DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
101 Rejection
Based on applicant’s filed amendments and arguments, see page 9 of applicant’s arguments filed 23 June 2026, the previously set forth 101 rejection has been withdrawn.
102 Rejection
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for the argued teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marinho et al. (RHEOLOGICAL BEHAVIOR AND STRUCTURAL INTERPRETATION OF MODEL WAXY OILS UNDER GELLING CONDITIONS) in view of D’ANTONA et al. (2011/0162722A1).
With respect to claim 1, Marinho et al. teaches a method for predicting restart of paraffinic oil (insofar as how predicting restart of paraffinic is structural defined within the claim) in an underwater pipe, comprising determining yield stress (TLE) through parameters of differential scanning calorimetry (DSC) tests (as Marinho et al. teaches on page 39, 2.5 Scaling Models, structural properties are investigated using DCS tests and page 53, Differential Scanning Calorimetry under various conditions) and rheological evaluation (page 25, 2.3 Yield Stress) of precipitated paraffin fraction under production stoppage conditions (as Marinho discloses performing test under blocked conditions; page 30, lines 29; which details a sample being the gelled structure maintained along the experimental time, which is translated in negligible angular velocity, i.e. a blocked condition).
Marinho et al. remains silent regarding defining operational conditions for restarting production based on the determined yield stress, wherein restarting production comprises imposing a pressure greater than the determined yield stress to break a gelled structure in the underwater pipeline.
D’ANTONA et al. teaches defining operational conditions (a generation of sound or infra-sound waves; [0105]) for restarting production based on determined yield stress (as D’ANTONA et al. teaches in [0006] "yield stress" is the most representative parameter, as it directly expresses the threshold value necessary for generating the flow and in [0137] which discloses the calculated threshold yield stress from restarting), wherein restarting production comprises imposing a pressure greater than the determined yield stress to break a gelled structure (a waxy gelled obstruction) in an underwater pipeline (as [0024-0032] describe creating a pressure greater than the yield stress to break the blockage; [0003] teaches the pipe being underwater).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the instant invention to modify the method of Marinho et al. to include the step of defining operational conditions that break up the blockage, as taught by D’ANTONA et al., because D’ANTONA et al. teaches such a modification aids in stopping unexpected outages, thereby improving the method of Marhinho et al.
With respect to claim 2, Marinho et al. teaches the method further comprising determining heat flow corresponding to phase transition of paraffins through differential scanning calorimetry tests (as Marinho et al. teaches when performing tests using DSC, the technique measures heat flow from or to the sample when the sample is heated or cooled; page 22, lines 2-9).
With respect to claim 3, Marinho et al. teaches the method wherein carrying out the rheological evaluation comprises conducting oscillatory stress amplitude scanning tests in rheometers at specified temperatures below gelling temperature (as Marinho et al. teaches a temperature of testing to be 4ºC; Fig. 11) in conjunction with differential scanning calorimetry tests (as Marinho et al. teaches using oscillatory rheology by applying stress according to equation 2 and using DSC scan tests to determine the yield stress).
With respect to claim 4, Marinho et al. teaches all that is claimed in the above rejection of claim 1, but remains silent regarding wherein obtaining an estimate of the precipitated paraffin fraction is conducted according to Equations 1 to 5:
wherein Φps is the precipitated paraffin fraction and Θ represents heat flow corresponding to phase transition of paraffins; wherein Δhc is an average value of enthalpy of pure paraffin corresponding to 200 J/g, q is cooling rate applied in the differential scanning calorimetry experiment, R is gas universal constant, T is temperature, t is time and Φ₀, AAT, EAT and ₖₐᵣ are parameters to be determined through an adjustment of heat flow data from differential scanning calorimetry tests.
Marinho et al. teaches similar equations throughout the disclosure, where testing is performed at various temperatures using DSC tests; as read on page 39, 2.5 Scaling Methods, as scaling models using equations derived to relate material structure to mechanical prosperities of some class of material as used; see equations 10-19).
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing the instant invention to derive the claimed equations describing the physical system of the pipeline carrying paraffin phase changes using typical engineering calculations based on the disclosed equations and material properties taught in Marinho et al., as there are only a finite number of predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of deriving the recited equations from the taught variables of the prior art; thereby creating a behavior model of a fluid. MPEP 2141 III.
With respect to claim 5, Marinho et al. teaches all that is claimed in the above rejection of claim 4, but remains silent regarding wherein adjusting paraffin fraction data with rheological data, according to Equation 6:
wherein (Cr) is a proportionality factor and (D) is a structure factor or fractal dimension.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing the instant invention to derive the claimed equations describing the physical system of the pipeline carrying paraffin phase changes using typical engineering calculations based on the disclosed equations and material properties taught in Marinho et al., as there are only a finite number of predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of deriving the recited equations from the taught variables of the prior art; thereby creating a behavior model of a fluid. MPEP 2141 III.
With respect to claim 6, Marinho et al. teaches wherein equations 1 to 6 are incorporated into flow assurance and computational fluid dynamics simulators for the predication of stress fields and production stoppage time (as Marinho et al. teaches using computation simulators to determine Newtonian behavior of fluids; see page 151, last paragraph).
With respect to claim 7, Marinho et al. teaches all that is claimed in the above rejection of claim 4, but remains silent regarding determining cooling of a piping section through he following Equations 7 to 18:
wherein (øps) represents the balance of precipitated paraffin, in the TIAC is the initial temperature at which crystals appear.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing the instant invention to derive the claimed equations describing the physical system of the pipeline carrying paraffin phase changes using typical engineering calculations based on the disclosed equations and material properties taught in Marinho et al., as there are only a finite number of predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of deriving the recited equations from the taught variables of the prior art; thereby creating a behavior model of a fluid. MPEP 2141 III.
With respect to claim 8, Marinho et al. teaches wherein a temperature profile, the paraffin fractions in solid and liquid phases, and the cooling rate were simulated (as seen in Fig. 48, which depicts various viscosities over various cooling rates) but remains silent regarding a period being from zero to 14 days of quiescent cooling, for different heat exchange global coefficients.
Marinho et al. is concerned with analyzing cooling rates relative to yield stress calculations, where consideration are made as longer times were tested; page 30, lines 1-9.
The examiner finds that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention would have the engineering knowledge to try different quiescent cooling periods, including the claimed “zero to 14 days” with reasonable expectation that the specifically claimed period would result in the needed data to predict a restart of paraffinic oil, accurately.
With respect to claim 9, Marinho et al. teaches the method wherein average yield stress profiles (as seen in Fig. 49 and its caption, page 104) for oils with different precipitated paraffin fractions and variation of critical stress were obtained along a straight transverse section of a tube (as Marinho et al. teaches using these averages for different oil compositions; Table 8).
With respect to claim 10, Marinho et al. teaches the method wherein kinetic behavior of samples, obtained through differential exploratory calorimetry (the disclosed DSC testing) and rheological behavior data (see page 25, 2.3 Yield Stress), was evaluated by simulations of paraffinic oil production stoppages (via the taught computational simulations; page 151) in the underwater pipeline (as Marinho et al. teaches kinetic behavior of the samples relative to a pipeline on page 3-4 and D’ANTONA teaches the pipe being underwater, as described above in the rejection of claim 1).
With respect to claim 11, Marinho et al. teaches the method wherein the determined yield stress is used to calculate a minimum pressure required to restart flow in the underwater pipeline stress (as D’ANTONA et al. teaches in [0006] "yield stress" is the most representative parameter, as it directly expresses the threshold value necessary for generating the flow and in [0137] which discloses the calculated threshold yield stress from restarting).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gould et al. (8,452,548) which teaches a method for determining properties of an oil using computational models.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW G MARINI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853