DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of group I in the reply filed on 11/21/25 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “claim 3 of Group I recites one or more angled sections comprising "a first angled section oriented at a first angle relative to the first section; and a second angled section oriented at a second angle relative to the second section, wherein the second angle is larger than the first angle." As such, a search for Group I would encompass Group II. This is not found persuasive because the search of both groups are not overlapping. Group I requires “view panel comprising an outer perimeter, an opening formed in the outer perimeter, a first outer surface, and a second outer surface; a lens positioned at least partially in the opening; and a support structure attaching the lens to the second outer surface of the view panel”. Furthermore, the Group I does not require “An infrared lens”.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 111890890 A (SHEN, Jun-long et al.)
Per claims 1 and 9, Shen teaches a vehicle [see description: “The invention relates to the field of vehicle window glass, especially a vehicle window glass with through hole”], comprising: a vehicle body [inherent], a lens assembly [figure 9:3] comprising: a view panel [1] comprising an outer perimeter [the outside perimeter that includes lens 3], an opening formed in the outer perimeter [through hole 10], a first outer surface [11], and a second outer surface [12]; a lens [3, see specification: “the transparent filling piece 3 is a plane optical lens or bending optical lens”] positioned at least partially in the opening [see figure 9]; and a support structure attaching the lens to the second outer surface of the view panel [bonding piece 2].
Per claims 8 and 17, Shen teaches the lens assembly of claim 1, wherein the lens comprises: a first section; a second section; and a middle section extending between the first section and the second section, the middle section having a first thickness that is less than a second thickness of the first section and a third thickness of the second section [see the shape of lens 3’s upper surface 31 in figure 9].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 111890890 A (SHEN, Jun-long et al.)
Per claim 10, Shen teaches the vehicle of claim 9, wherein the view panel further comprises a polyvinyl butyral layer positioned between two glass layers [13], wherein the ceramic layer is arranged along the outer perimeter and inwardly of the opening [see the specification: “the shape of the inner glass plate 12 and the shape of the middle layer 13 are corresponding to each other”]. Shen does not teach a ceramic middle layer 13. However, official notice is hereby taken that is would have been a matter of routine skill in the art to substitute a ceramic layer for the polyvinyl butyral layer in order to improve windshield strength/rigidity. Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7 and 11-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Per claims 2 and 11, Shen teaches the lens assembly of claims 1 and 9. In combination with the limitations above, the prior art does not teach the lens comprises: a first section; a second section; and one or more angled sections extending between the first section and the second section, the one or more angled sections at least partially defining a recessed face that is recessed relative to the first outer surface of the view panel, wherein the second section is spaced from the first section across the recessed face.
/JAMES A DUDEK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871