DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant Arguments, filed 2nd June 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-20 under USC 102 (a)(1) and USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, new grounds of rejection are made, as necessitated by amendment, as seen below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-7, 11-14, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 4-5, 11-12, 18-19 recites “wherein the stiffness curve for the electromechanical brake actuator is a plurality of stiffness curves”. As respective Base Claims 1, 8, and 19 recite a similar “a memory storing a plurality of stiffness curves” or “a plurality of stiffness curved stored in memory” respectively, it is unclear if these two “a plurality of stiffness curves” are intended to be the same or different limitations. For purposes of examination the limitation of Claims 4-5, 11-12, 18-19 will be interpreted as referring to the same “plurality of stiffness curves” as the respective base claims (Claim 1, 8, and 15). Claim 20 is similarly rejected as being dependent on Claim 19, Claims 13-14 are similarly rejected as being dependent on Claim 12, and Claims 6-7 are similarly rejected as being dependent on Claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh (US 20180023648 A1) in view of Goto et. al. (US 8833526 B2) further in view of Chung (US 20200166096 A1) and further view of Cahill (US 8590985 B2).
Regarding Claim 1, Singh discloses a brake system comprising: an electromechanical brake actuator (see [0024]); an electromechanical brake actuator controller having a memory (see [0024]); a pressure plate (110); an end plate (111); a ball screw (212) positioned between the electromechanical brake actuator (104) and the pressure plate (110); and a plurality of rotating discs (112) positioned between the pressure plate (110) and the end plate (111); wherein the electromechanical brake actuator (104) is configured to extend the ball screw (212) to a ball screw position to apply a requested force to the pressure plate (110) towards the end plate (111) thereby forcing the plurality of rotating discs (112) together in an axial direction in order to reduce a rotational speed of the plurality of rotating discs (112), and wherein the ball screw (212) is extended by the electromechanical brake actuator (104) to the ball screw position based on a worn state of the plurality of rotating discs and a stiffness curve for the electromechanical brake actuator selected from a plurality of stiffness curves (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0036-0041]).
Singh does not explicitly disclose a fault tolerant module, wherein the fault tolerant module comprises at least one of a controller or a processor; the plurality of stiffness curves being stored in memory wherein each of the plurality of stiffness curves represents force versus ball screw position for a respective worn state of a plurality of worn states, and wherein the ball screw position for the requested force is determined by the electromechanical brake actuator controller using the selected stiffness curve based on the worn state of the plurality of rotating discs, and wherein the electromechanical brake actuator controller is configured to routinely perform a wear measurement by retracting the ball screw to a fully retracted position and advancing the ball screw until the pressure plate initially contacts the plurality of rotating discs, wherein the initial contact is identified based on an electrical current increase utilized by the electromechanical brake actuator, and wherein the electromechanical brake actuator controller measures a distance between the fully retracted position and an initial contact position and determines the worn state based on the measured distance, and wherein the fault tolerant module is configured to detect a faulty load cell sensor and, responsive to detecting the faulty load cell sensor, cause the electromechanical brake actuator controller to apply position control to the electromechanical brake actuator using a position sensor and the plurality of stiffness curves stored in the memory.
Goto teaches extending a electromechanical brake actuator to a position based on a worn state of the plurality of rotating discs and a stiffness curve for the electromechanical brake actuator selected from a plurality of stiffness curves stored in the memory of the electromechanical brake actuator controller wherein each of the plurality of stiffness curves represents force versus ball screw position for a respective worn state of a plurality of worn states, and wherein the actuator position for the requested force is determined by the electromechanical brake actuator controller using the selected stiffness curve based on the worn state of the plurality of rotating discs (see Fig. 3, Fig. 9, Fig. 10, 13:38-59, 6: 55-59, 7:11-49).
It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention, to combine the teachings of Goto with the brake system of Singh in order to maintain control accuracy despite brake pad wear (see US 8833526 B2 [Goto]; Abstract).
Singh modified by Goto does not explicitly teach wherein the electromechanical brake actuator controller is configured to routinely perform a wear measurement by retracting the ball screw to a fully retracted position and advancing the ball screw until the pressure plate initially contacts the plurality of rotating discs, wherein the initial contact is identified based on an electrical current increase utilized by the electromechanical brake actuator, and wherein the electromechanical brake actuator controller measures a distance between the fully retracted position and an initial contact position and determines the worn state based on the measured distance, and a fault tolerant module, wherein the fault tolerant module comprises at least one of a controller or a processor, wherein the fault tolerant module is configured to detect a faulty load cell sensor and, responsive to detecting the faulty load cell sensor, cause the electromechanical brake actuator controller to apply position control to the electromechanical brake actuator using a position sensor and the plurality of stiffness curves stored in the memory.
Chung teaches wherein the electromechanical brake actuator controller is configured to routinely perform a wear measurement (see [0015]) by retracting the ball screw to a fully retracted position (see [0089]) and advancing the ball screw until the pressure plate initially contacts the plurality of rotating discs, wherein the initial contact is identified based on an electrical current increase utilized by the electromechanical brake actuator (see [0085]), and wherein the electromechanical brake actuator controller measures a distance between the fully retracted position and an initial contact position and determines the worn state based on the measured distance (see [0090], Fig. 1, Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention, to combine the teachings of Chung with the brake system of Singh modified by Goto in order to measure worn state in a simple and cost-effective manner (see US 20200166096 A1 [Chung]; [0003-0006]).
Singh modified by Goto and Chung does not explicitly teach a fault tolerant module, wherein the fault tolerant module comprises at least one of a controller or a processor, wherein the fault tolerant module is configured to detect a faulty load cell sensor and, responsive to detecting the faulty load cell sensor, cause the electromechanical brake actuator controller to apply position control to the electromechanical brake actuator using a position sensor and the plurality of stiffness curves stored in the memory.
Cahill teaches a fault tolerant module (21), wherein the fault tolerant module (21) comprises at least one of a controller or a processor, wherein the fault tolerant module (21) is configured to detect a faulty load cell sensor (16) and, responsive to detecting the faulty load cell sensor, cause the electromechanical brake actuator controller to apply position control to the electromechanical brake actuator (see Fig. 1b, Fig. 2, Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention, to combine the teachings of Cahill with the brake system of Singh modified by Goto and Chung in order to ensure continued operation of brake systems despite load cell malfunction (see US 8590985 B2 [Cahill]; 2: 23-31). It should be noted even though Cahill does not explicitly teach the electromechanical brake actuator controller to apply position control to the electromechanical brake actuator using a position sensor and the plurality of stiffness curves stored in the memory one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention would recognize applying position control to the electromechanical brake actuator in the system taught by Singh modified by Goto and Chung would involve using a position sensor and the plurality of stiffness curves stored in the memory (see US 8833526 B2 [Goto]; 6: 55-59, 7: 11-49). Therefore, the combination of Singh modified by Goto, Chung, and Cahill teaches Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 2, Singh modified by Goto, Chung, and Cahill teaches wherein the brake system further comprises: a position sensor (214), wherein the ball screw position (212) is determined using the position sensor (214) and wherein the position sensor (214) is at least one of a resolver, tachometer, or Hall sensor (see US 20180023648 A1 [Singh]; Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 3, Singh modified by Goto, Chung, and Cahill teaches wherein the brake system further comprises: a load cell sensor (16), wherein, responsive to the load cell sensor being faulty, the electromechanical brake actuator is configured to extend (see US 8590985 B2 [Cahill]; Fig. 1b, Fig. 2, Fig. 6) the ball screw to the ball screw position to apply the requested force to the pressure plate towards the end plate and wherein the ball screw is extended by the electromechanical brake actuator to the ball screw position (see US 20180023648 A1 [Singh]; Fig. 1, Fig. 2) based on the worn state of the plurality of rotating discs and a stiffness curve for the electromechanical brake actuator that represents force versus ball screw position for the worn state of a plurality of worn states (see US 8833526 B2 [Goto]; 6: 55-59, 7: 11-49, Fig. 9, Fig. 10).
Regarding Claim 4, Singh modified by Goto, Chung, and Cahill teaches wherein the stiffness curve for the electromechanical brake actuator is a plurality of stiffness curves for the electromechanical brake actuator for a plurality of worn states and wherein the ball screw position (see US 20180023648 A1 [Singh]; Fig. 1, Fig. 2) for the requested force is determined using a selected one of the plurality of stiffness curves for the electromechanical brake actuator based on the worn state of the plurality of rotating discs (see US 8833526 B2 [Goto]; 6: 55-59, 7: 11-49, Fig. 9, Fig. 10).
Regarding Claim 5, Singh modified by Goto, Chung, and Cahill teaches wherein the stiffness curve for the electromechanical brake actuator is a plurality of stiffness curves for the electromechanical brake actuator for a plurality of worn states and wherein the ball screw position for the requested force is determined using two stiffness curves for the electromechanical brake actuator of the plurality of stiffness curves for the electromechanical brake actuator and interpolating the ball screw position from the two stiffness curves for the electromechanical brake actuator based on the worn state of the plurality of rotating discs (see US 8833526 B2 [Goto]; 6: 55-59, 7: 11-49, Fig. 9, Fig. 10, 14: 18-44).
Regarding Claim 6, Singh modified by Goto, Chung, and Cahill teaches wherein the plurality of stiffness curves for the electromechanical brake actuator for the plurality of worn states includes a stiffness curve for the electromechanical brake actuator for a new state (see US 8833526 B2 [Goto]; Fig. 9, Fig. 10, 13: 60-67, 14: 1-17) that is identified by an initial determined distance between a fully retracted ball screw position and initial contact of the pressure plate to the plurality of rotating discs (see US 20200166096 A1 [Cahill]; [0090]) and includes a stiffness curve for the electromechanical brake actuator for a fully worn state that is determined based on the initial determined distance and a thickness of the plurality of rotating discs (see US 8833526 B2 [Goto]; Fig. 9, Fig. 10, 13: 60-67, 14: 1-17).
Regarding Claim 7, Singh modified by Goto, Chung, and Cahill teaches wherein the plurality of stiffness curves for the electromechanical brake actuator for the plurality of worn states includes at least a 25% worn state, a 50% worn state, and a 75% worn state interpolated based on the new state and the fully worn state (see US 8833526 B2 [Goto]; Fig. 9, Fig. 10, 14: 18-44).
Regarding Claim 8, Singh discloses a brake system comprising: an electromechanical brake actuator (see [0024]); an electromechanical brake actuator controller having a memory (see [0024]); a ball screw (212), wherein the ball screw (212) is configured to be extended, by the electromechanical brake actuator (104), in order to apply a requested force to a brake pressure plate (110) in order to force a plurality of rotating discs (112) and stators (114) together in an axial direction in order to reduce a rotational speed of the plurality of rotating discs (112), and wherein the ball screw (212) is configured to be extended, by the electromechanical brake actuator (104), based on a worn state of the plurality of rotating discs (112) and a stiffness curve for the electromechanical brake actuator selected from a plurality of stiffness curves (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0036-0041]).
Singh does not explicitly disclose a fault tolerant module, wherein the fault tolerant module comprises at least one of a controller or a processor, wherein the stiffness curves are selected from a plurality of stiffness curves stored in the memory of the electromechanical brake actuator controller, wherein each of the plurality of stiffness curves represents force versus ball screw position for a respective worn state of a plurality of worn states, and wherein the ball screw position for the requested force is determined by the electromechanical brake actuator controller using the selected stiffness curve based on the worn state of the plurality of rotating discs, wherein the electromechanical brake actuator controller is configured to routinely perform a wear measurement by retracting the ball screw to a fully retracted position and advancing the ball screw until the brake pressure plate initially contacts the plurality of rotating discs, wherein the initial contact is identified based on an electrical current increase utilized by the electromechanical brake actuator, and wherein the electromechanical brake actuator controller measures a distance between the fully retracted position and an initial contact position and determines the worn state based on the measured distance, and wherein the fault tolerant module is configured to detect a faulty load cell sensor and, responsive to detecting the faulty load cell sensor, cause the electromechanical brake actuator controller to apply position control to the electromechanical brake actuator using a position sensor and the plurality of stiffness curves stored in the memory.
Goto teaches a stiffness curve for the electromechanical brake actuator selected from a plurality of stiffness curves stored in the memory of the electromechanical brake actuator controller, wherein each of the plurality of stiffness curves represents force versus ball screw position for a respective worn state of a plurality of worn states, and wherein the ball screw position for the requested force is determined by the electromechanical brake actuator controller using the selected stiffness curve based on the worn state of the plurality of rotating discs (see Fig. 3, Fig. 9, Fig. 10, 13:38-59, 6: 55-59, 7:11-49)
It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention, to combine the teachings of Goto with the brake system of Singh in order to maintain control accuracy despite brake pad wear (see US 8833526 B2 [Goto]; Abstract).
Singh modified by Goto does not explicitly teach a fault tolerant module, wherein the fault tolerant module comprises at least one of a controller or a processor, wherein the electromechanical brake actuator controller is configured to routinely perform a wear measurement by retracting the ball screw to a fully retracted position and advancing the ball screw until the brake pressure plate initially contacts the plurality of rotating discs, wherein the initial contact is identified based on an electrical current increase utilized by the electromechanical brake actuator, and wherein the electromechanical brake actuator controller measures a distance between the fully retracted position and an initial contact position and determines the worn state based on the measured distance, and wherein the fault tolerant module is configured to detect a faulty load cell sensor and, responsive to detecting the faulty load cell sensor, cause the electromechanical brake actuator controller to apply position control to the electromechanical brake actuator using a position sensor and the plurality of stiffness curves stored in the memory.
Chung teaches wherein the electromechanical brake actuator controller is configured to routinely perform a wear measurement (see [0015]) by retracting the ball screw to a fully retracted position (see [0089]) and advancing the ball screw until the brake pressure plate initially contacts the plurality of rotating discs, wherein the initial contact is identified based on an electrical current increase utilized by the electromechanical brake actuator (see [0085]), and wherein the electromechanical brake actuator controller measures a distance between the fully retracted position and an initial contact position and determines the worn state based on the measured distance (see [0090], Fig. 1, Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention, to combine the teachings of Chung with the brake system of Singh modified by Goto in order to measure worn state in a simple and cost-effective manner (see US 20200166096 A1 [Chung]; [0003-0006]).
Singh modified by Goto and Chung does not explicitly teach a fault tolerant module, wherein the fault tolerant module comprises at least one of a controller or a processor, wherein the fault tolerant module is configured to detect a faulty load cell sensor and, responsive to detecting the faulty load cell sensor, cause the electromechanical brake actuator controller to apply position control to the electromechanical brake actuator using a position sensor and the plurality of stiffness curves stored in the memory.
Cahill teaches a fault tolerant module (21), wherein the fault tolerant module (21) comprises at least one of a controller or a processor, wherein the fault tolerant module (21) is configured to detect a faulty load cell sensor (16) and, responsive to detecting the faulty load cell sensor, cause the electromechanical brake actuator controller to apply position control to the electromechanical brake actuator (see Fig. 1b, Fig. 2, Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention, to combine the teachings of Cahill with the brake system of Singh modified by Goto and Chung in order to ensure continued operation of brake systems despite load cell malfunction (see US 8590985 B2 [Cahill]; 2: 23-31). It should be noted even though Cahill does not explicitly teach the electromechanical brake actuator controller to apply position control to the electromechanical brake actuator using a position sensor and the plurality of stiffness curves stored in the memory one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention would recognize applying position control to the electromechanical brake actuator in the system taught by Singh modified by Goto and Chung would involve using a position sensor and the plurality of stiffness curves stored in the memory (see US 8833526 B2 [Goto]; 6: 55-59, 7: 11-49). Therefore, the combination of Singh modified by Goto, Chung, and Cahill teaches Claim 8.
Regarding Claim 9, Singh modified by Goto, Chung, and Cahill teaches wherein the brake system further comprises a position sensor (214), wherein the ball screw position (212) is determined using the position sensor (214) and wherein the position sensor (214) is at least one of a resolver, tachometer, or Hall sensor (see US 20180023648 A1 [Singh]; Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 10, Singh modified by Goto, Chung, and Cahill teaches wherein the brake system further comprises: a load cell sensor (16), wherein, responsive to the load cell sensor being faulty, the electromechanical brake actuator is configured to extend (see US 8590985 B2 [Cahill]; Fig. 1b, Fig. 2, Fig. 6) the ball screw to apply the requested force to the brake pressure plate (see US 20180023648 A1 [Singh]; Fig. 1, Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 11, Singh modified by Goto, Chung, and Cahill teaches wherein the stiffness curve for the electromechanical brake actuator is a plurality of stiffness curves for the electromechanical brake actuator for a plurality of worn states and wherein the ball screw position (see US 20180023648 A1 [Singh]; Fig. 1, Fig. 2) for the requested force is determined using a selected one of the plurality of stiffness curves for the electromechanical brake actuator based on the worn state of the plurality of rotating discs (see US 8833526 B2 [Goto]; 6: 55-59, 7: 11-49, Fig. 9, Fig. 10).
Regarding Claim 12, Singh modified by Goto, Chung, and Cahill teaches wherein the stiffness curve for the electromechanical brake actuator is a plurality of stiffness curves for the electromechanical brake actuator for a plurality of worn states and wherein the ball screw position for the requested force is determined using two stiffness curves for the electromechanical brake actuator of the plurality of stiffness curves for the electromechanical brake actuator and interpolating the ball screw position from the two stiffness curves for the electromechanical brake actuator based on the worn state of the plurality of rotating discs (see US 8833526 B2 [Goto]; 6: 55-59, 7: 11-49, Fig. 9, Fig. 10, 14: 18-44).
Regarding Claim 13, Singh modified by Goto, Chung, and Cahill teaches wherein the plurality of stiffness curves for the electromechanical brake actuator for the plurality of worn states includes a stiffness curve for the electromechanical brake actuator for a new state (see US 8833526 B2 [Goto]; Fig. 9, Fig. 10, 13: 60-67, 14: 1-17) that is identified by an initial determined distance between a fully retracted ball screw position and initial contact of the brake pressure plate to the plurality of rotating discs (see US 20200166096 A1 [Cahill]; [0090]) and includes a stiffness curve for the electromechanical brake actuator for a fully worn state that is determined based on the initial determined distance and a thickness of the plurality of rotating discs (see US 8833526 B2 [Goto]; Fig. 9, Fig. 10, 13: 60-67, 14: 1-17).
Regarding Claim 14, Singh modified by Goto, Chung, and Cahill teaches wherein the plurality of stiffness curves for the electromechanical brake actuator for the plurality of worn states includes at least a 25% worn state, a 50% worn state, and a 75% worn state interpolated based on the new state and the fully worn state (see US 8833526 B2 [Goto]; Fig. 9, Fig. 10, 14: 18-44).
Regarding Claim 15, Singh discloses a method of controlling an electromechanical brake actuator of a brake assembly, wherein an electromechanical brake actuator controller comprises a memory storing a plurality of stiffness curves (see [0024]) commanding, by the electromechanical brake actuator controller, the electromechanical brake actuator to extend a ball screw to the ball screw position to apply the requested force to a pressure plate towards an end plate thereby forcing the plurality of rotating discs together in an axial direction in order to reduce a rotational speed of the plurality of rotating discs (see [0020-0023]).
Singh does not explicitly disclose a fault tolerant module comprising at least one of a controller or a processor, the method comprising: routinely performing, by the electromechanical brake actuator controller, a wear measurement by retracting a ball screw to a fully retracted position and advancing the ball screw until a pressure plate initially contacts a plurality of rotating discs of the brake assembly, wherein the initial contact is identified based on an electrical current increase utilized by the electromechanical brake actuator; measuring, by the electromechanical brake actuator controller, a distance between the fully retracted position and an initial contact position; determining, by the electromechanical brake actuator controller, a worn state of the plurality of rotating discs based on the measured distance; responsive to receiving a request to apply a requested force to the brake assembly, identifying, by an electromechanical brake actuator controller, the worn state of the plurality of rotating discs of the brake assembly; identifying, by the electromechanical brake actuator controller selected from the plurality of stiffness curves stored in the memory of the electromechanical brake actuator controller, wherein each of the plurality of stiffness curves represents force versus ball screw position for a respective worn state of a plurality of worn states, and wherein, responsive to the worn state being substantially equivalent to one of the plurality of stiffness curves, utilizing the ball screw position associated with the requested force from the selected stiffness curve, and responsive to the worn state not being substantially equivalent to one of the plurality of stiffness curves, interpolating linearly the ball screw position from two stiffness curves of the plurality of stiffness curves based on the worn state; or the electromechanical brake actuator that represents force versus ball screw position for the worn state; responsive to identifying the ball screw position for the requested force from the stiffness curve for the electromechanical brake actuator commanding actuation, and detecting, by the fault tolerant module, a faulty load cell sensor; and responsive to detecting the faulty load cell sensor, applying, by the electromechanical brake actuator controller, position control to the electromechanical brake actuator using a position sensor and the plurality of stiffness curves stored in the memory of the electromechanical brake actuator controller.
Goto teaches a method of controlling an electromechanical brake actuator of a brake assembly comprising, responsive to receiving a request to apply a requested force to the brake assembly, identifying, by an electromechanical brake actuator controller, the worn state of the plurality of rotating discs of the brake assembly; identifying, by the electromechanical brake actuator controller, a ball screw position based on the worn state and a stiffness curve for the electromechanical actuator selected from the plurality of stiffness curves stored in the memory of the electromechanical brake actuator controller (see 6:55-59, 7:11-49), wherein each of the plurality of stiffness curves represents force versus ball screw position for a respective worn state of a plurality of worn states (see Fig. 9, Fig. 10, 13: 38-59), and wherein, responsive to the worn state being substantially equivalent to one of the plurality of stiffness curves, utilizing the ball screw position associated with the requested force from the selected stiffness curve (see Fig. 15), and responsive to the worn state not being substantially equivalent to one of the plurality of stiffness curves, interpolating linearly the ball screw position from two stiffness curves of the plurality of stiffness curves based on the worn state (see Fig. 10, 14:18-44); responsive to identifying the ball screw position for the requested force from the stiffness curve for the electromechanical brake actuator, commanding, by the electromechanical brake actuator controller, the electromechanical brake actuator to extend (see Fig. 2, Fig. 3, 7:11-49).
It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention, to combine the teachings of Goto with the brake system of Singh in order to maintain control accuracy despite brake pad wear (see US 8833526 B2 [Goto]; Abstract).
Singh modified by Goto does not explicitly teach a fault tolerant module comprising at least one of a controller or a processor, detecting, by the fault tolerant module, a faulty load cell sensor; and responsive to detecting the faulty load cell sensor, applying, by the electromechanical brake actuator controller, position control to the electromechanical brake actuator using a position sensor and the plurality of stiffness curves stored in the memory of the electromechanical brake actuator controller, routinely performing, by the electromechanical brake actuator controller, a wear measurement by retracting a ball screw to a fully retracted position and advancing the ball screw until a pressure plate initially contacts a plurality of rotating discs of the brake assembly, wherein the initial contact is identified based on an electrical current increase utilized by the electromechanical brake actuator; measuring, by the electromechanical brake actuator controller, a distance between the fully retracted position and an initial contact position; determining, by the electromechanical brake actuator controller, a worn state of the plurality of rotating discs based on the measured distance.
Chung teaches routinely performing, by the electromechanical brake actuator controller, a wear measurement (see [0015]) by retracting a ball screw to a fully retracted position and advancing the ball screw until a pressure plate initially contacts a plurality of rotating discs of the brake assembly (see [0089], wherein the initial contact is identified based on an electrical current increase utilized by the electromechanical brake actuator (see [0085]); measuring, by the electromechanical brake actuator controller, a distance between the fully retracted position and an initial contact position; determining, by the electromechanical brake actuator controller, a worn state of the plurality of rotating discs based on the measured distance (see [0090], Fig. 1, Fig. 6);
It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention, to combine the teachings of Chung with the brake system of Singh modified by Goto in order to measure worn state in a simple and cost-effective manner (see US 20200166096 A1 [Chung]; [0003-0006]).
Singh modified by Goto and Chung does not explicitly teach a fault tolerant module comprising at least one of a controller or a processor, detecting, by the fault tolerant module, a faulty load cell sensor; and responsive to detecting the faulty load cell sensor, applying, by the electromechanical brake actuator controller, position control to the electromechanical brake actuator using a position sensor and the plurality of stiffness curves stored in the memory of the electromechanical brake actuator controller.
Cahill teaches a fault tolerant module (21) comprising at least one of a controller or a processor, detecting, by the fault tolerant module (21), a faulty load cell sensor (16); and responsive to detecting the faulty load cell sensor, applying, by the electromechanical brake actuator controller, position control to the electromechanical brake actuator (see Fig. 1b, Fig. 2, Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention, to combine the teachings of Cahill with the brake system of Singh modified by Goto and Chung in order to ensure continued operation of brake systems despite load cell malfunction (see US 8590985 B2 [Cahill]; 2: 23-31). It should be noted even though Cahill does not explicitly teach the electromechanical brake actuator controller to apply position control to the electromechanical brake actuator using a position sensor and the plurality of stiffness curves stored in the memory one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention would recognize applying position control to the electromechanical brake actuator in the system taught by Singh modified by Goto and Chung would involve using a position sensor and the plurality of stiffness curves stored in the memory (see US 8833526 B2 [Goto]; 6: 55-59, 7: 11-49). Therefore, the combination of Singh modified by Goto, Chung, and Cahill teaches Claim 15.
Regarding Claim 16, Singh modified by Goto, Chung, and Cahill teaches wherein the ball screw position is determined using a position sensor and wherein the position sensor is at least one of a resolver, tachometer, or Hall sensor (see US 20180023648 A1 [Singh]; Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 17, Singh modified by Goto, Chung, and Cahill teaches wherein, responsive to a load cell sensor being faulty, the electromechanical brake actuator controller is configured to command (see US 8590985 B2 [Cahill]; Fig. 6, 6:59-67, 7:1-4) an extension of the ball screw to the ball screw position to apply the requested force to the pressure plate towards the end plate and wherein the ball screw (see US 20180023648 A1 [Singh]; Fig. 2, [0021]) is extended by the electromechanical brake actuator to the ball screw position based on the worn state of the plurality of rotating discs and the stiffness curve for the electromechanical brake actuator that represents force versus ball screw position for the worn state (see US 8833526 B2 [Goto]; 6: 55-59, 7: 11-49, Fig. 9, Fig. 10).
Regarding Claim 18, Singh modified by Goto, Chung, and Cahill teaches wherein the stiffness curve for the electromechanical brake actuator is a plurality of stiffness curves for the electromechanical brake actuator for a plurality of worn states and wherein the ball screw position for the requested force is determined using a selected one of the plurality of stiffness curves for the electromechanical brake actuator based on the worn state of the plurality of rotating discs (see US 8833526 B2 [Goto]; 6: 55-59, 7: 11-49, Fig. 9, Fig. 10, 11: 36-53).
Regarding Claim 19, Singh modified by Goto, Chung, and Cahill teaches wherein the stiffness curve for the electromechanical brake actuator is a plurality of stiffness curves for the electromechanical brake actuator for a plurality of worn states and wherein the ball screw position for the requested force is determined using two stiffness curves for the electromechanical brake actuator of the plurality of stiffness curves for the electromechanical brake actuator and interpolating the ball screw position from the two stiffness curves for the electromechanical brake actuator based on the worn state of the plurality of rotating discs (see US 8833526 B2 [Goto]; 6: 55-59, 7: 11-49, Fig. 9, Fig. 10, 14: 18-44).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claim 20, Singh modified by Goto, Chung, and Cahill teaches wherein the plurality of stiffness curves for the electromechanical brake actuator for the plurality of worn states includes a stiffness curve for the electromechanical brake actuator for the new state (see US 8833526 B2 [Goto]; Fig. 9, Fig. 10, 13: 60-67, 14: 1-17) that is identified by an initial determined distance between the fully retracted ball screw position and the initial contact (see US 20200166096 A1 [Cahill]; [0090]) of the pressure plate to the plurality of rotating discs and includes a stiffness curve for the electromechanical brake actuator for a fully worn state that is determined based on the initial determined distance and a thickness of the plurality of rotating discs (see US 8833526 B2 [Goto]; Fig. 9, Fig. 10, 13: 60-67, 14: 1-17).
Singh modified by Goto, Chung, and Cahill does not teach wherein the plurality of stiffness curves for the electromechanical brake actuator for the plurality of worn states includes at least a 25% worn state, a 50% worn state, and a 75% worn state interpolated based on the new state and the fully worn state. Specifically, because amended Claim 15 recites “a memory storing a plurality of stiffness curves”, it is non-obvious to store these explicit worn states in memory.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.W.I./Examiner, Art Unit 3616
/Robert A. Siconolfi/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3616