrasound sensor. Lastly, Applicant argues that [0048] does not enable a recombination of components in regards to the claimed ultrasound module, pulse detection module, and measurement module. Examiner cited [0048] only in relation to incorporating a processor into the invention of Joseph. The various modules claimed in the instant application do not comprise any structure and only perform their dedicated functions. If one component in a prior art reference can perform the functions of multiple claimed modules (i.e., sensor 102 in regards to the ultrasound module, pulse detection module, and measurement module), then Examiner asserts that one having ordinary skill in the art would understand that that component can be substituted for the multiple claimed modules. Examiner upholds the use of Joseph.
Applicant argues, see Applicant’s arguments pages 12-13, that the sphygmomanometer cuff does not read on the claimed flow restrictors because traditional blood pressure cuffs completely restrict blood flow. Examiner disagrees; the language of the claims regarding the flow restrictors does not preclude the cuff of Pearson from reading on them. Further, blood pressure cuffs allow for the partial restriction of blood flow: when the cuff is at a pressure between a patient’s systolic and diastolic blood pressures, blood flow is partially restricted.
Applicant argues, see Applicant’s arguments pages 13-14, that the teaching of Goto of capturing artery pulsations with maximum amplitude is not combinable with Joseph and Pearson. This limitation was interpreted as using the artery pulsations with the maximum amplitudes as the second signals. In this case, all signals inherently have a maximum amplitude, including the signals of Joseph. However, Joseph does not teach determining the maximum amplitudes of the signals, so [0109] of Goto was used to teach this limitation. Goto teaches detecting “a maximum pulse having the greatest amplitude of respective amplitudes of all the pulses detected”; thus, Goto not only determines the maximum amplitude of each signal, but also determines which individual signal has the greatest maximum amplitude among all the signals. Because all signals have maximum amplitudes, Examiner asserts that this teaching of Goto can be combined with Joseph. However, per Applicant’s arguments, it appears as if this limitation was intended to be that the flow restrictors are inflated to a pressure resulting in the greatest signal amplitude. If this is the intended interpretation, [0110] of Goto teaches this. Examiner asserts that this would also be combinable in the rejection, as it would amount only to determining at what pressure to inflate the cuff of Pearson.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: “generates distal pulse waves based on the pulse wave patterns and” should read –generates distal pulse waves based on the pulse wave patterns; and--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “ultrasound module” in claims 1 & 16, “pulse detection module” in claims 1 & 16, “measurement module” in claims 1 & 16, “high voltage generation module” in claim 6, “automatic artery wall detection module” in claim 9, “wall tracking module” in claim 10, “diameter waveform generator module” in claim 11, “synchronized automatic cycle cutting and selection (SAC) module” in claim 12, “proximal diameter cycle module” in claim 12, “local stiffness evaluation module” in claim 12, “beat-to-beat diameter generation module” in claim 13, “segregation module” in claim 13, “phasic diameter evaluation module” in claim 13, “endothelial function module” in claim 13, “distal pulse wave module” in claim 14, “processing module” in claim 14, and “distal pulse cycle module” in claim 14.
Regarding Figure 2A, the ultrasound module, pulse detection module and high voltage generation module will be interpreted as hardware components capable of performing their respective claimed functions.
Regarding Figure 2B, the measurement module, automatic artery wall detection module, wall tracking module, diameter waveform generation module, synchronized automatic cycle cutting and selection (SAC) module, proximal diameter cycle module, local stiffness evaluation module, beat-to-beat diameter generation module, segregation module, phasic diameter evaluation module, endothelial function module, distal pulse wave module, processing module, and distal pulse cycle module will be interpreted as software components capable of performing their respective claimed functions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 teaches measuring diameter values for “baseline state, low flow state, and vasodilation state” and averaging “baseline, peak dilated, and recovery” diameter values. Neither the claims nor the specification clarify whether these states refer to a patient in a specific condition (e.g. at rest vs. active) or to specific segments of the cardiac cycle. For the purposes of examination, it will be assumed that the latter is correct, with each state occurring once during a single cardiac cycle. The low flow state will be assumed to correspond with the recovery diameter, corresponding to end-diastole (i.e. when the flow of blood through an artery is at its lowest). The vasodilation state will be assumed to correspond with the peak dilated diameter, corresponding to peak systole (i.e. when that the diameter of an artery is most dilated).
Claim 15 depends from claim 14, and, therefore, inherits the deficiencies of its parent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-11, & 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joseph (US 2017/0156706) in view of Pearson (US 2015/0366474) and Goto (US 2001/0037068).
Regarding claim 1, Joseph teaches an image-free ultrasound system for simultaneous, continuous, and real-time non-invasive assessment of early vascular health markers comprising:
one or more ultrasound transducers (sensor 102, [0040]) positioned at one or more arteries ([0040]), wherein the ultrasound transducers generate first signals based on blood flow and pulse propagation in the arteries ([0040]);
an ultrasound module (sensor 102, [0040]) in communication with each ultrasound transducer, wherein the ultrasound module generates characteristic waves (first and second pulse waveforms, [0040]) based on the generated signals at the ultrasound transducers ([0040]); and
The sensor 102 taught by Joseph performs the claimed functions of both the ultrasound transducers and ultrasound module.
a measurement module (sensor 102, [0040]) controlled by at least one processor ([0048]), wherein the measurement module is in communication with the ultrasound module to receive the generated characteristic waves, wherein the early vascular health markers (local pulse wave velocity (PWV), [0040]) are measured by the measurement module based on the characteristic waves ([0040]).
The sensor 102 taught by Joseph further performs the claimed functions of the measurement module. Additionally, page 5 of the specification of the claimed invention teaches that the early vascular health markers comprise local stiffness indices; pages 8-9 teach that the local stiffness indices include local PWV. Therefore, by measuring the local PWV, the sensor 102 measures the early vascular health markers.
However, Joseph fails to disclose: one or more flow restrictors positioned at the one or more arteries to partially restrict blood flow in the one or more arteries, wherein the flow restrictors generate second signals based on the blood flow in the arteries; a pulse detection module in communication with each flow restrictor, wherein the pulse detection module generates pulse waves based on the generated second signals at the flow restrictor; and the measurement module controlled by at least one processor, wherein the measurement module is in communication with the pulse detection module to receive the generated pulse waves, wherein the early vascular health markers are measured by the measurement module based on the pulse waves.
Pearson teaches:
one or more flow restrictors (sphygmomanometer cuff 22, [0034]) positioned at the one or more arteries to partially restrict blood flow in the one or more arteries ([0034]), wherein the flow restrictors generate second signals based on the blood flow in the arteries ([0041]);
a pulse detection module (one or more transducers 25, [0040]) in communication with each flow restrictor ([0040]), wherein the pulse detection module generates pulse waves (return signal 27, [0041]) based on the generated second signals at the flow restrictor ([0041]); and
the measurement module (apparatus 50, [0035]) controlled by at least one processor (processor 60, [0035]), wherein the measurement module is in communication with the pulse detection module to receive the generated pulse waves ([0041]), wherein the early vascular health markers (velocity of blood flow, [0041]) are measured by the measurement module based on the pulse waves ([0041]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Joseph to include: one or more flow restrictors positioned at the one or more arteries to partially restrict blood flow in the one or more arteries, wherein the flow restrictors generate second signals based on the blood flow in the arteries; a pulse detection module in communication with each flow restrictor, wherein the pulse detection module generates pulse waves based on the generated second signals at the flow restrictor; and the measurement module controlled by at least one processor, wherein the measurement module is in communication with the pulse detection module to receive the generated pulse waves, wherein the early vascular health markers are measured by the measurement module based on the pulse waves, as taught by Pearson. The combination of flow restrictors and pulse detection modules allows for cardiovascular data to be obtained, while the measurement module can analyze the data to determine any abnormalities.
However, Joseph in view of Pearson fail to disclose that the second signals are generated by capturing artery pulsations with maximum amplitude.
Goto teaches that the second signals are generated by capturing artery pulsations with maximum amplitude (maximum pulse having the greatest amplitude of respective amplitudes, [0109]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Joseph and Pearson such that the second signals are generated by capturing artery pulsations with maximum amplitude, as taught by Goto. This ensures the system captures the highest-quality signals, as these signals will have the highest possible SNR.
Regarding claim 2, Joseph in view of Pearson and Goto teach the image-free ultrasound system as claimed in claim 1, and Goto further teaches that each flow restrictor (cuff 10, [0067]) is inflated to optimal pressure levels (pressure PHD, [0109]) to occlude and partially restrict the blood flow in the artery ([0077] & [0109]), wherein the flow restrictor captures artery pulsations with maximum amplitude ([0109]).
Per [0077], the mean BP value is the pressure at which pulses having a maximum amplitude are produced. Any pressure between the systolic and diastolic blood pressures would partially restrict blood flow.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Joseph and Pearson such that each flow restrictor is inflated to optimal pressure levels to occlude and partially restrict the blood flow in the artery, wherein the flow restrictor captures artery pulsation with maximum amplitude, as taught by Goto. This ensures the system captures the highest-quality signals, as these signals will have the highest possible SNR.
Regarding claim 3, Joseph in view of Pearson and Goto teach the image-free ultrasound system as claimed in claim 1, and Goto further teaches that as the flow restrictor is inflated, pressure fluctuations (“The pulse wave is a pressure oscillation which is transmitted from the arteries (e.g., brachial artery) of the living subject to the cuff 10”, [0068]) are generated within a fluid column ([0068]) of the flow restrictor over the baseline inflation pressure (static pressure, Pc, [0068]), wherein the second signal that is generated at the flow restrictor is a pressure signal with a direct current (DC) component based on inflation pressure ([0068]) and an alternating current (AC) component ([0068]).
Cuff 10 is filled with air. Air is a fluid.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Joseph and Pearson such that as the flow restrictor is inflated, pressure fluctuations are generated within a fluid column of the flow restrictor over the baseline inflation pressure, wherein the second signal that is generated at the flow restrictor is a pressure signal with a direct current (DC) component based on inflation pressure and an alternating current (AC) component, as taught by Goto. The oscillating AC component allows the pressure from the pulse waves to be detected over the constant DC component of the inflation pressure.
Regarding claim 5, Joseph in view of Pearson and Goto teach the image-free ultrasound system as claimed in claim 1, and Joseph further teaches that the ultrasound transducer is a single-element ultrasound transducer ([0077]).
Regarding claim 6, Joseph in view of Pearson and Goto teach the image-free ultrasound system as claimed in claim 1, and Joseph further teaches that the ultrasound module comprises:
a high voltage generation module (high frequency high voltage pulser, [0091]);
a transceiver (ultrasound signal acquisition circuitry, [0091]) in communication with the high voltage generation module to generate high-voltage excitation pulses for the ultrasound transducer based on control signals from the ultrasound transducer ([0044]) provided by the microcontroller ([0044] & [0091]-[0092]), wherein the generated high-voltage excitation pulses enable the ultrasound transducer to send ultrasound signals into tissue ([0044]), and subsequently receive scattered back ultrasound signals from various tissue interfaces ([0044]) to generate the first signals and characteristic waves based on the dynamic motion of the artery and the local arterial stiffness of that artery ([0092]);
a transceiver switch (transmit-receive switch, [0091]) positioned between the ultrasound transducer and the transceiver; and
a microcontroller (controller unit 106, [0092]) in communication with the transceiver switch and the transceiver ([0092]), wherein the transceiver switch is operated based on a pulse control logic that is applied to the transceiver switch via the microcontroller ([0091]), wherein the pulse control logic is developed based on the high-voltage excitation pulses generated in the transceiver ([0044] & [0091]).
Paragraph [0091] teaches that the ultrasound signal acquisition circuitry includes a high speed digitizer. Because the ultrasound transducer 104 converts ultrasound signals into voltage pulses ([0044]), and these signals are digitized and communicated to the controller unit 106 ([0091]-[0092]), this satisfies the limitation that the transceiver switch is operated based on a pulse control logic.
Regarding claim 7, Joseph in view of Pearson and Goto teach the image-free ultrasound system as claimed in claim 1, and Pearson further teaches that the pulse detection module comprises:
an actuator controller (transducer 25, [0041]), wherein the flow restrictor identifies the real-time pulse wave propagation pattern at the artery and generates the second signals ([0041]), and information regarding the second signals is communicated to the actuator controller ([0041]), and wherein the actuator controller transmits the information to the microcontroller (microprocessor device, [0035]); and
a pulse wave detector (transducer 25, [0041]) that detects pulse wave patterns from the received second signals from the flow restrictor ([0041]), wherein the pulse wave detector transmits the detected pulse wave patterns to the microcontroller ([0041]).
The one or more transducers 25 are further able to serve as the claimed actuator controller and pulse wave detector; as taught in [0041] of Pearson, the transducers 25 (which are integrated into the sphygmomanometer cuff 22) detect the return signals 27 and relay them to the processor 60.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Joseph such that the pulse detection module comprises: an actuator controller, wherein the flow restrictor identifies the real-time pulse wave propagation pattern at the artery and generates the second signals, and information regarding the second signals is communicated to the actuator controller, and wherein the actuator controller transmits the information to the microcontroller; and a pulse wave detector detects pulse wave patterns from the received second signals from the flow restrictor, wherein the pulse wave detector transmits the detected pulse wave patterns to the microcontroller, as taught by Pearson. The actuator controller and pulse wave detector serve as bridges between the data acquisition functionalities of the invention and the data processing functionalities. Communicating the pulse signals to the microcontroller allow them to be analyzed in order to determine a patient’s vascular health.
Regarding claim 8, Joseph in view of Pearson and Goto teach the image-free ultrasound as claimed in claim 7, and Goto further teaches that the actuator controller (control device 128, [0106] & [0109]) controls inflation of the flow restrictor to an optimal pressure (pressure PHD, [0109]) based on information regarding instantaneous baseline pressure of the flow restrictor to check whether the flow restrictor is inflated to the optimal pressure ([0106] & [0109]), wherein the instantaneous baseline pressure (static pressure, Pc, [0068]) is indicated by a direct current (DC) component of the second signal generated at the flow restrictor ([0068]) and the amplitude of the alternating current (AC) component of the second signal ([0068]), wherein the actuator controller transmits the information regarding the baseline pressure of the flow restrictor to the microcontroller (cuff-pressure regulating device 178, [0106]) and receives a digital control logic that is required to control the inflation of the flow restrictor ([0106] & [0109]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Joseph and Pearson such that the actuator controller controls inflation of the flow restrictor to an optimal pressure based on information regarding instantaneous baseline pressure of the flow restrictor to check whether the flow restrictor is inflated to the optimal pressure, wherein the instantaneous baseline pressure is indicated by a direct current (DC) component of the second signal generated at the flow restrictor and the amplitude of the alternating current (AC) component of the second signal, wherein the actuator controller transmits the information regarding the baseline pressure of the flow restrictor to the microcontroller and receives a digital control logic that is required to control the inflation of the flow restrictor, as taught by Goto. This provides a feedback system for sensing the pressure of the cuff in order to maintain the optimal pressure while performing measurements.
Regarding claim 9, Joseph in view of Pearson and Goto teach the image-free ultrasound system as claimed in claim 1, and Joseph further teaches that the microcontroller (controller unit 106, [0040]) generates ultrasound echo frames based on the characteristic waves from the ultrasound module ([0044]), wherein the ultrasound echo frames are transmitted to an automatic artery wall detection module (ultrasound transducer 104, [0044]) of the measurement module, wherein the automatic artery wall detection module identifies wall boundaries of the artery ([0044]).
As taught in [0044], the ultrasound transducer 104 performs the claimed function of the automatic artery wall detection module.
Regarding claim 10, Joseph in view of Pearson and Goto teach the image-free ultrasound system as claimed in claim 1, and Joseph further teaches that the measurement module comprises a wall tracking module (ultrasound transducer 104, [0044]) that traces continuous movement of the identified wall boundaries of the arteries and produces continuous motion pattern of the detected arterial wall boundaries ([0045]).
In addition to identifying the arterial walls, the ultrasound transducer 104 is also able to track their motion, this further taught in [0045].
Regarding claim 11, Joseph in view of Pearson and Goto teach the image-free ultrasound system as claimed in claim 8, and Joseph further teaches that the measurement module comprises a diameter waveform generator module (ultrasound transducer 104, [0044]) that receives the traced continuous movement of the identified wall boundaries and waveforms based on the continuous motion pattern from the wall tracking module to generate a diameter (end-diastolic diameter, [0046]) and distension waveform (arterial distension, [0045]), and characteristic waveforms linked to motion of the artery walls ([0066]).
The ultrasound transducer 104 is able to measure an end-diastolic diameter and arterial distension, further serving as the claimed diameter waveform generator module.
Claim 16 is rejected for similar reasons to claim 1.
Claims 4 & 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joseph in view of Pearson and Goto, as applied to claims 1 & 11, above, in further view of Sheehan (US 2014/0276059).
Regarding claim 4, Joseph in view of Pearson and Goto teach the image-free ultrasound system as claimed in claim 1, and Joseph further teaches that the early vascular health markers comprise regional stiffness indices (PTT, [0151]) and local stiffness indices (local pulse wave velocity (PWV), [0040] & local PTT, [0075]).
Page 9 of the specification of the claimed invention teaches that regional stiffness indices may include pulse transit time (PTT). Pages 8-9 further teach that local stiffness indices may include local pulse wave velocity and local PTT.
However, Joseph in view of Pearson and Goto fail to disclose that the early vascular health markers comprise an assessment of endothelial function.
Sheehan teaches that the early vascular health markers comprise an assessment of endothelial function ([0043]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Joseph, Pearson, and Goto such that the early vascular health markers comprise an assessment of endothelial function, as taught by Sheehan. Early detection of endothelial dysfunction is integral to treat or slow the progression of heart disease.
Regarding claim 12, Joseph in view of Pearson and Goto teach the image-free ultrasound system as claimed in claim 11, and Joseph further teaches a local stiffness evaluation module (ultrasound transducer 104, [0068]) that generates the local stiffness indices ([0068]).
Paragraph [0068] teaches that the ultrasound transducer 104 is able to measure the local PWV. Thus, the ultrasound transducer can further read on the local stiffness evaluation module.
However, Joseph in view of Pearson and Goto fail to disclose that the measurement module further comprises: a synchronized automatic cycle cutting and selection (SAC) module that receives the diameter and distension waveform, wherein the SAC module extracts boundaries of the signal for individual cardiac cycles from the received waveform, wherein the SAC module further shares the signal boundaries to a proximal diameter cycle module; the proximal diameter cycle module measures signal magnitude and characteristics for individual cardiac cycles.
Sheehan teaches that the measurement module further comprises:
a synchronized automatic cycle cutting and selection (SAC) module (software, [0033]) that receives the diameter and distension waveform ([0046]), wherein the SAC module extracts boundaries of the signal for individual cardiac cycles from the received waveform ([0046]), wherein the SAC module further shares the signal boundaries to a proximal diameter cycle module ([0046]); and
the proximal diameter cycle module (software, [0033]) measures signal magnitude and characteristics for individual cardiac cycles ([0046]).
Paragraph [0046] teaches that electrocardiograph gating is used to differentiate cardiac cycles and measure arterial diameter at the same time in a cardiac cycle to ensure accurate and consistent data. From these ultrasound signals, diameter and change in diameter can be assessed from a cycle. It is suggested in [0033] that software is integrated to perform both the functions of the claimed SAC module and proximal diameter cycle module.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Joseph, Pearson, and Goto such that the measurement module further comprises: a synchronized automatic cycle cutting and selection (SAC) module that receives the diameter and distension waveform, wherein the SAC module extracts boundaries of the signal for individual cardiac cycles from the received waveform, wherein the SAC module further shares the signal boundaries to a proximal diameter cycle module; the proximal diameter cycle module measures signal magnitude and characteristics for individual cardiac cycles, as taught by Sheehan. The ability to extract and measure data from individual cardiac cycles allows for more data to be obtained, providing multiple cardiac cycles to which to compare signals.
Claim 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joseph in view of Pearson, Goto, and Sheehan, as applied to claim 12, above, in further view of Selzer (US 2004/0116813).
Regarding claim 13, Joseph in view of Pearson, Goto, and Sheehan teach the image-free ultrasound system as claimed in claim 12, and Sheehan further teaches that the measurement module comprises:
a beat-to-beat diameter generation module (software, [0033]) in communication with the diameter waveform generator module, wherein the diameter and distension waveform from the diameter waveform generator module is communicated to the beat-to-beat diameter generation module that measures diastolic diameter values (minimal (end-diastolic) diameter, [0037]) from each cardiac beat ([0037] & [0046]);
As suggested in [0033], the software is further integrated to perform the functions of the claimed beat-to-beat diameter generation module.
a segregation module (software, [0033]) in communication with the beat-to-beat diameter generation module, wherein the segregation module receives the diastolic diameter values ([0037]) and segregates diameter values for baseline state (baseline diameter, [0046]), low flow state (end diastole, [0046]), and vasodilation state (end systole, [0046]); and
As suggested in [0033], the software is further integrated to perform the functions of the claimed segregation module. Additionally, [0046] teaches that electrocardiograph gating can be used to measure artery diameter at different points of the cardiac cycle. This includes baseline diameter, low flow state (i.e. end diastole, as the onset of the R wave is the point in the cardiac cycle in which blood is in its lowest flow state), and vasodilation state (i.e. end systole, as the peak of the T wave is the point in the cardiac cycle in which the arteries are most dilated).
an endothelial function module (software, [0033]) measures magnitude change and characteristics of the generated baseline (baseline diameter, [0046]), peak dilated (end systole, [0046]), and recovery diameter (end diastole, [0046]), and assesses the endothelial function ([0043]).
As suggested in [0033], the software is further integrated to perform the functions of the claimed endothelial function module. Here, the peak dilated diameter corresponds to the vasodilation state, and recovery diameter corresponds to the low flow state.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Joseph, Pearson, and Goto such that the measurement module comprises: a beat-to-beat diameter generation module in communication with the diameter waveform generator module, wherein the diameter and distension waveform from the diameter waveform generator module is communicated to the beat-to-beat diameter generation module that measures diastolic diameter values from each cardiac beat; a segregation module in communication with the beat-to-beat diameter generation module, wherein the segregation module receives the diastolic diameter values and segregates diameter values for baseline state, low flow state, and vasodilation state; and an endothelial function module measures magnitude change and characteristics of the generated baseline, peak dilated, and recovery diameter, and assesses the endothelial function, as taught by Sheehan. These modules ensure that measured diameters are compared to diameters corresponding to the identical point in the cardiac cycle. Comparing the change in arterial diameter throughout the cardiac cycle can help determine the presence of arterial stiffness in order to diagnose cardiovascular disease.
However, Joseph in view of Pearson, Goto, and Sheehan fail to disclose a phasic diameter evaluation module that generates average diameter values.
Selzer teaches a phasic diameter evaluation module (computer processing system 48, [0062]) that generates average diameter values ([0081]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system system taught by Joseph, Pearson, Goto, and Sheehan to include a phasic diameter evaluation module that generates average diameter values, as taught by Selzer. Selzer teaches in [0081] that the maximum and minimum diameters of an artery can be averaged over successive cardiac cycles to calculate arterial stiffness indices. Obtaining averages of arterial diameter measurements produces smoother, more reliable data.
Regarding claim 14, Joseph in view of Pearson, Goto, and Sheehan teach the image-free ultrasound system as claimed in claim 12, and Pearson further teaches that the measurement module further comprises:
a distal pulse wave module (apparatus 50, [0041]) that receives the pulse wave generated by pulse wave detector from the microcontroller ([0041]), wherein the distal pulse wave module:
generates distal pulse waves based on the pulse wave patterns ([0041]) and communicates the pulse wave to a processing module (processor 60, [0041]) that processes the distal pulse wave ([0041]).
Here, the apparatus 50 (which includes the processor 60) receives and processes the return signal 27. Thus, the apparatus 50 and processor 60 read on the claimed distal pulse wave module and processing module, respectively.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Joseph such that the measurement module further comprises: a distal pulse wave module that receives the pulse wave generated by pulse wave detector from the microcontroller, wherein the distal pulse wave module generates distal pulse waves based on the pulse wave patterns and communicates the pulse wave to a processing module that processes the distal pulse wave, as taught by Pearson. These modules facilitate the communication of the pulse waves such that they can be processed to diagnose cardiovascular disease.
However, Joseph in view of Pearson fail to disclose that the distal pulse wave module communicates the processed digital pulse wave to the SAC module, wherein the SAC module extracts pulse signal of individual cardiac cycles by synchronizing with the proximal diameter cycle module.
Sheehan teaches that the distal pulse wave module (software, [0033]) communicates the processed digital pulse wave to the SAC module ([0037] & [0046]), wherein the SAC module extracts pulse signal of individual cardiac cycles by synchronizing with the proximal diameter cycle module ([0046]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Joseph, Pearson, and Goto such that the distal pulse wave module communicates the processed digital pulse wave to the SAC module, wherein the SAC module extracts pulse signal of individual cardiac cycles by synchronizing with the proximal diameter cycle module, as taught by Sheehan. The ability to extract and measure data from individual cardiac cycles allows for more data to be obtained, providing multiple cardiac cycles to which to compare signals.
However, Joseph in view of Pearson, Goto, and Sheehan fail to disclose a distal pulse cycle module that collates the extracted pulse signal from each cardiac beat, wherein the distal pulse cycle module generates the regional stiffness indices.
Selzer teaches a distal pulse cycle module (computer processing system 48, [0062]) that collates the extracted pulse signal from each cardiac beat ([0081]), wherein the distal pulse cycle module generates the regional stiffness indices ([0081]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system system taught by Joseph, Pearson, Goto, and Sheehan to include a distal pulse cycle module that collates the extracted pulse signal from each cardiac beat, wherein the distal pulse cycle module generates the regional stiffness indices, as taught by Selzer. Collecting the pulse signal from each cardiac cycle allows for a greater breadth of data to be obtained, resulting in a more representative data set and smoothing any potential outliers.
Regarding claim 15, Joseph in view of Pearson, Goto, Sheehan, and Selzer teach the image-free ultrasound system as claimed in claim 14, and Joseph further teaches that a module 1 (sensor 102, [0040]) simultaneously generates local stiffness indices (local pulse wave velocity (PWV), [0040] & local PTT, [0075]) and regional stiffness indices (PTT, [0151]).
However, Joseph in view of Pearson fail to disclose that the module 1 simultaneously generates measures of endothelial function and stiffness indices.
Sheehan teaches that the module 1 (software, [0033]) simultaneously generates measures of endothelial function (endothelial function, [0043]) and stiffness indices (peak systolic velocity & end-diastolic velocity, [0026]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Joseph, Pearson, and Goto such that the module 1 simultaneously generates measures of endothelial function and stiffness indices, as taught by Sheehan. Assessments of endothelial function and arterial stiffness can both be used to diagnose cardiovascular disease; therefore, obtaining measurements of both simultaneously can result in a more accurate diagnosis.
However, Joseph in view of Pearson, Goto, and Sheehan fail to disclose that the module 1 generates stiffness indices over continuous cardiac cycles, wherein the module 1 generates values of individual cardiac cycles and their average.
Selzer teaches that the module 1 (computer processing system 48, [0062]) generates stiffness indices over continuous cardiac cycles ([0081]), wherein the module 1 generates values of individual cardiac cycles and their average ([0081]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system system taught by Joseph, Pearson, Goto, and Sheehan such that the module 1 generates stiffness indices over continuous cardiac cycles, wherein the module 1 generates values of individual cardiac cycles and their average, as taught by Selzer. Obtaining data from multiple cardiac cycles produces a more accurate and representative data set to be analyzed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADAM D. KOLKIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3793
/KEITH M RAYMOND/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3798