DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
After the amendments filed 12/18/2025, claims 2-4 and 6 were cancelled, therefore, claims 1, 5 and 7-20 remain pending, of which, 1, 5, 7-12, 14-17 and 19-20 were amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7-14 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hawkins et al (U.S. 2016/0093148) in view of Peterson et al (U.S. 2023/0117337).
Regarding claims 1, 12 and 17, Hawkins discloses:
a gaming system (abstract) comprising:
a processor (¶114, Fig. 6, game controller 60 includes a processor 62 for processing game play instruction); and
a memory device which stores a plurality of instructions, which when executed by the processor (¶114, Fig. 6, memory 64 stores the game play instruction which processor 62 executes), cause the processor to:
cause a display, by a display device, of symbol displays, each of the symbol displays associated with a first quantity of symbol display positions (¶134, ¶136, a symbol evaluation area is displayed comprising a plurality of reels each comprising a sequence of symbols displayed thereon); and
cause a display, by the display device, of a triggering event comprising a plurality of award symbols on the symbol displays at a plurality of the symbol display positions (¶152, ¶172, Fig. 8A, over size symbols are added to the reels and the reels are caused to spin and stop to generate a random outcome of symbols including at least one oversized symbol appearing only partly within the evaluation area);
thereafter, cause a display, by the display device, for each of a plurality of the symbol displays, of:
an enlarged symbol display based on that symbol display and based on a symbol display pattern matching feature (¶152-154, ¶173, Fig. 8B, when an oversize symbol is only partly within the evaluation area the evaluation area is modified to add as many rows and/or columns necessary for the oversize symbol to be within the evaluation area),
an indication of active symbol display positions for the enlarged symbol display (¶165, the display displays the evaluation that is active), and
a different indication of non-active symbol display positions for the enlarged symbol display (¶165, the display displays an indication of symbol positions which could be added which are inactive, for example by greying them out); and
thereafter, cause a display, by the display device, of a symbol accumulation sequence comprising a plurality of subsequent activations of the enlarged symbol displays (¶108, after the expansion the reels are re-spun while the oversized symbols are held in place (i.e., they are collected) and the process is repeated when another oversize symbol partially falls outside of the symbol evaluation area).
However, Hawkins does not specifically disclose that:
the active symbol display positions for the enlarged symbol display are based on the symbol display positions associated with the symbol display at which any of the award symbols are displayed; or
the non-active symbol display positions for the enlarged symbol display are based on the symbol display positions associated with the symbol display at which any of the award symbols are displayed.
Peterson teaches:
a gaming system (¶39-41, computational device 100 configured to randomly generate game outcomes and awards), wherein symbols are displayed at symbol display positions (¶66, Fig. 3), wherein the displayed symbols include a trigger which causes a symbol display pattern matching feature to be executed (¶33, ¶68-70, Figs. 4A, 4B, the outcome may include a random trigger (e.g., mirror symbol 404) which causes a mirror operation to be performed), and wherein active and non-active symbol display positions for the pattern matching feature are based on the symbol display positions associated with the displayed trigger symbol (¶68-70, a mirror axis 408 is identified based on mirror symbol 404 and causes the symbols along axis 408 to be held (i.e., non-active) and remaining symbols are mirrored (i.e., active)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to determine active and non-active display positions for the enlarged symbol display positions, as taught by Hawkins, using the coordinate dependent pattern matching feature, as taught by Peterson, to define the active and non-active positions within the display positions based on the location of the trigger in order to yield the predictable result of increasing player engagement by creating a visually intuitive and interactive game state that directly reflects the triggering outcome.
Regarding claims 7, 14 and 19, Hawkins discloses that which is discussed above, and further discloses:
displaying, by the display device, for one of the plurality of subsequent activations of the enlarged symbol displays, of one of the award symbols displayed on the enlarged symbol display at one of the active symbol display positions associated with the enlarged symbol display (Fig. 8B), and thereafter a change to the indications of active symbol display positions associated with that enlarged symbol display and the indications of the non-active symbol display positions associated with that enlarged symbol display (¶59, upon an oversized symbol being included in an expanded evaluation area further expansion to accommodate the symbol is performed).
Regarding claim 8, Hawkins discloses that which is discussed above, and further discloses:
displaying, by the display device, for one of the plurality of subsequent activations of the enlarged symbol displays, of one of the award symbols displayed on the enlarged symbol display at one of the active symbol display positions associated with the enlarged symbol display (Fig. 8B), and thereafter a change to the indications of the active symbol display positions associated with that enlarged symbol display and the indications of the non-active symbol display positions associated with that enlarged symbol display based on the symbol display position at which that award symbol is displayed (¶197, re-spins continue and growth continues until the evaluation area reaches a maximum size (i.e., there are no more inactive areas)).
Regarding claims 9, 16 and 20, Hawkins discloses that which is discussed above, and further discloses:
displaying, by the display device, for one of the plurality of subsequent activations of the enlarged symbol displays, of one of the award symbols displayed on the enlarged symbol display at one of the active symbol display positions associated with the enlarged symbol display (Fig. 8B), and thereafter an indication of an increase of the active symbol display positions associated with that enlarged symbol display and an indication of a decrease of the non-active symbol display positions associated with that enlarged symbol display (¶59, when an oversize symbol lands in an expanded evaluation area additional rows of symbol display positions are activated, thereby reducing the number of indicated nonactive display areas).
Regarding claim 10, Hawkins discloses that which is discussed above, and further discloses:
displaying, by the display device, for one of the plurality of subsequent activations of the enlarged symbol displays, of one of the award symbols displayed on the enlarged symbol display at one of the active symbol display positions associated with the enlarged symbol display (Fig. 8B), and thereafter an indication of an increase of the active symbol display positions associated with that enlarged symbol display and an indication of no non-active symbol display positions associated with that enlarged symbol display (¶197, re-spins continue and growth continues until the evaluation area reaches a maximum size (i.e., there are no more inactive areas)).
Regarding claim 11, Hawkins discloses that which is discussed above, and further discloses:
displaying, by the display device, for one of the plurality of subsequent activations of the enlarged symbol displays, of two of the award symbols displayed on the enlarged symbol display at two spaced apart active symbol display positions associated with the enlarged symbol display (Fig. 9A), and thereafter an indication of an increase of the active symbol display positions associated with that enlarged symbol display and an indication of no non-active symbol display positions associated with that enlarged symbol display (¶197, re-spins continue and growth continues until the evaluation area reaches a maximum size (i.e., there are no more inactive areas)).
Regarding claim 13, Hawkins discloses that which is discussed above, and further discloses that:
for each of the enlarged symbol displays, respective quantities of the indicated active symbol display positions associated with those enlarged symbol displays are different and respective quantities of the indications of non-active symbol display positions associated with those enlarged symbol displays are different. (¶142, the oversized symbols can vary in size (i.e., the quantity of nonactive symbol positions are different dependent on the size of the symbol)).
Regarding claim 18, Hawkins discloses that which is discussed above, and further discloses that:
for each of the enlarged symbol displays, respective quantities of the indicated active symbol display positions associated with those enlarged symbol displays are the same and respective quantities of the indications of non-active symbol display positions associated with those enlarged symbol displays are the same (¶152-154, ¶173, Fig. 8A, Fig. 8B, when an oversize symbol is only partly within the evaluation area the evaluation area is modified to add as many rows and/or columns necessary for the oversize symbol to be within the evaluation area).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hawkins et al (U.S. 2016/0093148) in view of Peterson et al (U.S. 2023/0117337) as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Johnson et al (U.S. 2013/0065663).
Regarding claim 5, Hawkins and Peterson disclose that which is discussed above, however, neither specifically discloses:
causing the display, by the display device, for one of the symbol displays and the enlarged symbol display based on that symbol display, of the indications of the active symbol display positions associated with that enlarged symbol display and the indications of the non-active symbol display positions associated with that enlarged symbol display based on no award symbols displayed at any of the symbol display positions associated with that symbol display.
Johnson teaches:
a gaming system (¶4), wherein for one of the symbol displays and the enlarged symbol display based on that symbol display, of the indications of the active symbol display positions associated with that enlarged symbol display and the indications of the non-active symbol display positions associated with that enlarged symbol display based on no award symbols displayed at any of the symbol display positions associated with that symbol display (¶25, a mystery expansion adds one or more rows to the matrix of symbol locations based on a mystery or random determination made by the game logic).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to integrate the display area enlargement, as taught by Johnson, into the gaming system as taught by Hawkins and Peterson in order to provide players with an alternative gaming system which maintains of increases player enjoyment, thereby promoting more frequent and longer play sessions leading to increased profits for game operators (See Hawkins, ¶5).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hawkins et al (U.S. 2016/0093148) in view of Peterson et al (U.S. 2023/0117337) as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Sanborn et al (U.S. 2021/0142622).
Regarding claim 15, Hawkins and Peterson disclose that which is discussed above, however, neither specifically discloses:
displaying, by the display device, for one of the plurality of activations of the enlarged symbol displays, of one of the award symbols displayed on the enlarged symbol display at one of the active symbol display positions associated with the enlarged symbol display, and thereafter a change to the indications of the active symbol display positions associated with that enlarged symbol display and the indications of the non-active symbol display positions associated with that enlarged symbol display based on the symbol display position at which that award symbol is displayed.
Sanborn teaches:
a gaming system (¶51), wherein for one of the plurality of activations of the enlarged symbol displays, of one of the award symbols displayed on the enlarged symbol display at one of the active symbol display positions associated with the enlarged symbol display, and thereafter a change to the indications of the active symbol display positions associated with that enlarged symbol display and the indications of the non-active symbol display positions associated with that enlarged symbol display based on the symbol display position at which that award symbol is displayed (¶51, at least one additional active display symbol position is displayed in a row or a column in which the expansion trigger symbol is displayed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to integrate the display area enlargement, as taught by Sanborn, into the gaming system as taught by Hawkins and Peterson in order to provide players with an alternative gaming system which maintains of increases player enjoyment, thereby promoting more frequent and longer play sessions leading to increased profits for game operators (See Hawkins, ¶5).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Jason Pinheiro/Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/DMITRY SUHOL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3715