DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgement is made of receipt of Information Disclosure Statement(s) (PTO-1449) filed 11/08/2023 and 06/13/2025. An initialed copy is attached to this Office Action.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation 30Hz is in single quotes (‘30Hz’). The single quotes should be removed.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the sub-frame rate with respect to the plurality of shuttered images is greater than a product of the number of the plurality of areas and ‘30Hz’ must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masubuchi et al., (hereafter Masubuchi) (US 2005/0200614 A1) in further view of Baran et al., (hereafter Baran) (US 2018/0302556 A1) and Meier et al., (hereafter Meier) (US 2015/0350618 A1).
With respect to Claim 1, Masubuchi teaches a display system comprising: a display (Figure 3(a)) including a pixel array (liquid crystal pixel array 40, Figure 4B; ¶[0054]) having a plurality of pixels (individual liquid crystal pixels, ¶[0054]) and configured to output a raw video (¶[0067]); a shutter array (20, Figure 3(a); ¶[0048]) including a plurality of shutters (liquid crystal shutter array 20 (Figure 3(a)) is constructed from a large number of liquid crystal shutters, ¶[0049]) respectively corresponding to the plurality of pixels (individual liquid crystal pixels, ¶[0054]) and configured to sequentially output a plurality of shuttered images (13, Figure 1; see also ¶[0067]) respectively corresponding to a plurality of areas (L/3, ¶[0055]) on the pixel array (40, Figure 4B) based on the raw video (¶[0067]);
Masubuchi fails to teach a variable focus lens configured correspond to each of the plurality of shuttered images.
Masubuchi teaches a liquid crystal exposure device and Baran teaches a system for capturing video which can be used in the liquid crystal exposure device.
Baran teaches a variable focus lens (variable focus system 640 (Figure 6) for determining an amount to adjust variable focus lens, ¶0132]) configured to correspond to each of the plurality of shuttered images (encoded and/or processed images, ¶0132]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Masubuchi having the display system with the teachings of Baran having the variable focus lens configured correspond to each of the plurality of shuttered images for the purpose of improving the desired match in focal lengths and content being displayed, ¶0132].
Masubuchi in view of Baran fail to teach depth information corresponding to images.
Masubuchi in view of Baran teach the display system and Meier teaches a system for projecting digital information on a real object or part of a real object with a visible light projector.
Meier teaches depth information (depth data, ¶[0061]) corresponding to images (image captured by camera, ¶[0061]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Masubuchi in view of Baran having the display system with the teachings of Meier having depth information corresponding to images for the purpose of calculating any transformations needed as well as calculating spatial transformations, ¶[0061].
With respect to Claim 2, Masubuchi further teaches wherein the shutter array (20, Figure 3(a)) is configured to: output a first shuttered image (first image in the array of 13, Figure 1; see also ¶[0067]) corresponding to a first area (first area in the array of 40, Figure 4B) of the pixel array (40, Figure 4B) at a first time (T0 to T1, Figure 8A), and output a second shuttered image (second image in the array of 13, Figure 1; see also ¶[0067]) corresponding to a second area (second area in the array of 40, Figure 4B) of the pixel array (40, Figure 4B) at a second time (T1 to T2, Figure 8A) after the first time (T0 to T1, Figure 8A).
With respect to Claim 3, Masubuchi teaches the display system of claim 2, the first time (T0 to T1, Figure 8A), and the second time (T1 to T2, Figure 8A).
Masubuchi fails to teach a focal length of the variable focus lens is a first length value and a second length value.
Masubuchi in view of Baran teach the display system and Meier teaches a system for projecting digital information on a real object or part of a real object with a visible light projector.
Baran teaches wherein a focal length (focal lengths of lens, ¶0132]) of the variable focus lens (variable focus system 640 (Figure 6) is a first length value (a first focal length of lens, ¶0132]) and a second length value (a second focal length of lens, ¶0132]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Masubuchi having the display system with the teachings of Baran having the variable focus lens configured correspond to each of the plurality of shuttered images for the purpose of improving the desired match in focal lengths and content being displayed, ¶0132].
With respect to Claim 5, Masubuchi further teaches wherein a time interval (T0-T9, Figure 7) between the plurality of shuttered images (13, Figure 1; see also ¶[0067]) is determined based on the number of the plurality of areas (L/3, ¶[0055]).
With respect to Claim 6, Masubuchi further teaches wherein a sub-frame rate (J1, J2 and J3, Figure 7) with respect to the plurality of shuttered images (13, Figure 1; see also ¶[0067]) is greater than a product of the number of the plurality of areas (L/3, ¶[0055]) and ‘30Hz’.
With respect to Claim 7, Masubuchi teaches the display system of claim 1.
Masubuchi fails to teach wherein the variable focus lens is configured to change the focal length discontinuously.
Masubuchi teaches a liquid crystal exposure device and Baran teaches a system for capturing video which can be used in the liquid crystal exposure device.
Baran teaches wherein the variable focus lens (variable focus system 640 (Figure 6) is configured to change the focal length discontinuously (match the desired focal lengths, ¶0132]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Masubuchi having the display system with the teachings of Baran having the variable focus lens is configured to change the focal length discontinuously for the purpose of improving the clarity and focus of the content being displayed, ¶0132].
With respect to Claim 8, Masubuchi further teaches wherein the shutter array (20, Figure 3(a)) is configured to: sequentially output the plurality of shuttered images (13, Figure 1; see also ¶[0067]) based on a first order depending on a location (¶[0054]) of each of the plurality of shuttered images (13, Figure 1; see also ¶[0067]) on the pixel array (40, Figure 4B).
With respect to Claim 9, Masubuchi teaches the display system of claim 1.
Masubuchi fails to teach wherein the variable focus lens is configured to continuously change a focal length.
Masubuchi teaches a liquid crystal exposure device and Baran teaches a system for capturing video which can be used in the liquid crystal exposure device.
Baran teaches a variable focus lens (variable focus system 640, Figure 6) wherein the variable focus lens (640 (Figure 6) is configured to continuously change a focal length (focal lengths of lens, ¶0132]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Masubuchi having the display system with the teachings of Baran having the variable focus lens wherein the variable focus lens is configured to continuously change a focal length for the purpose of improving the content being displayed, ¶0132].
With respect to Claim 10, Masubuchi in view of Baran teach wherein the shutter array (20, Figure 3(a), of Masubuchi) is configured to: sequentially output the plurality of shuttered images (13, Figure 1; see also ¶[0067], of Masubuchi) based on a second order of each of the plurality of shuttered images (13, Figure 1; see also ¶[0067], of Masubuchi).
Masubuchi in view of Baran fail to teach depth information corresponding to images.
Masubuchi in view of Baran teach the display system and Meier teaches a system for projecting digital information on a real object or part of a real object with a visible light projector.
Meier teaches depth information (depth data, ¶[0061]) corresponding to images (image captured by camera, ¶[0061]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Masubuchi in view of Baran having the display system with the teachings of Meier having depth information corresponding to images for the purpose of calculating any transformations needed as well as calculating spatial transformations, ¶[0061].
With respect to Claim 11, Masubuchi teaches the display system of claim 1 and the shutter array (20, Figure 3(a)).
Masubuchi fails to teach the variable focus lens.
Masubuchi teaches a liquid crystal exposure device and Baran teaches a system for capturing video which can be used in the liquid crystal exposure device.
Baran teaches a variable focus lens (variable focus system 640, Figure 6).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Masubuchi having the display system with the teachings of Baran having the variable focus lens wherein the shutter array is disposed between the display and the variable focus lens for the purpose of improving the desired match in focal lengths and content being displayed, ¶0132].
With respect to Claim 12, Masubuchi further teaches wherein the display includes at least one of an OLED, an LED (three color LEDs (light-emitting diodes), ¶[0048]), and a micro LED.
With respect to Claim 15, Masubuchi teaches the display system of claim 13.
Masubuchi fails to teach a focal length of the variable focus lens.
Masubuchi teaches a liquid crystal exposure device and Baran teaches a system for capturing video which can be used in the liquid crystal exposure device.
Baran teaches a focal length (focal lengths of lens, ¶0132]) of the variable focus lens (variable focus system 640 (Figure 6).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Masubuchi having the display system with the teachings of Baran having the variable focus lens for the purpose of improving the desired match in focal lengths and content being displayed, ¶0132].
Masubuchi in view of Baran fail to teach depth information.
Masubuchi in view of Baran teach the display system and Meier teaches a system for projecting digital information on a real object or part of a real object with a visible light projector.
Meier teaches depth information (depth data, ¶[0061]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Masubuchi in view of Baran having the display system with the teachings of Meier having depth information for the purpose of calculating any transformations needed as well as calculating spatial transformations, ¶[0061].
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masubuchi (US 2005/0200614 A1) in view of Baran (US 2018/0302556 A1) and Meier et al., (hereafter Meier) (US 2015/0350618 A1), as applied to Claim 3, above, and in further view of Yen et al., (hereafter Yen) (US 9,934,556).
With respect to Claim 4, Masubuchi in view of Baran and Meier teach the display system of claim 3, the first image (first image in the array of 13, Figure 1, of Masubuchi) and the second image (second image in the array of 13, Figure 1, of Masubuchi).
Masubuchi in view of Baran and Meier fail to teach wherein, when depth information corresponding to the first image is a first depth value and depth information corresponding to the second image is a second depth value greater than the first depth value, the first length value is less than the second length value.
Masubuchi in view of Baran and Meier teach the display system and Yen teaches a display system.
Yen teaches wherein, when depth information corresponding to the first image (first image of M, Figure 1A) is a first depth value (A2 = 80, Figure 3A; see also column 4, line 64 – column 5, line 2) and depth information corresponding to the second image (second image of M, Figure 1A) is a second depth value (A1 = 100, Figure 3A; see also column 4, line 64 – column 5, line 2) greater than the first depth value, the first length value (A2 = 80, column 4, line 64 – column 5, line 2) is less than the second length value (A1 = 100, column 4, line 64 – column 5, line 2).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Masubuchi in view of Baran and Meier having the display system with the teachings of Yen having the first length value is less than the second length value for the purpose of better imagery in 3D (shallow, deep, etc.).
Claim(s) 13, 14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masubuchi (US 2005/0200614 A1) in further view of Baran (US 2018/0302556 A1).
With respect to Claim 13, Masubuchi teaches a display system comprising: a display including a pixel array (40, Figure 4B) having a plurality of pixels (individual liquid crystal pixels, ¶[0054]); a shutter array (20, Figure 3(a)) including a plurality of shutters (liquid crystal shutter array 20 (Figure 3(a)) is constructed from a large number of liquid crystal shutters, ¶[0049]) respectively corresponding to the plurality of pixels (individual liquid crystal pixels, ¶[0054]), configured to pass a first area (first area in the array of 40, Figure 4B) of the pixel array (40, Figure 4B) and to shutter a second area (second area in the array of 40, Figure 4B) different from the first area (first area in the array of 40, Figure 4B); and
Masubuchi fails to teach a variable focus lens configured to operate based on depth information of an image.
Masubuchi teaches a liquid crystal exposure device and Baran teaches a system for capturing video which can be used in the liquid crystal exposure device.
Baran teaches a variable focus lens (variable focus system 640 (Figure 6) for determining an amount to adjust variable focus lens, ¶0132]) configured to operate based on depth information (¶0132]) of an image (encoded and/or processed images, ¶0132]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Masubuchi having the display system with the teachings of Baran having a variable focus lens configured to operate based on depth information of an image corresponding to the first area for the purpose of improving the desired match in focal lengths and content being displayed, ¶0132].
With respect to Claim 14, Masubuchi teaches the display system of claim 13, the shutter array (20, Figure 3(a)), and the display.
Masubuchi fails to teach the variable focus lens.
Masubuchi teaches a liquid crystal exposure device and Baran teaches a system for capturing video which can be used in the liquid crystal exposure device.
Baran teaches a variable focus lens (variable focus system 640, Figure 6).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Masubuchi having the display system with the teachings of Baran having the variable focus lens wherein the shutter array is disposed between the display and the variable focus lens for the purpose of improving the desired match in focal lengths and content being displayed, ¶0132].
With respect to Claim 16, Masubuchi further teaches wherein the second area (second area in the array of 40, Figure 4B) is an area remaining except for the first area (first area in the array of 40, Figure 4B) in the pixel array (40, Figure 4B).
Conclusion
/TYW/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/STEPHONE B ALLEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872